iOS 12 release date: Out today, here's what time it's rolling out, prepare yourselves

iOS 12 release date: Out today, here's what time it's rolling out, prepare yourselves
Hey, remember a couple of days ago, when a relatively well-known company announced the release date of the software suite for its relatively widespread devices?

Cringy jokes aside, Apple revealed at its keynote some five days ago that iOS 12, the major software update for its iOS-running devices, will be unleashed to the world on September 17. That's today, which means that those who haven't opted in the public or the developer beta of the software will finally get to experience the major update.

Traditionally, Apple releases new iOS versions at 10 AM PST/1 PM EST. We don't expect iOS 12 to be much different in this regard. Here's when you're about to get it in some different time zones:

  • 10:00 AM PDT - Los Angeles, San Francisco
  • 11:00 AM MDT -Denver, Phoenix
  • 12:00 PM CDT - Chicago, Austin
  • 1:00 PM EDT - New York, Miami
  • 6:00 PM BST/GMT - London
  • 7:00 PM CEST - Paris, Madrid, Rome, Berlin
  • 8:00 PM EEST - Athens, Bucharest
  • 8:00 PM MSC - Moscow
  • 10:00 PM IST - Delhi, Mumbai
  • 1:00 AM (September 18) CST - Beijing, Shanghai
  • 2:00 AM JST - Tokyo
  • 3:00 AM AEST - Sydney, Canberra

But what's so major about iOS 12, anyway? Looking past the incremental interface changes and improvements, iOS 12 is mostly noteworthy for its superb performance enhancements, which are mostly geared towards the older supported devices. Surely, even newer iPhones would benefit from the enhanced performance, but users of the dated iPhone 5s, 6, 6 Plus, as well as users of older iPads are most likely to notice the beneficial changes.

Actually, you can go ahead and check out our full review of iOS 12 right below.


Surely, better performance is a much more important new feature than graphical bells and whistles, right? Of course, we wouldn't want to diminish the value of other iOS 12 features like Screen Time and Shortcuts, but the performance gains are what impressed us the most.

iOS 12 supported devices


iPhone



iPad


  • 12.9-inch iPad Pro 2nd generation
  • 12.9-inch iPad Pro 1st generation
  • 10.5-inch iPad Pro
  • 9.7-inch iPad Pro
  • 9.6-inch iPad
  • iPad Air 2
  • iPad Air
  • iPad 5th generation
  • iPad mini 4
  • iPad mini 3
  • iPad mini 2


iPod


  • iPod touch 6th generation


FEATURED VIDEO

17 Comments

1. T12RYK

Posts: 849; Member since: Jun 10, 2011

I'm more excited for Watch OS5. Is that released at the same time?

5. Soundjudgment

Posts: 370; Member since: Oct 10, 2016

Should be, yes.

2. midan

Posts: 2917; Member since: Oct 09, 2017

That supported device list looking so crazy, seriously iPhone 5s, i still have that in my drawer. Maybe i should give iOS12 a spin with 5s.

7. japkoslav

Posts: 1511; Member since: Feb 19, 2017

You know ... let us just hope it won't bring bugs, slowdowns, battery drains like the last time with iOS11 release. I will update my iPad on a weekend when I have time to make a decent backup if something goes wrong again. There might even be the first hotfix by then.

13. kucma

Posts: 86; Member since: Feb 01, 2017

Running iOS 12 for the whole day now. Love it. Smooth performance on 6S Plus.

3. shiv179

Posts: 169; Member since: Aug 08, 2012

iOS 12.0.10 is around the corner :P

4. yalokiy

Posts: 1015; Member since: Aug 01, 2016

When is new Mac OS coming? Waiting for that global dark mode.

6. yalokiy

Posts: 1015; Member since: Aug 01, 2016

Found in google, it's one week away.

8. nikhil23

Posts: 447; Member since: Dec 07, 2016

Sep 24. Waiting for a bunch of bugfixes and of course dark mode

9. BullaBoss

Posts: 141; Member since: Jul 17, 2018

This explains why I haven't seen it.

10. baldilocks

Posts: 1516; Member since: Dec 14, 2008

Must be starting at a different time today for different devices. Available on my 6S work phone (Verizon), but not my old spare 5S (AT&T) phone.

11. darkkjedii

Posts: 31108; Member since: Feb 05, 2011

My X, and 12.9 are getting upgraded when I get home from work. Hope it's more stable than iOS 11.

14. kucma

Posts: 86; Member since: Feb 01, 2017

So far so good. Been on 12 for about 10 hours and no issues so far apart from iOS 12 tips don’t seem to work. :)

12. rouyal

Posts: 1583; Member since: Jan 05, 2018

Can’t wait. iPhone 8 is doing ok, but would love to see more speed out of my iPad

15. CreeDiddy

Posts: 2216; Member since: Nov 04, 2011

This upgrade feels more fluid over 11.4.1...thanks Apple for eliminating the slow keyboard issues...

16. gamehead unregistered

I was in the beta and got to get it early

17. iphoneman37

Posts: 53; Member since: Jan 30, 2014

Only problem is they said it would have Group FaceTime but apple still working on this said a tech I talked to from Apple and won’t be out til next update comes out .

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.