Samsung Galaxy Avant User Reviews

Overall user rating

8.6

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed
8.6
Camera
6.6
Multimedia
8.4
Internet
9.1
Call quality
9.0
Battery
7.8
Reception
9.1
Display
8.2
Build quality
8.1
Text input
9.4
Everyday usage
9.0
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

k.swish posted on Mar 10, 2016, 9:46 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 10, 2016

6.0

Cheap

k.swish has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

It is a cheap, unsupported, porely built cell phone. It does not upgrade to the newest android. The Camera is terrible. It gets very slow after a while. The processor can't handle crap. This phone is for someone who just wants to call and text.

Build quality
4.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
5.0
Camera
1.0
UI speed
4.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
10.0
Display
2.0
Battery
8.0

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

Angelis posted on Jan 09, 2016, 2:54 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 09, 2016

10.0

Samsung Galaxy Avant is the greatest bang-for-the-buck in smart phones.

Angelis has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The Samsung Galaxy Avant is for sure a feature-packed phone without the feature-packed phone's price tag. The phone's processor is powerful, its operating system is strong, it comes with great memory (with the ability to upgrade), the size of the phone is so accommodating, the camera works very well in that the pics I have taken are clear and sharp, as well as the videos, and the screen is clear and wonderful. The device's rear cover has a leather-like feel, and feels very nice in the hand. It's a budget-priced phone with many of the great features of the higher-priced Samsung phones. The phone's battery saver and ultra battery saver work very well, and really do extend battery life. Let me not forget to mention powerful wireless sharing features, notification features, and of course the device's slim design. Samsung keeps making great phones, phones to fit anyone's budget...and I am loyal to this company for that reason. My first smartphone was the Samsung Galaxy Exhibit, and believe you me, that was a great phone to launch me into the smartphone world, but this one is at least 5 times more advanced, if not more.

Build quality
10.0
Quality is superb.
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Explozive posted on Jul 26, 2015, 9:51 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jul 26, 2015

10.0

Very good phone !

Explozive has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Its a phone where I cant find problems, for all time I own it it never have crashed or created problems, its very comfortable to hold in hand because of his light weight and desing. Camera is working fast with no problems good focus and nice video quality. Its have a good sound again no problems :D !! P.S: sorry for my english

Build quality
10.0
I like its light weight an form
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
I dont have any porblems with calling
Internet
10.0
It run very fast
Multimedia
10.0
Again no problems found
Camera
10.0
It take reall nice photo and videos with no problems
UI speed
10.0
Its a preaty fast phone I dont have any problem with waiting at this phone
Everyday usage
10.0
Its pretty good in every day usage
Text input
10.0
I dont have any problems
Display
10.0
It has a very good display for this price its clear and no pixel problems
Battery
10.0
It have an good batery that keep him alive all day using it normal (calling,gaming ...)

Pros

  • 16 GB internal Memory
  • SD card up to 64 GB
  • Its very fast loading
  • Weight 139 g

Cons

  • No HD
  • Front camera has VGA quality

Explozive alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

wilberto posted on Feb 10, 2015, 9:19 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 10, 2015

10.0

great phone

wilberto has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is a great phone for the price , and it is for people who want a good phone and doesn't want to spend a lot of money , I like it beacause it is so easy to use.Also it works for my needs and it has good size.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • cheap
  • good battery life (for me)
  • is the samsung galaxy s5 little brother

Cons

  • camera
  • display

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

MonkeyPaw posted on Oct 21, 2014, 6:51 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 19, 2014

8.0

First unit very unreliable

MonkeyPaw has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone has some nice ideas, but unfortunately our unit is plagued by stability issues. In the first 2 months, the Avant has been hard reset once already, and it is already showing signs of failure again. One very peculiar issue is the camera's inability to capture pictures. I'm not talking about managing to get a good, clear photo (which is hard), but the fact that pictures are not properly saved to storage. Sometimes half the picture is a gray bar, sometimes the picture just isn't there.

Build quality
6.0
Seems nice enough for the price. However, our phone has terrible reliability. I guess we'll see if Samsung will replace it for us.
Reception
8.0
You get LTE, though I can't say this phone does the best at getting a signal in tougher coverage areas.
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
2.0
I'll give it a 2 because it has 2 cameras. The rear is okay, so long as the phone actually stores the picture correctly.
UI speed
8.0
Quad core CPU does its thing. 1.5GB of RAM is a good idea of Samsungs since they add all their non-removable TouchWiz-bogging technology.
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Pretty good for this price range.
Battery
7.0
Seems to need charging often.

Pros

  • Easily unlockable
  • Lightweight

Cons

  • Camera issues
  • Stability

MonkeyPaw alternatives:

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

sjh19581 posted on Sep 27, 2014, 2:08 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 17, 2012

8.0

good phone.low cost

sjh19581 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

my gs3 bit the dust after 2 yrs.i was just about to get a gs5 and a friend of mine told me about this phone.i took her advice,did some research and i was really surprised how good this phone is for the price.sure it's not the best of the best,but it does everything i need and more.the only issue can be the battery but that's no big deal.
i like the lte thru t-mobile and the overall performance of the phone is ok with me.
i saved alittle money and don't regret it.

Build quality
8.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
8.0
Display
8.0
Battery
6.0

Pros

  • not big at all

Cons

  • battery and camera could be better,but you pay for what you get

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

mdw13111 posted on Sep 06, 2014, 2:55 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 06, 2014

9.0

Can't beat it for the price.

mdw13111 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Overall, you cannot beat this phone for the price. 4.4.2 runs with zero lag. Call quality is good. The screen is very clear and the colors look great. It's not an overly large phone and it has a textured rubber back cover that's easy to grip.

Build quality
8.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
7.0
Camera leaves a little bit to be desired. It's 5 MP's, but only shoots by 4:3 at that setting. You have to shoot at 3.7 or lower in order to get 16:9.
UI speed
10.0
Processor is very fast. Runs 4.4.2 easily.
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Great keyboard.
Display
9.0
The screen is very clear and the colors are bright.
Battery
7.0
With most smartphones, the battery isn't amazing. I have no problem getting though the day with it, but I always make sure the charge it at night.

Pros

  • Price
  • 4G LTE
  • Processor
  • OS

Cons

No Cons

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

Zolipzizt posted on Aug 03, 2014, 8:48 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 03, 2014

8.0

ingress player

Zolipzizt has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Ok. So I play ingress....A LOT...and got sick and tired of my hand being sore from my Note 3. So I picked up this little do-dad of a phone. It seems to be running ingress ok n though the battery life is terrible. In closing, good low end cheap Samsung product, get an external battery for ingress!

Build quality
9.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
8.0
Battery
4.0

Pros

  • cheap cheap cheap from your pocket!
  • feels sturdy
  • runs ingress well
  • t mobile has the case with the flip out thumb holster! !!!

Cons

  • battery seems terrible.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.