x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Wildfire S Review

Posted: , by Basil K.

Tags:

Go to page
HTC Wildfire S Review
This is a global GSM phone. It can be used with T-Mobile USA and AT&T, but without 3G.

Introduction:


Тhe original Wildfire played a significant part in bringing HTC and Android to the masses. More affordable than its higher specced siblings, like the HTC Desire, it was nevertheless endowed with HTC's trademark build quality and Sense UI. In our review, the handset got an overall thumbs up, with room for improvements, most notably with respect to the screen. Hopefully, with the HTC Wildfire S, HTC have managed to put the hot back into this Wildfire.

Design:

The design of the original HTC Wildfire played a key part in making it such a success, looking like a baby HTC Desire, it offered similar durability, but in a more compact form factor and at a lower price-point. HTC's Wildfire S runs with the working formula, delivering a smaller package, better screen and even slicker aesthetic.

The HTC Wildfire S delivers a smaller package, better screen and even slicker aesthetic than the original Wildfire - HTC Wildfire S Review
The HTC Wildfire S delivers a smaller package, better screen and even slicker aesthetic than the original Wildfire - HTC Wildfire S Review
The HTC Wildfire S delivers a smaller package, better screen and even slicker aesthetic than the original Wildfire - HTC Wildfire S Review
The HTC Wildfire S delivers a smaller package, better screen and even slicker aesthetic than the original Wildfire - HTC Wildfire S Review

The HTC Wildfire S delivers a smaller package, better screen and even slicker aesthetic than the original Wildfire


HTC Wildfire S Review

You can compare the HTC Wildfire S with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

HTC have bumped up the pixels on the Wildfire S to a comfortable 320x480 spread across 3.2 inches. This makes the world of difference to sharpness, with LCD technology producing well saturated colors and good brightness and contrast levels, making outdoor viewing manageable in all but the brightest conditions.

The display of the HTC Wildfire S is 3.2 inches - HTC Wildfire S Review
The display of the HTC Wildfire S is 3.2 inches - HTC Wildfire S Review

The display of the HTC Wildfire S is 3.2 inches


Navigating around the phone itself, there are four capacitive buttons directly below the screen, all against a black frame that surrounds the screen. Our unit is white, with a silver finish surrounding this frame as well, though the Wildfire S also comes in a dark metalic grey. Up top is a power button and audio jack and to the left a volume rocker and microUSB port. On the reverse is the 5MP camera with an LED flash and a loudspeaker either side, with both the SIM card and microSD card slot present under the battery cover.

The sides of the HTC Wildfire S - HTC Wildfire S Review
The sides of the HTC Wildfire S - HTC Wildfire S Review
The sides of the HTC Wildfire S - HTC Wildfire S Review
The sides of the HTC Wildfire S - HTC Wildfire S Review

The sides of the HTC Wildfire S


Overall, the design is a bit of a mix. The matted white plastic backing looks a bit sporty, bordering on cheap, so won’t be for everyone. Thanks to the great screen, small size and a solid feel however, the HTC Wildfire S still has plenty going for it.

Back - HTC Wildfire S Review
Back - HTC Wildfire S Review
Back - HTC Wildfire S Review

Back



23 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 13 May 2011, 11:51

1. A4 (unregistered)


What kind of review is this? No word about wireless,GPS,sound quality,multimedia,etc...I give you a 3.5 for this review.

posted on 13 May 2011, 13:38

2. Biswa (unregistered)


What about the price and launch date of this device in Indian market?

posted on 13 May 2011, 22:07

3. modibimal (unregistered)


This review says it supports flash, really??

I think Indian price will be @ Rs.15k and will probably launch in June'11.

posted on 18 May 2011, 19:31

4. LXH (unregistered)


I will never choose Samsung Gio

Gio has only 158mb ROM ( which is really ironic for installing apps ) while Wildfire S has 512 Rom and even 512 Ram

posted on 18 May 2011, 23:52

5. Neo (unregistered)


Very vague review. you've left most of the things uncovered, only a sentence or two on the flash browser and battery life? huh! that's ridiculous. And nothing about the apps section? Why r we here for?

posted on 13 Jun 2011, 06:56

7. alekya (unregistered)


waste phone....................

posted on 13 Jun 2011, 06:57

8. alekya (unregistered)


first use the phone and post comments....

posted on 14 Jun 2011, 09:35 2

9. UnKnwN (unregistered)


Are you talkin to urself .. ??

posted on 11 May 2012, 03:13

19. Raymond_htc (Posts: 430; Member since: 06 Apr 2012)


i am an owner of this great baby HTC. so i presume i have da rites to comment? ;)

posted on 12 Jul 2011, 10:44 3

11. Thewildflare S (unregistered)


WHy you talk to yourself? crazy poop.....

posted on 16 Oct 2011, 15:08

17. roy (unregistered)


guys stop quarelling!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted on 15 Jun 2011, 18:58

10. Aj (unregistered)


haha what a mediocre kind of review^^... after reading thie so-called-review, it left me hanging with 85% more questions left:) TY for that phone arena.. GSMARENA is WAYYYY BETTER!!

posted on 31 Jul 2011, 01:45

12. purvesh (unregistered)


dear all kindly give me suggestion,

i am going to buy HTC wildfire s, screen resolution for the same is as good as samsung galaxy or HTC incredible s?

posted on 12 Aug 2011, 19:08

13. Geez (unregistered)


I wish you wrote more than two sentences on the call quality. I need to buy a phone that actually functions as a phone.

posted on 26 Aug 2011, 02:06

14. lalalla (unregistered)


NO ACCELEROMOMETER
THE SENSORS OF WILDFIRE S ARE
G-SENSOR
DIGITAL COMPASS
PROXIMITY
AMBIENT LIGHT

posted on 17 Sep 2011, 21:43 1

15. sathish kumar p (unregistered)


tell me the truth,today i am going to buy this phone. How is the battery life?

posted on 01 Oct 2011, 01:03 1

16. creepy7 (unregistered)


Buy it and find out

posted on 08 Feb 2013, 17:50

23. iris1998 (Posts: 2; Member since: 08 Feb 2013)


It sucks!

posted on 13 Apr 2012, 11:37

18. Raymond_htc (Posts: 430; Member since: 06 Apr 2012)


Why blame on the keyboard? its your fingers to blame. good thing my fingers are lanky and i can type messages wif my wildfire S in portrait mode with great ease.

@Sathish Kumar P, the battery life can last at most for 5 days. if you use the apps and internets via WIFI, it may only last till 12 hours.

posted on 16 Sep 2012, 09:17

20. raghed88 (Posts: 2; Member since: 16 Sep 2012)


dears; please i need your help to chose between HTC wildfire s & Sony ericsson Wt 19 live with walkman?? please your kind feedback :)

posted on 13 Oct 2012, 12:07

21. wildfire (Posts: 1; Member since: 13 Oct 2012)


that is one of the best mobile phone with android http:/www.electrogsm.pl i have it from 6 mounths and i'm really pleased

posted on 08 Feb 2013, 17:50

22. iris1998 (Posts: 2; Member since: 08 Feb 2013)


okay. so i have this phone.. the battery sucks... it has not data or memory and you can barely get ANY apps. It force closes out of everything. Sometime it is VERY slow and it even shuts off sometime. I thought this phone was going to be a good one but no. now im stuck with this phone for a year because my mom wont bye new one so yeah this phone SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted on 02 May 2013, 02:49

24. singandsign (Posts: 1; Member since: 02 May 2013)


Horrible product. Never works. They are tweakers and they steal icons....plus, they talk s**t from behind a computer which I get...because they are pussies that can only talk s**t from behind a computer...

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.2 inches, 320 x 480 pixels (180 ppi) TFT
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S1 MSM7227, Single core, 600 MHz, ARM11 processor
512 MB RAM
Size3.99 x 2.34 x 0.49 inches
(101.3 x 59.4 x 12.4 mm)
3.70 oz  (105 g)
Battery1230 mAh, 7.1 hours talk time

Latest stories