Next iPhone likely won't support LTE or WiMAX

Next iPhone likely won't support LTE or WiMAX
This is probably the last iPhone 5 rumor you’ll ever see (hopefully) and it seems that it comes only to tone down expectations a bit - the new iPhone won’t support LTE or WiMAX, according to a Wall Street Journal report citing “people familiar with the company’s plans.”

The new handset will only support EV-DO and HSPA+ speeds, which go for 4G as well, but are a far cry from the speeds offered by LTE and WiMAX. The Journal doesn’t go into much detail about what could be the cause - but our guess is battery life was among the biggest concerns as well as design restrictions.

Sprint is now widely believed to offer the next-gen iPhone along with Verizon and AT&T, but here’s where rumors take two paths - it could turn out that the iPhone 5 is a Sprint exclusive (unlikely) or that the iPhone 5 arrives a month later on the Now Network. Tune in at 10AM PST | 12PM CST | 1PM EST | 6PM GMT when all details will finally be revealed.

source: WSJ

Related phones

iPhone 4s
  • Display 3.5 inches
    960 x 640 pixels
  • Camera 8 MP (Single camera)
    0.3 MP VGA front
  • Hardware Apple A5, 0.5GB RAM
  • Storage 64GB,
  • OS iOS 9.x

FEATURED VIDEO

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless