Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review

Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review

Introduction


They might not have a strong backing in the smartphone arena, but hot damn, Asus is increasingly becoming a top contender in the Android tablet space. Already notable for its high-end models, like its Padfone and Transformer lines, Asus knows what it takes to become a formidable figure. At the same time, though, they’ve made great strides in the entry-level market too, which is evident by its partnership with Google for its Nexus 7 line. Taking the bull by its horns, Asus is doing things all by itself this time around with the MeMo Pad HD 7 – something that won’t be forgotten because of its super low list price of $150.

Box and contents - Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review
Box and contents - Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review

Box and contents

The package contains:

  • microUSB cable
  • Wall Charger
  • User Manual
  • Warranty Card

Design


In the back of our mind, we weren’t expecting the design of the MeMo Pad HD 7 to be extraordinary, especially taking into consideration its low price. Regardless of that, we can’t help but remind ourselves about its similarities to the first generation Nexus 7 more than anything else. It might not be the skinniest or lightest 7-incher out there, but it still proves to be easy on the hands when held – though, its build quality is a bit sketchy, seeing that its seams creak as we grasp it. Even though this all-plastic tablet might look bland, it’s nice that it’s available in other bright colors to give consumers some variety. Still, we can’t take our mind away from its overall cheapo feel.

The Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 proves to be easy on the hands when held - Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review
The Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 proves to be easy on the hands when held - Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review

The Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 proves to be easy on the hands when held


Front - Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review

Front

Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review
Front camera - Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review

Front camera


Don’t think for a moment that the Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 is skimping out on the goods due to its super affordable cost! In addition to finding all the usual culprits around its trim, like its power button, volume control, 3.5mm headset jack, microUSB port, speaker grill, and microphone, we also find a handy dandy microSD card slot, front-facing 1.2-megapixel camera, and a 5-megapixel rear snapper.

Left edge - The sides of the Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 - Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review

Left edge

Top - The sides of the Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 - Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review

Top

Right - The sides of the Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 - Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review

Right

Bottom - The sides of the Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 - Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review

Bottom

Back - The sides of the Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 - Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review

Back

Rear camera - The sides of the Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 - Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review

Rear camera

The sides of the Asus MeMo Pad HD 7





Display


It’s not as dazzling as the new screen on the Nexus 7, but the 7-inch LED backlit 1280 x 800 IPS display of the MeMo Pad HD 7 is pleasing enough with its quality. Visually, it produces enough details to make fine text in the web browser more than legible to the eye from a normal distance. However, it exhibits just a bit of distortion at certain viewing angles – albeit, it’s never too distracting quite frankly. Colors also have a warmer tone to them! Thanks to its good brightness output, it doesn’t wash out too much when viewed outdoors with the sun present. Overall, it’s a pleasant looking display that does justice to the price point.

Viewing angles of the Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 - Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review
Viewing angles of the Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 - Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review
Viewing angles of the Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 - Asus MeMo Pad HD 7 Review

Viewing angles of the Asus MeMo Pad HD 7


FEATURED VIDEO

15 Comments

1. Sesameopen

Posts: 109; Member since: Aug 02, 2013

1 Con and that's "cheap construction" and it gets a 7.5? Hmm, I would say at least an 8 though.

3. dorianb

Posts: 617; Member since: Oct 24, 2012

I would have given it an 8 as well. It doesn't look like 'glossy' cheap plastic. Maybe someone's nitpicking the 1280x800 screen, no NFC, & battery life. Might actually pick this up for the kiddo.

2. PootisMan

Posts: 266; Member since: Aug 02, 2013

Looks like a nice budget tablet.

4. imkyle

Posts: 1111; Member since: Nov 18, 2010

This tablet weighs close to 40 grams less than the original Nexus 7, so yeah i'd say its pretty light weight.

5. antmiu2

Posts: 550; Member since: Jun 19, 2011

this is my tablet .. when and where will I be able to buy it??

8. cthunder

Posts: 125; Member since: Nov 02, 2010

It's available at places like Best Buy, Amazon and Newegg.

11. sbernardelli

Posts: 4; Member since: Aug 25, 2013

I am not sure it is available in the US yet... I have checked the one on Best Buy and it seems the old model: the non HD one... I got mine in Italy for 149 euros which is a bit more than 149 dollars but still this is a amazing value for the money and I would agree that this alone would make the tablet rating higher than 7.5

13. sbernardelli

Posts: 4; Member since: Aug 25, 2013

I now see Amazon and Newegg have the HD model (ME173X-A1) and also the old model (ME172V-A1) for sale however the one at Best Buy (online, not sure about store) appears to be the old one (ME172V-A1)

9. masoudim

Posts: 2; Member since: Aug 20, 2013

I bought the device from Futureshop. Unfortunately there is no GPS on the device despite all the specifications I found on the net which say it has it. Even in Asus website it says "GPS: Support". I tried to use the GPS for a week and it didn't lock to the location. So I decided to contact the customer service and talked to them twice (two different persons). They checked the device spec and confirmed that the device doesn't support GPS!

10. masoudim

Posts: 2; Member since: Aug 20, 2013

Follow up: I am pretty confused. I can see reviews people did on youtube, and in some, they specifically tested the GPS capability with WiFi turned off! And it works. I tried the GPS once more and it could catch 2 or 3 satellites, but it still does not find the location. In the same time, same location, my friends Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 catches at least 8 satellites, and locks after a few seconds. Probably this is a defective unit. I returned it, and I will be receiving a new one in a few days. I will check if that one works.

12. Xenaz

Posts: 144; Member since: Apr 28, 2013

"Cheap construction" ?! Lol !! What do you expect from a tablet that only cost ~149 euros? It is only a budget tablet but yet deliver a very good package with this price. Phonearena really poor in reviewing phone/tablet....

14. sbernardelli

Posts: 4; Member since: Aug 25, 2013

I have a Nexus 7 and needed a second 7 incher... I missed having a micro SD slot on the Nexus and I have been waiting for months to see anything with the same screen resolution and such... this was the answer and I got it as soon as available in stores... I am pretty happy about it... the only thing I miss is the stock Android 4.3 that I have already on my Nexus 7... overall a tremendous deal... at this point I am not sure if PhoneArena rating and conclusion are based on the tablet regardless of its price... I would think that it should consider the price as well...

15. dhuhtala

Posts: 2; Member since: Aug 30, 2013

I bought one for my wife and I was very impressed with it. It's a solid tablet with a very good screen and I honestly couldn't find any real problems with it. When you consider the price, it immediately jumps to the number one position as far as "sweet spot" goes. The original Memo Pad is absolute junk and they're making a mistake aligning this to the same name - this is a completely different tablet from the non-HD version. I bought the Samsung Tab 7 3.0 version for my daughter a couple of months ago and was a bit concerned with the screen resolution and lack of storage (8 GB) - when this came out with double the storage, improved resolution, really decent cameras at $40 less it was apparent that this is now the 7" sweet spot tablet to beat. Yes, the Nexus has better quality but as long as they insist on excluding the SD card slot for whatever silly reasons they have, it will continue to be excluded from my shopping list...the ASUS Memo Pad HD is the 7" tablet to beat!

16. marchels14 unregistered

Nice tablet good specs for the money but is it just me but when I got it from Curry's I was excited but disappointed in the first half an hour . I started to download apps from play store and it displayed unfortunately launcher has stopped and I press OK but then it shows the same thing again and between that it opens apps by itself so exchanged it and the new one does the same thing and the only way to get out of it is to restart the tablet or press the home button between the time the next one shows it, plus now I'm playing real racing 3 and it just crashes and the onscreen buttons and the screen crashes I have to restart it. I do not recommend this product to anybody. Does anyone know how to fix this.

17. TheFunnyUsername

Posts: 2; Member since: Jun 19, 2014

Common issue, run any other launcher other than system launcher. Such as noval launcher or any other launcher you want to use. The system one is completely unstable and you have to use a custom one because they won't crash unlike the system one. Gl :)
MeMO Pad HD 7
  • Display 7.0" 1280 x 800 pixels
  • Camera 5 MP / 1.2 MP front
  • Storage 8 GB + microSDHC

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.