x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

LG Optimus 7 User Reviews

7.6 Based on 8 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage6.8/10
UI speed8/10
Camera6.5/10
Multimedia7.8/10
Internet8/10
Call quality7.5/10
Battery6.3/10
Reception8/10
Display7.9/10
Build quality8.8/10
Text input8.5/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

ogy_dogy
posted on 20 Jul 2012, 07:14 (Posts: 453; Member since: 29 Jun 2012)

10

Loved it

ogy_dogy has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Had my optimus for a year and a half and never a single problem with it, wp worked great, starting from the first build thru nodo, mango and now tango. Only reason i sold it is becouse its not a nokia lol :-)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Windows phone
  • built like a tank
  • lg apps
  • regular updates
  • internet sharing

Cons

  • not a nokia :-)

ogy_dogy alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

canitmakephonecalls
posted on 21 Dec 2017, 10:50 (Posts: 1; Member since: 21 Dec 2017)

4

cell signal is so bad

canitmakephonecalls has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

1st off this phone gets hot just from charging with a 5w, thks to its metal back, which makes this phone feel quite pointlessly heavy(and more expensive i guess?), cell signal is crap(there is a sticker on the backplate tht touches the sim tray fyi, perhaps using a nanosim is the reason im hving so bad a cell sig), like the wifi on tegra3 htc1x levels of bad, tbf unlike on the 1x where i had 1st hand experience on seeing how slow the wifi is and how it magically get faster if i stand near my router(a nt 56u so its not like i cheapdout on my wifi), this is not based on any exp with phonecalls but just by seeing how its always at 1/2bars and straight up nonstop just dropping to 0bar no signal for a few secs repeatedly constantly, like ffs, wp7.5's browser is outdated asf to teh point gmail is text based, the least this brick can do is do phone calls right, umm wifi is goodish, audio jack output isnt as good as say on my ipadair2, screen&viewing anglel is serviceable, black levels are atrociously grey though, tldr if u need sumthing real old & cheap get the htc1x instead, ironically my optimus 2x, apart from perhaps a less good screen, has the best cell/wifi signal out of these 3 phones by a mile, infact, if u can put android 4 on it, just get tht instead of either phones, 1x for the kickass pixelsharp screen at cost of cancer wifi and a plastic back ure kids can snap in half as easy as some razer mice, 2x for the best signal..u know...the thing tht truely matters, o7 for...its real...  

Build quality 8/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 4/10 wifi may be good, but other than a candybar dumbphone u really need to look hard to find a more outdated worse browser than teh 1 with wp7.5
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 4/10 ever poor, use only in times of desperation...like when i need the flashlight when theres a poweroutage late at night
UI speed 5/10 snappy ui, then u go visit youtube through the browser, watch it struggle
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 4/10 text highlight/cut/copying is real confusing, cant hold&let go caplock key to return to undercase like u can on ios, need to type again instead
Display 4/10 no surgar coating this colors are inaccurate and poor, i also wanna blame this phones low ppi, but s4 mini is proof tht low rez doesnt mean a screen cant be great. on the other hand, the color tiles really pop, and the white light ui looks gorgeous
Battery 4/10

Pros

  • comfy&sexy beast! removable battery with a real button!
  • nice feeling thick glass, not plastic like on htc1x
  • physical home button beats the touch button on my 2x where i need to tap it twice for it to register tht im holding on to it so tht it can vibrate&bring up multitask..must say hving 2x vibrate for every single buttonpress and keystroke is awesome

Cons

  • litteraly everything else, even the cam button feels terrible
  • too much hotwheels aceleracers with scrolling, rather it be just not as smooth like on gingerbread

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mousstucks
posted on 14 Aug 2012, 12:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 Aug 2012)

9

very good phone

mousstucks has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

nice phone good battery life(1h internet 1-2h talk 1-2 gaming) lasts 1.5 day mediocre camera and many apps in store i like the facebook and twitter integration
simple to use

Build quality 9/10 solid in hand
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10 smooth fast browser but lacks of flash
Multimedia 8/10 had to convert movies
Camera 7/10 good photos and videos in daylight weak flash
UI speed 10/10 no lag until now
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10 with average use last 1.5-2 days with wifi and location turned off

mousstucks alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

olofljungen123
posted on 01 Jan 2011, 07:45 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Dec 2010)

9

Great phone!

olofljungen123 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I love my Optimus 7! It fits really nice in your hand and it has really nice build quality! The 3.8" capacative touch screen is really nice with the Gorilla Glass which makes it very scratch resistant. Maybe the LCD display isn't as good as the S-AMOLED on the Focus and Omnia but I really like it! And I also like that the three buttons are hardware-buttons and not capacative buttons.
It's a buy!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Really nice build quality
  • Nice new WP7 OS
  • Gorilla Glass
  • Fast
  • Average camera quality
  • Play To (DLNA)
  • Xbox LIVE

Cons

  • The camera could be better in the dark
  • The LCD screen isn't as good as the Focus or Omnia

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kristy
posted on 22 May 2011, 12:48

5

Not a good buy

Kristy has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

over all I am not happy with this phone... Its talk time is minimal.... Cannot personalise well... data transfer is complicated, a simple copy and paste method of folders would be much better to use instead of using Zune...
Ring tones are not very loud so if you are in a busy or noisy area you cannot hear your phone...

Build quality 7/10 It is sturdy but heavy and bulky
Reception 8/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • Big screen

Cons

  • cannot use mp3's as ring tones
  • uploading and transfer of data is complicated
  • bulky
  • battery time is minimal
  • ring tones are not very loud
  • cannot personalise well
  • hard to purchase add-ons such as covers etc
  • overall a kids play thing

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ryan
posted on 30 Jan 2011, 12:22

8

Parenthetically simple to every phone out there but windows 7

Ryan has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

To be honest this phone is a really good phone and i wish i could say it was my best phone id ever owned had it not been for the disappointment of not being able to have your very own music as ring tones, in fact you can only and i emphasise only use the preloaded ring tones which you get on every phone but there is no other option for music ring tones not even an update to enable this most basic nowadays phone feature. Also the camera is quite a disappointment as the flash is not at all helpful when turned on and when on the video shooting mode, for some reason it is very dark when shooting a video and then to make things worse, when you turn the light on it isn't much use at all, you wouldn't even tell the difference (if you wasn't looking at the back of the phone obviously) whether or no the light is on or off, the light is just about useless, HD or not. Otherwise though the phone software is brilliant and probaly the best phone software I've had or been on before (apart from the ring tones problem) and the internet browsing experience is just superb. The connections to WiFi and network are also brilliant and really does have a strong connection that has not timed out on me once and it's speed is quality. There isn't really anything special about the music, it is just a good music player with everything you get from a good quality music player like sony ericsson walkmans. Overall depends on what your going to use it for and whether your picky about some things.

Build quality 8/10 Fits nicely into my hand maybe a bit large but is very neat.
Reception 9/10 strong
Call quality 8/10 good speaker quality
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10 a decent enough battery life to last me my full day at quite a heavy usage

Pros

  • Software
  • speed
  • connection quality
  • internet browsing is brill
  • the apps available are everything you need
  • the games are also very good time killers and entertaining
  • "People" app has got to be the best or one of the best parts of the phone

Cons

  • NOT aloud custom mp3 music, only the preloaded ones
  • camera
  • camera flash
  • video camera is very poor and the light too

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Joe
posted on 04 Dec 2010, 11:28

9

Epicness

Joe has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I found it an excellent all rounder, with most of the problems being with the OS which will hopefully be patched soon. An average camera but very quick and easy to use. I actually love the look of this phone as well, and everything about it i trully enjoyed. Excellent touch screen, good features and of course excellent calling and texting make this a wonderul and intuitive phone.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Touch screen
  • Play To
  • Simple and Easy to Use

Cons

  • Lack of apps (at least for the time being)

Joe alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Bob
posted on 04 Dec 2010, 04:20

7

Don't buy this phone

Bob has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Nice phone in many ways but battery life is very poor, with everything turned off
not used the battery going down 20% in 8 hours, get about 40 hours in standby,
4 hrs talk. Internet use, email, etc kills the battery very fast. This is my second
LG Optimus 7 both have the same problem

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • great phone
  • seems to do everything well

Cons

  • poor battery life

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories