BlackBerry Passport User Reviews

Overall user rating

8.5

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality
9.3
Battery
8.7
Reception
8.9
Display
8.5
Build quality
9.6
Text input
9.2
Everyday usage
7.6
UI speed
8.5
Camera
7.3
Multimedia
7.7
Internet
8.7
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

himeshshah posted on Sep 27, 2015, 11:41 PM
Posts: 15; Member since: Oct 20, 2013

10.0

Best Smart Phone.

himeshshah has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Simply Amazing.
Don't need to carry a laptop.
The more you type, faster you type!
Productivity enhancer.
There are many things about this phone which is difficult to describe. Just use this phone to know them!

Build quality
10.0
Great build.
Reception
10.0
Comparing to other flagship phone, reception is far superior.
Call quality
10.0
Feels like having one to one talk.
Internet
10.0
Page loading is fast.
Multimedia
10.0
Use it to feel the difference.
Camera
10.0
Clear captures.
UI speed
10.0
I have doubled my work speed.
Everyday usage
10.0
No other Phone can come even close to usage experience.
Text input
10.0
My typing speed was already amazingly fast & now it's almost double.
Display
10.0
Great display.
Battery
10.0
2 days without charge is what I get. Most of other OS user will NOT believe until they use this phone.

Pros

  • HUB
  • Blend
  • Link
  • Does Not HANG
  • Best battery life
  • Fanstastic display
  • Security & Privacy
  • User friendly

Cons

  • Less Apps but one can live without them!

5 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Report

Kame_Hame_Haaaaa posted on Sep 26, 2015, 10:59 AM
Posts: 360; Member since: Jul 29, 2015

5.0

The BEST blackberry I EVER used

Kame_Hame_Haaaaa has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is the best blackberry I ever used.

The size was right, the screen was great. The only things that is NOT right is the Operating System. The BB OS 10.

For start, the app support of BB 10 is NOT as great as android or iPhone or Windows Phone. The amazon app store is NOT good as most of the amazon app store apps were OLD.

Sideloading the Google Play Store also NOT help as many apps (IN APPS PURCASE) not working.

Build quality
8.0
The best build quality of BB device I ever used
Reception
7.0
Could have been better
Call quality
7.0
Could have been better
Internet
6.0
Internet a bit slow on large page
Multimedia
2.0
Multimedia IS NOT bb strong point, especially with this square screen.
Camera
2.0
If I want camera, I would buy Samsung or LG or Sony or XiaoMi
UI speed
6.0
Better than other BB
Everyday usage
3.0
The OS is NOT well polished. Perhaps when the android version come out, this would be perfect device.
Text input
4.0
as it turn out, swipe was better than hardware key.
Display
5.0
the display quality is good enough, but the square resolution ruined it.
Battery
6.0
Good enough compared to other blackberry. But still NOT good enough compared to current flagship from samsung or sony

Kame_Hame_Haaaaa alternatives:

56 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Report

SitiNurbaya0 posted on Jun 29, 2015, 10:59 AM
Posts: 153; Member since: May 22, 2015

6.0

The best Blackberry with good size keyboard

SitiNurbaya0 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The blackberry passport is the best blackberry phone. The larger keyboard made the phone better than ALL the classic size blackberry. If this phone is released in 2008, Blackberry would really rule the world.

The problem with this phone is NO APPS. The blackberry app store is full of bad apps that does nothing. The amazon app store while it's a lot better than bb store, it's still not on par with google store / apple store.

The problem with the apps on amazon app store were it's not the best / latest one. I really hate when my friend play new game, and all other friend follow, i can only watch and not have fun with them.

Other than that, (If I don't need apps), the phone is rock solid. with little bug/hang here and there. If I restart the phone at least once a week, the phone is 95% stable. which is GOOD (compared to old bb that hang/crash almost everyday).

Build quality
8.0
strong and great build quality.
Reception
7.0
quite good, but not as good as samsung
Call quality
7.0
good, but sometimes the voice breaking up.
Internet
6.0
quite good, but still lost compared to most android/iOS device.
Multimedia
2.0
The square screen make it bad for multimedia. and the screen is not big enough
Camera
2.0
I guess camera is never strong buy for bb. bellow average picture quality
UI speed
8.0
speedy, great.
Everyday usage
2.0
The OS feel not on par compared to competitor. Small bug/problem. Battery not good enough. NO APPS.
Text input
6.0
The keyboard size is better than classic blackberry. but still no better than touch screen input.
Display
8.0
Good, bigger than most BB, and not too small compared to most other phone. I really wish the screen were even bigger.
Battery
5.0
While the battery is the best among bb device, it's still not as good as other device released in the same year

Pros

  • great quality, even better than the bb porsce
  • big keyboard

Cons

  • NO APPS
  • Amazon store not good
  • BB store even worse

SitiNurbaya0 alternatives:

65 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Report

Chris_Bakke posted on May 01, 2015, 1:34 PM
Posts: 246; Member since: Jan 23, 2013

9.0

Fantastic device, just not the one for me anymore.

Chris_Bakke has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I absolutely loved this device. I used ran the gamut on this device; From being a proud new owner to finally growing weary of the width and fed up with the lack of apps. I know full well I was not the target audience for this device, I am a 22 year old male, not the worldly business traveller. This is by far and away the best phone I have ever used, but it's time for me to go back to the world of Android. I will still buy a BlackBerry Q5 to continue to support BBRY and to off load emails and other unnecessary things from my M9.

Build quality
10.0
Very well built, the I-beam construction gives the phone a really good strength.
Reception
10.0
Never had a dropped call or a web page not load.
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Browsing on the square screen is really nice. Viewing whole websites and not mobile versions is really nice.
Multimedia
6.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
10.0
Never have I ever used a device that was this smooth. The control Blackberry has over its system is beyond that of even Apple, and they give it the specs to push it to the max.
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Most everything.

Cons

  • Lack of apps is really the only thing holding BlackBerry back.
  • Watching videos isn't fantastic, but if you're buying this phone you're not doing a lot of Youtube browsing.

2 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Report

Zeeya posted on Oct 16, 2014, 11:41 AM
Posts: 331; Member since: Mar 17, 2013

10.0

Best BlackBerry ever!

Zeeya has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It's an amazing Phone.
The best device I ever had.
Typing on this beast is a pleasure.
Fast, Productivity on its finest and the battery is outstanding.
Up to 30 hours of battery!!! (heavy heavy heavy use)

Build quality
10.0
A W E S O M E !
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
crystal-clear!
Internet
10.0
FAST!
Multimedia
10.0
Not the Best for watching Videos. But guess what, its not built for watching the whole time Videos. But its still a great device for Multimedia.
Camera
10.0
13 Megapixel, Great Pictures.
UI speed
10.0
Super Fast!
Everyday usage
10.0
One of the most productive Devices I've ever seen!
Text input
10.0
LOVE THE KEYBOARD!
Display
10.0
Razor-sharp/Crisp. Love it.
Battery
10.0
The best Battery.. Up to 30 Hours of Battery as a heavy User!!

Pros

  • BlackBerry OS 10.3
  • Battery (3450 mAh)
  • 3GB fast RAM
  • Snapdragon 801
  • 32 GB (Up to 160GB)
  • 4,5inch Big Square Display
  • Blend (Desktop solution)
  • Android Apps run very smoothe&fast!
  • Built-in Amazon App Store
  • Build quality: Very Luxury

Cons

  • BlackBerry World

20 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

Report

o1eroy posted on Aug 03, 2017, 4:20 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 31, 2014

9.0

True Masterpiecce

o1eroy has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

My daily work drive. Awesome device.Typing experience amazing. Thanks BlackBerry to invent a such machinery. Love it. I think BlackBerry 10 is advance OS. But it's sad BlackBerry could not able to bring light on it due to poor marketing. As a device Passport has no match. For people apps gap is an issue but for me Passport is a communication tool. Work done productive way and keep thing secured. I don't want to be a slave of my phone, I want it to be my slave.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
6.0
Camera
5.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • OS,Productivity, typing, call quality, signal, enjoying music and last but not the least is looks. May be looks odd to me it's exceptional.

Cons

  • Battery. After getting 10.3.3 it's reduce battery efficiency.

Is this review helpful?

Report

saba712 posted on Nov 08, 2016, 3:02 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 08, 2016

6.0

it really makes me hate blackberry

saba712 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

this phone is really beautiful.... but.... reallllyyyyy weak in software and camera.... the camera doesnt have a good focus it only has focus for 2 seconds and most of photos i take are really bad... about android of it.... i couldnt use a regular apps like google translate or instagram or viber in it.... too much force closes... i cant update my android apps cause im afraid of force closes my instagram or google translate version in device is one of the first versions i dont say that it couldnt open even the first version of apps like shazam .... its really boring ....

Build quality
10.0
build is good
Reception
7.0
not bad
Call quality
10.0
Internet
5.0
nothing special in internet not so good not so bad
Multimedia
10.0
the media gallery of the phone is the most perfect thing in it
Camera
1.0
the camera is desgusting
UI speed
1.0
it has so many crashes and hangs when i use more than 3 apps
Everyday usage
3.0
really boring
Text input
10.0
Display
1.0
really bad infront of other smart phones
Battery
4.0
nothing special

Pros

  • keyboard is great
  • really beautiful phone
  • great photo gallery

Cons

  • really bad camera
  • too much crashes when using android apps
  • bad display resolution

Is this review helpful?

Report

Konstantinos posted on Sep 16, 2016, 2:21 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 16, 2016

10.0

Why is this amazing phone so underrated by biased reviewers?

Konstantinos has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I am disappointed with the above review and I do not think that the author is unbiased in his opinion and in his 7.5 rating!
The following reasons made me personally choose the Blackberry Passport over an iPhone 6 in 2016:
(1) Security: Apple and Android are really late in the game and several years behind BlackBerry! Remember in 2014 (!) when Sony was hacked that the Sony executives grabbed old BlackBerry phones to Sony’s Rescue!
(2) A really long battery life, up to 1 ½ days with extreme usage (calls, e-mails, browsing web, streaming Netflix etc).
(3) Screen real-estate, high resolution, and 1:1 layout
(4) Exceptinal construction and use of Gorilla Glass 3 protective covering (no bending of phones ever like the iPhone 6! The BlackBerry Passport was found to be exceptional robust in drop tests)!
(5) Telephone call capabilities and associated antenna enhancements, including stereo audio output and 4 mics for excellent audio pickup and noise cancellation, especially for conference calls on speakerphone, unreached by other smartphone companies
(5) E-mail processing, organization, and handling of attachments in the Hub has not been beaten yet.
(6) The keyboard design with integrated on-screen extra rows of keys that are actually convenient to use, and the ability to use the entire surface of the keyboard to scroll through documents and web pages, rather than running your finger across the display.
(7) Customizable keyboard shortcuts for fast performances!
(8) Easy access over PC...  

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

Wrnvdb posted on Apr 22, 2016, 4:23 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 22, 2016

9.0

Nice phone but...

Wrnvdb has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Got myself a passport because i always liked BB for its security and topnotch messaging capabilities.And altho i love the thing,there are 2 dealbreakers that make me put it away and pick up my nexus 6 again.
First of all..my banking app :( installed it via snap..halfway start up of the first screen,it crashes constantly.So i can not use it..now since i do have my own biz,it's quite obvious to be able to check payments on the road. dealbreaker nr 1!!
Second..what's up with the crap that payment in bbworld doesn't work??And no,not even after all the 'solutions' given..it won't let me use my credit card nor my paypal.SO for me the nice app work wide is out of reach... dealbreaker 2!!
Besides those important dealbreakers,the phone is a jewel,both in use as in build quality.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
7.0
beacuse of the 2 major flaws for me.For someone else it might be higher rated
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

IglooArchitect posted on Apr 17, 2015, 7:10 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 17, 2015

7.0

First time BBRY buyer, and I got a dud

IglooArchitect has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I had this phone for 13 days. I loved it for the first few days. Anyone who saw it thought I was crazy for having a square phone. Then I would hold it up to their Note, LG, iPhone 6 or 6 Plus and they kind of accepted it. I never needed to fit in with this phone. It had exactly what I had been waiting for, impressive performance capabilities, security, and most importantly to me, a QWERTY keyboard.
When I unboxed the phone I fell in love. Then after about a week I realized that apps would crash, other times the screen would randomly flash green while I was using it, and then simple apps like the camera and text messaging would crash.
I couldn't believe the phone I waited for, the one I desired for years, would have an operating system that wouldn't allow me to do basic tasks.

Would I recommend this phone? Yes, I hope you get one in good working condition. I really enjoyed the swipe commands on the screen to go home, or to the messaging center. Though the camera was odd, and the screen formatting was awkward, it had a great screen.
Of course my favorite feature was the QWERTY keyboard. With it you never need auto-correct, there is never a missed letter. Also you can bang out a hundred words a minute if you need to for an email or to take notes.
I really liked what they did with the number keys on screen, as well as the ability to use numbers by hitting corresponding QWERTY letters. Also the swiping ability on the QWERTY keyboard worked really well.

I do miss having this phone...  

Build quality
9.0
Bold, strong design, QWERTY keyboard is heavy duty but also sensitive enough for the swipe functions.
Reception
7.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
6.0
This could have just been AT&T's fault
Multimedia
4.0
Headphone jack wouldn't work most of the time. Apps were fine, other than when they would crash.
Camera
4.0
Crashes, its square.
UI speed
7.0
Everyday usage
3.0
Crashing Apps and Green flashing screen led me to return this for a full refund.
Text input
10.0
Display
8.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • QWERTY
  • Luxurious Feel
  • Screen Navigation
  • On screen use of extra keyboards/numbers

Cons

  • Crashing Apps
  • Green flashing screen
  • Headphone jack
  • Canadian

52 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Report

Piveto posted on Jan 12, 2015, 12:08 AM
Posts: 2; Member since: Dec 26, 2014

10.0

Passport is the best ever

Piveto has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

BB10 is the best architecture ever designed. I love everything about this phone.
The large screen feels so productive, the sound is amazing and the Hub does what it was designed to do. BB10 software is amazing.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

6 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

Report

HSEFLY posted on Dec 13, 2014, 8:55 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 10, 2014

9.0

Excellent Product

HSEFLY has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Quite simply the best device Blackberry has developed and offered to customers.
I've own many cell phones and smart phones with different OS's and can say with some authority that nothing out at the moment touches this device.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Too many to list, it truly is a marvel of communication. You have to try it for yourself to fully understand what blackberry fans are raving about.

Cons

  • Lacking the HDMI out connection that was available in Blackberry Q10 and Z10 devices. Still not a deal breaker.

HSEFLY alternatives:

3 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

Report

Kyrluckechuck posted on Nov 25, 2014, 8:18 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 25, 2014

10.0

Ignoring Unbiased Reviews: My personal experience

Kyrluckechuck has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Despite all of the hate this phone received in the first weeks after launch, including from this website, this phone is a force to be reckoned with!

First off, setup was simple, I was up and running in the first hour.

Most important to me is battery life, and this thing is a beast! I'm a poweruser, and i push my phones to their limits! I have 4 email accounts, Facebook, Twitter, even Tumblr all signed in and setup as well as 30+ other apps installed. I use Waze (GPS app) for about an hour a day on average, plus all of my other constant use, constantly pushing past phones overboard, but this phone can still give me over 22 hours despite my heavy use. Others i know personally were able to get 3 days plus on a single charge.

The BlackBerry HUB is something I can't live without! It's not exclusive to the Passport, but it's a core BlackBerry10 feature and amazing. All of my messages, apps, notifications, everything important is there with the swish of a finger.

Build quality is exceptional! It's built strong, won't fail the Bend test as made famous by the iPhone and other flagship phones. Can happily use it without a case and not be worried when you drop it that it will break.

Don't understand all of this hate for the keyboard.. anyone who gave it more than a week would understand and have adapted. This keyboard is a godsend and i am more efficient than i used to be way back on my 9900!

Reviewers, use the phone for more than a week and have an open mind! This phones consumer...  

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Amazing Battery (Average greater than 26 hours per charge with heavy usage)
  • BlackBerry OS10.3.0 / 10.3.1
  • Build Design (Luxurious)
  • Huge Display
  • Built-in 32GB + up to 128GB more via microSD
  • Built-in Amazon App Store
  • Downloadable Google Play Store (via Snap)
  • BlackBerry Blend!
  • Being able to laugh when your Android apps run better on your BlackBerry than your friends Android
  • The BlackBerry HUB of course!

Cons

  • 10.3.0 had poor camera results, fixed in 10.3.1 though so no downvote
  • Always being asked about the phone and having to stop to demo features.. wait that's not a con! ;)
  • Nada.

13 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

Report

escalade5252 posted on Nov 10, 2014, 6:10 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 10, 2014

8.0

Good Gadget with Poor Apps

escalade5252 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Its one of the best Blackberry I owned ever, but unfortunately I sold it after 6 days and returened to my iPhone 6 due to the poor of its the App store (No Instgram, No Clash of Clans…etc).

If RIM could add most of IOS and Android applications to Blackberry App store, I am sure it will take 40% of smartphone market.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
7.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
7.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
8.0
Display
7.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Nice design
  • Good quality
  • Battery
  • Screen rsolution
  • Big size display

Cons

  • Poor Apps
  • Most popular iPhone Apps are not available
  • No Instgram
  • No Clash of Clans
  • No full screen for video

3 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

Report

nixxonexxo posted on Nov 09, 2014, 1:50 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 09, 2014

10.0

Blackberry Game Changer Phone is a Win

nixxonexxo has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It's been 3 weeks and I'm still in love with my Passport. Being on Android and iOS for the past 4 years, I'm glad to be back. Besides getting a lot of attention from people everywhere because of the unconventional look, it is truly a great build piece of hardware and software done by a known player that once dominated the smartphone market. The battery life is just the icing on the cake. I feel complete with a Blackberry again. I'm not leaving you again Blackberry, I should have hanged in there during your ruff times. Me + Blackberry equals marriage.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

14 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.