Sony Xperia SL User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.0

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage
8.9
UI speed
9.0
Camera
9.5
Multimedia
9.8
Internet
9.8
Call quality
9.9
Battery
6.0
Reception
9.4
Display
9.5
Build quality
9.0
Text input
9.5
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

roobs posted on Mar 23, 2013, 4:51 AM
Posts: 96; Member since: Mar 18, 2013

10.0

Nice and solid phone

roobs has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Nice Phone with very good multimedia capabilities. Although it has a dual core compared to others, I find it still very fluid. Some occasional lags, but in Quad Cores and Kraits, there are also :P
Some may dislike the fact that the phone requires charging very often. But nice phone from Sony.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • Perfect Multimedia phone
  • Display
  • Build Quality
  • Camera Nice but expect some noises in low light conditions

Cons

  • Battery Life
  • Some occasional lag but hope it goes away with jelly bean

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

mirzabf posted on Jul 07, 2013, 8:49 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jul 07, 2013

9.0

Great!

mirzabf has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is my first smartphone. Before buying this, i observe carefully so i choose this. At first sight i love its design. Price is cheaper than others phone at same class. Anyway this is the best phone you can buy, beauiful design, excellent camera, and great display.

Build quality
7.0
Compact, solid, beautiful, but heavy and no gorillaz glass
Reception
9.0
Great
Call quality
10.0
No problem
Internet
10.0
Wi fi great but on mobile data mode will suck your battery
Multimedia
10.0
No doubt
Camera
10.0
Love details
UI speed
8.0
Not flowing freely if your apps more than 5-7 pages.
Everyday usage
9.0
Good
Text input
10.0
No issue there, i like gesture input feature
Display
9.0
Display is good, but no gorilla corning glass, uh
Battery
5.0
Cant hold anylonger than 3 hours when play games. Just half day when mobile data was on.

Pros

  • Camera
  • Bravia engine
  • UI interface
  • Update jelly bean
  • Design

Cons

  • Weight
  • Thicker than others
  • No gorilla glass
  • Battery

mirzabf alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

ecuafer posted on May 12, 2013, 3:27 AM
Posts: 4; Member since: Mar 07, 2013

8.0

Good phone

ecuafer has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Nice design, ok quality, could be better, i dropped it from a distance around 1 meter and display cracked, awesome camera plus camera features. Battery is really bad, have to charge it 3 times a day. Multimedia is handled really nice with the native applications.

Build quality
7.0
Display cracked when it fell, after 2 months.
Reception
8.0
Good reception, but could be better.
Call quality
10.0
Excellent call quality, no issues there.
Internet
10.0
No issues there
Multimedia
10.0
Nice native multimedia control.
Camera
10.0
Beautiful camera, excellent quality. 12MP
UI speed
8.0
Could be better, can't personalize that much.
Everyday usage
8.0
Good for everyday usage.
Text input
7.0
Had to install an additional app for texting.
Display
8.0
Nice display, but heat colors appear at the bottom, not big deal tho.
Battery
2.0
Battery doesn't last, always have to carry charger everywhere.

Pros

  • Camera
  • Multimedia
  • Design
  • Storage

Cons

  • Fragile
  • Battery
  • Personalization

ecuafer alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

Pranam_Shetty posted on Apr 14, 2013, 12:49 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 14, 2013

9.0

Kinda Good Phone

Pranam_Shetty has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Well it's same as the xperia S...except for some enhancements here and there!!!
A good phone in terms of UI, camera, display, looks. It's kinda fast and is fluidic...!!! Could hav been betta if battery life was improved and with Jelly Bean update, would be a gr8 phone.

Build quality
8.0
Great look
Reception
8.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
9.0
Extremely good picture quality in well lit conditions...
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
7.0
Not enough

Pros

  • Good Display
  • Very good picture quality

Cons

  • Battery
  • Noise in images taken in low light conditions

Is this review helpful?

Report

rishabh_soft posted on Apr 12, 2013, 12:32 PM
Posts: 3; Member since: Nov 28, 2012

7.0

at this time not a better option to buy ...sony lags in updating their devices timely

rishabh_soft has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

xperia sl is good option but not the best option ...still have some camera low light issues not burst shot mode ...still no Jelly Bean out there ....one of the worst battery backup i had seen on this device like this ..which have some minor issues ....

Build quality
10.0
sharp corner
Reception
10.0
best
Call quality
10.0
good
Internet
9.0
inbuilt browser not good at par
Multimedia
10.0
wide format support
Camera
9.0
best in day light ...worst in low light
UI speed
9.0
frame rate is too low .... still leggy icon ..and transition
Everyday usage
7.0
still a average phone for every day use ..bettery gets empty like countdown timer when data packet is turned ON
Text input
10.0
one of the best keyboard i have ever seen ...superb
Display
10.0
awesomeness
Battery
3.0
company had to think about its battery performance while development of xperia SL i can't blame its 1750 mah ..but its suitability with this device .becoz their are many devices which is quite capable with this same juice .

Pros

  • better display
  • internal storage
  • 12mp camera
  • good performer

Cons

  • battery
  • worst camera at low light
  • Still no JB
  • sharp edge at corner a bit uncomfortable

rishabh_soft alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

mostafakhalil posted on Apr 11, 2013, 7:25 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 11, 2013

10.0

One Of the Best Phones I ever Had

mostafakhalil has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I would buy it again really it's a very useful phone better than these plastic mobiles my only concern is the battery, and yes it's officially upgradable to jellyBean .......................................

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

No Pros

Cons

  • Short Batter Life 1750 mAMP

Is this review helpful?

Report

sohailahmed posted on Mar 17, 2013, 5:11 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 17, 2013

9.0

SL

sohailahmed has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

What can I say, this is one of the best Mobiles out there. Simply Great, Sharp LCD, WIFI is great, Birghter Colors, photo quality is great. But battery life is terrible. Sync with Playstation 3 and so on. Well what else can a person want from a mobile.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
6.0

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

sonyfane posted on Nov 28, 2012, 12:24 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 28, 2012

10.0

awsem phone

sonyfane has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Look I loved this phone so much it have a great camera from the back and the front and the prosecessor is powerful and the sftwear is good ther is alote of stof that this phone have batte the is problem with ram that is it is to low for the cpu and the apps and the interna hard other then that it is an awseam phone I am gona tell you that Sony have make this phone for not to loos her custumer but I am gone tell you I see Sony have a bright futear with mobiles and most iportentli it dosent lag so much

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • prosecesor
  • camera
  • dosent lag

Cons

  • low on ram
  • batteri need to be more durabal

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.