Samsung SCH-U340 User Reviews - PhoneArena

Samsung SCH-U340 User Reviews Back

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

PrettyColours posted on Oct 18, 2009, 2:04 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 18, 2009

2.3

F.ire T.ruck S.irens

 I expected much a phone with much better quality from the Samsung line.  The phone is light and most suited for those people first learning to use a cell phone.  There might as well not be a camera or outside display for all the good they do.  I used this phone for almost 9 months  and regreted every minute from the time of purchase.  Sometimes, trying to be economical doesn't pay off!The outer display likes to adjust its contrast by itself.  Other times the back lighting for that screen will stay on and drain the battery unless you physically remove the battery while the phone is on for a hard reset.  Despite the volume indicator showing loudest possible settings, the volume is highly muted.  There is a long lag time in moving from one screen to another.  The texting functionality is atrocious!  The T9 does not recognize some of the most basic of words.  Every phone I have had previous to this have at least had the ability to learn and adapt the T9 to include more frequently keyed in words.  The alarm clock will shut itself off or mute the alarm tone.  The zoom function on the camera will not work.  Even correctly provisioned and set up by the network, the phone will send but not receive MMS.One of the most useless pieces of so called modern technology.  Take my word for it people.  I spent two years of my life working warranty exchange for cell phones, so I've seen some lemons, but this...  

Pros

  • lightweight, semi-durable

Cons

  • miserable functionality, poor camera, low sound quality

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

shu posted on Jun 11, 2010, 7:57 PM

1.0

laaaaaaaame

i've had this phone for well over a year now, and i absolutely despise it. it's freaking tough, i'll give it that; i've dropped it countless number of times (down the stairs), thrown it against walls (occasionally through them), pounded it into my older brother's metal plated head (he's fine), and it still functions just the same. but everything else sucks:i. the camerait's fine for taking pictures of, i don't know, rocks. but for everything else, it sucks. loads. it makes any light color absolutely white, and turning down the brightness doesn't help. seriously, i may be freakishly pale, but i ain't THAT freakishly pale. everything looks pasty and gritty and the settings don't do crap.ii. callingi can't make out what anyone is saying unless they speak very very slowly when i'm talking over the phone, which angers many, including myself. it sounds crunchy and jumbled and makes me wonder if my friends are secretly monsters.iii. textingit's miserable (i'm 17 years old and somewhat of an enthusiastic texter. trust me). the cursor randomly decides to disappear when i switch texing modes, when i try to put a space between words, it'll instead add an unneeded period, and the T9 apparently hates very simple words. this phone turns texting into a chore.iv. everything elsethe alarm wont sound (kind of a big deal), the camera randomly goes off in my pocket, the outer display randomly lights up and stays lit, which drains the battery, it's ridiculously slow, and is barely customizable. on...  

Pros

  • (very) durable.

Cons

  • everything else.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Anonymous posted on Apr 23, 2010, 7:54 PM

5.7

okay so my dad upgraded 2 a blackberry from this phone and so i get it then my mom did the same thing and i got her razr when it broke i came back to this. i actueally thought it was a good phone (it dosen t compare to my new env3 though) its small good sized screen (4 dis phone) and had a camera. it takes a long time to send a text though and dont even get me started with pictures but overall its a good starter phone

Pros

  • small
  • nice screen
  • awesome color

Cons

  • slow
  • lags features

Is this review helpful?

Report

Anonymous posted on Jan 17, 2010, 2:17 AM

2.7

waste of money, (even if it was free). camera and outside display are next to useless.  Phone feels cheap because it is.  Two months after i got it a crack formed at the hinge between the top and bottom piece.  I was careful with it for the next 5 months and didn't have any problems but then I dropped it and the thing flew into several pieces and the speaker stopped working.  regret this purchace.

Pros

  • cheap

Cons

  • cheap

Is this review helpful?

Report

Anonymous posted on Nov 18, 2009, 5:27 PM

2.3

i am 13 and i got this phone when i was 10.... i absolutely hate it. This is in i kids point of view...its ugly...no video..no voice record...and freezes up all the time!!! I guess for an elderly person it would be good b/c its very easy to learn how to use it. 

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

me posted on Nov 08, 2009, 10:19 PM

6.7

its ok if you want a basic camera phone

its an ok phone if you just want to but it for a grandparent or your child instead of buying them a friggin blackberry of a env touch... from my perspective i would reccomend this phone to anyone it has a great battery life and a ok camera its not the fanciest phone out there but it gets the job done, and it is so durable too! (just dont throw it when your mad)

Pros

  • good battery life
  • camera
  • internal/external screen

Cons

  • doesnt shoot video
  • no blutooth
  • no web(unless u have cricket, etc)
  • not a music player
  • freezes easily
  • and slows down when there is too much pics

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Meredith posted on Oct 05, 2009, 10:01 PM

1.3

This phone is a waste of money

This phone is horrible! I have had to replace it due to a broken charging port 2 times. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. there are much better phones that are much more durable and affordable. Replacement cost is upwars of 150 bucks and I wouldn't pay another dollar!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

karen81 posted on Sep 28, 2009, 6:18 PM

2.0

bad phone..

i paid ove 200 hundred when it first came out now its not even 10 dollars it will not keep charge for more than 45 mins it sucks .....

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

misty posted on Jul 04, 2009, 9:20 PM

2.3

I HATE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

my dad got a new phone and gave me his old one. at 1st i thot it was kool. it was definetly better then the phone i had b4. but 2 yrs l8er, I HATE IT!. its a piece of crap, the design looks cheap, the camera sux, and when i have it in my pocket, it takes pictures of blackness! but my plan is over in febuary, so like 7 months away, and so when its FINALLY over, im getting the alias 2. or a better phone if there is one  by then. but on the plus side, its tough. ive dropped it 100 times, and even threw it across the room, and didnt break.

Pros

  • strong/durable

Cons

  • EVERYTHING ELSE.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anonymous posted on May 28, 2009, 6:27 PM

5.7

good phone on cricket and verizon

This phone is good for texting and on the cricket service it has mobile web which is great. The only things I dont like it that is does not have a color front screen or bluetooth. Also is does not have mobile web on verizon.

Pros

  • Almost every thing is great.

Cons

  • It needs more memory and a colorful front screen to it. But it good

Is this review helpful?

Report

U340Verizon posted on Mar 29, 2009, 3:53 PM

9.0

Verizon Wireless Samsung SCH-U340 Prepaid

I have this phone for verizon prepaid. It is a good phone and its good for txting but it takes too long to go to the next character if i have to use the same button for two letters, I can txt really fast on it and its call quailty is good but it does not have that many features. It needs a color screen outside and bluetooth and mobile web and a music player and a micro sd card slot and mobile web to be perfect. I have to charge this phone every day and it needs better battery life. I like the phone so far and have had it about a month.

Pros

  • good for txting

Cons

  • none really

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

nick johnson posted on Mar 24, 2009, 10:29 AM

1.7

bad phone

this phone is awefull!!!  it is so slow for texting. it has less than a 1.0 mega pizel camera. the ringtones that come with it are gay. the speaker phone is super quiet. the wallpapers are stupid. it cant record sound. it cant take video. it doesnt have mobile web. it takes 5 seconds to pull up the picture menu. for texting if you want to say   "hi"  you push 44...444 and the time it tekes the cursor to move to the next letter ...    is way to freaking long. its like 3 seconds. this phone is cheap and is bad. come on samsung. you can do better than that!

Pros

  • no way you can break this phone

Cons

  • speaker
  • ringtones
  • wallpapers
  • camers
  • no videos
  • cant record sound
  • no mobile web
  • super slow

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

Smiley posted on Mar 20, 2009, 9:23 PM

9.0

I Love It!

I got this phone 3 days ago and so far I have liked it.It's a pretty basic phone compared to my LG 360.It's light-weight easy to use and durable.I text all the time and so far I have been pleased with the phone's texting feature.Has good reception.Many people don't like this phone but then again it's a personal decision.I would definitely recommend this phone.

Pros

  • light-weight
  • basic
  • easy to use
  • cute(hehe)

Cons

  • ringtones

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

brittany spears jk nick johnson posted on Mar 19, 2009, 10:25 AM

2.3

DO NOT LISTEN TO ANYONE ELSEexcept who say this fone suks

ok here it goes. this phone is aweful. it has less than a 1.0 mega pixel camera and it does not even take videos. this phone is horrible for texting. it is way to slow to react to which key you hit. it takes like 5 seconds to pull up the picture menu. it came with really gay ringtones and walpapers. i was so dissapointed in this phone.  the only thing i like about it is that i drop it a thousand times and it still works fine. also it is small for pocket size.  oh and they lie about it having a GPS cause it doesnt.

Pros

  • durability
  • size

Cons

  • bad for texting
  • bad camera
  • everything about it suck

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

imacg32007 posted on Mar 09, 2009, 8:53 PM

8.7

Phone is awsome

I have this phone for verizon wireless prepaid. I got the unlimited texting and this phone is awsome for texting. It is lightweight and it looks awsome. It's internal screen is great and it's screen on the outside is only black and white and the backlight is blue/purple. It has a good camera. Some things i dont like about this phone is that it vibrates way too loud. It's battery life is not really that great i have had it only two days and have had to charge it about 3 times. I think that may be a problem with just my phone because my mom also has the Samsung Sch-U340 for us cellular and it gets better battery life than mine does. I think i will buy a new battery for mine to see if that solves the problem. I also have the Lg Ux300 for us cellular and this phone is way better for texting and call quality but i text way more than i call on my phones. Another problem is no bluetooth but i really dont care if i have that feature. This is an overall great phone and i got it at a great price also. I would definately buy another Samsung cell phone or any other samsung product.

Pros

  • Great for texting
  • Looks Good
  • Great Price

Cons

  • Vibrates way too loud
  • Bad Battery life (may just be my phone)

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

nick johnson posted on Mar 03, 2009, 9:29 AM

4.3

This phone is super slow

when you hit the menu button it takes 2 seconds to pull it up.  horrible for texting. it cant keep up with how fast you text and you have to start the message all over again. do not waste your 2 year plan on this phone. the camera on this phone is like less than a 1.0 mega pixel!! it is horrible for taking pictures and texting

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Ray posted on Jan 10, 2009, 2:58 PM

6.7

I hate this phone too!

I recently replaced my LG phone with a Samsung.  I loved the LG, but needed to replace - it was getting old.  Here's my experiences with this phone over a 3 month period.  Suffice it to say that I'm trying to replace it ASAP.
Problems with Samsung SCH-U340 phone: o belt clip does not hold phone well (had no problems with the LG)     - dropped many, many times     - lost phone 2x (finder called me to pick up)      when I don't use the clip and put in pocket, does weird things (like take photos) o phone is slow to respond to input (processor is under-powered)     - hit key, may take up to 5 or more seconds to get a response, depending        - results in (unnecessary, erroneous) multiple key inputs     o speaker phone and earpiece volume levels are not separate     - they are shared, so cranking up volume for speaker also cranks up volume for earpiece o speaker phone button "clumsy"     - Do not get immediate response     - Sometimes need to hit multiple times to engage o Many keys require "hit and hold it" (my old LG did not) o Outside display difficult to read (not really color but has purple background)     - almost always need to engage backlight to read it
o To mute ringing (w/o answering call), can only hit up-volume button (down-volume doesn't work)     - difficult to do quickly
o...  

Pros

  • great voice quality, very good signal reception, styling is good

Cons

  • phone's processor is under-powered, may take many (>5) seconds for phone to respond to input; shared volume levels for speaker and earpiece; outside display too dim to read with ambient light

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anonymous posted on Dec 30, 2008, 4:56 PM

7.7

This is my mom's phone from us celluar. I like the way the keys feel they do not feal cheap and flimzy like some other phones. The phone can not hold very many pictures it can hold about 60 where my Ux300 can hold 859. The phone has no good background pictures and ringtones. The phone feels well built i think it will last for 2 years until the contract is up. i do not like the blueish color of the phone. It has a great display and takes good pictures. The phone has never been used for texting. I like the phone but i like my Lg Ux300 better...

Pros

  • Great display Good call quality Good camera Looks and feels great.

Cons

  • Weird color Does not hold many pictures no memory card slot ringtones and background images suck.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

J posted on Oct 04, 2008, 11:35 PM

5.7

No major problems, numerous inconveniences. Bad for texting.

Pretty standard phone now-a-days. No bells or whistles except a low-end camera. Should certainly be free with a plan/contract. Too many annoyances though. I have the option to return it for another phone and I'm going to do that. If you text more than you talk, this is not the phone you want. Liked my old Nokia 6019i better.
I would suggest it for an older person who just needs a reliable phone that can hold a few photos of the grandkids.
I will probably return it for a LG UX300 (free, better for texting) or a Motorola W385 (not free).
*My pros are outnumbered by my cons here but notice the important things are under pros.*
 
Cons cont.
-Sounds/ringtones suck. There's no normal, average cell phone ringtone. Ditto for alarm. You can't turn off, or even turn down, the shutter sound on the camera. How am I supposed to secretly take upskirt pictures with a big loud shutter noise?? jk-Internal antenna. Maybe I'm in the minority, but I miss the external (extending) antennas. Even if they have improved the radiation (or whatever) coming from phones, I'd still like it farther away from my brain.-Sort of weak vibrate. Might not hear it vibrating on a table, etc. Also it will only both ring and vibrate if the ring volume is maxed.-No games. Really? They can't even put that Snake game on here?? If I'm on a train or something, it'd be nice to have a little something to kill time.-No snooze feature for alarm clock. You press a button, it's off.

Pros

  • -Feels pretty durable. Some of the cheaper flip phones feel like they shatter if you close them too hard. This feels like it would survive a drop.
  • -FREE. Worth every penny.
  • -No complaints about signal/reception.
  • -Looks nice IMO.
  • -2.5mm headset jack. Will work with many inexpensive headsets.

Cons

  • Stuff I wish was on one the reviews I read.
  • -BAD FOR TEXTING. There's no real quick way to get to the "new text message" and no quick way to enter a contact's number. More frustrating is the same key delay time. Like if want to type "hi" you press 4,4...4,4,4. The time you have to wait for the cursor to move over (...) is too long. Doesn't sound like much describing it, but trust me, its annoying. Plus, the # being the space key stinks unless you text left-handed.
  • ^continued...

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Sasha posted on Aug 06, 2008, 1:55 AM

3.4

Do not get this phone!

WheneverI touched a butten on this phone it froze up on me.I couldnt use it half the time because it always said searching for CSV or somthing like that.It can only hold 50 texts come on samsung you can do better than that!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

cookie posted on Jul 23, 2008, 2:27 PM

10.0

sweet phone

This is a great phone for people who do not want all that extra stuff. This phone has a VGA camera that holds 56 pictures and does not have video. It does have a quiet speakerphone but hey it has a speakerphone doesnt that count for something. It has a calendar, calculator, alarm clock, world clock, notepad, and voice commands. A cool thing is its In Case Of Emergency thing it has on this phone it is very reliable also with E911. The reception is just wonderful and it always has 4 bars. I agree it has a short battery life if used too much in one day but this phone actually lasts 5 days without use. With use its 2 days. The color is nice and this is best with Verizon. It doesnt have Bluetooth, video, memory card slot, flash, downloadable ringtones or games, it doesnt have preloaded games and etc. But this is an efficient phone and I recommend it and get this phone and take my advice even though you do not know me. Or I would ask you to get a phone you would want having all of that EXTRA STUFF.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

Shay posted on Jul 06, 2008, 9:53 PM

6.2

Inadequate

I have a family plan with 4 of the SCH-U340's. All four of us have had problems with the phones, and none of us would recommend this phone to anyone. While the design and sound quality are good, and the signal is fair, in every other aspect this phone is a poor model.
My first complaint is that I find many situations where someone has called me and my phone does not register the call at all (no ring, no missed call, nothing). There have even been situations where I have been sitting next to the person calling me, both of our phones show perfectly clear reception, yet my phone does not register the call.
My second complaint is with texting. it will often times take my phone twenty minutes to an hour to send or receive a simple text.
This phone is very poor in quality, and I would advise against it.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anonymous posted on Jun 26, 2008, 8:17 PM

7.4

Even though it is a nice looking phone. This thing is horrible. After having the battery replaced and a new phone, I still have problems with it holding a charge and getting very hot while it is charging. I barely use it during the day, but every night there is only one battery bar left and it needs charged. Here is the kicker, now if I don't remove the battery for a few seconds before charging, it will not recognize that I have plugged in the charger. But other than that, it is just fine. Oh year, It usually takes a few months for these problems to start -- just long enought for your phone to be out of warrenty

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

allie posted on Apr 26, 2008, 5:23 PM

5.8

i hate this phone.

i got this phone when i dropped my razr and i have hated it ever since. the fonts are way too big and the ringtones are awful. there is no bluetooth and i hate that. the memory is poor and the inbox holds only 50 messages. it also freezes up when you are recieving a text message and i hate that. i also agree with what everyone else has said about the horrible battery life. i have several friends with this phone and none of them seem to like it. only buy this phone if you aren't planning on using it often.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Joe posted on Jan 10, 2008, 6:45 AM

5.6

OMG!!!! WHY!!!!

Well I have had the phone for a little less than a month now. I got it for christmas. well one day I went to turn it on and all of a sudden it would just shut off by itself. Well I don't know about you but that doesn't sound good. Well I would not recommend this cell phone to anyone. but on the other hand my girlfriend has the exact phone and she has had hers for quite a while and hers is doing just fine.

Is this review helpful?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
FCC OKs Cingular\'s purchase of AT&T Wireless