x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro User Reviews

8.3 Based on 11 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality7.3/10
Text input9/10
Everyday usage8.5/10
UI speed9/10
Camera8/10
Multimedia8.6/10
Internet9.2/10
Call quality8.1/10
Battery7.5/10
Reception8.3/10
Display8.8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

FreakinBro
posted on 31 Oct 2013, 15:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 Oct 2013)

9

Nice but not Nicest

FreakinBro has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Nice phone.Its small but who gives a sh*t.Its best typing phone ever.I like it cause of keyboard.It makes life easyer.Ilike 1ghz scorpion.you ca upgrade it to 4.0.4 too.Dont forget front camera.screen is high pixel for me.I like it!

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 keyboard
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • home button
  • capacitive back and menu button
  • 1Ghz Schorpion processor

Cons

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Beti.K.
posted on 06 Aug 2012, 06:03 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Aug 2012)

10

Haven't gotten it yet!

Beti.K. has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

so... I didn't buy it yet from what i read people really don't like it but who cares I'm gonna buy it anyways not cuz I don't believe what they're saying it's because I whant to see it for my self so later on this week I'm buying it (I'm very prasice with when I buy stuff) the I'm gonna review it like a boss. I'm still gonna rate it from what I heard about it though okay?! and when I'm gonna spend time with the phone for at least a week that's when I'm gonna review it.

Build quality 9/10 It is kinda thick and small.
Reception 10/10 I have no idea why I even rated this part
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10 Haven't heard so many great stuff about it
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10 No battery is good if you don't know how to format it daaahhhh.......

Pros

  • Camera (5 megapixels)pretty good for a small phone
  • qwerty keyboard with nice input
  • Everything else

Cons

  • Kinda overweight (small jk)

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ga7AsTut
posted on 18 Jan 2012, 07:48 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Jan 2012)

7

Excellent phone but some items must be improved

Ga7AsTut has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

very good phone in small form factor
very responsive
nice camera but saved images have poor detail

its a shame that some things must be improved:
tiny loudspeaker hole is easy to block
poor screen brightness in outdoor
home button very hard to press
led alert indicator too small

Build quality 8/10 body can be stronger
Reception 6/10 sometimes it losses signal with no apparent reason o by simply covering one of it sides with my hand
Call quality 6/10 sometimes you can hear noises during a call
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 6/10 sound played by loudspeaker gets distorted and in noisy enviroments is hard to hear. loudspeaker hole is line shaped and its very common to block it with your hand or fingers and sound gets totally blocked
Camera 6/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10 screen is hard to read in outdoor enviroments
Battery 7/10 battery life can be stronger

Pros

  • very reliable and stable phone
  • dual camera

Cons

  • home button very hard to press
  • low brightness screen (in outdoors)
  • line shaped loudspeaker hole easy to block
  • bad quality camera files (compression?)
  • led indicator too small, hard to see
  • compass works erratically

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kasunrs
posted on 07 Jan 2012, 14:05 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Jan 2012)

9

IT is really cool, osm!!

kasunrs has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Wow. I bought this today and I'm playing with it for almost 6hours now continously.
Wow its super fast. super cool and when yo're playing a HD video in it and when u seek the seek bar it goes like wow.. really speed. even my i5 notebook cannot seed a HD movie like that. this is really really cool..
10 stars for the SE XMP!!
And who says it has a static sound problem?? i dnt knw abt the past. but now it does not have any static sound or any other problem. its product date is week 47, 2011. IT HAS NO STATIC SOUND PROBLEM. AND ITS REALLY COOL..

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Everything

Cons

  • Battery i think..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

gowthambabu
posted on 04 Jan 2012, 06:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)

8

BEST MOBILE IN THE 15k Budget

gowthambabu has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I switched to android mainly for internet usage and for my budget this phone suited well...I've been using this mobile for past few days. The compact design make the phone easily slide into any pocket. Mainly I Like the Charger come USB thing. Its very comfortable. Sound quality when in loud speaker is good when compared to other SE mobiles. Message Inbox is nice. there is no individual folders for sent items,drafts,etc. conversational view is ok. but we cannot save a msg in a seperate folder..its disappointing.

Build quality 4/10 As usual SE never looks into build quality, so we've to be very carefull with the handling.
Reception 10/10 SO FAR SO GOOD
Call quality 9/10 LOUD & CLEAR
Internet 10/10 Both WIFI & 3G are FAST & BEST
Multimedia 10/10 Bravia seems good to me
Camera 8/10 Not bad. Camera quality is not good as promised by SE. But flash satisfies the quality
UI speed 7/10 1 ghz processor does its work while using apps. except startup of the phone..
Everyday usage 10/10 GOOD
Text input 7/10 using dictionary while typing msgs is difficult for me in SE. since this is my 1st SE mobile. But i'll soon learn to handle this.
Display 10/10 SE's unique feature is the display. Bravia makes the display crystal clear. With 0 brightness and in the sun light its visible for me.
Battery 8/10 With normal usage like making & receiving calls & msgs battery lasts for about 1 & half days for me. With WIFI & apps usage battery lasts for 7 hours for me. Not bad for an android phone

Pros

  • COMPACT DESIGN
  • QUALITY SCREEN
  • UI especially shortcuts
  • Flash Support in browser
  • USB CHARGER
  • Camera Flash

Cons

  • Poor Build Quality
  • Late Startup after switching on the phone
  • Camera quality is not good as promised

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pranesh
posted on 05 Dec 2011, 09:03 (Posts: 0; Member since: 05 Dec 2011)

6

idiotic phone

pranesh has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

this is the worst phone you can get, once the drops from a height even lesser than ur nail height it will break,then u have to pay 10000 rupees for that purpose alone
and even then after repairing it u get the phone ,it breaks again ,again spending 10000,so finally coming to price of an iphone!!! better dont get cheated by the look and specifications,its awful and*****

Build quality 1/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 6/10

pranesh alternatives:

1 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

riveraramon23
posted on 08 Dec 2011, 23:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Nov 2011)

10

BEST PHONE EVER!

riveraramon23 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is amazing! its speeds are amazing and the keyboards are amazing, its camera is sooo fascinatiing, and its such a cute little phone, It very sturdy and very well built. best phone i've owned so far. great battery life for an android smartphone,

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10 Battery sucks
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 Cant even use the phone on full brightness without it dying.
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • -Good speaker, -good camera,-good apps. camera, variety of apps, tethering, EVERYTHING,!!

Cons

riveraramon23 alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

akshay.31890
posted on 16 Oct 2011, 23:41 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Oct 2011)

9

The prodigal son returns

akshay.31890 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I had always been a fan of ericson. Was sad when they went into abstinence a while back with average phones coming out. and then they start their second innings with the New range of smartphones.

The elder brother - xperia arc could rival the top smartphones and then the miniature versin xperia mini pro arrives...Sony eriscon has packed almost all of the arc's features into the mini pro. In the price bracket u cant get a 1ghz (samsung ace is 800mhz only) processor aong with a 512 mb and adngroid gingerbread anywhere. The touchscreen is fantastic! so are the usual widgets.

Though ppl may find the 3" screen weird, its perfect. Saves a lotta unnecessary traversing of ur thumb and also ur battery (compared to other smartphones)

the keyboard is PHENOMENAL. yes a tad hard, but thats the good thing. it feels solid. and the spacing is great. so is the layout of the keyboard in general. But ericson needs to illuminate it better!

The phone has actually performed faster than the Arc in many of its tests! the camera is average for a 5mp (compared to the galaxy ace). front camera is decent. Video recording promises more with hd, but falls a lil short.

gallery and music are usual high ericson standards! :) Battery lasts me about 1.5 days with careful usage. But thats ok. No smartphone gives u a battery life of more than 22 hrs on heavy usage.

Display is good, but is tiring in sunlight. and the phone manages excellant browsing speeds! flagship sony ericson.

Its a great phone for someone...  

Build quality 9/10 Feels VERY solid! yes a lil chunky, but atleast its different from the anorexc smartphones nowadays.
Reception 8/10 decent reception. could catch bars very fast.
Call quality 6/10 The one put down. u expect a phone to primarily let u talk. But the in call clarity is average. Improves a little with headphones though.
Internet 9/10 Thumbs up!
Multimedia 8/10 Plays many formats. But the clarity is typical erison! :) also helps to acess contents easily.
Camera 7/10 Leaves u wanting more when u consider a 5mp and the fact tht the makers have come out wit the cybershot series before.
UI speed 10/10 Bloody fast and interactive!! responds like a dream!
Everyday usage 9/10 features are great :) messaging is easy with on screen t9, onscreen keyboard (portraint as well as landscape), as well as qwerty slide out keyboard.
Text input 10/10 Nothing left to desire :) other manufacturers need to get lessons from ericson on thoughtful key placement in qwerty
Display 7/10 Sunlight visibility is a let down..but otherwise, Bravia does well.
Battery 5/10 Yes smartphones do have low battery life, but it could still be better inspite of a 1200mAh battery...i did manage 1.5 days with switching of bluetooth and wifi etc, and mainly turned off auto sync..

Pros

  • Speed
  • Durability
  • Qwerty keyboard!
  • Dual camera that supports video calling

Cons

  • Battery (but can be worked around it)
  • camera quality promises more than it delivers

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

gcs94
posted on 06 Oct 2011, 22:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Oct 2011)

8

Average phone

gcs94 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have this white xperia mini pro and the first thing i notice is that typing using the physical keyboard is quite hard as it is not clear in certain light condition due to the keyboard backlight. The picture produced by the camera does lack a lot of details. The sliding mechanism of the physical keyboard is a bit loose. (maybe it's just me) Other than that it is a very good phone for this price tag.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 6/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • brilliant looking screen
  • good web page rendering
  • easy UI
  • mineral glass scratch resistant screen

Cons

  • sliding mechanism a bit loose
  • lack camera details
  • average battery life

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Titanium.7
posted on 19 Aug 2011, 14:15 (Posts: 2; Member since: 11 Jul 2011)

8

Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro is bretty cool phone !

Titanium.7 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Sony Ericsson Xperia mini pro is bretty cool phone !
wonderful .. Especially in the medium category of smart phones .. also a wonderful option to communicate via Facebook .. Phone is a special case does not look like any smart phone now, other companies began to imitate this particular device {Motorola and there droids phone}

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

suresh
posted on 12 Aug 2011, 01:50

7

awesome

suresh has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Excelent mobile.. Its look like new version of xperia x10 mini pro.. It covers multitouch,frontcam,camerazooming,screenresolution compare to x10 mini pro.. Best phone for usage.. Looks pretty n fast typing in qwerty.. Better batery life as compare to my previous mobile x10 minipro. New Android 2.3 version is pretty in this mobile.

Build quality 4/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • new android2.3 version
  • front cam
  • camera zooming available
  • multi touch

Cons

  • batery life have to improve more

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories