Reminder: iOS 8.4 release date and time is today, June 30; update brings Apple Music to the iPhone and iPad

Reminder: iOS 8.4 release date and time is today, June 30; update brings Apple Music to the iPhone and iPad
iPhone and iPad users, listen up, as we have a reminder for you. iOS 8.4 – the software update announced by Apple at WWDC 2015 – is almost ready to be released. In fact, it is to be rolled out in just a few short hours. As we reported a couple of days ago, the iOS 8.4 release date is today, June 30, and the update is scheduled to go live at 11:00AM Eastern time (10:00AM CDT / 9:00AM MDT / 8:00AM PDT). 

What should you expect the update to introduce? Well, let's start by saying that you're not getting the full feature set of iOS 9 yet. That's coming later this year. What iOS 8.4 does bring, however, is Apple's audio streaming service – Apple Music. Once signed up, you'll have access to millions of songs from popular (and not-so-popular) artists and bands. And if you don't know what to listen to, the Beats 1 live radio will be broadcasting the latest tunes for you 24/7. Apple Music will cost $9.99 per month with a 3-month free trial. You may still tune in to Beats 1 or even without a subscription, however. 

Other than Apple Music, iOS 8.4 isn't going to bring a whole lot to the table. The update is going to squash a few glitches here and there, including the notorious Effective Power bug in Messages, and that's pretty much it. Nevertheless, updating is highly recommended. We'd advise you to ensure that your iPhone or iPad has at least a few gigabytes of free storage space to process the update without issues. Also, backing up via iTunes prior to updating would be a good idea, just to be safe. As soon as the iOS 8.4 update hits your device, feel free to share your experience with it in the comments below.

iOS 8.4 release time schedule:


U.S.: 11:00AM EDT | 10:00AM CDT | 9:00AM MDT | 8:00AM PDT
Europe: 4:00PM UTC | 5:00PM CEST | 6:00PM EEST
Asia: 8:00PM IST | 10:00PM CST | 11:00PM JST

FEATURED VIDEO

11 Comments

1. Legnaldo

Posts: 63; Member since: Oct 17, 2011

Well, lets see if Apple can really make waves with this new music platform. Hopefully its not all smoke and mirrors.

6. waddup121 unregistered

11AM! Can't wait!

7. Legnaldo

Posts: 63; Member since: Oct 17, 2011

Well it's time and no update yet. Lets see how long before its available for me.

8. Legnaldo

Posts: 63; Member since: Oct 17, 2011

Just got it!

2. HTCOE

Posts: 650; Member since: Nov 20, 2011

Woohooo!

3. Nicko97

Posts: 49; Member since: May 25, 2015

Can't wait to try apple music. Should be great

4. darkkjedii

Posts: 31529; Member since: Feb 05, 2011

Lets do it.

5. InsertUsernameHere

Posts: 430; Member since: Aug 31, 2014

Can't wait to see this. 2015 is shaping up to be a good year for Apple.

10. gaming64 unregistered

Hope they fix 2014's mistake like iOS 8.

9. gaming64 unregistered

Anyone excited for Apple Music? Still a better music streaming service than Tidal you know.

11. Legnaldo

Posts: 63; Member since: Oct 17, 2011

Im excited by all that was promised in the keynote. Lets see if it can live up to its own hype though.

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.