Notification Center

This is our new notification center. Inside, you will find updates on the most important things happening right now.

Notifications

Hmm, push notifications seem to be disabled in your browser. You can enable them from the 'Settings' icon in the URL bar of your browser.

www.phonearena.com

Samsung Galaxy S20 FE User Reviews Back

Overall user rating

8.4

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia
8.2
Internet
9.2
Call quality
9.0
Battery
7.4
Reception
8.8
Display
8.4
Build quality
8.6
Text input
8.8
Everyday usage
9.2
UI speed
9.2
Camera
8.0
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

joser1813 posted on Nov 15, 2021, 1:17 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 11, 2021

7.0

Disappointed - Not a flagship Experience - Exynos Variant

joser1813 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've had it for 11 months, everyday basic use is super smooth as it should be, when you play demanding games such as Pubg mobile or Genshin Impact the Framerate drops are awful. This is thermal throttling city. I would avoid the Exynos variant if you care about performance. Even the camera stutters bad. Due to heat output the camera app has closed itself while recording a video, this is kind of rare, but I wouldn't rely on it for very extensive recording sessions.

Display has good things like the refresh rate, it might be only my unit but it's significantly worse than the display of the S20, S20+ and S20 ultra, I've compared side by side. Also, I’ve turned off Vivid mode on the display settings, at first glance it looks cool but if you try natural mode for a while, you’ll notice the difference, now it annoys me a lot on the vivid mode.

Battery life is mediocre and inconsistent due to the exynos chipset. Overall disappointed every "reviewer" out there fails to properly review this phone, it's a fine phone for casual daily use but I could have gotten the same for less money, I thought this was going to be a near flagship experience with some compromises but let me tell you the Exynos variant is not a flagship experience. SD 865 variant should be significantly better.

Picture quality seems decent, but I’ve seemed better, Samsung likes to give you the “good colors”, too much saturation for my personal taste. The focus performance on my unit is not great, it has difficulties...  

Build quality
9.0
Built quality is pretty solid, I actually prefer plastic in the back in terms of durability. There're a few little things like the silver ring around the front camera, also the back camera square got sratched.
Reception
8.0
Reception is in line with other phones such as iphone XI and LG G7. It could be better IMO.
Call quality
8.0
Volume could be a little higher but overall the call quality is very good. I'd say they saved a little money on the mics.
Internet
8.0
It has some issues when changing from a wifi network to another withing the same house. Signall is fine but could be better.
Multimedia
7.0
Doesn't support HDR on Netflix even after about 1 year of its release.
Camera
8.0
Camera is decent quality but it has focus issues and the app performance makes using the camera quite frustranting.
UI speed
8.0
UI is speed is mostly great but it can stutter in the camera app for example.
Everyday usage
9.0
Everyday use is great but on this price range, you should expect no less than that.
Text input
9.0
Text input feels pretty smooth on swifkey.
Display
7.0
120 Hz make the navigation throught the UI super smooth but IMO there's a very important issue with the Display, dark scenes on video looks pretty crapy, I've compared the screen againts an LG G7, S20+ and iphone and those don't have the same issue. HDR content looks bad, IDK if it just my unit but that's a major problem for me. I haven't seem other people comenting on that issue.
Battery
6.0
Baterry life's been mediocre, I have the exynos variant. It's pretty inconsistent performance, I've tried turning off 120 Hz but it doesn't help that much. Such a inefficient chipset outputs a lot of heat. I've optimized all the posiible settings such as Deep Sleep Apps and I only have a few apps that display notifications, I've given up to this point. I carry a baterry bank with me all the time.

Pros

  • 120 Hz Refresh rate
  • 4K video quality
  • Built Quality
  • Stereo Speakers
  • Software Updates

Cons

  • Dark scenes on video look bad on the display
  • Exynos Chipset performs poorly and outputs a ton of heat
  • Medriocre battery life
  • No HDR support on Netflix

Is this review helpful?

Report

Thiccpancakes12 posted on Mar 06, 2021, 7:10 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 28, 2020

9.0

Really good

Thiccpancakes12 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

All the power, all the screen, with little drawbacks such as sub par batter and heating up quickly. For the price, it easily rivals the iPhone 12 and IPhone 11 pro. 120hz makes it suuuuuuuuuuuper smooth too.

Build quality
7.0
Plastic Back is my only grope. Feels nice in the hands.
Reception
9.0
Only ever had a few issues
Call quality
9.0
Good reception with 5g
Internet
10.0
No issues.
Multimedia
9.0
120hz display is awesome, just wish it was 1440p
Camera
8.0
Laggy on opening but that might just be software. Takes great daytime photos and decent night shots.
UI speed
10.0
High refresh rate makes everything fast
Everyday usage
10.0
Easily powers through everything.
Text input
9.0
Haotics are good but not strong.
Display
9.0
I love the 120fps
Battery
6.0
Battery life is my only big issue. It is advertised to get through a full day but I average around 6 hours of Sot. I feel like this is down to software.

