HTC Desire X User Reviews

Overall user rating

7.8

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception
7.8
Display
7.3
Build quality
7.4
Text input
6.9
Everyday usage
7.4
UI speed
7.4
Camera
7.7
Multimedia
7.2
Internet
8.1
Call quality
8.4
Battery
7.7
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Uldis posted on Feb 09, 2015, 9:52 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 08, 2015

5.0

I am using this HTC device almoast two years. Really Mid-Range smartphone. 1st year using this phone was good. After 1.5 years htc is laggy and full of gliches.

Uldis has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I am using this HTC device almoast two years. Really Mid-Range smartphone. 1st year using this phone was good. After 1.5 years htc is laggy and full of gliches.
Phone went slow, it is verry terrible and annoying to use in everyday.

Build quality
5.0
Reception
5.0
Call quality
5.0
MIC is not working after 1.5 years of using
Internet
8.0
Good speed
Multimedia
5.0
Camera
5.0
UI speed
2.0
Laggy
Everyday usage
2.0
Text input
5.0
Display
8.0
Good colors
Battery
5.0
avarage 12-20 hours

Is this review helpful?

Report

natalia. posted on Aug 24, 2014, 6:18 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 24, 2014

9.0

This is a good phone!

natalia. has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I got the HTC desire x in March 2013 and since then until today, it has not had any problems which required me to get it fixed. Dropped it a few times(and it does have a little dent and chip in the corner), used it for so many hours and it still works. Of course, I can see the performance of it slipping, as it's quite slow recently and also sometimes(but rarely) freezes. Maybe it;'s because I packed it with a load of crap haha as I was so excited to have all these games and apps. Also great size for a smartphone, obviously recently the phones are like 5 inches or above, and that is way too large for me. Another minor problem I had is the lock/unlock screen key is kind of breaking, I mean it doesn't respond when I click it, only if I push it in with force. FInally, the touch screen is a bit less sensitive, so when typing fast I realise letters and spaces are missing, so I have to go back. But bearing in mind that this phone is 18 months old and I have used it A LOT, I mean I have strained it most likely and it's just getting a bit tired. :)

Build quality
9.0
Good size, light, love the overall appearance (but I don't like how the speakers are at the back) Also very soft at the back, almost like a silicon feel but that can get scratches. Mine has been dropped a few times and the screen handles it fine, but the corners of the phone have some chipped paint and a tiny dent in it. (it was dropped on concrete though so that was expected to happen)
Reception
10.0
seemed fine to me all the time
Call quality
10.0
fine
Internet
8.0
Speedy internet, although recently slowing down (18 months old)
Multimedia
9.0
Speakers are at the back which I don't really like but overall good music player, okay video quality.
Camera
9.0
The camera is great - focuses perfectly, has panorama and although there is no front camera, it doesn't bother me much.
UI speed
9.0
Quick phone, but over time the apps take a bit of time to load up.
Everyday usage
9.0
simple, easy to use, good
Text input
8.0
I like the text imput and that you can have a personalised dictionary, however it's too easy to save a word, if you just tap a word that you typed in accidentally, for example onipn instead of onion, it saves it if you tap it by accident.
Display
9.0
Very good, although sometimes hard to see in sunlight. Touchscreen usually responsive, but rarely freezes or delays its response. Overtime, the sensitivity of the touchscreen decreases, so you have to tap it harder sometimes.
Battery
8.0
it lasts around 16-17 hours on standby, but when using it, it drains quite quickly.

Pros

  • Light, nice looking
  • Good quality camera on average
  • Tolerates any games and most apps on the play store
  • Beats audio speakers - strong, loud
  • The display is good, colourful, can also be vibrant and soft.
  • Also totally easy to use

Cons

  • Slows down over time
  • Battery life drains quicker when you've had it for like a year
  • The speaker is at the back

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

sachin787 posted on Jun 23, 2014, 12:42 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jun 23, 2014

8.0

RIP DESIRE X 16 months old !!

sachin787 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

here goes the mother board of my desire X - once again.. so does the camera!! and so does my memory card slot !! i was impressed by this phone initially but in the 16 months of its usage i had to change the motherboard once and now it has gone again and the cost of the new mother board is whopping 7000 INR .. so has my camera gone - damages-2000 INR and so has the memory card slot - 2000 INR again !! the problem with HTC in mumbai India is its only one over friendly customer care center located in some remote corner of a deserted mall in kurla west !! when i mean overfriendly - it means these guys give you a very right , just and a polite reply "TO THROW YOUR PHONE IN THE BIN AS IT WILL NOT SOLVE YOUR PURPOSE SIR " if not the phone HTC should atleast concentrate on customer satisfaction instead of training their staff to give such heavenly advice's !! overall build quality of the phone is decent and i have no complaints with it .. but the durability of the great MOTHERBOARD of the phone is disappointing !! and now my beloved phone lies in a trash can !! :) RIP DESIRE X !!

Build quality
7.0
build quality is strictly ok .. not tough but will sustain damages !!
Reception
8.0
quiet good !!
Call quality
8.0
never faced a problem with the call quality
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
8.0
camera quality is good but it doesnt have the front camera
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
8.0
Display
8.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • never hangs

Cons

  • mother board goes out quiet often .. very expensive to replace
  • camera may go out after a year or year and a half !! very expensive to replace
  • memory card and sim card slot quiet fragile and delicate.. may go out in a year .. expensive to replace

Is this review helpful?

Report

ronnie1902 posted on Jan 07, 2014, 5:01 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 07, 2014

4.0

My Desire X is dead in 14 months :(

ronnie1902 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I bought HTC desire X 14 months ago. I felt its a good phone in the beginning, but after 13 months of usage the so called Beats Audio headphone were gone(not working anymore) and now after a month or so my phone failed to start. I took it to HTC service centre for diagnosis(they charge Rs 400 to just touch your phone) and now they say that phone's motheboard is gone and it needs to be changed for which they are charging Rs 7500 for it(who in the god's grace will this amount for motherboard change). My opinion is to never buy this phone ever. This is my worst experience of using a smart phone

Build quality
6.0
Looks good
Reception
2.0
No value for money
Call quality
8.0
Good sound quality
Internet
4.0
good. but heats a lot while using internet
Multimedia
4.0
decent
Camera
3.0
decent
UI speed
5.0
ok
Everyday usage
1.0
very poor
Text input
2.0
poor
Display
2.0
bad
Battery
2.0
ok

Pros

  • good phone to use

Cons

  • poor life

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

ieoc98788 posted on Dec 01, 2013, 10:35 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 13, 2013

9.0

Have owned this smartphone for 2 months now

ieoc98788 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is a compact phone fits perfectly in your hand. There is a really cool design near the camera and the flash. I love it. The HTC logo looks very cool. Besides the phone comes factory unlocked, so it is very convenient for people with prepaid services.

Build quality
9.0
The physicel buttons (power, volume) are a bit hard to press. But once you get used to it, it's not really noticeable anymore.
Reception
10.0
Very good reception, almost always with 5 bars.
Call quality
8.0
Sometimes wile calling it gets a little bump, or calls get dropped from time to time. Pretty rarely, really.
Internet
9.0
The stock browser has some neat features, like getting rid of the images in a webpage and just leaving the text. But the fact that it reloads every time you open it, gets kind of annoying. Everything else, wifi and other apps work great. Really smooth
Multimedia
9.0
The photo viewer sometimes gets a bit buggy when trying to access it from the camera.
Camera
10.0
For a mid range smartphone, the User Interface of the camera is really great. Pictures taken with it look really cool, and videos are not the best but they are not that bad.
UI speed
8.0
Sometimes you get some bugs with the interface, or gets kind of laggish. But even though Sense looks really cool.
Everyday usage
10.0
Great, just awesome, does everything a smartphone should. And sometimes even more, Just very cool, I love using it daily.
Text input
7.0
Stock keyboard is good, but not great. Really prefer the stock Android keyboard. But it is precise enough for you to type in it.
Display
8.0
Display is not the best, not bad for a mid range smartphone. but there are better displays.
Battery
10.0
I love the life of the battery. It is so great, not really find in many smartphones. It lasts about 2+ days if you use it just for texts and ocasional calls. It will last 1 day(24 hours) with a power usage, playing games using internet, calling a lot.

