Nokia Lumia 830 User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.6

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia
9.4
Internet
9.4
Call quality
9.8
Battery
9.4
Reception
9.6
Display
9.8
Build quality
9.7
Text input
9.7
Everyday usage
9.5
UI speed
9.2
Camera
9.6
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

jazh23 posted on Apr 17, 2015, 11:11 PM
Posts: 7; Member since: Feb 13, 2015

8.0

Overall is a good phone...

jazh23 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I am satisfied with the purchase, what I like most is the design and display, which I hate is the front camera, the video and music applications, the lack of some important applications, it gets slow at times when going from one application to another or when it was blocked, displays the message:Resuming...

Build quality
10.0
Great design, good materials, it feels solid.
Reception
9.0
Good, but often loses 3G signal, maybe my carrier is to blame.
Call quality
9.0
Good, but the headset has a kind of vibration annoying as reverberancia, maybe because is a very thin phone or mine came with that problem.
Internet
8.0
When you open the page takes to load and the pinch to zoom has a bit of lag.
Multimedia
7.0
The default applications (music and video) sucks, are very slow, the music can not be stopped, if the application is closed, the music continues playing.
Camera
8.0
The rear camera is good, but the front camera is a joke, (microsoft try to solve the hardware deficiency with a post-processing algorithm).
UI speed
8.0
In general it is fast, but hate the message, Wait... When I switch from one application to another or when the phone was blocked and had an open application.
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
9.0
The keyboard is fast, prediction works well, but is hard to use with one hand.
Display
9.0
Good screen, even under the sunlight (the light sensor works fantastic), but I hate the fingerprints.
Battery
8.0
The battery is ok, not outstanding.

Pros

  • Excellent desing, Nice rear camera, Windows 10 update guaranteed, Smooth OS (especially after the firmware upgrade 8.10.14234.375), Support microSD, Gorgeous Screen, Removable battery, The sound quality and the image stabilization on video recording is outstanding

Cons

  • You get a SD400 + Adreno 305 and 1GB of RAM by almost $300, The front camera is a joke, The sound from the speaker and the headset is bad, Lacking of some apps, like: wifi analyzer, A little uncomfortable (this is subjective and depends on each one)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

rjmlive posted on Jan 28, 2015, 4:18 PM
Posts: 74; Member since: Apr 07, 2012

10.0

Stellar phone

rjmlive has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I bought this as a midway upgrade from the Lumia 520 while I hold out for the next Lumia 1020 flagship. I am pleasantly surprised how nice this phone is. It truly is an "affordable flagship" as they've coined it. 1GB ram allows access to all apps and it's a very smooth and zippy experience. Camera performance is also a nice surprise. Very happy with the 830. Highly recommended.

Build quality
10.0
Feels solid and has a premium feel with the metal frame. Nice to hold.
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Sometimes I suspect my wifi is the limiting factor. Happy with the internet connectivity.
Multimedia
10.0
Clean sharp video, speakers can get loud.
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Calling card of Windows. Super smooth and lightweight feeling OS.
Everyday usage
8.0
Some issues with random resetting. It asks to scan the SD card so I suspect it's issues with that brand.
Text input
10.0
Keyboard is very nice and swipe almost never misses. I didn't expect that. I can't even think of a time it's missed.
Display
10.0
Beautiful display. Gets plenty bright enough in outdoor situations. Auto adjust also works perfectly. Doesn't blind me in the morning.
Battery
10.0
I forgot to charge my phone once and it carried me (with self limited use) through the next work day. Stellar.

Pros

  • Really sleek design
  • Camera is excellent (pre - Denim)
  • Battery life is supurb
  • Very smooth operation
  • Premium build quality

Cons

  • Occasional resets I'm attributing to microSD issues

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

mildorzalost posted on Dec 15, 2014, 6:58 PM
Posts: 143; Member since: Jun 03, 2014

10.0

Excellent phone for me

mildorzalost has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Well, one week with it and I love it!
Is an awesome phone, way more fast than my galaxy S4, premium feeling in the hand and premium materials of nokia, and outstanding camera that works very well at night.
WP 8.1 is also very good, with a few updates that fix some apps bugs like xbox music app that sometimes crash, this phone will be perfect.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Camera, speed, WP 8.1

Cons

  • The music app could be better

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

Lygatto posted on Mar 22, 2016, 10:51 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 22, 2016

9.0

Excellent phone considering the (cheap) price

Lygatto has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Overall solid phone that feels good in hand and is easy to use. Really disappointed that you can't get all the applications that you want/need with Windows. Also not the perfect phone if a lot of the time you're using it to take quick photos, the camera takes time to open and shoot the photo. Yet the quality of photo itself is really outstanding for such a cheap phone. Also want to mention that the flashlight broke 4 months after I got the phone, so had to give it back to fix it. Warranty also changed the battery of the phone, after which it seems the phone is able to last longer and doesn't overheat as much as before when browsing internet for a long period of time.

Build quality
8.0
The phone feels like a high quality piece, yet, rubber from headphones connection port fell out about 3 months after I got the phone.
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
7.0
From time to time the phone decides to close the browser for whatever reason. Usually happens when I'm using it for an long duration.
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
All the photos are high quality, the camera is doing an amazing job with it's (only) 10 MP.
UI speed
8.0
The camera itself is amazing, yet it opens slowly, and taking a photo isn't instant like other phones (iPhone).
Everyday usage
10.0
The phone is very easy to understand and to use quickly when needed. Doesn't take long to get really used to it.
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
The colors are deep and very pleasant to the eye. Also have no problem using it with gloves.
Battery
10.0
Yes, with hard use you can drain the battery in less than 10 hours, but using it mostly as a phone, and checking internet, instagram and facebook few times a day, the battery will manage 2 days with no sweat. Also charges up really fast.

Pros

  • Good, classy design
  • High build quality, I don't feel afraid of damaging it if it fell on the floor
  • Able to support memory card
  • Removable battery

Cons

  • Camera is slow to shoot a photo
  • You don't get the apps that you would with Android or iOS

Is this review helpful?

Report

haseebtirur posted on Feb 18, 2016, 10:53 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 18, 2016

10.0

Best affordable flagship smartphone on the planet

haseebtirur has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Best affordable flagship smartphone on the planet. Live tiles is very useful. Glance screen is god send. With the arrival of Windows 10, I am now able to use the same user friendly Windows I have been using on my PC for years.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

wworld posted on Mar 29, 2015, 7:56 AM
Posts: 1; Member since: Mar 29, 2015

9.0

830 Lumia Windows 8.1 Denim

wworld has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Replaced my 920 with 830. Was considering the 1520 and 930.
930 battery life not as good and does not have replaceable battery.
1520 would be my second choice in the future.
This phone is a BIG step up from 920
PROS
1. Battery life - i am an extremely heavy user as this is my business phone and constantly on pone calls and the calendar. With 920 i would have to recharge the phone 4x a day to keep it above 40%. With the 830 i can go an entire day and still have 25% left.
I am not totally sure why the battery life is so dramatically better. i have location and bluetooth on full time and the only setting i changed was to turn off 'vibrate'. I use 'medium' brightness. so i am ecstatic with battery life!
2. Screen - great
3. Speed - again pleasantly surprised. Bluetooth, Wifi, Airplane on and off all work much faster and nearly instant.
4. Size - ideal! great in the hand as it has a slim profile. i can manage all functions with one hand.
5. Camera - a step up from 920 and much faster loading
6. Apps - all apps seem to run no problem especially heavy graphic games like Asphalt 8. no skipping and runs perfectly smooth for up to one hour in my testing
7. Easy to remove back cover for removable battery is a great feature and must have.
8. LTE/4G is wicked fast! Tested against iPhone 6 and loaded pages faster! :-)
9. Dropped in a 16 gb sd card. Love it, as you can choose to save whatever files to the card and or the phone.
10. Skype - runs perfect on video calls. interestingly the...  

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • battery life
  • form
  • screen
  • camera
  • speed

Cons

  • speaker phone (but much better on skype)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

boych72 posted on Feb 11, 2015, 2:40 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 11, 2015

10.0

best phone for the price that you pay

boych72 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Good phone for the price that you pay. Win 8.1 is very stable system, I have had several phones with android system, but nokia offer me all that I need. Also the market is increasing. I love that phone.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • excellent built quality

Cons

No Cons

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Report

vivzta posted on Feb 05, 2015, 4:29 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jul 01, 2014

10.0

Sleek & chic...

vivzta has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It's an awesome phone and suits my every need!

Battery: You might want to reconsider this model if you are a power user. This will work best with a wireless charger! You'd end up with about 45-50% of juice left in a day with moderate usage. WhatsApp and Facebook seem to drain the battery really quickly!

Build quality
10.0
Should rather be in art museum! However, you might accidentally turn the camera on when it's in your pocket [luckily there's a setting to manage that!]
Reception
10.0
It's a Nokia.
Call quality
10.0
It's a Nokia :P
Internet
10.0
No problems with surfing as of now...
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
10/10 for a 10MP beauty!
UI speed
8.0
Slows when opening large apps. Crashed when opening a specific app for a period of time. S600 would've been perfect!
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Word Flow FTW!!
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0
Drains pretty quickly with WiFi and Location services enabled [at a rate of about 3-4% an hour]. It drains like crazy if you use WhatsApp and Facebook a lot! You might want to [temporarily] turn these off at night...

Pros

  • Design
  • Camera
  • Shutter Button
  • Glance Screen
  • Fitness Tracker

Cons

  • Battery Life
  • UI Speed at times

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Report

georges posted on Dec 29, 2014, 11:23 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 29, 2014

10.0

Dynamic Phone

georges has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Upgraded to 830 from Samsung Galaxy S4. Using it for almost a month and very happy with the phone. I am able to get all the apps I wanted on WP. Live tiles are awesome like a dashboard. Phone performs very excellent and good battery.

Build quality
10.0
Very solid with metal frame.
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Live Tiles.
  • Smooth transistion between applications
  • Greate performance
  • Excellent Navigation Apps

Cons

  • Front Camera is .9MP

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

MikiSam posted on Nov 30, 2014, 1:39 AM
Posts: 1; Member since: Jun 17, 2014

10.0

Affordable Flagship

MikiSam has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Best Windows phone as of Nov 2014. Better hardware then Lumia 930/Icon (except for the camera). A true "affordable flagship". Comes with a good headset, a fast charger and a USB cable. Capable of wireless charging out of the box. NFS included. Great build, excellent camera, beautiful design.

Build quality
10.0
Great solid feel, easy to handle, premium look.
Reception
10.0
No dropped calls.
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Very fast connections. Pages load almost instantly.
Multimedia
10.0
Great support for all sort of audio/video files.
Camera
10.0
Easily beats Apple and most Samsung cameras. Optical Image Stabilization helps get very good night time shots.
UI speed
9.0
Glich free but SD400 takes a second or two when loading bigger programs / camera. The SD600 would probably be perfect...
Everyday usage
10.0
Easy, fast, long battery life. OS is excellent in letting one customize the look/feel out of the box. No need to download skins, themes, etc.
Text input
10.0
Superb. WP 8.1 recently set the Guinness World Record for speed of input. This keyboard is second to none and comes out of the box - no need to download anything...
Display
10.0
Great display with sharp images and bright colors. Easy to adjust Brightness Profile & Color Profile (brightness, saturation, tint, temp). Unique Glance Screen displays the time and date whenever your phone is out of the pocket. Every cell phone should do this!!
Battery
10.0
Easily get 30 hours. I don't worry about battery if I know I'll charge in the evening...

Pros

  • Great features
  • Great Pure View camera
  • Glance Screen technology
  • Replaceable battery, SDcard expandable to 128GB
  • Excellent UI (beats Android & iOS)
  • Excellent Nokia apps: HERE Maps & Storyteller
  • MS Office (read, edit), OneNote, Skype integration
  • Perfect size: big screen but easy to hold and type with one hand

Cons

  • Less apps, less games
  • Doesn't work with Mac OS.

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.