Apple iPhone 5c User Reviews

Overall user rating

8.8

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality
9.2
Battery
7.3
Reception
9.0
Display
9.3
Build quality
8.6
Text input
8.6
Everyday usage
9.1
UI speed
9.0
Camera
8.7
Multimedia
8.5
Internet
9.1
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Tahir215 posted on Apr 03, 2015, 4:57 AM
Posts: 31; Member since: Jan 14, 2014

8.0

Good overall

Tahir215 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

It was compact when launched but not anymore.. Still good to have for small hands though.. But i cant use it anymore specially with iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus are here.. And one more thing is the camera.. Low in quality.

Build quality
6.0
Reception
7.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
8.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Up to date IOS
  • Different colors

Cons

  • Small screen
  • Low camera
  • A bit heavy for 4 inch screen

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Neo_Huang posted on Feb 21, 2014, 9:55 PM
Posts: 1067; Member since: Dec 06, 2013

7.0

Ehh... So-So

Neo_Huang has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

*Sorry, someone else posted a review with my account that had all one's.
Overall, the iPhone 5c would be pretty good if it had a bigger display. It is fast and has a pretty good camera. I am disappointed in Apple for using a plastic back. Finally, Apple has control over everything on this, mostly because of iTunes.

Build quality
5.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
6.0
Multimedia
4.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
6.0
Display
7.0
Battery
6.0

Neo_Huang alternatives:

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

bruhh posted on Nov 09, 2015, 8:50 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 09, 2015

6.0

Good phone for kid

bruhh has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Phone battery dies after a couple of hours, my texts don't work sometimes, my passcode doesn't work sometimes. I've had this phone since it came out and it's not the best phone to own, I won't get another 5c.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
7.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
5.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
5.0
Everyday usage
4.0
Text input
2.0
Display
8.0
Battery
1.0

Pros

  • Doesn't break easy
  • Good display
  • Call qaulity
  • Speakers
  • Internet

Cons

  • Bad battery
  • Buttons don't work sometimes
  • Touchscreen doesn't work sometimes
  • Touchscreen types random things
  • Touchscreen opens things when not pressed

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

chanpion01 posted on May 06, 2015, 3:34 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 06, 2015

8.0

GOOD SOLID phone

chanpion01 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is a good phone and very solid. iOS very easy to use but non customizable. Happy with it except for low RAM and poor build. Camera is poor too. Apps are very good. Hardware seems good as the everyday use is good. poor battery. Can't use without a case. Dropped it from 40cm and got a small crack but display very good 4 inch. Overall good phone.

Build quality
6.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Display
8.0
Battery
5.0

Pros

  • easy to use
  • apps good
  • fast UI

Cons

  • poor battery
  • low RAM
  • camera low resolution

chanpion01 alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

cmqg23 posted on Apr 03, 2015, 2:41 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 25, 2014

10.0

I love it, Super Cool Phone

cmqg23 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Upgraded from iPhone 4.. With the new ios update which is 8.2 is it more responsive than before, No lag no hang ups.. Over all performance Great.. Color was cool too. easy to grip on. Battery last longer 'til 4 days without using net. Never had experience problem so far on this phone.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Colorful back cover
  • user friendly Interface (as usual)
  • Fast because of 1gb ram and dual core processor
  • HD display
  • Battery life Good
  • Better version of Iphone 5

Cons

No Cons

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

jonas1999 posted on Feb 08, 2015, 6:02 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 08, 2014

9.0

Great one

jonas1999 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Had it over a year, uses it more than the computer. Almost never lags unless too many tweaks are running at the same time. It is jailbroken but works fine, even better with jailbreak in my opinion. Can play All apps on the AppStore without lagg in question at all. HD screen, HD rear cam, almost as good as the iPhone 6. But I whouldn't recommend iPhone 6, unless for the additional storage. I think I'll buy either the latest LG G phone or Nexus when this badass phone has taken it's last breath.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • HD everything (exept front camera)
  • Good for gaming
  • Good for calling
  • Good for recording (when jailbroken)
  • Easy to use
  • Good for new phone users
  • Slim and nice touch to the iOS 7 UI (not 8)

Cons

  • Avoid water (it can't take much of it)
  • Don't drop it at te screen side
  • It's an iPhone, in 2016 this babe will be hunted by Steve jobs ghost (not literally but no further updates/upgrades)

jonas1999 alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

alessandrocrivelli posted on Dec 21, 2014, 6:37 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 21, 2014

9.0

my first iphone

alessandrocrivelli has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is my first iphone , after a windows phone 8 (lumia 520) and android 4 (sony xperia sola). I'm very soddisfay , in future i want any iphone. Ios is the best for my use. I love the display , the o.s. , the speed , the camera.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
7.0
I'm not very satisfied with the speed of 3G- 4g. Is there any better in the market
Call quality
8.0
Internet
10.0
Safari with ios , have the best navigation in the world
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
6.0
the perfect battery is one that lasts from 7 am to 11 pm. The iphone 5c comes to 7Of evening with 20% battery use with medium-deep (app, whatsapp, evernote, safari, photo)

Pros

  • Application
  • Internet surfing
  • General speed
  • Headphones
  • Display resolution
  • Camera
  • Iwork and Ilife gratis

Cons

  • Battery
  • Reception
  • No Microsd
  • Itunes for every action

Is this review helpful?

Report

Jackles posted on Dec 14, 2014, 3:32 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 14, 2014

9.0

One of my Fave

Jackles has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I absolutely love this phone. I've had about a dozen over the past decade and this one has really taken the cake. I lose the iOS; it's a super user-friendly interface and it's easy to understand. I'm not a huge fan of the camera (the quality is good for what kind of phone it is, but I'd prefer better) but it's still very good. I've got a bone to pick with Apple and its propensity to add "other" storage all the time, since it consumes almost 4Go (half my memory) of space, but aside from that this phone is a gem!

Build quality
10.0
It's a stunningly resistant build for an iPhone! I was really surprised. I've dropped this phone so many times from varying heights onto varying surfaces (carpets, pavement, concrete floors, tiles, etc.) and nothing's broken yet! It even went skidding across a frozen sidewalk for almost ten feet and the (blue) plastic shell barely got a scratch on it. I love it!
Reception
9.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
7.0
Battery life is pretty short; if you use it pretty regularly throughout the day, and if you've got wifi and/or data always on, your battery might last you a little over twelve hours. Carrying a portable charger and/or your AC charger will come in really handy.

Pros

  • text prediction
  • material

Cons

  • no memory card slot
  • "other" storage consumes space

Is this review helpful?

Report

nino2010tiger posted on Sep 24, 2014, 1:38 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 24, 2014

10.0

Best Mid-Range Phone Ever

nino2010tiger has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone's display and quality is OK for a low-budget phone. Apple has made a good job to give this phone an A6 Chip with is now on iPhone 5. I recommend this phone to everyone who wants a low-budget but high-quality phone. Battery and camera are OK.

Build quality
8.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

drjoshinsk posted on Sep 16, 2014, 12:46 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 16, 2014

8.0

One of the Best Mid Range Phones

drjoshinsk has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have bought this Phone at the insistance of my wife and sons. Initially I felt it is premitive as compared to android phones. Now I started loving it. It never hangs. Battery performance is also good. But remind me of bluetooth sharing on android.
I didn't like the calendar and reminder.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

No Pros

Cons

  • No Bletooth sharing
  • No file Manager
  • No Text Prediction

Is this review helpful?

Report

Powerful posted on Sep 08, 2014, 4:59 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 08, 2014

10.0

iPhone 5c

Powerful has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Awesome Mobile it have nice features everything is good in this phone and of course as it's an iphone must be good quality and premium only the battery is yhe proplem but overall it's one of the best phones i have ever tried i have the white 16gb version i bought it from 2 weeks and everything is excellant

Build quality
10.0
Awesome Mobile
Reception
10.0
Awesome Mobile
Call quality
10.0
Awesome Mobile
Internet
10.0
Awesome Mobile
Multimedia
10.0
Awesome Mobile
Camera
10.0
Awesome Mobile
UI speed
10.0
Awesome Mobile
Everyday usage
10.0
Awesome Mobile
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Everything

Cons

  • No cons

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

shesha123 posted on Jul 31, 2014, 3:44 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 07, 2012

9.0

excellant phone

shesha123 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

everything is good in this phone and of course as it's an iphone must be good quality and premium only the battery is yhe proplem but overall it's one of the best phones i have ever tried i have the white 16gb version i bought it from 2 weeks and everything is excellant

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Display
10.0
Battery
7.0

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

Warz54 posted on May 20, 2014, 1:04 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 20, 2014

10.0

Transformed into a great phone

Warz54 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

i have had this phone since it was released at first there were some glitches but with the newest 7.1.1 UI is smooth feel of the phone with out the case still feels like a well built phone, most of us have it in an otterbox runs just as fast if not faster as my old 5 but with a better battery .

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Display
  • sound
  • feel

Cons

  • battery

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

davo12 posted on Mar 08, 2014, 10:36 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 25, 2013

9.0

Clever combination of phone plus apple cases

davo12 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

What I really like about the 5c, is that it isnt just about tech specifications. It does everything that the 4s I previously owned did .(But slightly faster, on a bigger screen, and with a bit more capablity.) It also has personal appeal. In the colour choice of the phone. As well as being slim-lined. And in the various colour choices in the cases. To hold the 5c with one of the cases, (the ones from apple ,with the holes in) is just as tactile as holding the shiny phone itself. Gives it a different feel. The cases are hugely (unjustly?) expensive in UK. But it will be enjoyable to gradually save and buy different colours. So maybe, 19 months into a 24 month contract, you still have an option to spice up your phone. At least,cosmetically.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
8.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • slim, tactile, OS7, browser, text input, easy format on settings, colour choice, cases

Cons

  • expensive considering it is still the 5 but revamped slightly. And expensive cases

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

JonnyPD posted on Jan 02, 2014, 7:49 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 02, 2014

9.0

Good phone, excellent feeling

JonnyPD has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

First off, clearly neo_huang didn't know what he was saying, I felt some evident bias on his side. Plus not even the worst phone has all 1's, so he was just trying to pull rating down for some personal vendetta or perhaps he is an android lover boy. However the phone is good, it actually does have a good firm and quality feel, maybe due to the heaviness and clean plastic feel. And the phone got mixed reviews, but generally they were favourable. The iphone 5c also has the internationally reputable camera that the iPhones have been known to have, unlike what he said. However the battery isn't the greatest, but it works and last a full day of use. Ios7 isn't that bad, it has some pretty cool new features, it was just a little glitchy at the beginning, as with new any new os. The App Store is excellent obviously, clearly the guy didn't know how to use a zoom, otherwise I don't know why he is complaining about screen size, and it is just as large as most mid sized phone screens. The resolution and ppi are excellent, giving it a good screen, and good colour replication as well as brightness and contrast.
The processor is solid, and smoother than any phone on the market regardless, apple just has great fluency in the display area. Otherwise everything works well, lte network and generally fast. Good feel , good phone.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Display
10.0
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • Display, camera, fluency, connectivity

Cons

  • Battery

JonnyPD alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

archery302 posted on Dec 28, 2013, 9:12 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 28, 2013

9.0

Great Phone

archery302 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i love the colors and the plastic case, and the small size cellphone, had all you want on a cell phone, great screen size, great phone call, a lot of apps, i just have the blue one and is awesome, my girlfriend had the red/pink one

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
9.0

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

Liang12 posted on Dec 24, 2013, 12:58 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 24, 2013

9.0

Special Gift

Liang12 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Iphone 5c is colourful and it currently running on ios 7.The more gigabytes you have, the more content you can store on your iPhone — apps, games, photos, HD videos, music, movies, and more. For example, if you have a large music or photo library or you frequently download HD movies, it’s a good idea to consider an iPhone with a larger storage capacity. If you have a relatively small music or photo library or rarely make or buy movies, an iPhone with a smaller capacity may be better for you. Of course, over time you will accumulate many things on your iPhone, so you’ll want to think about how your storage needs may evolve.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • 4G LTE network

Cons

  • Battery 1705 m/ah

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Report

QueBella2012 posted on Dec 15, 2013, 11:51 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 23, 2012

9.0

Satisfied with it

QueBella2012 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

So far, I am loving this phone. I had the iPhone 3GS prior to this, so this was a nice upgrade. Much faster, better photos, and more memory for my apps. Granted, it is encased in plastic, as most buyers prefer the 5S with its metal body. I keep mine in a fully enclosed case, so who could tell from looking. The increase in screen size (minimal by a persnickety user)is welcome, and the flash feature is something I was happy to finally have. A word of advice, some apps have a tendency to drain the battery, like Candy Crush Saga. I would suggest using autocorrect, and watch out for the relatively closeness of the "i" and "o" keys, easy to mix up when typing fairly quickly. A downer, as with other Apple products, no Adobe Flash included.

Build quality
8.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
8.0
Lacks Adobe Flash
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • User friendly
  • Lightweight
  • Fast
  • Plenty of memory
  • HD display
  • Perfect for social network users

Cons

  • Lack of Adobe Flash
  • Location of earbud jack

QueBella2012 alternatives:

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.