Pros

  • Battery
  • Good reception
  • Looks
  • Price
  • Camera
  • Viewing angles

Cons

  • Keyboard
  • Hard to press physical keys

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

baks_n posted on Jul 07, 2013, 1:35 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jul 07, 2013

10.0

Very Good Phone

baks_n has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have been using this phone for more than 8 Months and the performance never went down, which includes Battery, Performance, Calling and ready to use Internet. A very good phone to buy in this price range.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

isaacmcdermott posted on Jun 01, 2013, 6:18 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jun 01, 2013

6.0

Mid range smartphone

isaacmcdermott has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Average phone which is not for someone who is trying to make it do loads of things like myself and with the recent Jelly Bean update it is worse than before. It is laggy and needs to be fixed.

Overall I would not recommend this phone.

Build quality
5.0
Rather disappointed with this because although the phone was a premium feel the soft touch back was always full of dust and would never clean.
Reception
7.0
Signal was varied and only sometimes picked up 3G.
Call quality
10.0
Nothing to complain about here, all fine.
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
6.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
5.0
Lag has started to appear with the new Jelly Bean update recently.
Everyday usage
7.0
A phone for an average person who will not be using it as a top end phone.
Text input
3.0
Display
2.0
Terrible viewing angles in the sun, I was really struggling to see anything whatsoever.
Battery
10.0
Fantastic battery for moderate use

Pros

  • Battery
  • Not much lag

Cons

  • Viewing angles
  • Autocorrect was shocking

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

Faygor posted on Apr 01, 2013, 6:31 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 27, 2013

10.0

The first phone i didn't regret buying it. Takes a lot of time choosing from S3 Mini and Desire X.

Faygor has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I brought it a week ago and can already conclude. Compared to his top rival samsung galaxy S3 Mini, HTC has better UI and style, multimedia features. For a phone around US 320 this is one of the best choices among the mid range phones if you want the price around 250-430 US. Combined with Samsung, these 2 phones are undefeatable atm.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
9.0
Fast speed, no problem for daily usage.
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
Very good camera quality for a 5 megapixel camera.
UI speed
10.0
Best UI forever.
Everyday usage
10.0
Good for everyday.
Text input
9.0
Good text, but maybe i mistype sometimes because 4 inch screen is still a bit small for smartphones now.
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Good camera quality
  • HTC Sense is the best UI ATM
  • Extremely worth it
  • Performance is excellent
  • Beats Audio
  • 480x800. Great quality compared to other mid-range phones
  • slightly more battery than S3 Mini
  • Great multimedia features
  • Dual Core, 1GHz

Cons

  • No Front Camera (I never use that so i dont really care)
  • Slightly unstylish compared to stylish phones like HTC Droid DNA or J
  • Inner features slightly less than Galaxy S3 Mini
  • Samsung has more fans than HTC
  • Not the best place to put a lock button
  • Cover easy to get dirty

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

Varyar posted on Oct 23, 2012, 11:40 PM
Posts: 5; Member since: Oct 22, 2012

9.0

A Pretty Decent Midarge Device

Varyar has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The Desire X experience so far for the last 3 days since I started using it have been fantastic. Fluid performance and great looks. Wonderful on screen keyboard, neat browser with flash support and flawless performance. So far So good. Noticed slight (nealry ignorable) heating up when playing high graphic games. The call quality is fantastic, so is the the Music player and audio quality. The Build quality is not as Good as HTC one V or Atrix 2, But defenitly better than almost all competitors. removing the back cover is bit of a concern, but not surely as much as SGSA/SII back cover. The screen and the viewing angles are excellent. Battery life is pretty decent and above average. It lasted 29 hours having 10% battery left with - 1 hour of of game, 75 mins of call, 1 hour of browing over 2G. There is no HTC leap and There are only 5 home screens. Not a big deal any how - even the Iphone does not have any. How much you are going to use it?

We - the midrange users - think, we will do so many things with the phone. Infact what we do is, telephony, Music, occational browsing, bit of games and photography. So I want to nake sure these basic needs are covered with what ever extra comes. I think HTC desire X have to all with Beautiful HTC Sense skin over ICS. It is upgradable to JB (Android 4.1) too - HTC is know for it - to upgrade their phones OS on time and as many as possible.

It is foolish to compare Sub 20K midrangers with Galaxy SII, One X, One S, Galaxy SIII, Xperia S Etc. Make...  

Build quality
7.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
6.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Fluid performance
  • HTC 4.1 sense works like butter
  • Very Good camera and Camera interface
  • Excellent Auidio
  • Battery Life
  • Crisp and Vivd screen

Cons

  • Average Build compared to HTC standards
  • No Scratch Resistant/Gorilla Glass
  • Front came would have been an added Advantage

29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.