Microsoft Lumia 640 XL User Reviews

Overall user rating

8.8

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality
9.8
Text input
8.6
Everyday usage
8.0
UI speed
7.6
Camera
8.4
Multimedia
7.4
Internet
8.6
Call quality
9.0
Battery
9.6
Reception
9.4
Display
7.8

Alternatives

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

sip1995 posted on Aug 02, 2015, 2:26 PM
Posts: 1771; Member since: Feb 07, 2014

10.0

The best affordable phablet...

sip1995 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I really like thye Lumia 640 XL, it's my first phablet i can say it's handy enought, it has great camara, the battery is awesome (it never let me down during the day). The UI is fast and fluid (because of Windows Phone OS) it also cames with Demin update and it will get Windows 10 first (36 months of update cyrcle is a lot). The display, is HD and the size is 5,7 but you won't noticed any difference, cuz the screen is clear and it also has great viewing angles.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
8.0
Battery
10.0

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Report

hamzaultimate posted on Feb 29, 2016, 1:55 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 30, 2015

9.0

Best budget phone for professional and students

hamzaultimate has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

if you want a phone with long battary life, a big screen and perfomence then this is the best option... it never slows, not even while using LTE. Battary give you more than 2 1/2 days with avarage use.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
with compare LG g3 its relatively same
Call quality
10.0
i never droped a single call since last 3 months
Internet
10.0
browsing is very quick and fast. video call quality is impressive
Multimedia
8.0
due to software limitaions, some audio and video formats are not supported.
Camera
8.0
in this price i were not expecting such amazing camera quality.but in low light it is not good. manual mode in lumia camera allows you to capture amaging photos
UI speed
10.0
its windows... simply it dose not slow
Everyday usage
10.0
it gives me more than 2 days of battary time with WIFI
Text input
10.0
i like windows phone keyboard and fonts.
Display
8.0
display is not that poor but not even best. but in such big screen it provides batter quality. i love asphalt 8 and it runs like charm with awesome graphic performence
Battery
10.0
it really is a battary beast

Pros

  • Big screen 5.7"
  • Big battary 3000mah, give atlest 2 days backup
  • 13 MP rear cam with zeiss lens
  • 5 MP selfi shooter
  • Fast
  • windows 8.1 denim update 2 (promise upgrateable to WM10))
  • Fast mobile data support (4G)
  • Corning Gorilla Glass 3
  • 1920x1080 (1080p HD) (30 fps)

Cons

  • no QI wireless charging
  • Low pixel density screen (259 ppi)
  • fatty design

hamzaultimate alternatives:

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

theuser posted on Aug 25, 2015, 8:10 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 25, 2015

10.0

very good phablet for the price

theuser has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I'm not quite happy with the operating system windows mobile 8.1 but I think this phablet will be perfect with windows 10. Except for the operating system it is already great. Great build quality, huge replaceable battery and it's cheap.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

canyondrew posted on Aug 13, 2015, 4:55 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 13, 2015

7.0

Great phone, Crap OS

canyondrew has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

At last I found a phone that had all the specs I wanted ,or would put up with at a great price... then I turned it on. MS would have done well to customize android, than to screw up so bad with 8.1 . Im sorry I bought this now. My only hope is that 10.1 is a real improvement , and replacement... rather than just a glorified patch for such an inferior OS

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
3.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
1.0
Everyday usage
3.0
Text input
5.0
Display
8.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • good fit for a big hand

Cons

  • MS OS 8.1

3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Report

david_zaqariashvili posted on Feb 17, 2016, 3:56 PM
Posts: 4; Member since: Jan 18, 2014

8.0

A Good Phablet

david_zaqariashvili has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

i love the daylight camera quality. it's fast and accurate. takes beautiful photos. 5.7" inch screen is better for web browsing, office files ,videos and for games. can you believe? battery lasts 4 days on normal usage.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
7.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
8.0
Display
5.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Daylight Camera Quality
  • Bright Screen(Great on Under Sunlight)
  • Solid Battery Life
  • OS is easy to use
  • NFC (Both Single & Dual SIM)
  • Latest OS WP 8.1 Update 2
  • Free Office 365 For 1 Year
  • Sensor Core (Pedometer)
  • FM Radio
  • Full HD Rear & Front Camera
  • HDR works as advertised
  • Direct OS updates

Cons

  • awful indoor photos
  • week flash, short distance
  • display has a very bad viewing angles, Annoying air gap
  • touch Responsiveness could be better
  • windows phone OS is already Extremly boring. windows 10 mobile is nice, but still has a lot of bugs and needs design improvement
  • please developers pay attention to this OS
  • big screen is good, has nice desing features in W10M, but body size is tiring
  • Lumia camera app has a very boring desing for me. lacks useful features like histogram, levels, megapixels option, refocus app is no longer available and so on, so on.....
  • indoor video camera is dim, you have to have a bright chandelier :)
  • camera shutter key would be great
  • doesn't has a USB OTG support

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.