x PhoneArena is hiring! News writer

Apple iPhone X User Reviews

Overall user rating

8.7

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality
8.5
Battery
7.8
Reception
8.2
Display
8.5
Build quality
8.8
Text input
9.0
Everyday usage
8.2
UI speed
9.3
Camera
9.4
Multimedia
8.3
Internet
9.1
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

w159148 posted on Jan 02, 2018, 6:35 PM
Posts: 19; Member since: Jan 02, 2018

10.0

BEST PHONE YET

w159148 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Ok. This phone is amazing. The design is beautiful. The wrap-around display feels like something from future.The iPhone X has a 5.8-inch AMOLED panel, a first for any iPhone. AMOLED panels are known for their power efficiency and for offering deeper blacks, making them the choice of ‘purists’ who demand the ultimate viewing experience. Unlike Samsung, Apple has tuned its AMOLED displays to offer a fairly natural colour tone. Just like the iPhone 8 and iPhone 8 Plus, the iPhone X display supports Apple’s TrueTone technology, and it can even show HDR content from the likes of Netflix and Apple’s own portfolio of iTunes movies. Overall, the iPhone X display is great, and is arguably the best I’ve ever come across on a smartphone.

The absence of the Home button and all-glass front and back mean that other than the camera bump at the back, both sides of the iPhone X feel pretty similar in hand. As a result, on more than one occasion I found myself holding my unit upside down or staring at its back upon taking it out of my pockets, or picking it up from a desk in the dark. However, if you end up using your iPhone X with a case - as you probably should - this may not be a real problem for you.

Like most phones, the area near the top of the iPhone X is reserved for an array of sensors and while the most expensive iPhone till date has its fair share of sensors - more on them in a bit - it is Apple’s decision to wrap the display around this array of sensors that gives the iPhone X its...  

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Display is beautiful
  • Futuristic Design
  • Camera is amazing
  • Faster than previous iPhones

Cons

  • Customisability
  • Notch

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

baldilocks posted on Dec 26, 2017, 8:18 PM
Posts: 1398; Member since: Dec 14, 2008

10.0

It's growing on me...

baldilocks has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I must admit, I had reservations about this one, but it is starting to grow on me.

It has so many things to love. A great screen, even if a little crippled by that notch. (Hopefully it an be reduced as tech improves.)

Great sound from the stereo speaker.

Camera produces AMAZING pictures.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Bright Beautiful Screen
  • Stereo Sound
  • Waterproofing
  • Quick Updates
  • New Look

Cons

  • Notch
  • Can't customize

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

BossBryanTantoco posted on Dec 13, 2017, 1:48 PM
Posts: 13; Member since: Nov 29, 2017

9.0

iPhone X 256GB Philippines

BossBryanTantoco has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

this is my personal review on iPhone X 256GB btw im for the Philippines thats why i posted it i really enjoyed the phone

the quality and the build of the phone is really one of a kid

im really excited on the next iPhone

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
5.0

Pros

  • you look rich

Cons

  • you dont have savings anymore

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Kibzara posted on Nov 23, 2017, 4:33 AM
Posts: 115; Member since: Feb 24, 2016

8.0

one too expensive average

Kibzara has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

price does not justify this phone at all. first of all, for this price, i expect some useful stuff out of the box, like fast charging adapter, better headphones and all good things some flagship Androids get. second, that notch is a pain to look at. third, design of a phone is somehow boring and allready seen. fourth, no home button makes an iPhone an Android ripoff, but in a bad way, with very confusing gestures.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
6.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
8.0
Display
8.0
Battery
5.0

Pros

  • fast processor
  • good looking AMOLED display
  • great camera
  • build quality

Cons

  • the notch
  • design is dull
  • no headphone jack
  • mediocre battery and charging time
  • front camera
  • very expensive back cover replacement
  • no touchID and home buton

Kibzara alternatives:

13 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

MsSn33zy posted on Dec 28, 2018, 1:28 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 28, 2018

9.0

The best iPhone I’ve ever had.

MsSn33zy has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is pretty good. I just wish the price wasn’t so high. The only things that I wish were better was the battery life, the annoying camera bump and that they still haven’t integrated USB type C to charge. Because they have it in the new iPads, Apple Watch and MacBooks. So why not in the iPhone? I’m not bothered by the notch or no headphone jack or the gestures since there is no home button. I’ve learned it after just 15 seconds with the phone. All in all it’s a pretty good phone.

Build quality
6.0
Because the camera bump was a huge downfall. That and the fact it’s even more fragile.
Reception
9.0
Call quality
8.0
It’s very clear.
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Display
9.0
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • Supports wireless charging
  • Fast internet speed
  • Better camera

Cons

  • Price
  • No USB type C
  • Average battery life

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

ironhide123 posted on Sep 13, 2018, 4:08 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 13, 2018

10.0

I LOVE IT!!!!

ironhide123 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

i will say i was jumping back and forth between all sorts of different phones until i finally decided to go with the iPhone X. i recommend it to anyone who is looking for a nice phone who will last them for a long time while staying with the new trends of phones.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • good battery
  • nice screen
  • lovable design
  • water resistant
  • good camera
  • fast

Cons

  • expensive

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

benjy posted on Aug 04, 2018, 6:21 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 04, 2018

6.0

POS

benjy has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Overrated absolute garbage. I own one and use it all the time and I greatly miss my android and Google. Never thought I'd be saying that. The iPhone X is pure trash. The Maps app is a joke compared to Google maps. There are so many bugs throughout ALL the apps. And swift key is severely mentally challenged on iPhone. Overall it's a POS and the most regrettable purchase OF MY LIFE

Build quality
7.0
Reception
5.0
Call quality
5.0
Internet
5.0
Multimedia
5.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
5.0
Text input
6.0
Display
10.0
Battery
5.0

7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

anausama posted on Jul 04, 2018, 4:47 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 09, 2016

7.0

Not Worth

anausama has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It's just for showoff i don't get why people buy iPhones glad i shifted from iPhone X to Galaxy S9+ the iPhone X has annoying notch also it has no headphone jack but still it is only 67 water & dust resistant on the other hand Galaxy S9+ has headphone jack & still retains IP 68 water & dust resistance. Also there's no Fast charger in the box we have to buy separately also Back replacement is pretty expensive Apple is just greedy company

Build quality
7.0
Reception
1.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
3.0
Notch has ruined the video experience
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
4.0
No Touch ID
Text input
10.0
Display
3.0
Small Display as compared to what others are offering & it has annoying notch
Battery
6.0

Pros

  • Face ID
  • AnEmoji
  • Stereo Speakers
  • 3D Touch

Cons

  • No Micro SD
  • Small Battery
  • RAM Management Is Worst
  • No Headphone Jack
  • IP 67
  • No Fast Charger In The Box
  • High Price
  • Expensive Back Replacement

anausama alternatives:

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

xevion posted on Mar 30, 2018, 10:01 AM
Posts: 1; Member since: Jul 01, 2017

10.0

Great phone

xevion has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Best phone available on the market. I love it.
And the Face ID instead of Touch ID feels more premium.
Battery seems to be really good, but it makes the phone a little heavy (174g) and sometimes it can be a bit annoying when you hold it in your hand for some time.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Face ID
  • Battery
  • Premium design
  • Speakers
  • Camera
  • iOS

Cons

  • High price but is worth it
  • Weight

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

soccersprt2486 posted on Nov 22, 2017, 10:16 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 22, 2017

7.0

Lackluster All Around

soccersprt2486 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I was really excited to get this phone on pre-order until I actually received. After a few weeks with it I decided to return it. The "full" screen is obviously not full screen and that notch at the top will drive you nuts. Face ID doesn't work quickly and about 80% of the time you'll end up typing in your passcode anyways.

When making calls I was told that it was extremely difficult to hear me and like I was underwater. You have to hold the phone right in front of your mouth for people to be able to hear you. If you hold the phone 1-2+ inches away it will be extremely difficult for others to hear you.

I was moving from my iPhone 6s and really miss having a headphone jack. It's the times when you get to the gym or are at work and want to listen something and don't have the stupid dongle or crappy Apple supplied headphones.

On top of the design flaws of this phone it was also really glitchy. My apps opened a lot slower than they did on my 6s. I wasn't able to make calls one day until I restarted the phone. Sometimes the flashlight wouldn't work at all, no matter how many times you tapped it.

The one pro that I will mention was the battery life, which was the main reason for my switch from my old 6s. The battery lasted all day while using multiple apps.

When I paid the $1,200 for the phone I was a little weary because that's a lot for a phone, but I was fine with it. A phone is an investment in your everyday life. But when I received this $1,200 purchase I expected to be amazed...  

Build quality
8.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
3.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
7.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
7.0
Display
6.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Battery Life
  • Sleek Design
  • Size

Cons

  • Price
  • Phone Speaker
  • Notch in the "full screen" display
  • Slow Processor
  • Calls Dropping
  • Flashlight Error
  • No Split Tasking
  • No Fast Wireless Charging-Samsung's had this for years
  • iOs 11 bugs
  • No Headphone Jack

19 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

ilaic2004 posted on Nov 21, 2017, 9:36 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 21, 2017

10.0

The best phone yet

ilaic2004 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I fricking love this phone... The build quality, the camera, that ui and ohoooooooooooo dat display... Cant reeally say alot... For me, that is the best phone yet. The battery life is great, 8 hours of display and the display... Apple was real when they said this is the only display that is good enough for the iPhone X... The camera... A DSLR in your pocket. The UI is amazing! So fluid and feels like im flying... I love how apple made a phone with SS and glass... It feels like a solid piece and the build quality is awsome... LOVE IT

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

ilaic2004 alternatives:

8 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

You must be a registered user to post a user review