Motorola Moto G (2014) User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.2

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality
9.4
Battery
8.4
Reception
9.2
Display
9.0
Build quality
9.2
Text input
9.4
Everyday usage
9.4
UI speed
9.2
Camera
8.2
Multimedia
9.4
Internet
8.8
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Tahir215 posted on Apr 03, 2015, 5:48 AM
Posts: 31; Member since: Jan 14, 2014

10.0

A real classic Phone

Tahir215 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

No words at all. Priceless and Brilliant. Moto G 2nd Gen boost in the Mobile Arena. Lovely and happy to have it. Superbb..!! Its really worthy. If You wanna compact best device, buy it. You'll feel the difference. Thanks Motorola.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Up to date Android
  • Lovely Design
  • Audio
  • Different back cover colors
  • Good Camera overall
  • 1 gb ram performs fine
  • Charger wire is long

Cons

  • Battery a bit low
  • Weight is a bit high

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

FilippoBriganti posted on Aug 08, 2015, 7:19 AM
Posts: 1; Member since: Aug 03, 2014

8.0

Great value phone

FilippoBriganti has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The moto g is one of the best smartphone when it comes to spend less than 200$. The build quality is ok, the display big and crisp enough for its price and the processor does its work pretty nicely... obviously it can't compete with other flagship on the market but if you are looking for a cheap, great smartphone, this is exactly what you should get!

Build quality
7.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
10.0
Display
7.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • price
  • dual stereo speaker

Cons

  • poor low light camera performance

FilippoBriganti alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

anand881 posted on Apr 23, 2015, 2:56 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 11, 2013

9.0

a great choice for what you pay

anand881 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

a great phone over all. if its your first smartphone, youre in for a treat. if you get a chance to buy it,buy it. feels great overall. you wont regret anything what so ever. stock android works to your advantage

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

No Pros

Cons

  • no NFC

Is this review helpful?

Report

billybobjoebob posted on Jan 04, 2015, 4:40 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 04, 2015

10.0

Killer Phone for Killer Price

billybobjoebob has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I upgraded just recently from the good old iPhone 4s and am very happy to say that this phone satisfies all of my standards. At first, I thought that it might be a little slow, as it runs on an old Snapdragon 400, but I was surprised to find that this phone runs faster than the S5, which has a newer processor. I absolutely love this phone. It is definitely worth its price tag of $180.

Build quality
10.0
The overall look and feel of the phone is comparable to that of today's smartphones that are higher up in price. The phone is a little thick, but it feels just fine to hold in your hands.
Reception
10.0
I've read a lot of articles about there being no 4G capabilities on this phone, but it works just fine with 3G (I live in an area with HSPA+) so unless you're really impatient, 3G is just fine.
Call quality
10.0
The call quality is just great. I am able to communicate with others just fine without having to repeat myself. Not a single call has been dropped yet and this phone provides an excellent microphone. The speakerphone is decent, but I'm satisfied with it because you can't expect BoomSound from such a cheap phone.
Internet
8.0
I'm not a really heavy Internet user, but the internet speed is kind of slow, especially if you're used to 4G LTE. Otherwise, it's just fine.
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
This phone takes some of the best pictures. I know that this phone has an 8 MP camera, and it isn't a lot, but this phone's pictures are really crisp and come out very nicely. The camera on the Moto G is probably comparable to that of the iPhone 5s, and that's pretty darn good.
UI speed
10.0
This phone runs blazing fast everywhere. From boot time to actual usage, the phone is always quick to respond and applications never take more than a second or two to start up. Of course, applications that require internet or resource-heavy games can take a while (maybe a little less than 5 seconds) but other than that, everything is really fast.
Everyday usage
10.0
I used to be a giant Apple fanboy, and I still am. But when asked whether I like iOS or Android better, I'm going to say Android, because this phone has definitely impressed me and changed my mind.
Text input
10.0
Like I wrote before, this phone is blazing fast and doesn't lag at all. I'm glad to say the same for text input. I use SwiftKey Keyboard, and it loads up really fast. I did use Google Keyboard for a while, and that was pretty fast as well.
Display
10.0
I've heard a lot of reviewers say that the display is only 294 ppi (pixels per inch) and that it isn't really a good display, but I don't really notice the difference until I compare the phone side by side with another phone like the iPhone 6 or the OnePlus One, both of which have really high pixel densities. Again, you can't expect a budget smartphone like the Moto G to have a pixel density of 400 like a lot of today's major flagship devices.
Battery
8.0
The battery is one of the few things that were not so good about this phone. The battery in the Moto G is enough to get me through 1 day with fair usage, but if you have a lot of background processes, you might not be so lucky. I think it would have been better for Motorola to have made a removable battery so that people are able to carry an extra battery in case the original one runs out.

Pros

  • Good build quality
  • Amazing call quality
  • Blazing fast UI
  • Bang for the buck price
  • Good camera

Cons

No Cons

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Report

Matheusmadara posted on Dec 18, 2014, 2:55 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 09, 2014

9.0

good cost x benefit

Matheusmadara has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

For the price is a excellent gadget with a good cost benefit ,audio excellent and pure android. guaranteed upgrade to the new version of android the lollipop 5.0. processor that does the job not letting on hand

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • good camera
  • good display
  • good battery
  • excellent song quality

Cons

  • old processor

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.