Samsung sets a 'Premiere' event for June 20, hinting at thin Android and Windows gear


There were rumors that the Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 will come with Intel Atom processor inside, which didn't pan out, but now a June 20th event scheduled by Sammy itself, seems to add water to the Intel-Samsung mill.

The company, for instance, seems to have more than one tablet in store this season, depending on the screen size, with 7, 8, 10 and even 11.6 inch units bandied about. The Intel inside is speculated to be in the largest tablet, and the invitation blends Samsung's Galaxy line, which so far has been Android-laden, with the ATIV line, which was recently decided to indicate all of Samsung's Windows gear.

Now is this going to be a tablet that dual-boots Android and Windows, or more than one slate, each running their own operating system, remains to be seen, but the free nature of Android, and the fact that you can emulate it on a Windows machine, lend credence to the latter. The event will be streamed live on Samsung's YouTube channel at 7pm UK/2pm ET/11am PT.

FEATURED VIDEO

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless