x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

OnePlus 5T User Reviews

9 Based on 8 Reviews

Overall user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality9.3/10
Battery9.3/10
Reception9.3/10
Display8.8/10
Build quality9.1/10
Text input9.3/10
Everyday usage9.1/10
UI speed9.5/10
Camera7.5/10
Multimedia9/10
Internet9.4/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Alter
posted on 25 Apr 2018, 02:59 (Posts: 187; Member since: 25 Mar 2016)

9

Overall a great phone with a not so great camera

Alter has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

3 things really surprised me about this phone. The build, the display, and the battery. All exceeded my expectations. I was worried about going from a 1440p LCD display to this 1080p AMOLED but I like this screen way more than my previous phones. The vivid colors are outstanding. Perfect blacks of course due to the nature of this type of screen. It’s a large display which I like but that does make the phone big and difficult to use with one hand, which is primarily how I use my phone.

This thing is fast! I’ve never seen a faster phone with my own eyes. Performance is superb and the specs are fantastic for the price. I like the software quite a bit. If you are into modding your phone, which I am, this is your best bet as far as I can tell. Plenty of active development for this device.

The speaker sounds good and gets loud but it faces the bottom which can cause problems. Face unlock is quick and so is the fingerprint reader.

The camera needs work. Pictures in good lighting look fine unless you zoom in all the way. Things get worse as the conditions darken. To me the videos fare much better. 4K video look nice and EIS does a pretty solid job. The front facing camera is good for what it is. The camera app is OK. A bit too simple for me. Very few options. The camera is the obvious flaw of the phone. Everything else is pretty good.

I’ve had this phone for about 5 months and I believe it was the right choice for me. I love it.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Exceptional battery life
  • Beautiful screen
  • Incredibly fast
  • Active development
  • Great build quality
  • Good value
  • Software is nice
  • Top notch specs

Cons

  • Photos lack detail
  • Low light pictures are bad

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

sechinov
posted on 22 Jan 2018, 14:42 (Posts: 29; Member since: 30 Sep 2014)

10

The screen makes you fall in love.

sechinov has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The screen 5T makes you fall in love. Very high quality of color transmission, profile selection and brightness / contrast at height. Interface speed at altitude. Very clear transfer of the voice of the interlocutor during a conversation. The battery life is amazing. Charging speed is very fast. It's a pleasure to play games. The camera is good. The smartphone is a very good price / quality one of the best on the market. Highly recommend!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Magnificent display
  • Great battery
  • Beautiful design
  • very Good camera
  • 8 RAM
  • Comfortable in hand
  • Super fast charging "DASH"
  • The sound of the speaker is better than S8/S8+
  • Fingerprint Scanner Speed
  • Super Speed Face ID Unlock

Cons

  • A protective bumper is desirable, it can slip out of your hands.

sechinov alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ebilcake
posted on 27 Nov 2017, 13:02 (Posts: 1139; Member since: 16 Jul 2016)

10

OP5T - Phone of the year 2017

ebilcake has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

For the price you get a lot of phone, nothing better in this price range.

The only alternative for the this phone is the Pixel 2 XL, however the display is a huge let down and for that reason I simply can't recommend it, especially for the silly price Google are asking.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Battery life
  • Performance
  • Display
  • Build Quality
  • 128GB Storage
  • 8GB RAM
  • Snapdragon 835

Cons

  • Camera is above average at best

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

baldilocks
posted on 27 Nov 2017, 08:46 (Posts: 1030; Member since: 14 Dec 2008)

10

PhoneArena Gets It Wrong Again

baldilocks has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Simply the most fluid Android experience out there. Even the Pixel 2 XL I sold for this was slow and janky compared to the OnePlus 5T.

The screen is NOT dull. Maybe if the PhoneArena reviewers would actually delve into the settings, they would figure out that you can pretty much have the display look any way you desire. Nothing is washed out and everything seems to pop. This does NOT look like a 1080p display. It's a great Samsung panel.

Applications open very quickly and with 8GB of RAM, they stay in memory pretty much constantly. No reloading of basic applications like the Pixel 2 series.

While the camera isn't the best, it does take some great shots. Hopefully future software updates can beef up the EIS a bit more.

I'd put this phone up against ANY phone on the market -- and it would come out ahead.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Lots of Ram
  • Lots of Storage
  • Great Display even at 1080p
  • Super Fast Performance
  • Oxygen OS
  • Solid Build

Cons

  • Some stock apps need work. (Gallery)
  • Camera could be a little better.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Elie.B
posted on 12 Feb 2018, 15:47 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Feb 2018)

6

DONT BUY THIS PHONE - Expect no service from OnePlus

Elie.B has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I got my OnePlus 5T and was based on the tech eviews, I wa very excited start using it. First it seemed to work great but in acouple of weeks i realized the the Mic on the speaker mode was not working properly.
I called the company support line (answered in China) and they advised me to send the phone for repair to their authorized service texas does not have presence in the US and provide ZERO service
Great phone from a bd company - avoid at this time

Build quality 6/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 6/10
Display 6/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • NO pros when you canot get service

Cons

  • Cannot get service from OnePlus
  • Mic & Speaker phone problems

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

TheCheckpoint
posted on 13 Jan 2018, 03:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Jan 2018)

9

From an Apple fan to a OnePlus fan.

TheCheckpoint has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

One of the best phones you can get, on any price.
After a month and a half of usage, I can truly say I love the phone. It's super fast, it has a pretty good camera, it has a SUPER FAST Face unlock and fingerprint recognition, OxygenOS is amazing, the screen is great, and the battery life of this thing is amazing (I charge the phone every second night).

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10 It's 1080p, but it's still amazing.
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Amazing battery life
  • REALLY fast
  • Great face unlock & fingerprint reader
  • Great screen quality
  • OxygenOS
  • 8 gigs of RAM.

Cons

  • Camera is not perfect all the time
  • A bit slippery in the hand without a case
  • 1080p screen (but it's still great)

TheCheckpoint alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jacques101
posted on 27 Nov 2017, 20:01 (Posts: 1; Member since: 06 Feb 2014)

9

Best value around

jacques101 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

At current prices, it is amazing value.
Software is still in its early stages with optimisations and bug fixes to arrive, but is overall very snappy and a pleasure to use.
The camera needs to mature with software updates from Oneplus to be on flagship quality terms. Currently, it is good but not great.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Great screen
  • Battery is surprisingly good
  • Blistering fast software
  • Dash Charge is currently the best
  • Customisability is exceptional
  • Face unlock is remarkably fast

Cons

  • Camera isn't quite there yet
  • No micro SD slot
  • Screen is 'only' 1080p

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

AngloRoman
posted on 27 Nov 2017, 11:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Nov 2017)

9

Less "cut corners" than $1,000 phones, one of the strongest phones of 2017

AngloRoman has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

A lot of professional reviews have commented on some of the so called "cut corners" of the 5t. But let's consider it compared with some of the "cut corners" of its comeptition:

Iphone X: has an amazing display, breaks so easily and only 3GB or RAM (Hence 5t beat it in speed test)
Pixel 2XL: Best Camera, display awful
Pixel 2: Great camera, poor design (old fashined)
S8/S8+: Great screen and good camera, bixby is useless and finger reader in wrong place, also slower than most other flagships.
LG phone uses last years chips..

I could go on forever, but the fact is that OnePlsu have cut less corners than phones that cost 500 more.

It is not perfect, agreed.

But about water proofing for example, I fail to understand the logic of a water proof phone that will smash into 1000 pieces if it is dropped. I'm more likely to drop my phone than pee on it :D

The camera... honestly it's on the line between lower flagship and upper midrange. The pixel 2, and Note 8 are better, but the diference is not massive. I gave the camera a 7 out of 10. Its better than most but it's one of the weaker cameras for a flagship phone. Software updates could theoritically improve a lot of the camera's shortcomings anyway.

If you are an apple fan boy, you will always buy apple, but if you're an android kind of guy/ girl, I would recommend this one.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • gorgeous screen with great, punchy coours
  • lightning fast (faster than i phone x)
  • customisation and excellent OxygenOS
  • Dash charge (a day of power in half an hour)
  • face unlock is fast and generally secure (but not enough for transactions)
  • 8GB RAM

Cons

  • Camera could be better
  • "only" AMOLED 1080
  • no water proofing (although I'll take a more reliable and hardier phone over a glass one that is more likely to break)
  • no wireless charging (but who cares?)

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories