Sony Xperia Z5 User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.0

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia
9.4
Internet
9.3
Call quality
9.3
Battery
8.1
Reception
9.0
Display
9.2
Build quality
9.4
Text input
9.2
Everyday usage
8.4
UI speed
9.2
Camera
9.1
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

bassembm posted on Sep 12, 2016, 8:12 AM
Posts: 143; Member since: Dec 27, 2015

10.0

Snappy fast

bassembm has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

snappy UI gr8 camera elegant design somehow low loud speaker but still very clear , Fingerprint Scanner is accurate and faster than iphone 6 plus , Extremely solid performer for gaming and web browsing , I recommend this phone to every body

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

ozabb posted on Aug 02, 2016, 8:17 AM
Posts: 50; Member since: Dec 21, 2013

9.0

tried sony for the first time, wasnt disappointed

ozabb has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

after coming from samsung, which had a very cluttered UI, and nexus phones, which have an absolute bare bone UI, i was pleasantly surprised by the user friendly yet neat UI of xperia z5. and by user friendly i mean the most convenient android UI ive experienced. tranferring apps, texts, call records, and settings was a single step process. big fan of their backup utility. there was nothing left needed out of the box unlike nexus phones that require a little tweaking, or samsung phones that need debloating.
the phone is small yet not very comfy to hold. the square edges and larger bezels were not very pleasing, considering the same form factor has been utilized very well by samsung and lg. that said the material was lovely to touch and the golden back made it look like the premium phone it is, sadly that can not be said for the front which is no different from a 100$ chinese or indian phone. the volume button placing was really inconvenient
call sound was some times too loud or too low despite being on the same level
big fan of the music player. not at all of the speakers. the stereo speakers of this phone are useless, due to the so called water proofing the speakers are covered and the volume is embarrassingly low. i wrote embarrassing cos i have missed so many calls because of the low volume and weak vibration
the front and back camera, along with all its features was the best ive had on a phone. the camera shortcut key was convenient and customization. however sometimes it caused...  

Build quality
8.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Display
8.0
Battery
10.0

ozabb alternatives:

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

calvinerico posted on Nov 14, 2015, 10:15 PM
Posts: 8; Member since: Aug 10, 2014

8.0

It's a Hot Phone, Hot as Sexy, and Hot as Heat caused by SD810

calvinerico has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Yes, i love the design of the phone, i have the Gold color one and it's very sexy. And it's unique because the fingerprint is on the right side of the phone. the only problem with my Xperia Z5 Dual is the Processor i guess? Snapdragon 810 ver2.0 is pretty hot, i mean literally hot. i thought snapdragon 810 ver2.0 should be not as hot as before. or maybe it's because my Xperia Z5 is dual sim ones? i'm not sure.
And my other problem is with the fingerprint. i dont know if is it just me or it's my z5's fingerprint that's error.. sometimes it works great, and sometimes it doesn't work at all. when i tried to register my fingerprint, it said to cover the sensor with my finger, but i covered it all over and it still said to cover the sensor.. it's making me nuts!
so overall, this phone doesn't impress me, with a light usage of web browsing and whatsapp for 5 minutes, the battery temp could reach up to 40°C.. but this phone also coolsdown easily, and quite fast.
but i love the unique design and the front facing speakers. +NFC!
i'm planning to underclock / undervolting my Z5 later on when marshmallow update have come to Xperia Phones.
i hope you enjoy my review and sorry for the bad english! :D
i live in Indonesia btw

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
4.0
Text input
9.0
Display
8.0
Battery
2.0

Pros

  • Great Build Deisn
  • Dual Front Facing Speakers
  • Fingerprint Scanner
  • NFC
  • Many Camera Tweaks
  • WaterProof IP68

Cons

  • Heats Up Easily
  • ScreenOnTime daily usage 3,5 Hours
  • Fingerprint doesn't 100% accurate sometimes

8 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Report

igool posted on Feb 10, 2018, 8:09 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 15, 2017

7.0

Good at first but aged very poorly

igool has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

After using the phone for almost 2 years, here is my review of it. After around 6 months, the phone started slowing down and by the end of the first year, I had to factory reset it. The phone crashes my computer every time I connect it and it is in the wrong configuration. The phone looses LTE signal where other newer phones such the V30 on the same network won't (unsuprisingly). Software is near stock android with features like double tap to wake/lock but lacks some customisability such as the colour of settings menu etc. Apps crash and hang very often, where Instagram stops working twice every day. The display is excellent (clear, bright and colour accurate) but some bug causes it to have a different tone (lightness) of display occasionally. The camera is average where auto mode is not on par with similar devices from the same era (Note 5) in terms of sharpness and noise. Manual mode is only limited to ISO and white balance, which is very limited. Video recording is excellent, especially the Steadyshot (EIS). The stereo speakers are nice but became softer after Nougat. The equalizer keeps automatically switching for no apparent reason in the background when I scroll past autoplay videos which are muted. Now for the worst part: the battery. My average screen on time is just 3 hours, which is horrid, and thats with just pure web browsing and texting. The phone's standby drain is so much I lose 10% overnight in normal reception areas. The battery also gets very hot (46 degrees...  

Build quality
10.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
5.0
Everyday usage
3.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
3.0

Pros

  • Excellent build quality: never had a scratch or crack despite dropping it numerous times with a thin case and tempered glass protector
  • Auto mode has
  • Very beautiful build
  • Stereo speakers
  • Noise cancelling feature with appropriate earpiece
  • Good display
  • EIS in 1080p 30fps video

Cons

  • Horrid battery
  • Crashes and hangs even with resets
  • Weak camera software
  • Audio bugs
  • Slow charging

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Tim65 posted on Dec 21, 2017, 4:01 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 21, 2017

9.0

Awsome Phone But.........

Tim65 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Great phone, awsome camera, oustanding color screen depth. They need to upgrade the antenna when i had my galaxy s5 and in certain areas I would have 2 bars of 4g and with the Z5 i would have "no service". For me coverage is the most important. I used it as a hot with my Galaxy Tab 2 and the Tab 2 works great. Overall great phone i would recomend it.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
5.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Camera
  • Display
  • inernet

Cons

  • antenna's need to be upgraded.

Is this review helpful?

Report

piro132 posted on Jun 05, 2016, 4:43 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 19, 2015

10.0

One of the BEST !!!

piro132 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Bought the Sony Z5 Graphite Black after using IPHONE 6 for like 6 months and my latest device before the z5 was LG G4 wich is a good device with no lags but after 10 days of use it started heating up to 98 degrees celsius , returned the lg g4 and bought this AMAZING and gorgeous SONY Z5 ,out of the box this phone feels and looks premium . I think the xperia ui is the smoothest and stable android OS out there, UI is simple and intuitive. Long story short, i recommand checking out the SONY z5.

Build quality
10.0
Feels amazing in the hand , the buttons from side are well shaped , overall the phone looks and feels PREMIUM
Reception
9.0
No problems here so far . LTE ( 4G ) reception is good and fast . Sometimes drops one bar out of 4
Call quality
9.0
I can hear the other side clear as crystal , no drops and no background sounds from either sides .
Internet
10.0
This is at his best , web browsing and watching videos buttery smooth . it doesn't heat like other snapdragon 810 smartphones out there
Multimedia
10.0
Awesome ! Stereo frontfacing speakers are loud with a good bass . Fingerprint reader work fast and very accurate from my point of view is better than the iphone 6 i owned.
Camera
10.0
Auto settings makes clear and sharp photos however you better use the manual settings in low light conditions , always great to have a dedicated camera button on a smartphone
UI speed
10.0
buttery smooth and fast
Everyday usage
10.0
Can't think of something that bothered me
Text input
9.0
fast and accurate
Display
10.0
FULL HD 1080p triluminos display is a good panel does a great job in reproducing natural colors, visible in direct sunlight, wide angles view and battery saver .
Battery
10.0
SONY is well known for amazing battery optimization ,standby is as good as iphones are known for, i can get like 2 days with medium usage and one day of heavy usage with stamina mode active. However you do have ultrastamina mode option too, think of that :) . FAST CHARGING !

Pros

  • Battery
  • Display
  • Build quality
  • Fingerprint
  • Stereo Speakers
  • Fast Charging

Cons

  • Secondary camera not that good

piro132 alternatives:

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

Jepeto posted on Apr 30, 2016, 1:04 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 30, 2016

10.0

In My Opinion , Best Android Phone Available

Jepeto has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It's The Best! I've had it for some times , best build quality , great performer , the UI is lovely , Camera app and the capturing speed isn't the best , but the fast focus is awesome , display is fine , not the best , but its enough for a phone like this , battery life is good , but the stamina mode will be gone with the android 6 update , however you can count on it for at least 1 day , the sound quality and loudness is great , not the best on headphones , overall , I love It !!!

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

No Pros

Cons

  • The Build Quality Is Great , But The Sharp Edge Makes It Hard To Handle Some Times!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

muhtar86 posted on Mar 28, 2016, 7:35 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 19, 2016

8.0

Just Good, Not Very

muhtar86 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It is satisfying but not a serious improvement from previous xperia z series. It is certain in ultimate point that using z5 makes me happy. it is impossible to say z5 is really bad in this ... point. everything is more than average if compared to other flagship devices.

Build quality
8.0
premium build quality, but power and camera buttons give the feeling of easily perishable.
Reception
8.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
9.0
it is fast like many others!
Multimedia
8.0
audio quality is remarkable; not too loud but gives quality sound. additionally, sony music is my favourite among other players. other multimedia applications are also satisfying
Camera
9.0
it is impressive.
UI speed
10.0
very fast, reliable and lovely
Everyday usage
7.0
snapdragon 810 can heat up easily-disturbing. fingerprint reader is working well, but it is not useful in the right side. not comfortable enough to hold by one hand!
Text input
8.0
ordinary, but simple and practical
Display
8.0
full hd is enough for a good display quality regarding also more performance and less battery usage. z5 has a good display quality but I think my previous z2 has slightly better display quality than z5. thus there is not a remarkable improvement on display
Battery
8.0
not good as my previous z2, but still pretty good. it offers a day battery performance even during an intensive daily usage

Pros

  • built quality
  • waterproof
  • camera
  • battery
  • stereo speakers
  • UI

Cons

  • heats up easily
  • fingerprint location
  • not ergonomic to hold by one hand

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

gokhanjk posted on Jan 05, 2016, 3:58 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 05, 2016

9.0

awesome device

gokhanjk has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I am using this device for a month. I can say Z5 is a very useful and powerful device that looks and feels good on the hand. I switched from IOS to Sony and haven't missed IOS yet.It has strong visual and audio capabilities, sufficient battery life, very good camera, fast processors. One of the best smart phones in the market. Highly recommended.

Build quality
10.0
feels great and premium on hand. very solid design
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
very strong wi-fi connection
Multimedia
10.0
high visual and audio quality
Camera
9.0
perfect on daylight. needs some improvement for low light at super automatic mode. manual mode provides good shots at low light.
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • build quality
  • high quality audio
  • great daylight camera
  • great low light camera at manual mode
  • fast and reliable on daily usage

Cons

  • super automatic mode should perform better at low light

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

jb8von posted on Dec 13, 2015, 7:02 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 15, 2014

9.0

Extremely solid performer

jb8von has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Pros: Awesome battery life, waterproof capabilities, light Xperia skin, thin body, beautiful screen (2k is not needed and kills battery life IMO).
Cons: camera quality does not measure up to Samsung flagships, no fingerprint scanner, viewing angles are decent but not great, copying text can sometimes take multiple attempts, no split screen capabilities, power button could be more pronounced and clicky.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
10.0

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

uguntde posted on Dec 10, 2015, 6:59 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 10, 2015

10.0

Really nice phone

uguntde has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I had it fr about a week, and I am very satisfied. CHose between iphone 6 or 6+ and SONY Z5. Pro SONY arguments were were -in descending order- the sdcard slot, the battery life, the price, the camera.

Build quality
10.0
nice glass design, water proof
Reception
10.0
no better or worse than my previous phone
Call quality
10.0
good on the ear
Internet
10.0
fast to connect to wifi, although most phones offer that
Multimedia
10.0
I tried music, spotify, youtube, some movies and love it. Nothing I would miss
Camera
10.0
A great camera, quick, makes good pictures.
UI speed
10.0
the phone is really quick, even wih many apps open
Everyday usage
10.0
It is just great. I don't think much about it, just use it. Previously had a Samsung S5 and battery life with the SONY is way better. The S5 was also well built, but I prefer the more vanilla android of the SONY.
Text input
10.0
Admittedly I use swiftkey, but there is no need to. I just do because I am used to swiftkey, the SONY keynoard is great/
Display
10.0
Crisp, bright. just perfect
Battery
9.0
Yeah, this is where this phone is great, and this is important for me. You get your full day's worth of battery life, maybe the 2 days they promise, although not for my way of using it. I wouldn't give a 10 to any current smartphone.

Pros

  • SDcard !!!
  • very good battey life and smart battery management
  • good and fast camera
  • water proof
  • built-in dlna which works well
  • nice design

Cons

  • less fashionalbe than iphones
  • I am not too fond of all glass, but enjoy having a water proof phone
  • maybe I know better in 3 months time

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

Sufix posted on Dec 01, 2015, 3:43 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 01, 2015

9.0

High end phone

Sufix has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Hello guys,
As a phone freak that is changing every 4 months the gadgets and had all sony xperia z line, some samsung and htc high end phones i can say my opinion about the Z5. I have this phone for about 2 months now and i can say its big improvment from the z3+. The phone reacts faster works smoother, the sound is not very loud like other Chinese brands but its clean, camera is the best in all conditions (even underwater :)) I can go all day with pro comments but i have also some things that i don't like :
It doesn't have 2k display ,USB type C, as the phone is so premium also cost big buck have very good hardware i feel like they didn't go all the way to offer the user the best of the best.
The other thing that i don't like is the back cover my preference for this phone was the back to be metal or something removable. I had a incident when i drooped my z3+ the back cover was cracked and went to replace where i was informed that my phone better stay away from water..... on today market this is the best choice for premium phone with high ip rating....
This is my opinion and as a sub note I liked also s6 active (dosnt sell in europe) and touring phone (has old chipset).

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
8.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Waterproof
  • Front speakers
  • Camera
  • Build quality

Cons

  • 2k display
  • Usb type C
  • UI need improvment

Sufix alternatives:

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.