Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max User Reviews Back

Overall user rating

9.3

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera
9.8
Multimedia
9.4
Internet
9.0
Call quality
9.3
Battery
9.9
Reception
8.6
Display
9.4
Build quality
9.5
Text input
9.1
Everyday usage
9.4
UI speed
9.4
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

h4ck3d posted on Nov 20, 2019, 3:28 AM
Posts: 20; Member since: Apr 22, 2013

9.0

The best but...

h4ck3d has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The best overall phone of 2019, but really heavy and expensive. Should come with at least 128gb on base model and USB-C. The other things like 120hz screen doesn’t bother me. I’m overall very pleased to have this phone.

Build quality
9.0
A bit uncomfortably heavy on hands... but it’s because of the really good battery
Reception
10.0
I feel a really nice improvement on wifi reception compared to the XS Max
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Good wifi and 4g reception.
Multimedia
10.0
You don’t have that ugly volume square on the middle of screen anymore
Camera
10.0
10/10 camera
UI speed
10.0
Fluid and smooth like always
Everyday usage
9.0
The weight it’s a problem, but when you think about the battery, the problem disappears.
Text input
10.0
The addition of native swipe typing was great.
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0
For me it’s the crown jewel of this phone, makes it heavy, but when you arrives at night with 70% of juice... 50% with heavy use... you can’t think about any other phone to have.

Pros

  • Nuclear battery
  • Top notch build
  • Awesome screen
  • Wifi reception improved
  • Blazing fast

Cons

  • Really heavy
  • Unnecessary expensive
  • Only 64gb on base model

h4ck3d alternatives:

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Report

baldilocks posted on Sep 26, 2019, 12:33 PM
Posts: 1628; Member since: Dec 14, 2008

10.0

Even beter than the XS Max

baldilocks has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Just no denying the fact that the Camera set up in this new iPhone is leaps and bounds above last year. I'm also loving the great build quality and the new dark green color. The hardware, combined with iOS 13 make this device a pleasure to use.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
Triple camera set up is leaps and bounds above last year.
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0
So much better than before!

Pros

  • Camara
  • Waterproofing
  • Improved Speakers
  • Battery
  • Its's an Apple!

19 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Report

MsSn33zy posted on Sep 09, 2020, 1:03 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 28, 2018

9.0

Best iPhone Yet!

MsSn33zy has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Clearly the best iPhone to date and the best iPhone that I have ever used. The battery lasts awhile, the camera is clearly a step up and so is the video recording quality from the previous models and it has an included 18 watt charging brick in box and not the standard 5 watt brick that it still has with the smaller 11 models. I still wish they moved to USB C like their MacBooks and iPad Pro line though. At least then it will make the “pro” designation a little more worth it. I love the bigger 6.5 or realistically the 6.4 inch size to be much more easier to hold with one hand than the smaller 5.8 inch iPhone X. It’s much easier to hold and it isn’t sleek and slippery like the X or XS Max were with their all glass back. Overall it is still playing catch up with other smart phones on the market but overall it’s still a huge improvement over the XS Max. The only gripe that I have with the phone that isn’t a listed con, is the fact that sometimes it takes a while to reboot if I need to. Sometimes it takes about 4-5 minutes to reboot. Which normally should take about a 45 sec. tops. Other than that I’m very happy with this phone.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Display
9.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Camera
  • Battery Life
  • Fast
  • Included 18 Watt Charging Brick
  • Water Resistance Improvement
  • Face ID Speed Improvements

Cons

  • No USB C
  • No Reverse Charging
  • Expensive
  • Still Looks Similar To Previous Models

Is this review helpful?

Report

trumpybumpy420 posted on May 28, 2020, 10:05 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 28, 2020

7.0

It's a good device, with some caveats...

trumpybumpy420 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

TL;DR-This phone is a mixed bag. It's just a standard iPhone with a decent camera and excellent battery but it feels a bit slow compared to some Android phones. Overall it's a boring but trusty device.
My full review down below
|
V

For every wonderful feature, there seems to be an equally unfortunate trade-off. For a start, build quality, though premium, makes the phone heavy and bulky. (That's coming from a 6'3" dude with enormous hands.) This phone significantly weighs down pockets, if you're a smaller handed person, I'd advise against this heavy little tank. My reception is poor, though I live in a semi-rural area with Verizon, I've been rather disappointed, especially when transitioning between WiFi and data. Call quality is decent. Multimedia is fair, speakers get the job done and the screen is fairly good. However, the speakers are not nearly as good as my old Note9, and the screen pales in comparison to OnePlus, Samsung, and even Google's high-res screens. The camera is good all around, it excels in video recording, but images appear to be extremely warm and yellow, which I don't like. Also have noticed TONS of autofocus issues. If you're looking for the best point and shoot camera or the best night-time camera, I would recommend Google's Pixel 4. iOS is solid, bus customization is essentially impossible. iOS convenience is also slowly losing its edge as Android 10 starts bringing helpful features like call screening, Google Assistant, and multitasking are vastly superior...  

Build quality
8.0
The phone feels excellent in the hand, though it is EXTREMELY heavy and unwieldy. It does feel very solid and premium.
Reception
4.0
Reception on this phone is incredibly poor in most areas for me. I've seen many android phones do substantially better. Transitioning from WiFi to data is slow and often results in my apps resetting.
Call quality
9.0
Good call quality. Not much else to say.
Internet
5.0
Same as reception, pretty poor in most areas, but can be decent at times.
Multimedia
8.0
Very good screen and fairly good speakers. However, my friend's Note9 sounds substantially better IMO. As always lack of headphone jack isn't a huge deal but still.
Camera
8.0
Very good cameras, mostly for video and variation. If you're looking for the very best image quality or night photography I would recommend the Pixel line from Google. Overall very serviceable.
UI speed
7.0
iOS is iOS. It's the same it's always been. It's reasonably fast. but stock Android and OxygenOS from OnePlus is certainly smoother.
Everyday usage
8.0
This phone does fine in any task, but it doesn't stand out in any major way in terms of everyday usage.
Text input
5.0
Terrible. Autocorrect barely works, at least for me.
Display
6.0
Good panel, but bezels and notch are UGLY. Very outdated looking IMO.
Battery
10.0
Highlight of the phone. Truly incredible battery life.

Pros

  • + Excellent battery life
  • +Versatile camera system, with good night mode, good stills and excellent video
  • +Timely software updates
  • +Great build quality

Cons

  • -iOS is rather limiting
  • -No USB-C
  • -Poor reception
  • -Bad base apps
  • -Poor RAM management
  • -Not top notch audio quality
  • -Screen is dated looking
  • -Stupid expensive
  • -Not the best point and shoot camera

trumpybumpy420 alternatives:

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

RodneyMC posted on Feb 23, 2020, 3:06 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 22, 2019

10.0

Very Good (AMAZING)

RodneyMC has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I preordered this phone. I received it on release day. It has been excellent and amazing. I have an Apple Watch ⌚️ series 5 that I have paired up to this phone and it works excellent. Good buy for the money including quality,build, sound, camera, reception and everything. It was worth the $1165.00 that I paid for it.

Build quality
10.0
Feels good in the hand and nice to look
Reception
10.0
Very Good.
Call quality
10.0
Exceptional.
Internet
10.0
Fast on WiFi and 4G LTE. I have 5GE in my area and it works good when that is picked up.
Multimedia
10.0
Very good Quality.Rich no buffering.
Camera
10.0
MAGNIFICENT!!!!
UI speed
10.0
FAST
Everyday usage
10.0
It’s my daily driver.
Text input
10.0
Very smooth
Display
10.0
Nice bright and BIG.
Battery
10.0
Lasts me all day and more.

Pros

  • Good all around phone.
  • Very fast
  • Good Quality
  • Long lasting Battery Life.
  • Great Camera

Cons

  • None

RodneyMC alternatives:

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

jaren92 posted on Jan 21, 2020, 10:39 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 21, 2020

9.0

Solid phone

jaren92 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Phone is solid forsure. I upgraded from a iPhone 8. this phone is a major upgrade from what I was working with . Ultra wide camera is just wow I couldn’t live without now that I have it. The battery on on phone is a absolute monster. I have yet for my phone to die with a day of heavy usage I have always had battery problems with iPhones. The iPhone 11 Pro Max is definitely a game changer when it comes to that . Ui is still fast and fluent no problem there, and my goodness the speakers in this thing are absolutely amazing. idk if it’s because I’m coming from a iPhone 8 is the reason I’m so amazed with this phone but I just love it I do miss being able to navigate my phone with one hand fluently still not adjusted to the bigger display. My biggest gripe with this phone and Apple is we still have no real multitasking features. The hell id pay $5.00 a month for like some kind of subscription that has these features available for a little charge. After all said is done this phone was worth it highly recommend

Build quality
10.0
Premium feel
Reception
8.0
Don’t get reception everywhere i would like to
Call quality
10.0
No problem here
Internet
9.0
Don’t have much problems unless I’m in a dead zone
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
10.0
Ultra wide lens
UI speed
10.0
Fast and fluent
Everyday usage
9.0
Gets the job done no problem here
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Display is beautiful
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • BATTERY!!!
  • Display
  • Ui
  • Camera
  • Gaming
  • Face ID
  • iMessage
  • Tap to wake
  • Speakers

Cons

  • Still no true multitasking
  • Screen size only because I’m transitioning from a iPhone 8
  • Slippery wouldn’t recommend using without a case very risky
  • No 3D Touch
  • No finger print sensor
  • Base memory 64 gigs meh

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

ameerali.ouarda posted on Jan 02, 2020, 10:17 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 02, 2020

10.0

Best smartphone money can buy

ameerali.ouarda has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is the best smartphone money can buy period. 5G isn’t ready so not having that capability doesn’t effect me at all.

It has undoubtedly the best smartphone display with unique technologies such as True Tone, Dolby Vision HDR, HDR10, the best colour accuracy and OLED burn-in management, an above 1080p resolution with a sharp 458 PPI pixel density, 2 million to 1 contrast ratio, and the highest full screen brightness at 800 nits with a peak brightness of 1,200 nits which is only ever utilised when watching HDR content. Of course the display has a wide P3 colour gamut, Haptic Touch, raises and tap to wake and the OLED is 15% more energy efficient compared to the OLED on the iPhone X series.
OLED offers super inky dark blacks and a super high contrast which looks stunning with the Dark Mode of iOS 13.

The A13 BIONIC processor is so far ahead of the competition which contributes to super low power operation and remarkable gaming and camera performance.

Face ID is the best smartphone biometric period. It’s adaptable to appearance, intelligent enabling a whole suit of attention awareness features, fast and seamless. You can always use glass screen protectors without any compromises on performance unlike with the finger print scanner on the S10, S10+, and the Note 10 series.

The Taptic Engine is very unique to the iPhone and offers a quiet vibration and haptic feedback system throughout iOS and if used heavily by Haptic Touch.

The cameras are stunning. From the wide front facing...  

Build quality
10.0
Most durable glass, best water resistance IP68 4 meters for up to 30 minutes, and polished stainless steel band
Reception
10.0
Wi-Fi 6, Dual SIM, gigabit LTE, and a large amount of LTE bands
Call quality
10.0
Calls are crisp and clear.
Internet
10.0
Wi-Fi 6
Multimedia
10.0
Third party apps take better advantage of the camera
Camera
10.0
Smart HDR, True Tone flash, triple camera system, wide front facing camera, portrait mode, Portrait Lighting, f-stop depth control, audio zoom, Quick Take, Live Photo’s, optimised for social media etc
UI speed
10.0
Animations are time efficient and there is a fantastic sense of hierarchy through the iOS experience. Loving Dark Mode and the integration the iPhone has with my other Apple devices
Everyday usage
10.0
Amazing battery life, and fast performance
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
True Tone Dolby Vision HDR HDR10 Colour accuracy No burn-in Haptic Touch Raise to wake Tap to wake Battery efficient 2 million to 1 contrast ratio Night Shift Wide P3 colour gamut 458 PPI Above 1080p resolution Large 6.5 inch size Peak brightness of 1200 nits
Battery
10.0
It’s super hard to kill the battery

Pros

  • Super Retina XDR Display
  • All-day Battery Life
  • Triple Camera System
  • Wide front facing Camera
  • Taptic Engine
  • Fast Charging capabilities
  • Fastest Processor (A13 BIONIC)
  • Stereo Speakers with Dolby Atmos
  • Polished Stainless Steel
  • Silent switch
  • 3D Depth-sensing Face ID
  • Apple Pay
  • Constant software updates

Cons

  • 3D Touch was better than Haptic Touch
  • Starts at 64GB

ameerali.ouarda alternatives:

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

PetePR posted on Oct 24, 2019, 9:19 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Apr 28, 2019

9.0

Why is Apple walking backwards

PetePR has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I was using this phone like my principal phone since it came out, I expected so much for the battery and this time Apple did it and presents a battery that can works through the whole day. The Display, like in all the X series is very very good. Great set of cameras. But still, the phone gets hot very easily, it does while you're using social networks like Facebook or Whats app, hopes that gets better with updates. Great thing Apple just decides to include a fast charger in the box, that's the least they can do for a pricey phone like this.

Build quality
9.0
Very good build, solid and elegance but slippery very slippery and heavy, I don't remembered that any of the apple devices were this heavy. That's a big combination problem in a such expensive device
Reception
9.0
Good Reception, but still some fails from the antennas in apple devices. Still have to walk or don't move to get best reception.
Call quality
9.0
Overall is good quality but the problem with reception makes this looks not perfect.
Internet
8.0
Not what I expected, the X and Xs are as fast as this one. Apple not changing their modems or keeping the same tech is bad. We expected a 2019 connection not a 2017.
Multimedia
10.0
Good multimedia, works fast, not lagging, great integration. Games look great and moves smoothly.
Camera
10.0
This is not my power skill but the cameras response very nice. All pictures are clear and brilliant.
UI speed
9.0
Fast, smoothly and reliable but only with apps. The notification and the Widgets are painfully slow comparing to Xs and to Xr
Everyday usage
10.0
It's a great device, to work with it. Little reception problems. It is a device you can count to work hard but if you're running complicate apps like Office ones or hard graphics games it gets hot.
Text input
8.0
Same old keyboard, same difficulties. Apple really need to do something about it and is not just a cosmetic change.
Display
10.0
Great Display, clear, crisp, brilliant whites and wonderful blacks. The only problem is still the big notch.
Battery
10.0
Good work with the battery, it endures very well, right now it gets drain fast with apps like Facebook and Whats app but that have to improve with the updates.

Pros

  • Great Screen, fast Bluetooth, great multimedia, great battery, good cameras

Cons

  • High Price, 64GB base price is more than the double in storage from other Manufacturers, No SD, Gets Hot, NO customization, Very fragile and slippery, Apple has the same UI for years and is yet slower in this device.

PetePR alternatives:

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Report

saeedshakil posted on Oct 19, 2019, 6:06 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 18, 2014

10.0

saeed

saeedshakil has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

one of the best smartphone of 2019
best iPhone made by apple
best camera smartphone overall
battery life is excellent
green color is very attractive
A+ build quality
A++ display
ios 13 is very good

Build quality
10.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Cons

  • no headphone jack, very very high price

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

GLBorchert posted on Sep 21, 2019, 11:05 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 21, 2019

10.0

Just Wow

GLBorchert has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Very fast. First thing I noticed was how fast it is. Face ID instantaneous. Apps load immediately. Cameras amazing, in addition to the super wide lens, you can zoom intermediate focal lengths. Screen is just fabulous. The glass seems so stout that I didn't plan on getting a screen saver.
There are no downsides, except maybe the price. I've been using iPhones for seven years and this is the best yet.

Build quality
10.0
Feels so solid. Finish is gorgeous.
Reception
10.0
As expected
Call quality
10.0
Calls are crystal clear, and seem better in poorer signal areas.
Internet
10.0
As expected. Three bars where I had two before.
Multimedia
10.0
As expected
Camera
10.0
Wide angle lens is awesome. Night mode is awesome too.
UI speed
10.0
Fast all around
Everyday usage
10.0
Reliable
Text input
10.0
Fast text tools on keyboard
Display
10.0
Big screen. Fast. Fabulous colors and resolution.
Battery
10.0
Seems to last all day

24 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless