Sony Xperia Z3 User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.0

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage
8.8
UI speed
9.5
Camera
8.7
Multimedia
9.3
Internet
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Battery
9.2
Reception
9.0
Display
8.8
Build quality
8.2
Text input
8.6
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

XperiaG posted on Jun 15, 2016, 7:57 PM
Posts: 178; Member since: Jun 06, 2016

10.0

Best phone I ever had.

XperiaG has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have had this phone for the past 10 month.. and It is totally awesome.. it does not have a scratch nor anything... and the performance is just superb... it is a fast phone... my only con is that it overheats a little bit but besides that it is a great phone... Sony has never disappointed me.

Build quality
10.0
It has really confortable shape.... the rectangular for also is unique...
Reception
9.0
for me is awesome but I think Sony needs more propaganda cause... we see a lot of iphone or samsung but almost nothing on sony... this is a flaw for the company but not the devise.
Call quality
10.0
My calls have good reception.... and the mic.. works really well.
Internet
10.0
Fast internet conection.... using either wifi or the data network... it works fine even on heavy pages...
Multimedia
10.0
awesome video quality.... and really good stereo speakers.....
Camera
10.0
takes superb pictures and for me I think that on Macros is the best. the camera built in app is really easy and straight to the point.
UI speed
10.0
really fast on average usage... and on heavy gaming...
Everyday usage
10.0
it is my main driver... I use it everyday and it is a great phone for all kind of user... like a business phone or just regular use.
Text input
8.0
in here I just have one complain... if you manage to use regulary two languages on the keyboard I can get really confuse with the predictive text... but overall if you pay attention is not bad.
Display
10.0
really clean colors and excellent resolution....
Battery
10.0
It last 2 days with average use and Stamina on...

Pros

  • Really good camera quality and app
  • Awesome resolution on display
  • Good and confortable size
  • Fast phone without any bug or lag.
  • awesome battery life and fast charging

Cons

  • Keyboard can get confuse if you use two languages
  • it overheats sometimes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

ninja_master posted on Aug 26, 2015, 7:20 AM
Posts: 306; Member since: Feb 27, 2015

9.0

COOL

ninja_master has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

the xperia z3 is a good phone.but with every phone there will be cons in this case i have found few cons such as: glass breaks from chest height, lollipop battery life is less than kitkat's battery life,and its somewhat slippery

Build quality
8.0
glass breaks quite easily but corners and everything else is good
Reception
10.0
no negative comments
Call quality
10.0
voice is quite clear
Internet
8.0
can be a little laggy and warm when browsing
Multimedia
10.0
just great
Camera
8.0
the camera is certainly not an S6 camera but still great photos
UI speed
10.0
very fast havent lag
Everyday usage
9.0
great
Text input
8.0
keyboard is a little small
Display
10.0
awesome. great brightness
Battery
8.0
great. worse after lollipop

Pros

  • exceptional screen
  • fluid ui
  • good camera
  • great battery life

Cons

  • screen breaks quite easily
  • worse battery life after lollipop update

ninja_master alternatives:

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

the_matchless posted on Apr 26, 2015, 8:56 AM
Posts: 64; Member since: Apr 01, 2012

10.0

One great phone that has unduly been run own by the reviewers!!!

the_matchless has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

When I was looking to change from my Z2 to the Z3 I was faced with the famous question, is the change justifiable? Well the answer is yes! As I spend more time with the device I appreciate the nice changes and improvements they've made to the already great Z2. It has a much much better feel, a better camera, a crispier and a brighter display than the Z2. All in all there is very little to almost nothing to dislike in the phone. It is a great device that has been unduly run down by the reviewers and unappreciated by the herd of sheep IUKWIM...

I'd Strongly recommend the device if,

1- You want to increase value for money (of-course this may vary from place to place)

2- You are not led by the hypes, the gimmicks and the popular rhetoric (e.g. QHD Display etc.) created by the marketing teams and the media (reviewers included).

3- You need a premium quality phone

4- You like minimalist designs

5- You want the best battery life

6- You want Water proofing with stereo speakers & with all the greatness :)

7- You prefer IPS over AMOLED (like me) Although I must say S6 has one amazing AMOLED Display that has now gotten quite closer to a good IPS display.

Build quality
10.0
It has one of the best, most well rounded finishes. The frame finish reminds me of my old favorite the N8.
Reception
10.0
Never has this phone disappointed me. Stays connected and is clear.
Call quality
9.0
Haven't got any real gripe here
Internet
10.0
The connectivity options, as with many other flagships, are plenty. The Wifi connects very quickly and the signals are strong. The mobile data also runs great.
Multimedia
10.0
With its front facing speakers and that pleasing display the music, the videos and the games are truly enjoyable.
Camera
9.0
If only the software implementation was better and had an OIS it would've easily scored a 10. With the 3rd party apps such as "open camera" Pro Camera" and "lg camera" the Z3 can take some great low light shots at full res.
UI speed
10.0
Although some additions and changes are always welcome, I have never had a serious issue here. Its very snappy :)
Everyday usage
10.0
Love it the whole day through.
Text input
9.0
One of the best.
Display
9.0
Very charming, pleasing, colorful and sharp. The video playback can even out do the great QHD display of S6 (as I have personally compared) even with the X-reality tweaks turned off while the S6 running at its best settings.
Battery
10.0
Its one of the best. can easily give a day and a half. Just look out for those notorious battery draining apps (not the pre-installed ones).

Pros

  • Everything else other than the mentioned under

Cons

  • Weak Camera Software implementation
  • Heats up fairly quickly while using camera on a hot day with wifi turned on
  • Lack of OIS

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Report

SmartPhoneSpirit posted on Nov 30, 2014, 6:01 AM
Posts: 8; Member since: Jul 30, 2013

10.0

Sony has done a great job with this phone

SmartPhoneSpirit has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Well I'm impressed with Sony's offering.I had the LG G3,and I thought it was the best smatyphone,although it had some cons:the brightness output and the battery.This is where the Xperia Z3 shines.I got the copper colour which is unbelievebely good.It has an awesome display,GREAT battery life and the design is just..perfect.The lack of lag makes it a must-have smartphone.The camera is very good,but with future updates maybe Sonymakes it better in low-light.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Bttery life
  • Display
  • Camera
  • Design
  • Gaming
  • No lag
  • Excellent everyday usage

Cons

  • The low-light could be better
  • When I'm out,and I call somebody it's voice sounds like a robot

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Report

gundamexia450 posted on Jan 10, 2015, 6:18 PM
Posts: 27; Member since: Dec 21, 2011

10.0

Truly impressive with the battery life

gundamexia450 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

While it's not a major improvement from Xperia Z2, the battery life had extend up to two days of battery life. That is a major advantage since most flagship phones have a mediocre or poor battery life. The color is little off, seems too cold in appearing. As a flagship phone, it is expected that it provide fast and lagless usage quality, which it does. Camera can be improve on again, especially on low light condition since many people like to party at night.

Build quality
10.0
Premium build quality with two glasses, front and back. Covered with a metal band and matte plastic cover for slot.
Reception
9.0
Reception can be little laggy if it's unlocked. doesn't have a full support of that network.
Call quality
10.0
The call is very clear and direct.
Internet
10.0
With Snapdragon 801, internet time is very fast.
Multimedia
10.0
Simple, with multiple sound enchantments for music enjoyment
Camera
8.0
The camera quality is good, but low light condition needs some work.
UI speed
10.0
Close to stock android, it is very fast and simple.
Everyday usage
10.0
If you're not a power user like I am, it can reach up to two days of usage, luckily to 3 days maybe.
Text input
10.0
direct and there is no misclick or typo
Display
9.0
The screen is big enough for anything and has crisp image quality. However, the color is little off balanced. Perhaps it can be my eye issue. Don't know
Battery
10.0
Up to two days of battery life. Good enough for anyone

Pros

  • Premium build
  • Big screen
  • Waterproof
  • Dustproof

Cons

  • Colors is litte off

gundamexia450 alternatives:

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

Enciboci posted on Jul 15, 2017, 5:40 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jul 15, 2017

10.0

Sony Xperia Z3

Enciboci has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Superb phone never stops never freezing i think its so good because of the root and a custom rom. It has great camera and has a beautiful slim and shiny body realy nice phone its quality is superb the stereo speakers sound very good and the sound quality is nice and loud i use dolby athmos and viper4 android i love this phone very much

Build quality
10.0
Its a beautiful phone i think one of the most beautiful phon e in the world
Reception
9.0
almost perfect sometimes its faint
Call quality
9.0
good call quality
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
its the strongest part of the phone
Camera
8.0
somethimes noizy
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
i use it 1y and 2 month satisfied with it
Text input
9.0
cant tipe very fast
Display
9.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • quality
  • display
  • ip 68
  • fm radio
  • camera
  • battery

Cons

No Cons

Is this review helpful?

Report

rwadh posted on Apr 17, 2016, 2:24 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 17, 2016

6.0

wish i hd not bought xperia z3...

rwadh has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Pray to God that u never hv to go to sony service centre. Disply unit of z3 failed within 10months , sony centre washed off its hand n refused to take phone back, pushed me to visit service centre directly...though at the time of selling free replacement was committed if there is any mfr defect found. given mobile for repair at sony service centre...now chasing them for more than a month.standard reply its under repair waiting for parts....i wish i would hv never bought sony phone...

Build quality
3.0
Side jack cover came out within one month, screen failed within 10months
Reception
6.0
Call quality
6.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
6.0
over hyped
Camera
7.0
UI speed
7.0
Nothing great
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
7.0
Display
6.0
Failed within 10 months
Battery
9.0
Good

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

Juvenile89 posted on Nov 27, 2015, 7:48 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 27, 2015

7.0

Never try xperia z3,i regret it!

Juvenile89 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The phone have a loot of bugs,and the screen pannel and back pannel is separating because the glue is melting because the phone is overheating,and that mean no more water proof,please believe me,listen to my advice!don't buy this phone!i ignored that advices and i traded my Note 4 for this crap!hope you do the right move,bye

Build quality
7.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
6.0
Camera
5.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
6.0
Text input
7.0
Display
2.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Good battery life
  • UI very fast
  • stereo speakers

Cons

  • Back pannel in getting of
  • The vibration is not working
  • 2 white spots on the display
  • a bad phone

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Report

Arif54321 posted on Nov 17, 2015, 10:11 AM
Posts: 1; Member since: Mar 22, 2013

10.0

Awesome performance

Arif54321 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

One of best smartphone on the market . I can play all the hd games available on playstore and specially fifa 16 is awesome .. You can clearly see the performance of this beast .. The camera is very good even at low light

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

snovvdog posted on Oct 22, 2015, 4:56 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 22, 2015

6.0

Easily breaks, plagued by construction errors, looks nice

snovvdog has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Owned this phone for 4 months.
Battery is great, it looks awesome, and it feels ok.

However, build quality is rubbish, screen cracks easily, phone bends, the ''waterproofing'' flaps break very fast, Sony service is terrible ( sending a phone off for 2 weeks to replace flaps? ), Xperia software is even worse than Touchwiz or Sense imho. 3.5mm jack port is way underpowered ( other phones are much louder), also the regular the speakers are to silent. Waterproofing sometimes fails ( both the glue holding the screen, and the charging flap). Usb connector feels iffy and is to deep in the phone, USB connector is on side ( annoying in car, in ''charging stations/lockers''. Illogical place for volume buttons ( especially if it's docked in a car). Audio is to silent. Flashlight produces to little light ( I often use phone as a flashlight, and other phones give much more light).

Imho it's inferior compared to HTC or Samsung. It just ''feels'' nice, but build quality wise it's terrible, it easily breaks and needs to be treated like a fragile baby instead of like an every day object. Get a HTC One or S5/6 instead. It's great as a toy, and software runs great on it. As an actual tool, it's bad, the design is impractical ( buttons, frame, screen) and easily malfunctions.

Build quality
1.0
Screen easily cracked, frame bent in pocket, touchscreen matrix fails to work on cracked screen, screen scratches easily. ''Waterproof'' flap covers often break/don't porperly close.
Reception
9.0
Good signal
Call quality
6.0
Ok call quality on earspeaker, rubbish quality on loudspeaker ( way to silent).
Internet
6.0
Only 150 mbit / cat4 LTE, slow LTE...
Multimedia
9.0
Fast, plays everything I want
Camera
5.0
Camera is a bit rubbish in low light conditions, worse than much older phones, and automatic settings are bad too
UI speed
10.0
Good, respensive, no lag
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
3.0
xperia keyboard is absolute rubbish ( not multilanguage, no swyping, bad spelling correction) , swiftkey is much better
Display
5.0
Flexible screen ( distorts when pressing to hard), bad contrast, stops working when cracked
Battery
10.0
Great, 2 days with medium-heavy use

Pros

  • Perceived build quality (looks&feels)
  • Hardware/speed
  • Waterproof

Cons

  • Actual build quality ( sim&charging flap, resistance to damage, bends)
  • IPS screen ( AMOLED is much nicer)
  • Bad Sony Service

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Report

aroarophonearena posted on Aug 02, 2015, 5:10 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 02, 2015

10.0

Amazing phone

aroarophonearena has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The best Sony phone ever. Sony has done everything right. You should not buy it if you bought a Z2 a few month ago unless you want Play Station Remote Play or . High Resolution audio support. Overall this is very good phone.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Superb performance
  • Great build quality
  • Beautiful design
  • Perfect camera
  • Strong battery life
  • Good features
  • Gorgeous IPS screen

Cons

  • No Cons

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

jonathan4120 posted on Jul 13, 2015, 9:36 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jul 12, 2015

9.0

Phone of the Year Contender

jonathan4120 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The Sony Xperia Z3 was my first ever Sony phone. Bought mine on January but sadly got stolen about a week ago (no reference to the famous rap song). In general, I was very happy with my purchase. I used a clear plastic case with my phone which survived many drops on hardwood and once on asphalt (forgot the brand) and therefore, smudges on the glass back is not a problem for me. My favorite feature of this phone has to be its waterproof-ness. When my phone overheats on a hot day, i could just put it in the sink and let water run through it. I'm gonna miss doing that with my phone now.

Build quality
9.0
Glass back might be a negative for some, but not for me
Reception
9.0
No problem
Call quality
9.0
Never had a problem in this field
Internet
8.0
Changing tabs in Chrome though the multitasking menu can prove to be annoying as it is mixed other apps
Multimedia
8.0
Music interface can be difficult to use
Camera
7.0
I had much higher expectations for the 20.7 mp back camera
UI speed
9.0
3 GB of ram really does a good job
Everyday usage
9.0
Very very satisfying
Text input
10.0
Very nice. I especially like how I can have both French and English dictionaries on the same keyboard
Display
9.0
1080p display is crisp
Battery
10.0
Never ran out of battery. Stamina mode feels amazing. Ultra Stamina mode works wonders. I got 19 hours of standby time being left with 3% battery

Pros

  • -Waterproof
  • -Excellent battery life
  • -Good speakers
  • -Creative magnetic charger
  • -Charges relatively quickly
  • -Available additional storage
  • -Keyboard is very nice

Cons

  • -Camera quality below expectation
  • -Opened Chrome tabs look like a mess in multitasking menu

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

macaria528 posted on May 15, 2015, 2:53 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 15, 2015

5.0

HUGE Disappointment

macaria528 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I was really sold on this phone when I was going to upgrade. I was VERY disappointed that I had to replace the phone twice in under a year. The first phone crashed. HARD. It was frozen but I could still receive calls and texts. I just couldn't see them. The store sent a new one because that one "had a bug". The second one showed problems IMMEDIATELY. When my alarm goes off, I have to reset my phone because my phone will not allow me to turn off the alarm. It overheats really quickly and easily. I was simply playing a game on my phone for a few minutes and my phone was so hot, I had to put it down for about half an hour. I also have problems sending picture messages about 40% of the time, and have had more than one occasion of problems receiving and sending texts. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE

Build quality
2.0
I was sold on the fact that it was water-proof. When I was replacing this phone (the first time) the company said it was checking for water damage. Why would it have water damage if it was water proof? It also cracked I HAVE NO IDEA WHEN. I found it when I took the case off. I have NEVER cracked a phone.
Reception
1.0
This phone has lagged SO many texts for me
Call quality
9.0
It calls.
Internet
4.0
The phone does overheat if you use the internet for about 10-15 minutes
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
6.0
I was impressed by the picture quality at first but somehow it seems the camera isn't as impressive as it was when I first got it.
UI speed
5.0
Everyday usage
4.0
This phone disappoints me regularly.
Text input
5.0
I do like the voice texting. But that's about all.
Display
7.0
Battery
2.0
The battery was good at first, but its getting worse by the day.

5 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Report

rry6961 posted on Apr 28, 2015, 7:38 PM
Posts: 2; Member since: Apr 28, 2015

5.0

I wish I never bought xperia z3 (glass breaks easily)

rry6961 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Thankfully I have insurance but I've still had to pay a $175 deductible three times now because the screen broke and now the back glass has broke again after only a 12 inch fall. You can't do a simple screen replacement because of wwaterproofing if you can even find the part. It's also difficult to find a decent case. T-mobile doesn't even carry it anymore. Still no lollipop update in USA.

Build quality
1.0
Reception
7.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
7.0
Everyday usage
1.0
Text input
2.0
Display
6.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

No Pros

Cons

  • glass breaks easily

6 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Report

Yanoofu posted on Apr 20, 2015, 4:01 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 20, 2015

10.0

Most beautiful and best phone!

Yanoofu has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The good news for Sony is that just six months later it's having another go at it. And the good news for the smartphone-buying public is that the Xperia Z3 solves many of the problems of its predecessor while also adding a few genuinely unique features.

So while it may at first glance look like a mere incremental upgrade over the Z2, make no mistake: the Z3 is the real deal.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Really good Battery Life
  • One of the best Cameras on a smartphone
  • High quality stereo speakers
  • Waterproof and dust proof
  • Large display

Cons

No Cons

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Report

empty_zero posted on Apr 07, 2015, 2:38 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 07, 2015

10.0

The impossibly slim and waterproof smartphone

empty_zero has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The Xperia Z3 is the smartphone that does more and goes further – whether further is a day by the pool or a run in the rain.Years of Sony camera expertise have been brought to Xperia Z3, a premium phone with Cyber-shot and Handycam technologies. So you can capture photos in any light and shoot steady videos on the move. The Xperia Z3 comes with a wide choice of unique Xperia camera apps that make great pictures and videos even better. Try Creative effects for artistic filters and techniques, shoot videos straight to YouTube, or write your own postcard with AR fun. Get directions at midnight, marathon-watch your favourite show, or skip the charger in your overnight bag. The Xperia Z3’s incredible two-day** battery life means you can do more with every charge. Say sayonara to casual gaming. PS4™ Remote Play on the Xperia Z3 brings real PS4 gaming to a premium phone. Access your PS4 console via your home Wi-Fi network and play your favourite games with your DUALSHOCK®4 controller in any room. With Digital Noise Cancelling technology, the only thing you hear is your entertainment. Exterior noise is blocked out by 98% when Xperia Xperia Z3 is paired with the MDR-NC31EM headset. Immersing yourself in your game has never been easier. Do more than you thought possible.

Build quality
9.0
he Xperia Z3 is absolutely stunning; sleek, rounded aluminum graces the frame of the phone for a soft and understated edge.
Reception
10.0
A strong antenna inside the handset gives reliable connections to any U.S. cellular networks, and a dual-band Wi-Fi antenna ensures proper connection at both 2.4 and 5 GHz frequencies.
Call quality
9.0
The top speaker of the phone manages to produce a mostly clear and loud sound. A slight tone shift is caused by the waterproofing, but it does not reduce audio quality by much and is a small trade-off for being able to literally swim and take underwater pictures with the phone. Calls come through the other side crisp and clear.
Internet
10.0
The large high-resolution display is perfect for browsing nearly any website, even desktop pages not optimized for mobile. A responsive touchscreen and the capability to connect to a multitude of high-speed data streams mean you will be able to enjoy the whole of the internet at whatever pace you set.
Multimedia
10.0
This is one of the several areas in which the Z3 absolutely dominates the field. With a whopping 3 GB of RAM, quad-core Snapdragon 801 SoC, and a beautiful 5.2" 1080p display, this phone can handle just about anything you throw at it and make it look damn good in the process. The dual speakers produce a bright and clean sounding audio quality for music and video, very much due to their being placed on the front of the phone just above and below the display. Auxiliary and Bluetooth audio both com
Camera
10.0
While some have complained of low-light problems, I personally have not been let down. While there may be other handsets that capture low-light photos better, the Xperia Z3 certainly does a satisfactory job. This also goes hand-in-hand with its other photo flaw; a slightly underpowered LED flash. But for its two small flaws, this phone makes up for and goes beyond that with some really impressive camera abilities: - Massive 20.7 MP (5248x3936) pictures in manual mode - A dedicated two-stage
UI speed
10.0
Sony's custom KitKat image is responsive and snappy, a testament to the powerful hardware running it. You are rarely ever left waiting for the phone to respond.Android 5.0 Lollipop available now .With a fresh look and feel, we’ve taken everything you love about your Xperia to the next level with our latest software update.
Everyday usage
10.0
The Xperia Z3 is the smartphone that does more and goes further – whether further is a day by the pool or a run in the rain. With the highest waterproof rating*, you can find your way in a downpour, take pictures in any weather, or just wipe off your phone after an unexpected spill.
Text input
10.0
With either Sony's built-in swipe-to-text function or the official Swype keyboard, the Z3 is lightning-fast for texting and typing.
Display
9.0
Xperia Z3 raises the bar in brightness, with display luminosity that goes above and beyond what you’re used to. Combined with Sony’s intuitive contrast enhancement technology, viewing is sharp even in bright sunlight.Thanks to IPS technology, your Sony smartphone offers an improved viewing angle. So you get super sharp images and accurate colours, no matter which angle you’re looking at your device from.Unique to Sony, TRILUMINOS™ Display technology creates a wider palette of rich, natural colou
Battery
10.0
Sony has stuffed a huge 3100 mAh battery into a slim package, managing to get up to two full days of regular use on a single charge. The biggest drawback is that the standard charger can take up to 4 hours to charge from under 10%.

Pros

  • Very good Battery Life
  • Awesome Camera 4k video recording, and some AR stuff)
  • super bright Display
  • High Quality Dual Front-Facing Speakers
  • Awesome connectivity to PS4
  • IP 65 & IP 68 Waterproofing
  • 20.7 MP Camera
  • Sleek & Professional Design
  • Dual-Band Wi-Fi Antenna
  • Excellent Reception

Cons

  • Front Facing Camera

empty_zero alternatives:

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Report

zachmcelroy24 posted on Mar 27, 2015, 11:15 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 27, 2015

9.0

T-Mobile Version

zachmcelroy24 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've had this phone for almost 6 months and its been great, but it has had horrible battery life. i thought it was just my model so i had a warranty exchange but it made no difference. It is hard to get one day out of this phone. I think it has something to do with T-Mobile. Besides that, everything else about this phone is awesome.

Build quality
10.0
Glass on glass with the metal frame is great. Also it is thin but has a good weight to it.
Reception
9.0
Usually great reception but has trouble sometimes connecting to LTE after disconnecting from Wifi.
Call quality
9.0
Great unless you put it into speaker mode.
Internet
9.0
Fast but same as reception.
Multimedia
10.0
Has a great screen and very bright.
Camera
10.0
Awesome camera but I advise using the Google camera or something else because Sony's image processing is crap.
UI speed
10.0
Very fast UI, mostly because it it almost stock.
Everyday usage
9.0
Good for everyday usage but has some quirks and stutters. Great that it is waterproof.
Text input
10.0
Fast and easy
Display
10.0
Amazing display for an LCD. Very bright and colorful.
Battery
7.0
I don't know why but I have had 3 different Z3's and they all have had crap battery life. definitely not the 2 days promised. I think it has to do with T-Mobile. A lot of background apps are always running.

Pros

  • Camera
  • Build
  • Screen
  • Waterproof
  • Dual Speakers

Cons

  • Battery
  • Front Facing Camera

zachmcelroy24 alternatives:

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

ThaBadfish posted on Mar 02, 2015, 8:22 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 27, 2015

10.0

A Gorgeous No-Frills Monster in Your Pocket

ThaBadfish has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

What Sony has created in the Z3 is nothing short of the best phone of 2014; the sleek design, powerful hardware, convenient connectivity, and overall quality of product make the Xperia Z3 a beast in your hand that doesn't look beastly.

From first sight, you are drawn into the Z3's stunning beauty by the bold yet understated features. A smooth aluminum frame graces the outside of the phone, met in the center by two matching colored plates of glass on the front and back. The cool, slick profile met by a sharp color of your choice (white, black, copper, or mint green) lends a style that is best described as, "Professionally Bold". On the corners of the frame sit matching colored plastic bumpers flush with the aluminum edges. The continuous glass panels are not crowded or broken by unsightly buttons or gimmicky sensors, only two front-facing speakers and a surprisingly compact 20.7 MP rear camera. Everything about this phone looks at you and says, "I am powerful. I am modern."

At the center of the face lies a beautiful 5.2" full HD display taking up most all of the phone space. Powered by Sony's X-Reality engine and pre-loaded with a sharp but subtle cool blue tint, the Z3's screen is the only feature demanding attention at the face of the device; there are no physical buttons to be seen save for the power, volume, and a convenient two-stage dedicated shutter button on the right edge. Underneath is a beefy 3 GB of RAM coupled with the powerful Snapdragon 801 SoC to deliver snappy...  

Build quality
9.0
The Xperia Z3 is absolutely stunning; sleek, rounded aluminum graces the frame of the phone for a soft and understated edge. Glass panels run across the front and back of the phone, evoking a much more refined and professional feeling than many of its flagship counterparts. Everything about this phone just screams premium. My only complaints with the build quality lie with back glass that easily gets very small scratches and watertight flaps that seal but don't always sit flush with the frame.
Reception
10.0
A strong antenna inside the handset gives reliable connections to any U.S. cellular networks, and a dual-band Wi-Fi antenna ensures proper connection at both 2.4 and 5 GHz frequencies.
Call quality
9.0
The top speaker of the phone manages to produce a mostly clear and loud sound. A slight tone shift is caused by the waterproofing, but it does not reduce audio quality by much and is a small trade-off for being able to literally swim and take underwater pictures with the phone. Calls come through the other side crisp and clear.
Internet
10.0
The large high-resolution display is perfect for browsing nearly any website, even desktop pages not optimized for mobile. A responsive touchscreen and the capability to connect to a multitude of high-speed data streams mean you will be able to enjoy the whole of the internet at whatever pace you set.
Multimedia
10.0
This is one of the several areas in which the Z3 absolutely dominates the field. With a whopping 3 GB of RAM, quad-core Snapdragon 801 SoC, and a beautiful 5.2" 1080p display, this phone can handle just about anything you throw at it and make it look damn good in the process. The dual speakers produce a bright and clean sounding audio quality for music and video, very much due to their being placed on the front of the phone just above and below the display. Auxiliary and Bluetooth audio both com
Camera
10.0
While some have complained of low-light problems, I personally have not been let down. While there may be other handsets that capture low-light photos better, the Xperia Z3 certainly does a satisfactory job. This also goes hand-in-hand with its other photo flaw; a slightly underpowered LED flash. But for its two small flaws, this phone makes up for and goes beyond that with some really impressive camera abilities: - Massive 20.7 MP (5248x3936) pictures in manual mode - A dedicated two-stage sh
UI speed
10.0
Sony's custom KitKat image is responsive and snappy, a testament to the powerful hardware running it. You are rarely ever left waiting for the phone to respond.
Everyday usage
10.0
The Xperia Z3 is ready to do anything you could need a smartphone for and more. While some smartphones get caught up in the "smart" so much that they gloss over the "phone" suffix, the Z3 excels for call quality, reception, and messaging. Sony's useful "small apps" feature sits at the bottom of the task switcher screen ready to launch a small version of most basic functions in a window that lies on top of your current screen. With this, you can set alarms, view calendars, toggle the flashlight,
Text input
10.0
With either Sony's built-in swipe-to-text function or the official Swype keyboard, the Z3 is lightning-fast for texting and typing.
Display
10.0
The beautiful 5.2" 1080p screen takes up almost all of the real estate of the front panel, a style that makes the phone look good both aesthetically and on-screen. The high pixel density means crisp, clean lines and satisfying display quality for both photo and video. A wide brightness range lets you use the display comfortably anywhere from the park on a bright day to the pitch-black of your bedroom at 3 in the morning. Sony's X-Reality engine further boosts display quality, and comprehensive t
Battery
9.0
Sony has stuffed a huge 3100 mAh battery into a slim package, managing to get up to two full days of regular use on a single charge. The biggest drawback is that the standard charger can take up to 4 hours to charge from under 10%.

Pros

  • 3100 mAh Battery Capacity
  • Large 5.2
  • 3 GB RAM & Quad-Core SoC
  • Sleek & Professional Design
  • Dual-Band Wi-Fi Antenna
  • Excellent Reception
  • High Quality Dual Front-Facing Speakers
  • 4K Video Capture
  • 20.7 MP Camera
  • IP 68 Waterproofing

Cons

  • Very Long Charge Times
  • Back is Easily Scratched
  • Some Flaps Don't Sit Flush

ThaBadfish alternatives:

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Report

AkarsanThapa123 posted on Jan 20, 2015, 2:25 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 20, 2015

10.0

Sony Xperia Z3

AkarsanThapa123 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Sony Xperia Z3 User Review.It is display is better than other smartphones.Z3 has better camera.This device is water proof and dustproof which we can not find in other best

Build quality
10.0
I simply like it's design.
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
NICE.
Multimedia
10.0
Videos look nice and the speaker is also nice.
Camera
10.0
4K video recording is available.
UI speed
10.0
It's fast.
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
I Like typing in this device.
Display
10.0
It is unique than other smartphones.
Battery
10.0
It charges faster.

Pros

  • Build Quality
  • Speaker
  • Great settings
  • Sony UI
  • Camera
  • Battery

Cons

  • Battery is not user replaceable.

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Report

turbotezza posted on Jan 08, 2015, 9:21 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 08, 2015

10.0

great phone

turbotezza has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

this is a well designed phone, beautiful and seamlessly put together. the camera is boss. i previously had an S5 and this blows it away. the only flaw on the phone is the location of the camera because ur fingers keep getting in the way.

Build quality
10.0
it has a sleek look that suggests its expensive and well put together.
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
my calls have good quality sound
Internet
10.0
internet speed is very quick
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
boss camera. excellent picture quality and the dedicated camera button makes it even better
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
just a brilliant phone
Text input
9.0
preferred the samsung keyboard
Display
10.0
beautiful resolution
Battery
10.0
life is great

Pros

  • waterproof
  • crazy battery life
  • build quality
  • excellent camera
  • great sound
  • speed

Cons

  • no IR
  • battery not user replaceable
  • location of camera

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Report

ziomalnik posted on Jan 03, 2015, 5:09 PM
Posts: 3; Member since: Jan 03, 2015

10.0

SONY Xperia Z3 FTW!

ziomalnik has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

While it's not a major improvement from Xperia Z2, the battery life had extend up to two days of battery life. That is a major advantage since most flagship phones have a mediocre or poor battery life. The color is little off, seems too cold in appearing. As a flagship phone, it is expected that it provide fast and lagless usage quality, which it does. Camera can be improve on again, especially on low light condition since many people like to party at night.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Report

amp2618 posted on Dec 10, 2014, 12:37 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 26, 2012

10.0

Sony Xperia Z3 One of the awesome phone in world

amp2618 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Really awesome experience of Sony Xperia Z3, feeling so freely to operate. Perfect phone for daily uses. Its provide amazing multimedia graphics and also processor speed. It has also great design of phone. and Camera provides best result.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Effective Multimedia
  • Faster Processor
  • Best Carema Quality
  • Screen Size
  • Best Graphics

Cons

No Cons

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Report

PrimeEv1l posted on Nov 20, 2014, 3:15 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 20, 2014

10.0

SONY Xperia Z3 FTW!

PrimeEv1l has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Recently Upgraded to Xperia Z3. Best phone to date. How do i know you may ask? Because my friend with his Iphone 6 Says so. LOL. Battery will last 4 days with stamina mode on. You can select individual apps that have access to mobile data when the phone screen turns off and turns off the data. So Whatsapp will always work.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Very good Battery Life
  • Awesome Camera 4k video recording, and some AR stuff)
  • very fast User interface
  • super bright Display
  • 2 Speakers for watching videos
  • Awesome connectivity to PS4
  • NFC FTW!
  • It's not an Iphone! YAY!

Cons

  • Takes a while to charge the battery

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Report

arophonearena posted on Jul 07, 2015, 2:28 AM

10.0

Sony Xperia Z3

arophonearena has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The best Sony phone ever. Sony has done everything right. You should not buy it if you bought a Z2 a few month ago unless you want Play Station Remote Play or . High Resolution audio support. Overall this is very good phone.

Build quality
10.0
High quality build, very strong and beautiful design Just use it careful or add screen protector and case
Reception
10.0
The best phone and comparable to many phones
Call quality
10.0
Very good call quality...
Internet
10.0
I browsing internet every day it is very fast and comfortable
Multimedia
10.0
It is comfortable for music too it has amazing music player with beautiful visualizations and features...
Camera
10.0
Camera is making phone a little hot but shoots very good and natural
UI speed
10.0
It is very fast It does all my tasks clear and no lag
Everyday usage
10.0
Very comfortable phone I use it every day (some gaming,very much web browsing and more)
Text input
10.0
Keyboard starts a little slow but very comfortable to type or swipe and it never disappoint me
Display
10.0
Display is superb It is very clear and bright
Battery
10.0
Battery is excellent It lasts 5-7 days for me

Pros

  • Superb performance
  • Great build quality
  • Beautiful design
  • Perfect camera
  • Strong battery life
  • Good features
  • Gorgeous IPS screen

Cons

  • Long charge time

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.