Samsung Galaxy A5 (2017) User Reviews

Overall user rating

8.8

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera
7.2
Multimedia
9.0
Internet
9.6
Call quality
9.2
Battery
9.6
Reception
9.0
Display
8.6
Build quality
9.0
Text input
9.0
Everyday usage
9.2
UI speed
9.2
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Coconut00 posted on Mar 21, 2017, 3:44 PM
Posts: 485; Member since: Jan 13, 2015

9.0

Nice mid-range phone

Coconut00 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have had this phone since launch and everything has been good up until now. Most people will likely complain about the price but where I live it is quite reasonable, especially since many companies which sell less expensive phones (example: OnePlus) don't sell phones here. If it isn't where you live then I suggest you wait for the price to drop.

Build quality
9.0
Good build quality, some tiny scratches on the back though. Waterproofing is amazing.
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
I like the speakers placement, now it is much harder to block
Camera
9.0
The main camera is very good, selfie camera is also very good but you need to be close or the photo will be out of focus, which will probably be annoying for a group selfie
UI speed
10.0
Smooth, I have had only 2 app crashes since I got the phone
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Nice & sharp, gets quite bright outdoors
Battery
10.0
Amazing. I have never gotten home with less than 30%. Could probably do two days without charging, especially with medium power saving mode.

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Report

Telly posted on Mar 02, 2018, 4:33 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 02, 2018

6.0

Crap Galaxy A5 2017

Telly has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Bought this phone and have been displeased with it since I took it out of the box. I would not recommend it. The apps the phone comes with can not be removed and take up crap tonnes of space. Build is slender but with no borders it is difficult to hold and use. Glass on both front and back is a concern for me as I work in manual labour jobs where my phone is tossed around. It drops calls frequently and the camera takes the s**ttiest photos. Sound is tinny in phone calls.

Build quality
7.0
Reception
6.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
5.0
Camera
3.0
UI speed
6.0
Everyday usage
6.0
Text input
7.0
Display
3.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • It turns on

Cons

  • All the extra shit bogs down the phone and takes up data space for apps I'll never use
  • Camera is complete shit
  • Drops calls
  • Connects and disconnects from charger frequently when plugged in making annoying beeping noise
  • Keyboard is finicky to use
  • Easy to accidentally hit the sides of screen as it has no border
  • Completely glass so you need a crazy expensive otter box. Will smash and crack on both front and back now. Lame

4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Report

Abrad posted on Jun 23, 2017, 12:26 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 03, 2014

10.0

Great Mid Ranger

Abrad has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Coming from an lg g3. That was the best decision i made. Since im a power user not a selfie addict so the camera i not a big issues FOR ME, im more interested in the battery life and yup that the phone. very fast charge 100% in only 1hr 15 min and can last for up to 24 hr, that mean 30 min for charging is enough for the whole day without worrying. the camera was not an upgrade from my old g3, but i can live with that. great mid ranger.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Good battery life
  • Premium quality design
  • Nice display
  • Water proof
  • Finger print scanner
  • Very fast charging with usb type c

Cons

  • camera lack ois but ok

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Report

aynonomus posted on May 22, 2017, 2:08 AM
Posts: 1; Member since: May 22, 2017

10.0

Great Phone - In its price range

aynonomus has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Have it since last 2 months. Awesome phone with great specs within its price range. Have no issues in day to day use. Normal user can get a battery life of 2 days easily. Only down is lack of OIS but it doesn't effect you that much for camera and have minor effect for video if you don't have shaky hands.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Great Battery
  • Awesome Display
  • Compact

Cons

  • Lack of OIS

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

nima427 posted on Mar 19, 2017, 12:44 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 10, 2016

9.0

A good phone

nima427 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I had a galaxy a5 2016 and after almost 9 monthes, its battery breaks down and i replace it with 2017 version. For me a5 2017 is much better than a5 2016. The cpu is better both in proccessing power and efficency. Display is brighter, finger print scanner is faster and more accurate, and the curves on the back panel improve handling of the phone. Phone is very fast and i haven't face any stutter, perhaps under some heavy usage it sttuters but it is not annoying. The camera is good but it coud be better. Specially the selfie camera. If the camera focus rightly, it takes great pictures with great details but it usually does not fucus properly and pictures are out of focus.
Finally i am satisfied with this phone and i think it worth the price you pay (specially in my region)

Build quality
9.0
The build quality is flagship grade. The glass and metal are well put together. The only downgrade is that my phone get tiny scratches on the back that i did'nt expect
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
The camera is good but not perfect. Specially about the selfi camera, it is usually out of focus.
UI speed
10.0
UI speed is good. The grace UI is much better than touchwiz. I have'nt face any drop in frame rate.
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Fantastic battery life
  • Flagship grade build quality
  • Great display
  • Water proof (IP68)
  • Usb type c

Cons

  • The back panel easily gets scratches
  • Cameras could have been better
  • Android marshmallow

nima427 alternatives:

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless