Dell Streak User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.1

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage
9.4
UI speed
8.9
Camera
8.8
Multimedia
8.6
Internet
9.4
Call quality
8.9
Battery
9.2
Reception
9.2
Display
9.8
Build quality
8.9
Text input
8.6

Alternatives

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

ˇಠ_ಠˇ posted on Mar 31, 2013, 3:31 PM
Posts: 40; Member since: Aug 29, 2012

7.0

It was good for its time

ˇಠ_ಠˇ has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I really liked it as a phone but towards the end of using it, after updating it, the phone began to crash a lot and the keyboard would type random letters. Also, it would never let me update to gingerbread so I was stuck with froyo.

Build quality
7.0
Reception
7.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
6.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
5.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
3.0
Something was wrong with the keyboard. It would always type the letters .bb or vvvvvvv whenever I hit the space bar.
Display
8.0
Battery
8.0

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

jagon91 posted on Jun 19, 2011, 9:47 PM
Posts: 13; Member since: Aug 03, 2010

9.0

An amazing Tab/PDA

jagon91 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I recieved this phone a few months ago as a replacement to an aging moto z9, and to say the least it is the best choice i have made!!! I owned an iphone too for a few months and completely hated it!!! Androids ui is so customizable and easy to learn as well. the only draw back is the os opening apps in background but ATK takes care of that and Juice Defender has more than tripled my battery life!!!

I love the looks i get when i pull it out and everyone who uses it is amazed and wants to steal it from me! My first one was a lemon and didn't like to charge however I got a warranty replacement easily and have had no problems since!!!

Build quality
9.0
Plastic that surrounds screen is not on par with gorilla glass and scratches in my pocket on its own.
Reception
8.0
Strangely enough my old z9 had better reception.
Call quality
8.0
Kind of hard to find a place to hear the other person without pressing any buttons with your face.
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
7.0
Multimedia was kind of lacking for a tablet however some third party apps took care of that
Camera
9.0
Great for a five mp but only with enough light
UI speed
10.0
Seamless movement while interchanging between apps.
Everyday usage
10.0
Very easy to use for me since i have large hands
Text input
8.0
I absolutely hate swype bc i type to fast for it and it thinks i am trying to swype so we fight a lot.
Display
10.0
Amazingly bright and vivid!
Battery
10.0
After juicedefender i can last for 2 days!!!

Pros

  • Size. It's perfect for me!
  • Android 2.2 over 1.6
  • Full flash experience in web browsing!
  • Live wallpapers are a plus

Cons

No Cons

Is this review helpful?

Report

saravanan0011 posted on Nov 03, 2012, 11:49 AM
Posts: 2; Member since: Oct 30, 2012

9.0

Best phone I have ever had

saravanan0011 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

It's the best phone i have ever had, I loved it.
Only thing i didn't like is it's poor graphics performance, It is powered by Adreno 200.

Otherwise it's a good multitasking capability device, for It's 1Ghz processor, it gave really performed well.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
8.0
It has very good loudspeaker but audio output through 3.5mm jack is real bad.
Camera
8.0
UI speed
8.0
Stage UI is very heavy and practically useless, it's better to use with Adw Launcher EX
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Buid Quality
  • It's charming 5 inch screen
  • Overall good

Cons

  • Stage UI
  • Poor Graphics Performance(Adreno 200)

Is this review helpful?

Report

chenweiweasel posted on Sep 04, 2011, 9:27 PM
Posts: 2; Member since: Aug 16, 2010

9.0

Great phone but with great problems.

chenweiweasel has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

If you need a smartphone and a tablet at the same time but with budget that only allow you buy 1 device. Dell Streak 5 is the best choice!!!! Although it have a big screen, it can still enter my pocket easily! :)

I still cannot find an phone that can totally replace Dell Streak 5.

Build quality
8.0
Very unique size! Can be a tablet and phone!:) However, the device is very 'fragile.' Parts of the device are easy to break or wear off.
Reception
10.0
Good
Call quality
9.0
Good but will lag a bit...
Internet
10.0
fast and efficient.
Multimedia
9.0
All u need is there except for music equalizer, which require Android 2.3... :(
Camera
9.0
Can shoot HD videos but only 5 MP
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
It can totally replace my computer!!!!!
Text input
10.0
Fast, accurate and enough space to type.
Display
10.0
Big screen with powerful display and fast respond to touch
Battery
7.0
Can be improved

Pros

  • Big screen
  • Can be tablet and phone
  • Android 2.2 still rocks!
  • Fast
  • Slim
  • Light
  • Can replace your personal computer
  • Wonderful web browser!

Cons

  • Very easily cracked screen
  • Weak battery
  • The 30-pins port is very 'fragile.'
  • Camera only got 5 MP
  • No android 2.3 updates yet

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

andre_eyk posted on Jun 05, 2011, 11:28 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jun 05, 2011

10.0

dell streak is a great device

andre_eyk has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i really like it this phone i dont know why , i think ,s the big screen (5 inches) i really want it , has android 2.2 now found that information in dell.com it,s a great device ....................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................i want it

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • i like it
  • and i ike it
  • and i want it
  • and the big screen

Cons

  • no no no no dont have cons because have android 2.2

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

VincentB posted on Jun 07, 2011, 11:51 AM

10.0

Awesome

VincentB has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I had this phone for a while and 2 weeks after purchasing i rooted it and put Streakdroid on it. Im now on 1.9.0 and i love Froyo. This phone is the best phone i have ever owned and i don't think i will be able to use another phone with a smaller screen again unless it is extraordinary amazing!

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Battery Life
  • Screen size
  • Android, Duhh
  • Speed of phone
  • Froyo (Gingerbread now)
  • Front camera

Cons

  • Camera quality is not that great

VincentB alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

santaorjesus posted on Mar 21, 2011, 1:59 AM

10.0

best one ever!!!

santaorjesus has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

dont settle thinking money could buy you a better phone or a small screen size is fine with me...

the difference comes to realization....... as much as you have it when you go and watch movies in a theater rather than watching it at home

its a phenomenal

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

jkristian posted on Dec 17, 2010, 12:30 PM

9.0

Professional

jkristian has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

GREAT mini tablet cannot wait for the android updates though. Will be a phone to be reckoned with by top dogs like Droid X, Fascinate, Galaxy Tab, Nexus S etc.
Dell constumer service can be a bit evasive as to when we will get the 2.2 or the 2.3 updates. The device should have never been released with 1.6.

Build quality
8.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Great phone for tablet interested folks, love the screen quality and the weight of it. Fits right in the pocket.
  • Phone is going to be a force to be reckoned with once android software is updated!!!!

Cons

  • 1.6 OMG get real...come on 2.3 Gingerbread

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.