ZTE Zmax Pro User Reviews Back

Overall user rating

9.3

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage
9.3
UI speed
9.2
Camera
9.2
Multimedia
9.7
Internet
9.5
Call quality
8.8
Battery
9.3
Reception
9.2
Display
9.8
Build quality
9.5
Text input
9.3
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

belieber1996 posted on Aug 03, 2016, 11:23 AM
Posts: 6; Member since: May 27, 2013

10.0

Best Mid Range Phone from MetroPCS to date!

belieber1996 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I was apparently eligible for an upgrade on the first day the ZMax was released, and it was the best $99 (plus taxes and ESN) I have EVER spent on a smartphone. I was assuming there would be a major flaw with the phone, but surprisingly there isn't one! Despite it's gargantuan size and my difficulty using it with one hand, the display was great and sharp enough to where I could see fine text very well. The Snapdragon 617 processor pretty much handled what I threw at it, which were a few mutitasking processes such as going through my social media apps and streaming music without any hitches. Battery life is very impressive, where it can EASILY last me through a 12-hour day. With the USB Type-C charging port included, charging times were extremely quick, with a full charge lasting about an hour and a half. One thing I can say that can be improved, is the front camera, where the exposure is inconsistent and hard to capture the 'ideal selfie' unless you have certain lighting conditions. I also had no issues when it came to call quality thanks to the noise cancellation, and the receivers on the other line heard me just fine. Overall, the ZMAX Pro is one impressive device that can easily perform with the bigger dogs in the market, such as the Moto G4 or the G4 Plus.

Build quality
10.0
The blue matte with the rose gold accents actually bring out a unique design.
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
The 13MP rear shooter takes some surprsingly sharp photos, along with the quick phase detection AF. Front camera loses the points due to the lack of inconsistent exposure.
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
This phone does pretty much whatever I throw at it on a daily basis!
Text input
10.0
I found the keyboard to be very user friendly with all kinds of various customizations.
Display
10.0
Display is perfect for sharp text!
Battery
10.0
Battery life is excellent, where the phone can easily last 12-15 hours on a single charge.

Pros

  • Large, sharp display
  • 32 GB internal storage
  • 13MP camera
  • Excellent battery life
  • Fingerprint sensor
  • Snapdragon 617 processor

Cons

  • Exposure on front Camera can be inconsistent

belieber1996 alternatives:

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Report

ladyg1974 posted on May 31, 2017, 11:55 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 31, 2017

8.0

Decent phone, but not what I expected

ladyg1974 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've had this phone for nearly 5 months. In the beginning, I would have given it a 10 in all categories. But after using it for a few months, my opinion has changed. I still think it's a decent phone, but, I will be going back to LG as soon as I possibly can. The call quality, pictures and display are great. The battery lasts for most of the day, as long as I'm not using Bluetooth. The security features are great, especially the fingerprint scanner as this is the only lock I've found that my children can't outsmart. However, i do have several issues with the phone:

1) It heats up fairly quickly, especially when charging. The phone will repeatedly alert you to a low battery, and then immediately stop charging once it's plugged in, due to overheating.
2) When the battery gets low and battery saver feature turns on, it automatically turns on the location, which causes the battery to run down even faster. Also, since the new software update (approx 2 weeks ago), the phone gives a pop-up every 30 minutes or so to try and get you to turn on the location. I haven't been able to figure out how to stop this from happening.
3) At least once per day, the phone freezes up and has to be restarted. I've had this happen up to 5 times in a single day.
4) The phone frequently (every 2-3 days) turns itself off, and gets stuck in the power cycle, so that a hard restart has to be done. It does this with no warning.
5) In order to use your memory card to save your apps, and preserve...  

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
7.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

nitrofreak54 posted on Apr 15, 2017, 5:03 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 15, 2017

9.0

Bang for the BUck

nitrofreak54 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Great Phone, works good, only failed once and that could have been user error. Good form, clear screen and well placed buttons. Just need to update it to Android 7, 6 seems like a waste with so much going for it

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Great phone for the price, does what has to

Cons

  • With a small case its still a big phone

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Kusherian posted on Dec 19, 2016, 10:28 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 18, 2016

9.0

ZTE Zmax Pro - great value for $99 plus tax and activation

Kusherian has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Keep in mind, for the cost, this is an amazing phone!

Pros:
SOT over 5 hours with very heavy usage
Large screen with decent resolution
No manufacturer logo on the front like most budget phones in this range
Use fingerprint scanner to log into apps, manage access
Good build quality
Loud speaker even though it's on the back
Very responsive (good CPU, GPU combo)

Cons:
It gets warm when charging and navigating so using GPS and charging....just don't take a call
Game play quality suffers with high demanding games like FIFA 2017
Call quality could be better with earpiece volume being rather low

Build quality
9.0
Even for it's price, it's built well
Reception
8.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

yusuf973 posted on Dec 07, 2016, 4:49 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 07, 2016

10.0

Little Secret.

yusuf973 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is amazing it really does compete like any of the major phones out there. I have Samsung Notes, Apple i-phones etc. and this phone needs not fret in the big leagues and at a fraction of the cost of these "name brand" phones it would be a mistake to count this beast out. Yes it has 2GB of RAM and no IR blaster but I have not noticed the difference in processing. As for the IR blaster ehhhhhh.. Super Job ZTE

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Can download anything fast...
  • Can have multi programs opened all at once.

Cons

  • Speaker is not very good.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

MetroPCS posted on Aug 03, 2016, 7:36 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 03, 2016

10.0

Amazing phone

MetroPCS has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Its an amazing phone i thought i wasn't gonna like it because of the size but its so good especially for the price and the 24 gigs of space is very good love the phone i traded in my stylo 2 plus for this one and i dont regret anything

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless