BlackBerry Curve 8520 User Reviews

Overall user rating

8.5

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage
9.1
UI speed
8.4
Camera
6.5
Multimedia
8.8
Internet
6.9
Call quality
9.4
Battery
7.4
Reception
9.8
Display
8.5
Build quality
6.8
Text input
8.9
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Nasheer_B posted on Nov 08, 2012, 12:20 PM
Posts: 10; Member since: Nov 05, 2012

4.0

Blackberry 8520

Nasheer_B has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

You would feel better holding a pile of crap to your ear and calling it a phone. The camera flash is not necessary because the camera quality is so poor you wont even use it. The Internet is so slow it doesn't even have 3G. The operating system alright but gets irritating after a while. The phone cover automatically disassembles after a while of use.

Build quality
2.0
looks like something the cave man used as toilet paper!
Reception
8.0
Call quality
6.0
Internet
3.0
Where is the 3G?
Multimedia
5.0
Camera
1.0
Preforms like VGA Quality
UI speed
1.0
Everyday usage
5.0
Text input
1.0
Cheap plastic buttons makes your fingers pain
Display
2.0
Battery
5.0

Pros

  • BBM
  • BIS

Cons

  • No 3G
  • Extremely bad OS
  • Useless Camera
  • Feels like a pile of scrap plastic
  • Ugly
  • Slow charging
  • No camera flash

Nasheer_B alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

Slayor721 posted on Aug 11, 2009, 2:39 PM
Posts: 43; Member since: Dec 27, 2008

9.3

I got the 8520 a  few days before lauch date. and i can tell u this is a very good BB. i like the new trackpad. more responsive the the old trackball. the phone itself is all plastic but it feels sturdy and light. the screen is nice and so is the camera. only thing i wish is that the camera had a flash. I also like the media controls on the top. Very handy. The OS is the same. nothing different really. I would recomend this BB to anyone. Especially first time BB users.

Pros

  • Trackpad
  • Weight
  • Size
  • Camera quality(despite there being no flash)
  • Media Controls
  • Speaker quality and loudness

Cons

  • No camera flash
  • The Send,BB,Back,End buttons r flush so there a little harder to press. not that hard but it can get annoying sumtimes

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Report

raludial posted on Jul 27, 2011, 5:44 PM

10.0

perfect for everyday usage

raludial has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Blackberry 8520 has been the perfect phone for my everydaY usage... i only wish the screen was bigger or with more dpi, but it works fine... Buy it. there will be no regrets ,........................................................................................................................................................................

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • The Phone itself

Cons

No Cons

raludial alternatives:

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Shahu Miskin posted on Jun 23, 2011, 12:53 AM

9.0

Great value for money phone

Shahu Miskin has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Blackberry Curve 8520 is a great phone. The optical track pad is very handy than the track ball. The OS is very fast and smooth but the display is not that good. Browsing speed and usage is very easy and the OS is very User Friendly. the phone itself is all plastic but it feels sturdy and light. the screen is nice and so is the camera. only thing i wish is that the camera had a flash.

Build quality
9.0
Good feel when you hold it.
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Sound quality is crystal clear.
Internet
8.0
Good speed but not that fast because it doesn't have 3G.
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
7.0
The quality of the pictures is Satisfactory.
UI speed
9.0
Very good OS.
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
10.0
QWERTY keyboard works very well.
Display
8.0
QVGA display looks very pixelated.
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • Great call Quality, great reception.

Cons

  • Display, Battery life, No flash Support

Shahu Miskin alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

john posted on Feb 20, 2011, 5:40 AM

7.0

Good but i did'nt like it

john has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Good Mobile but lacks some qualities mentioned below...the camera is good without a flash in daytime.display is great..but battery life is too short..in data connectivity the battery life is worse...about an 1/2 day it remains and drained out.no music from it as the volume buttons are no more...thinking to get an HTC HD MINI..

Build quality
1.0
the rubber panel is breaking into bits and pieces
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
1.0
in india internet costs around 100rs a week...which is too much
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
3.0

Pros

  • good OS
  • great display
  • still good looking without buttons!!

Cons

  • rubber panel
  • internet activation in india

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

Asif posted on Feb 17, 2011, 9:36 AM

8.0

Great phone overall

Asif has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Love this phone and the trackpad is excellent.Makes scrolling through menu very easy and the operating system is perfect for people who dont like flashy stuff as its warm and to the point. Since there's no extra frills the operating system feels extremely snappy and u should try out this phone if only for the trackpad and the incredible qwerty keyboard.

Build quality
3.0
the logo on back rubs off after some time and the rubber buttons around the edge are not durable at all, my volume button and secondary button broke Didnt rate build quality zero because its still pretty stylish
Reception
10.0
Never had any problems
Call quality
10.0
Good
Internet
5.0
No multiple tabs, and its tough controlling pointer with track pad
Multimedia
7.0
Music is great and videos are not bad either
Camera
9.0
Incredible and i still cant believe how it manages to take great pictures with such low megapixels
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Great for everyday usage as it is very snappy with no nonsense operating system
Text input
10.0
Being blackberry excellent qwerty keyboard, i can actually type faster on mine than on a real keyboard,dont even have to look btw
Display
10.0
Very clear and the wallpapers are stunning, download some wallpapers and see how crystal clear they are
Battery
10.0
Very Good

Pros

  • Camera is very clear
  • Snappy and no frill operating system, great for everyday usage
  • Display Screen is great
  • Trackpad is incredible, u should purchase this phone if only for the trackpad

Cons

  • The rubber buttons surrounding it break away after some time
  • The logo on back rubs off very quickly
  • Wifi browser is very bad,doesnt support multiple tabs

Is this review helpful?

Report

parth posted on Nov 24, 2010, 1:40 PM

9.0

easy

parth has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

it is user friendly phone it is easy to use and blackberry app word is good.the sensitivity of optical track pad is very high so it is comfortable to use it's a handy mobile.screen and camera is not good and it's not only business phone it have good multimedia functions.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
9.0

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Ashfaque posted on Nov 07, 2010, 11:18 PM

10.0

Blackberry curve 8520

Ashfaque has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Its a good phone & easy for your business activities. BB has unique features too,
what i feel is BB curve should get a better battery life & a original leather case, anyways I'm really happy with my BB & I simply love it............................................................
Thanks

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Angel N posted on Oct 27, 2010, 1:15 PM

9.0

Great phone!

Angel N has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought a BlackBerry Curve 8520 in white and I have to say that it's amazing. I love the fact that it has an optical trackpad instead of a trackball but the battery life could be better for a phone that was made to endure heavy usage. I also upgraded my OS to OS5 and the formatting and display look great. I'm a little skeptical on the camera, as well. I wish there was a flash but the resolution looks crisp and clear enough for good picture quality. Very satisfied with my phone, recommended.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
2.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
7.0

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

MKS posted on Mar 16, 2010, 4:45 PM

8.3

Curve 8520 is great

Great Phone. Very comfortable to hold. Good media support.
Works great for email/sms/chat. Great for easy communication for office work and the media centre is good for your personal use. Internet is fast with wifi connections. I would recomond this model to all.

Pros

  • Easy access of email
  • Mouse tracker is easy
  • Great Speaker phone

Cons

  • No Flash support

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

Lenroy posted on Dec 25, 2009, 5:26 PM

7.7

CURVE 8520 ROCKS

This phone is by the far the best phone I have ever owned.  It is very fast, it has great email capabilities, and so much more.  The only thing I am dissatisfied with is the camera.  If it had a flash, it would of been so much better.  I would recommend this phone to anyone.

Pros

  • Great email capabilities, WIFI, Fast processor,great music experience and much more.

Cons

  • NO flash

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

vishaakh bhalla posted on Dec 01, 2009, 12:44 PM

9.3

best phone money can buy, forgive its camera.

 it is a very very good phone using this after using top end nokias such as nokia n97 and this is definitely better. the only flaw is the not so good(a bit on the bad side) camera and the fact that theres no flash. also, blackberry should start putting fm radio into its phones. otherwise it is the best you can get for its money.. highly highly recommended. better than the best nokia or sony that is in the market, better than xperia and n97, and if a basic blackberry is soo good, whats the need to buy a more expensive one? simply the best!

Pros

  • great OS, very fast, amazing emailing experience, too much fun to use, great music playing capabilities, amazing user experience

Cons

  • camera could have been much much better, no flash. BB should market the phone better so that a wider audience knows about its product. too much fun to use.
  • Caution- Using this blackberry can be highly addictive.

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Report

timbobracing posted on Nov 14, 2009, 3:29 PM

9.0

great phone

i have had this phone for a month now and i have to say it is my favorite out of all the phones i have owned.  you can personalize it, sound is great, and looks great.  after downloading a theme creator program i am now able to make custome themes for my phone.  love this phone and would reccomend it to anyone.

Pros

  • small, lite, looks great. speaker phone is loud and clear, can personalize, trackpad instead of ball, outside edge of phone has a rubberized feel

Cons

  • no flash for the camera

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Report

Fairooz Moosa posted on Nov 12, 2009, 4:15 AM

9.0

A good value for money BB. With enough media features. A flash would have made it better. The size and the trackpad is what attracted this to me. I think this BB is targeted to people like me who needs some business but more media functions.
The bluetooth works (sending/recieving) with all other phones, headsets I tried so far. I heard this was not possible with older BBs.
Overall very happy with it so far.

Regards

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Report

truelefty61 posted on Aug 08, 2009, 4:44 PM

9.0

this phone is sweet. the optical track pad is super responsive, no more track ball issues. the processor is the same as the 8900 so internet browsing is quick and seemless. expandable memory up to 16gb micro sd.

27 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.