x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Samsung Galaxy A5 (2017) User Reviews

9.5 Based on 4 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality9.8/10
Battery10/10
Reception9.8/10
Display10/10
Build quality9.5/10
Text input9.5/10
Everyday usage10/10
UI speed10/10
Camera8.3/10
Multimedia10/10
Internet10/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Coconut00
posted on 21 Mar 2017, 15:44 (Posts: 485; Member since: 13 Jan 2015)

9

Nice mid-range phone

Coconut00 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have had this phone since launch and everything has been good up until now. Most people will likely complain about the price but where I live it is quite reasonable, especially since many companies which sell less expensive phones (example: OnePlus) don't sell phones here. If it isn't where you live then I suggest you wait for the price to drop.

Build quality 9/10 Good build quality, some tiny scratches on the back though. Waterproofing is amazing.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 I like the speakers placement, now it is much harder to block
Camera 9/10 The main camera is very good, selfie camera is also very good but you need to be close or the photo will be out of focus, which will probably be annoying for a group selfie
UI speed 10/10 Smooth, I have had only 2 app crashes since I got the phone
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10 Nice & sharp, gets quite bright outdoors
Battery 10/10 Amazing. I have never gotten home with less than 30%. Could probably do two days without charging, especially with medium power saving mode.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Abrad
posted on 23 Jun 2017, 00:26 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Sep 2014)

10

Great Mid Ranger

Abrad has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Coming from an lg g3. That was the best decision i made. Since im a power user not a selfie addict so the camera i not a big issues FOR ME, im more interested in the battery life and yup that the phone. very fast charge 100% in only 1hr 15 min and can last for up to 24 hr, that mean 30 min for charging is enough for the whole day without worrying. the camera was not an upgrade from my old g3, but i can live with that. great mid ranger.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Good battery life
  • Premium quality design
  • Nice display
  • Water proof
  • Finger print scanner
  • Very fast charging with usb type c

Cons

  • camera lack ois but ok

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

aynonomus
posted on 22 May 2017, 02:08 (Posts: 1; Member since: 22 May 2017)

10

Great Phone - In its price range

aynonomus has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Have it since last 2 months. Awesome phone with great specs within its price range. Have no issues in day to day use. Normal user can get a battery life of 2 days easily. Only down is lack of OIS but it doesn't effect you that much for camera and have minor effect for video if you don't have shaky hands.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Great Battery
  • Awesome Display
  • Compact

Cons

  • Lack of OIS

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nima427
posted on 19 Mar 2017, 12:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Jan 2016)

9

A good phone

nima427 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I had a galaxy a5 2016 and after almost 9 monthes, its battery breaks down and i replace it with 2017 version. For me a5 2017 is much better than a5 2016. The cpu is better both in proccessing power and efficency. Display is brighter, finger print scanner is faster and more accurate, and the curves on the back panel improve handling of the phone. Phone is very fast and i haven't face any stutter, perhaps under some heavy usage it sttuters but it is not annoying. The camera is good but it coud be better. Specially the selfie camera. If the camera focus rightly, it takes great pictures with great details but it usually does not fucus properly and pictures are out of focus.
Finally i am satisfied with this phone and i think it worth the price you pay (specially in my region)

Build quality 9/10 The build quality is flagship grade. The glass and metal are well put together. The only downgrade is that my phone get tiny scratches on the back that i did'nt expect
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10 The camera is good but not perfect. Specially about the selfi camera, it is usually out of focus.
UI speed 10/10 UI speed is good. The grace UI is much better than touchwiz. I have'nt face any drop in frame rate.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Fantastic battery life
  • Flagship grade build quality
  • Great display
  • Water proof (IP68)
  • Usb type c

Cons

  • The back panel easily gets scratches
  • Cameras could have been better
  • Android marshmallow

nima427 alternatives:

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

New and Refurbished

Show more deals

Latest stories