x We have placed cookies on your device to make your experience better. Find more info here.
x PhoneArena.com наема във Варна! Ако технологиите са в кръвта ти и имаш перфектен писмен английски,
ние ти даваме възможността да станеш част от екипа ни. - виж повече

GSM Cameraphone Comparison Q4 2008

Posted: , by Nanko R.

Tags:

Go to page
GSM Cameraphone Comparison Q4 2008
This article has been updated on November 3, 2008, adding Sony Ericsson C905 and Nokia N82.

Unless you’ve been living in a cave for the past few years you have probably noticed that the camera has become one of the key selling points of feature phones. More and more customers are focusing asking “How many megapixels“ before they inquire about anything else. However, as we found out in our cameraphone article, the resolution does not necessarily determine the quality of the pictures, only their size. In a crowded market place of 8 megapixel shooters things can get complicated because, at least in theory, the results should not be much different. Nevertheless, specs are nothing but numbers on a piece of paper and a camera’s true quality is only shown in results. With another big name entry into the 8 megapixel market, the Sony Ericsson C905, and since the results of our last showdown were less than impressive, we’ve decided to broaden our scope and add the winner of our 5-megapixel comparison, the Nokia N82 as well as a point-and-shoot camera.

Here you will see:

• Samsung Pixon
• Samsung INNOV8
• LG Renoir
• Sony Ericsson C905*
• Nokia N82
• and Canon SD870 IS – an 8-megapixel pocket camera with no phone capabilities.

*The tested C905 is a press sample provided by Sony Ericsson. If we get a newer version with better performance, we'll update our comparison.

We will test and see how the phones perform in various environments: bright daylight, when the flash is needed, capturing illuminated objects at night and close-ups (macro). In each category, besides the original photos (without any image processing) we will show you a 100% crop as well, which will make it easier to compare the quality of the images from the different cameraphones. This will also allow for a more comprehensive inspection of the detail level and the color reproduction as well.

Proceed to the next page for the first test

Pixon - GSM Cameraphone Comparison Q4 2008
INNOV8 - GSM Cameraphone Comparison Q4 2008
Renoir - GSM Cameraphone Comparison Q4 2008
C905 - GSM Cameraphone Comparison Q4 2008
N82 - GSM Cameraphone Comparison Q4 2008

Pixon

INNOV8

Renoir

C905

N82



35 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. (unregistered)


LG renior is the best among them all except it has a weak flash.

posted on 03 Nov 2008, 10:52

2. (unregistered)


right, if its only has the N82 flash it would be Perfect camera phone :)

posted on 03 Nov 2008, 11:40

3. (unregistered)


they use old software for C905

posted on 03 Nov 2008, 11:43

4. Magiclink (unregistered)


Sorry i'm french! But i'm not agree with you! Press the first icon in the upper right on Renoir, registration takes a second better than the Pixon try!

posted on 03 Nov 2008, 12:01

5. (unregistered)


It would be nice if you rated the best of the bunch based on JUST the camera. I mean it is a cameraphone comparison after all.

posted on 03 Nov 2008, 12:58

6. (unregistered)


It’s not a fair comparison, with C905 there is the old firmware, with Renoir you have posted the worst blurry night pic (look at the same pic in your Renoir’s review: http://www.phonearena.com/htmls/image.php?m=Reviews.Images&f=name&id=42120&caption=Outdoor Samples&title=LG Renoir Review - Camera, Multimedia and Software ) and flash pic with iso 100!!! Nobody will trust you, you must learn from gsmarena...

posted on 04 Nov 2008, 12:27

11. Igor Efremenko (unregistered)


So what are you doing on this site? Go to gsmarena or try to be polite.

posted on 05 Nov 2008, 14:49

17. (unregistered)


LG renoir is the best and your site is full of LG hater especially that Russian guy on youtube :P you should really learn from gsmarena

posted on 03 Nov 2008, 18:46

7. Ethan (unregistered)


PA is so bias against LG... it's obvious Renoir is the best in this comparison! Pixon has much less detail and pictures are blurry in comparison.

posted on 04 Nov 2008, 01:37

9. (unregistered)


This is what they say The Renoir’s image is the sharpest and to most people it seems to have a better detai

posted on 04 Nov 2008, 01:11

8. NightBlade (unregistered)


Hello?? You're using C905 with an old firmware!

posted on 04 Nov 2008, 06:25

10. (unregistered)


Audio and video in kc910 is out of sync.see video2 of Renoir.It's very bad.

posted on 04 Nov 2008, 12:28

12. Igor Efremenko (unregistered)


I don't believe Renoir has such weak flash. I guess it's necessary to choose the right shooting mode. E.g. if you shoot with SE k810 in auto mode with flash almost all pictures are VERY dark. When you select Night Portrait everything is super!

posted on 04 Nov 2008, 13:43

13. A_J (unregistered)


For me its between the innov8 and the C905, the innov8 is huge, but it has everything i want. The C905 looks better (is smaller) but lacks some essentials. I have an N95 now, and symbian os on it is not the greatest, I've been very bored with it and its not thorough enough. What should I get? No touch screens for me, don't like the whole sensativity factor. Bulky Symbian innov8 or sleek lacking function C905?

posted on 04 Nov 2008, 22:16

14. Vaan (unregistered)


INNOV* isn't bulky if you compare it with the C905 it's just longer that's all and the build quality is better in the INNOV8.

posted on 04 Nov 2008, 23:36

15. (unregistered)


Picture saving time will be greatly improved(shortened) if you use external memory.

posted on 05 Nov 2008, 13:38

16. (unregistered)


The best is Renoir but phonearena.com just loves Samsung more!!!

posted on 05 Nov 2008, 23:12

18. (unregistered)


See this:http://www.gsmarena.com/8_megapixel_grand_shootout-review-296.php The winner is: LG Renoir!

posted on 06 Nov 2008, 05:39

19. (unregistered)


ohhh PA... u ar a big double tongued, u worked very good about LG (for make it bad). however whatever u do or say, evryone see REOIR is the best. i agree the friends, PA... u must learn from GSMARENA

posted on 06 Nov 2008, 13:05

21. (unregistered)


well said.. thumbs up you must learn from GSMarena :P

posted on 07 Nov 2008, 09:26

23. (unregistered)


LG Renoir FTW!!!

posted on 06 Nov 2008, 07:43

20. (unregistered)


Now it’s available gsmarena’ s comparison, the FACTS are VERY DIFFERENT...you are sooooo comics phonearena! Cheers!

posted on 07 Nov 2008, 08:49

22. (unregistered)


afterhave a look all the other sites' comparisons we can say that easily; the winner is LG RENOIR...

posted on 10 Nov 2008, 03:47

24. optional (unregistered)


funny how different sites post different opinons, statistics and facts on the same phones. anyone suspicious?

posted on 11 Nov 2008, 09:36

25. fufu united ninja all stars (unregistered)


i'm damn impressed v N82 performance ....

posted on 11 Nov 2008, 13:44

26. razor callahn (unregistered)


what ever u all saying 'bout the using old software,not using right mode and so on,i don't think they r so stupid to become unfair!i really interest for c905 and renoir,nice phone,better than the n82 pattern,just a candy bar,so simple and ugly,but amazingly n suprisingly,the n82 can still standing in 8mp phone image quality!!i think the carl-zeiss lens doing great job!5mp with carl-zeiss can standing with them,so what if 8mp??isn't that very powerful camera phone??i can't wait for nokia nseries 8mp!!

posted on 13 Nov 2008, 21:44

27. gansan yakamura (unregistered)


dont believe them a word, they always try to make nokia look better, probably somebody works for them. I think overall Renoir offers the best package and its the cheapest too from what i read in several tests.

posted on 15 Nov 2008, 13:01

28. (unregistered)


@ gsmarena the Pixon is the worst but this site gave it an award winner ..BS you guys must learn from gsmarena

posted on 17 Nov 2008, 13:54

29. (unregistered)


I have N82 and I really wanted to buy INNOV8. But after reading these reviews here and in GSM Arena , I was disappointed and changed my mind. I think the only problem with INNOV8 is its LED flash which is a great deal for me.

posted on 22 Nov 2008, 10:36

30. Manikandan (unregistered)


I own a N82 which is good in camera but still really LG Renoir pulled out a great camera phone among the other 8 mega pixel phones and other camera phones...great work by LG

posted on 28 Nov 2008, 05:51

31. (unregistered)


Oh, N82 is better?? never... N82 have high compression in photos.. n82 photo files: 500kb 700kb, c905 photo files: 1.8 Mb 2.5 mb ... INNOV8 photo files: 1.4 Mb 1.8 Mb largue files = beter quality.

posted on 22 Mar 2009, 21:55

34. Whitecarnage (Posts: 12; Member since: 22 Mar 2009)


Shut up! Are you even aware that N82 IS A "5 MEGAPIXEL CAMERAPHONE" ??? You really sound ridiculous. Both C905 and Innov8 are 8 MEGAPIXEL CAMERAPHONES hence the photographs taken from their respective 8 mp cams have larger file sizes than the ones taken from a 5 mp cam.

posted on 30 Nov 2008, 08:27

32. (unregistered)


After reading this review and after seeing that you used a low ISO level for LG, I have to say that 1) you either don't understand from mobile phones and you don't know how to adjust setting for them, which is bad because you are a mobile phone website; or 2) you used those settings intentionally, which is worse because it means that you are unfair and untrustable. I hope it is the first one.

posted on 25 Jan 2009, 01:11

33. Andrewtst (Posts: 353; Member since: 25 Jan 2009)


After testing the LG Renoir and Samsung Pixon, I choose Samsung Pixon, samsung pixon produce better color and clarity and respond faster compared with LG Renoir. GSMArena is updates the samsung pixon camera review, it seems the final device produce better and wins the most. http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_m8800_pixon-review-294p6.php Latest notes mention by GSMArena about Samsung Pixon: "Update 05 Dec: These comparative photos once again confirm our initial observations. The Samsung M8800 Pixon has very good contrast levels and together with the INNOV8 much better color accuracy than the LC KC910 Renoir. Furthermore both Samsung handsets have none of the excessive sharpening artifacts that are easily visible on the LG KC910 Renoir photos. On the negative side the amount of detail captured by the Pixon is still lower than those of the competitors but the gap ain't that big. The noise levels have been so drastically improved so that they are now the best of the lot. We do suppose that a more aggressive noise-reduction algorithm is the reason for the somewhat less detail (and less noise of course)." Test for yourself is the best way to choose a correct device that best suite you. :-)

posted on 14 Aug 2014, 19:03

35. gigaraga (Posts: 1365; Member since: 29 Mar 2013)


Samsung Pixon! Can't believe phones back then were not bad~~

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories