Sony Xperia Z3v User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.2

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage
8.5
UI speed
9.8
Camera
10.0
Multimedia
9.6
Internet
8.8
Call quality
9.8
Battery
9.6
Reception
9.8
Display
10.0
Build quality
9.6
Text input
9.4
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

2112jc posted on Nov 11, 2014, 2:46 PM
Posts: 14; Member since: Jul 15, 2012

10.0

Overlooked Device

2112jc has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

AMAZING build quality. I have been waiting for a phone with this design for a very long time. It has a no nonsense straight line build. No exterior frills. Just straight down to business look.
Screen is beautiful indoors or out. Buttons have a very distinct and positive feel to them. Dual front facing speakers outline the screen for a very polished and well balanced look. Expandable memory is a huge plus. Water and dust proof, and an AMAZING battery top it off. One of the best phones I have ever owned (and I have owned every smart phone Verizon has to offer right now). I returned the Droid Turbo for this device.
Lack of developer community will be the only con for this device.

Build quality
10.0
Beautiful and well constructed. Hard to believe it is a mass produced handset. Has a custom feel to it.
Reception
10.0
As with most Verizon devices, reception is perfect.
Call quality
10.0
Crystal clear and has options to enhance clarity and slow down speech from other end.
Internet
10.0
LTE speeds are blazing fast as usual with Verizon.
Multimedia
10.0
Excellent screen for movies, games, etc.. Sony Walkman app is second to none for music.
Camera
10.0
Excellent! Dedicated Camera button makes it quick and easy to get great pictures. The camera software is plenty for either a novice shooter, or someone much more advanced.
UI speed
10.0
Very snappy. No lags at all so far, and the skin Sony has over stock android is very minimal.
Everyday usage
10.0
Awesome Battery, great reception, and great looks. Easy to use every day.
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Perfect indoors or out. Crystal clear and colors look amazing. 3 different display options via software settings allow you to customize it just the way you want.
Battery
10.0
Easily makes it a full day with plenty to spare. I charge every phone I have overnight every night, but if I missed a night with this one I would not be worried at all.

Pros

  • Waterproof
  • Screen size and quality
  • Battery
  • sound
  • UI

Cons

  • Lack of third party support

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

StSquiggy posted on Nov 27, 2015, 4:02 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 16, 2015

10.0

Good Device, Lil Quirky

StSquiggy has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The Xperia is a pretty good device, upgraded from the Samsung Note 3, it runs decently and I've had little problems with it. Only issues I've had thus far is messaging problems and wanting Lollipop, but other than that it's great.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Smooth operation
  • Solid device
  • Customization built in
  • External SD card

Cons

  • Heat
  • Small bugs
  • Lollipop excluded

Is this review helpful?

Report

mukomiel posted on May 04, 2015, 11:15 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 13, 2014

8.0

Don't Buy It

mukomiel has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've bought this phone at Verizon Wireless and returned it the same day! The reason of return: Verizon Wireless Hotspot. The software won't let me use my data on other devises what is totally unacceptable!

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
1.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
1.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Unlocked

Cons

  • Verizon Wireless Hotspot
  • Verizon Software

0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

HTCGuySD posted on May 04, 2015, 5:28 PM
Posts: 1; Member since: Jan 22, 2014

9.0

Great and OK

HTCGuySD has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I love the phone for non phone things. Camera, battery life, and screen are superb. But Texting, and call quality are a little lacking in comparison to my previous HTC devices. Texting seems sluggish on any application using the stock keyboard, and call quality (sound and clarity) are a little muffled due to moisture resistance factor. Otherwise don't hate it and works well 9 times out of ten for whatever I need it to do.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
7.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • great display and battery life
  • great camera and fast internet

Cons

  • slow keyboard
  • lack of accessories
  • of course bloatware from Sony

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Jornexus posted on Mar 06, 2015, 2:52 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 06, 2015

10.0

Going on two weeks and am still blown away!

Jornexus has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I like to believe im an educated consumer and did a lot of digging on all the latest VZ offerings. My expectations for this phone were sky high and they are being surpassed! i'm running nova launcher and the phone is by far the snappiest device ive ever had. Tap to wake is phenomenal. Having moved here from an HTC ONE M7, my primary concerns were pixel density (M7: 468ppi - Z3v: 424ppi) and screen brightness (M7: 460nits - Z3v: 407nits) but these are no longer a concern. Expectations exceeded.

A few tweaks improved the performance and dropped the used RAM to under 1.3gb regularly.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
+1
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
The stock keyboard has a disable option for voice-to-text. unfortunately, when enabled, it is an active key directly next to the period.
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

No Pros

Cons

  • Charging port
  • lack of cases

Is this review helpful?

Report

elyvondoom posted on Nov 19, 2014, 7:44 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 19, 2014

7.0

Wait

elyvondoom has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Overall not satisfied. Some social app's take too long to load up. this phone doesn't receive photo txt from iPhones very well. In fact out of 3 messages I received, only 1came with the photo attachment. The front speakers are nice but when I'm listening to Pandora, if I keep the level slightly under half, it's too low.

The screen is bigger than my HTC DNA but with the keyboard, back, Home button being part of the screen the display is actually smaller. A whole lot smaller.

The camera is fantastic! As expected, Sony knows cameras. The video quality is no less as well.

Without adjusting the battery levels you're looking at low operating hours.

I don't see the reason to have a glass back other than Sony attempting to imitate the iPhone. It's too slick and this phone will slide if there's even a slight angle on the surface. The corners of this phone are too pointed. One wrong movement with your finger and say goodbye to your glass phone.

The overall feel of the phone is good.Not too big, not too small.

Overall it seems Sony is trying too hard to be the next iPhone. Sony is definitely on the right track but at this time and with better phones on the market, it's just not their time to shine.

Build quality
7.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • fantastic display, camera, charge time
  • processor speed, additional port for micro sd

Cons

  • battery life, speakers, glass body, getting pic-txt, lack of wow factor
  • Z4 rumored to drop in April.

elyvondoom alternatives:

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

Adolfobt posted on Nov 17, 2014, 12:45 PM
Posts: 4; Member since: Jun 17, 2012

10.0

Solid as they come and Built to work.

Adolfobt has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

On the one side you have Sony which has long been an industry leader in tech devices, on the other you have Verizon with their world class service and coverage. Combine the 2 and you have a masterpiece that can make even Apple and Samsung quiver in fear.
Only bad thing about this device is, Not enough people know about it, as well as poor marketing. If Sony spent half of what Samsung spends on marketing they'd put some numbers on the board that would meet and beat the competition in sales. More should try this phone, you won't be disappointed.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Just about everything

Cons

  • Wish the Power Button was a little higher

Adolfobt alternatives:

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

xeene posted on Nov 10, 2014, 11:00 AM
Posts: 2; Member since: Nov 10, 2014

10.0

the dark horse on Verizon

xeene has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone has a lot of potential. I'll list some factors that I think are somewhat relevant.

Pros:
Great reception, I get speeds I couldn't even get with Motorola phones.
Gorgeous screen, perfect 1080 resolution. None of that 2k+ bs that sucks the battery dry.
Dual front facing stereo speakers actually produce very clear sound even at high volume.
160gb of storage, 32 built in and 128 sd card. Can't ever have enough when 1min of 4k takes up 400mb.
Waterproofed! I like to read my phone relaxing in a jacuzzi, no longer have to worry of what might happen and yes I've tested it.
Decent size battery, not as good as droid maxx(720p screen and 3500mah battery) but much better then any other screen/battery combo on the market.
Dedicated camera button. Can take a picture in under 2 seconds from picking up the phone.
Camera is phenomenal! 20mp pics that only take up 2-3mb of space! Quality is second to none.
Wireless charging, always a plus.

Now on to cons:
Ergonomics are horrible. The sharp edges and flat back make holding the phone uncomfortable and it being so tall will make reaching upper left corner impossible one handed.
Glass in the back. What the hell for? Twice as fragile and slippery in dry hands.
Bloatware galore. I had to disable 30 apps from sony and Verizon before I even logged into Google.
None existant developer and aftermarket support. I can't even find a case for it, forget about root or unlocked bootloader.
Software isn't as user-friendly as on Motorola phones....  

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • very fast and smooth
  • great camera
  • lots of storage (160gb with sd card)
  • waterproof
  • dual front speakers
  • premium device look and feel
  • excellent battery life

Cons

  • glass back
  • no simultaneous voice and data
  • Ergonomics

xeene alternatives:

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.