Motorola Moto X Play User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.2

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception
9.5
Display
9.5
Build quality
8.8
Text input
9.5
Everyday usage
9.8
UI speed
8.8
Camera
9.2
Multimedia
9.2
Internet
9.0
Call quality
9.5
Battery
9.8
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

cjslman posted on Jan 03, 2016, 10:19 AM
Posts: 23; Member since: Aug 29, 2012

9.0

Excellent phone

cjslman has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

For the price, this is an execellent phone. It has dropped performance in the CPU area, but has improved greatly in the battery and camera sections (over the previous Moto X 2nd gen, 2014). A very good smart phone for a decent price !

Build quality
9.0
A little heavy, but feels good in the hand
Reception
9.0
Good reception
Call quality
10.0
Calls are clear
Internet
8.0
A little slower than the previous version of Moto X
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
Great improvement in the camera... good shots with great detail
UI speed
8.0
OK, but a tad slower than the previous Moto X
Everyday usage
10.0
Does everything I need it to do
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Dsiplay is crisp and clear
Battery
10.0
Battery lasts 2 days with moderate use

Pros

  • Fantastic battery life
  • Much better photos

Cons

  • No sensors on the front !!! No hand detection like the Moto X 2nd Gen (2014)

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

LetThereBeLight posted on Dec 30, 2015, 12:54 PM
Posts: 114; Member since: Nov 20, 2014

10.0

Quite good one

LetThereBeLight has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It is surprisingly good phone. Maybe because I'm coming from a samsung note edge phone which was slow and weird. No touchwiz here almost stock android. Fast, responsive, perfect size for me, good to hold in hand. The screen is ok, very bright, and the automatic brightness is also good. I wish it would be amoled but its ok anyway. My problem, real problem is the lack of notification led, however I read somewhere it is inside but not working. Hmm looks wise decision. So why is there if it is not working and why is it not working if it was there. The moto display is cool but I could find better in play store and cannot even close to replace the led. The moto display could just jump directly to lock screen since no battery saving with dark color because it is not amoled. I wish it was amoled and have the same feature as the Nokia or MS Lumia do the always on glance feature so I have a clock always there and I would be always notified without interaction. Practically without interaction I cannot know anything happened. And with the moto display the sensitivity is too high so in a car it is always turning on because of the movement and vibration etc. I'm a light user, 15m instagram 15m chrome 15m playing some easy game and with that it is ok for almost 3 days so I guess the battery is superb. The higher edge of the device is quite sharp it can irritating my ear... weird. The build quality is not the best but at least I don't care about having a case... The buttons are loose, the back...  

Build quality
8.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
I'm using anysoft keyboard
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Good size
  • good display
  • front speaker makes more sense
  • Very good battery

Cons

  • NO NOTIFICATION LED

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Maranga6 posted on Jul 26, 2016, 2:15 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 02, 2016

9.0

Excellent Phone

Maranga6 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

For now it works ok. Performance is good for high amount of installed apps. I try to work with all apps without closing any one and it works ok. The new Android 6 helps a lot on this, but the phone is great.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

amunarjoh posted on Dec 10, 2015, 1:08 PM
Posts: 1; Member since: Nov 29, 2012

9.0

Why pay three times more

amunarjoh has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is a very clever smart phone. Very robustly built, with totally adequate performance, very good screen, good camera and great ergonomics. Though not top of the status ladder, very capable and worth its modest price.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Screen bright and clear even in sunshine
  • Excellent battery life
  • Expandable memory
  • Camera over average, and way beyond the price bracket
  • Easy root tool available
  • Cyanogenmod available
  • Good, loud sound from loudspeaker

Cons

  • Small 16 Gb internal memory

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.