Pros

  • Powerful
  • 120fps
  • Amoled display
  • Good photos

Cons

  • Battery is not great
  • Plastic back

Thiccpancakes12 alternatives:

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

PghGuy posted on Oct 17, 2020, 9:23 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 01, 2014

9.0

Really Decent Phone

PghGuy has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The FE is really one great phone and especially with all of the deals going on, this would be really hard to beat. Coming from a S8 the speed is significantly better, the camera is much better and the battery life is tremendously better.

Build quality
10.0
Who cares if the back is a plastic? Vast majority of people use a case anyway.
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Great battery, speed & screen

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Report

SyCoREAPER posted on Oct 16, 2020, 6:29 PM
Posts: 1; Member since: Oct 16, 2020

10.0

A powerful phone at a cheap price

SyCoREAPER has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I'm not going to write a long boring overview, you can read that anywhere. I'm just scoring it based on my experience and why it has that score. I've purchased two of these both via trade in replacing a S10+ and S10 5G.

Build quality
10.0
People associate plastic with being cheap these days. On the contrary. This has a metal frame by nice feeling plastic back and gorilla glass on the front. The gorilla glass is older but GG 3 is more drop resistant than it's newer counterparta.
Reception
10.0
This depends on your carrier but it has all the needed bands and gets great signal.
Call quality
10.0
No issues. Get signal everywhere we should and sounds great.
Internet
10.0
Another one that depends on your carrier. No issues. Browsing is fast.
Multimedia
9.0
Multimedia plays perfect and the screen size being roughly that of the S20+ is perfect. Minor annoyance ismthe silver ring around the front camera which can be distracting.
Camera
8.0
Camera may be the only slight weak point but is by no means bad. It will beat most other phones out there but compared to my Ultra’s camera it isn't quite as good.
UI speed
10.0
120hz paired with 6GBs of RAM and 865 SD are fast and smooth
Everyday usage
10.0
Perfect every day phone. Battery lasts and performs perfectly.
Text input
10.0
Text input is fine, no stutter or lag.
Display
9.0
The display is perfectly fine. It's 1080p @120hz and 60hz. It's flat which is nice for screen protectors.
Battery
9.0
Battery is huge for this size phone. It lasts more than a day with moderate use but does even better when set to 60hz.

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Report

neoxlar70 posted on Oct 12, 2020, 4:17 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 12, 2020

7.0

Not bad!

neoxlar70 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The phone as far as day to day usage has been fine so far with a few exceptions. With heavy usage being 120hz at all times, 50% brightness, always on display, location and bluetooth on, using gps, split screen multitasking between social media, using microsoft teams, google meet and zoom for hours, streaming movies and music for a few hours, and heavy gaming on call of duty mobile, pubg, and fortnite, the phone basically doesn't last the whole day. Starting at 7 am, the battery died about at about 3 pm. Fast charging via a wired connection was okay taking around 3 hours from dead to fully charged, with fast wireless charging taking even longer. As far as build quality is concerned, the plastic back doesn't necessarily feel like cheap plastic found on many cheap phones, but doesn't quite have the denseness and rigidness that glass has, but i will say that at least it won't shatter with a drop like glass does. The front glass however is a bit weak and i've already noticed scratches and a small crack at the corner. The speakers sound nice and loud, but typically i use headphones with the phone. The image quality is okay, and the overall usage of the phone, scrolling, opening and closing apps seem to work very quickly with no lag at all. I have notice accidental touches although the screen is flat, as well as the fingerprint scanner taking multiple tries just to unlock the phone. As for the cameras, the photos are fine with pretty good detail and colour accuracy. All in all, its not...  

Build quality
7.0
the phone does feel pretty solid with the plastic back, the front glass feels a bit too weak and is prone to scratches
Reception
8.0
reception is good, but if i'm in a building or positioned a certain way outside the phone will quickly drop down to 4g
Call quality
8.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
7.0
one ui has a bit of a learning curve,
Text input
7.0
in portrait mode, the keyboard is very cramped, but in landscape mode the keyboard covers 90% of the screen
Display
8.0
Battery
6.0
in heavy usage it won't last the whole, and in minimum usage i've seen the battery go from 90% to 70% in less than an hour

Pros

  • price
  • display
  • plastic back

Cons

  • one ui
  • fingerprint scanner
  • battery life
  • front glass

neoxlar70 alternatives:

7 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless