x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

DROID X2 Review

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Go to page
DROID X2 Review
Introduction:

Ingrained deeply into our memories even until now, the Motorola DROID X has managed to be one of the more memorable handsets in the last year due to its strong presence within the Android community. Needless to say that every nook and cranny of the handset exudes that larger than life status, but considering that things have changed dramatically in the last couple of months, it’s obviously in dire need to get its yearly refreshed successor. Right on cue, we now find its successor in the Motorola DROID X2 MB870, which is ready to hopefully stem the onslaught of competition and keep itself as a vigilant figure on Verizon’s lineup.

Granted that it’s not all that uncommon to find manufacturers recycling handset designs with successive devices, which is telling with the Apple iPhone 3G and 3GS, we do find some upgraded hardware under the hood with the DROID X2 that should differentiate itself from the pack. Priced at $199.99 with a 2-year contract, its pricing is indeed fitting for a high-end non 4G LTE smartphone, but does it still have the allure that embodied the original? Or will it simply be left behind the dust in favor of Verizon’s 4G LTE equipped smartphones?

DROID X2 Review
DROID X2 Review
The package contains:

  • Motorola DROID X2
  • 8GB microSD card preloaded
  • microUSB cable
  • Wall Charger
  • Quick Start Guide

Design:

At first glance, one can easily be fooled that they’re grasping the original Motorola DROID X since the DROID X2 is almost an exact facsimile to its predecessor – though, it completely omits the dedicated shutter key this time around. Besides that one distinguishable removal, everything else is intact with the handset’s design. Although it’s top heavy, due primarily to the hump that houses the handset’s camera sensor, it’s still fairly streamlined (0.39” thick) and pocketable. Indeed it’s one large handset, especially if you have smaller hands, just because you might have some challenges trying to cover the handset’s gigantic display with your thumb.

Regardless of that, it’s solidly built and employs some high-quality materials with its constructions – albeit, it does make it feel somewhat heavy (5.47 oz). Specifically, its metallic exterior is completely engulfed with a soft touch matte coating that enables it to look clean at all times, while repelling dirt and debris from sticking on. As much as we love the design, we’re not filled with the same impressed reactions that we experienced with the original.

The Motorola DROID X2 is almost an exact facsimile to its predecessor - DROID X2 Review
The Motorola DROID X2 is almost an exact facsimile to its predecessor - DROID X2 Review
The Motorola DROID X2 is almost an exact facsimile to its predecessor - DROID X2 Review

The Motorola DROID X2 is almost an exact facsimile to its predecessor


DROID X2 Review

You can compare the Motorola DROID X2 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Retaining the same size 4.3” capacitive touchscreen as before, it has been upgraded to qHD (540 x 960) resolution for moderately better clarity – though, it’s hardly noticeable from a far glance. Nonetheless, it offers sharp looking visuals that pack plenty of detail and higher pixel density, while producing some natural looking colors. In addition, its high-contrast look enables us to use it outdoors under direct sunlight with no visibility issues whatsoever. Lastly, its good viewings angles doesn’t fade, distort, or wash out colors – thus, keeping it consistent looking at all angles.

The 4.3” capacitive touchscreen has been upgraded to qHD (540 x 960) resolutionand has good viewings angles - DROID X2 Review
The 4.3” capacitive touchscreen has been upgraded to qHD (540 x 960) resolutionand has good viewings angles - DROID X2 Review
The 4.3” capacitive touchscreen has been upgraded to qHD (540 x 960) resolutionand has good viewings angles - DROID X2 Review
The 4.3” capacitive touchscreen has been upgraded to qHD (540 x 960) resolutionand has good viewings angles - DROID X2 Review
The 4.3” capacitive touchscreen has been upgraded to qHD (540 x 960) resolutionand has good viewings angles - DROID X2 Review
The 4.3” capacitive touchscreen has been upgraded to qHD (540 x 960) resolutionand has good viewings angles - DROID X2 Review
The 4.3” capacitive touchscreen has been upgraded to qHD (540 x 960) resolutionand has good viewings angles - DROID X2 Review
The 4.3” capacitive touchscreen has been upgraded to qHD (540 x 960) resolutionand has good viewings angles - DROID X2 Review
The 4.3” capacitive touchscreen has been upgraded to qHD (540 x 960) resolutionand has good viewings angles - DROID X2 Review
The 4.3” capacitive touchscreen has been upgraded to qHD (540 x 960) resolutionand has good viewings angles - DROID X2 Review

The 4.3” capacitive touchscreen has been upgraded to qHD (540 x 960) resolution
and has good viewings angles


Now that 4.3” displays aren’t uncommon anymore, there isn’t anything particularly polarizing about it – even with its higher resolution. In the end, it’s not as much of a standout as before, but when you compare it to other things like Super AMOLED Plus or IPS displays, it lacks that wow factor.

Seeing that the design of the Motorola DROID X2 is essentially unchanged, all of the buttons and ports are located in their same positions throughout the handset. However, it’s worth noting that the handset’s miroHDMI port not only has the ability to output high-definition videos, but it also offers a mirrored experience – something that’s becoming standard amongst most high-end Android smartphones.

The sides of the Motorola DROID X2 - DROID X2 Review
The sides of the Motorola DROID X2 - DROID X2 Review
The sides of the Motorola DROID X2 - DROID X2 Review
The sides of the Motorola DROID X2 - DROID X2 Review

The sides of the Motorola DROID X2


In the rear, the handset’s hump houses the same exact 8-megapixel auto-focus camera with dual-LED flash. Granted that we like how the metallic back cover protects the handset’s innards, it’s rather super easy to remove and doesn’t require much force to nudge off. But honestly though, we’d prefer a tighter fit so that it doesn’t feel as if it’ll come off while it’s placed in a pocket. Frustrating to say the least, you’ll need to remove the battery in order to swap out its preloaded 8GB microSD card.

Back - DROID X2 Review
Back - DROID X2 Review
Back - DROID X2 Review

Back


The handset’s hump houses the 8-megapixel auto-focus camera with dual-LED flash - DROID X2 Review
The handset’s hump houses the 8-megapixel auto-focus camera with dual-LED flash - DROID X2 Review
The handset’s hump houses the 8-megapixel auto-focus camera with dual-LED flash - DROID X2 Review

The handset’s hump houses the 8-megapixel auto-focus camera with dual-LED flash



Motorola DROID X2 360-degrees View:



21 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 25 May 2011, 08:03 2

1. Sniggly (Posts: 6496; Member since: 05 Dec 2009)


How could you fail to mention the increased customization options with new Blur, like the launcher icons being swappable, and the app list being organizable into separate groups?

posted on 25 May 2011, 08:18 5

2. cheetah2k (Posts: 739; Member since: 16 Jan 2011)


Mate, just get used to the fact that this place is an iphailarena hub..

I don't know why the unchanged shape is a con. If it works, don't change it FFS!

posted on 25 May 2011, 08:24 2

3. RORYREVOLUTION (Posts: 2887; Member since: 12 Jan 2010)


What amazes me how they give the ATRIX a 9.5 despite how crappy it is with full blur and a cheap plastic build.

posted on 25 May 2011, 09:56

4. jroc74 (Posts: 4076; Member since: 30 Dec 2010)


Yea this version of Blur is alot better than whats on the Atrix.

I am surprised the qHD has good viewing angles. Nice to know. Shocked about reception claims in this review. If its exactly like the Droid X1, it should be great. Already knew battery life would be decent.

posted on 25 May 2011, 10:00

5. Sniggly (Posts: 6496; Member since: 05 Dec 2009)


I have noticed that my X doesn't always show the best signal strength, but it's still able to place clear calls even when showing only one bar.

posted on 25 May 2011, 15:25 1

6. Thump3rDX17 (Posts: 2160; Member since: 10 May 2010)


eh, i can kind of see what they're talking about with the design, it's hard to look at it without seeing LAST year's menacing beast. now it's just a Droid past it's prime. i think this is just something they threw together after they had to abort the "Etna" Bionic but an extra month or so to put this out with even some minor aesthetic changes like the Incredible 2 had would've made all the difference.

posted on 25 May 2011, 15:28

7. Sniggly (Posts: 6496; Member since: 05 Dec 2009)


No, the X2 was planned from the get go. It was never a last minute slapdash replacement.

posted on 25 May 2011, 16:10 1

8. Thump3rDX17 (Posts: 2160; Member since: 10 May 2010)


how do you know? what evidence do you have for me that'll make me soon believe that Motorola half assed a DROID than the only other explanation that makes any sense? what i think is EVERYBODY was having difficulties getting the dual-core processors to play nice with the LTE radios. even LG's own Revolution was going to have a dual-core but it was likely a no go because of LTE which brings us to the "Etna" Bionic being aborted so what Moto did instead of putting out an LTE handset with a single core processor like everybody else did they decided to quickly put out a dual-core touting Droid X to make up for the time lost with the "Etna" so they can solidify a high end spot on Verizon's line up with a powerful phone therefore separating Verizon's high end line up between LTE packing handsets and powerful dual-core packing handsets so even if the X2 was planned out it was put out sooner than they would have preferred it to.

posted on 25 May 2011, 20:12 2

11. BlackSirius16 (Posts: 84; Member since: 21 May 2010)


This wasn't some hack job kid, this phone has been leaking under the internal name "Daytona" Since January. It was a planned refresh, designed from the get go to offer a cheaper 3G only alternative to the Bionic, and if they hadn't had to scrap the Etna hardware because of the Tegra 2 troubles with switching between Lte and 3G than this phone would only have had about a month all by it's lonesome until the Bionic came out. Chances are this phone was actually delayed, as several insiders were pointing towards early April and were surprised to see it lag this much. And if you don't like the phone than just wait for the new Droid Bionic AKA "Targa" instead of flinging your blatant nerd rage all over the place.

posted on 25 May 2011, 21:15

12. Thump3rDX17 (Posts: 2160; Member since: 10 May 2010)


if you knew their time tables then maybe i'd listen to what you're saying but they could have known about the problems of the Bionic since then and had the "Daytona" ready just in case. look at the phone and you tell me what makes more sense. this isn't about disappointment or anything i never wanted ANY kind of Droid X, i'm getting the Droid 3 and eventually the Bionic and i'm defiantly not angry. i was merely responding to a comment on my original post with what i believe is the most sensible thing that's happened with Motorola lately.

posted on 25 May 2011, 17:30 3

9. daniel walsh (unregistered)


Those cons are so whiny and weak. The phone is great and is better than the iphone. Phonearena are fucking iphone fanboys. This phone is way better than the atrix and it gets a shitty score.

posted on 25 May 2011, 18:08 1

10. AAABall (unregistered)


So the DROID X2 has all these positives, yet it gets the same score as the Casio Commando?

posted on 26 May 2011, 23:44 2

14. snowgator (Posts: 3160; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)


I would like to believe these reviews are based on their pecking order in the cellphone world as well as their own merit. The Casio Commander is a mid to low level device, smaller screen, low end processor, 3 home screens compared to 5, ect. The Commander should then be reviewed based on being that level of phone, and compared to others in it's class. The Droid X2 is a high end device, even without LTE- from dual core processor, to screen resolution, and so on. I do not think anyone puts the Casio offering in the "X" family's class. Obviously, Phone Arena liked the Atrix, the Inspire, and most Samsungs latest high end offerings better.

By the way, if go to "Test Freaks" site, which compiles reviews from tech sites and gives an average score, and look up the Motorola Atrix most everyone rated that thing in the "9" level.

posted on 25 May 2011, 21:44 2

13. rayjones09 (Posts: 149; Member since: 16 Dec 2010)


There's no pleasing u fans...

posted on 28 May 2011, 02:28 1

15. RORYREVOLUTION (Posts: 2887; Member since: 12 Jan 2010)


I just find it funny how the iphone 3GS and iphone 4 have basically everything in common and yet the iphone 4 got a massive 9.5 score. All it did was slightly change the form factor, raise the screen resolution, and make it run faster.

Yet it got nothing but praises and a high score as well.

Droid X 2 only gets an 8 and the first Droid X got a 9.5.

posted on 28 May 2011, 13:00 1

17. Thump3rDX17 (Posts: 2160; Member since: 10 May 2010)


it's all about the times they were put out. i see the iPhone 4 as a pretty significant upgrade over the 3GS purely because of it's build quality, NOTHING i've felt compares and it came out during a time when Superphones comparable to the iPhone were few and far between, the same goes for the Droid X, excellent phone for it's time, the only real competition it had was from the iPhone 4 and the EVO 4G. now the Droid X is coming out in a much more exciting time for Superphones, following up the Samsung Galaxy S II and the LG G2x isn't going to be an easy feat bringing an unchanged design from last year's predecessor and specs that are merely putting it in sync with the times and not offering any new functionality over it's predecessor. software wise there's certainly improvement but we've all had a lingering taste of that through the Droid X build's leak so an 8 for this is probably quite sound even considering that we remember what a great phone the Droid X was.

posted on 28 May 2011, 20:28 1

18. rayjones09 (Posts: 149; Member since: 16 Dec 2010)


Agreed. Phonearena prob doesn't even read these comments. There the same over and over again.

posted on 11 Jun 2011, 10:58

24. Hallucinator (Posts: 338; Member since: 24 May 2010)


Yep iphone 3gs and 4 are the same except a complete redesign, way better processor and gpu. Other than that...the same.

posted on 28 May 2011, 21:00 3

19. ninawka (Posts: 8; Member since: 07 Dec 2010)


How is a phone with a single core processor and a better antenna more next gen than a phone with a way better screen and a dual core processor? And like I have said on other sights this phone won't reach it's full potential until it has Gingerbread not Froyo. The former is for dualcore phones the latter which the phone is equipped with is not!

posted on 05 Jun 2011, 11:05 1

23. Corpsemaker (Posts: 63; Member since: 10 Jul 2010)


I guess its all about when the phone was released. At the Droid X's release it was a 9.5. The X2 compared to other top of the line smartphones is more of an 8.

posted on 26 Aug 2011, 15:35

25. tryecrot (unregistered)


Yes there should realize the opportunity to RSS commentary, quite simply, CMS is another on the blog.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Motorola DROID X2

Motorola DROID X2

OS: Android 2.3 2.2
view full specs
Display4.3 inches, 540 x 960 pixels (256 ppi)
Camera8 megapixels
Hardware
NVIDIA Tegra 2, Dual core, 1000 MHz
512 MB RAM
Size5.02 x 2.58 x 0.39 inches
(127.5 x 65.5 x 9.90 mm)
5.47 oz  (155 g)
Battery1540 mAh, 8 hours talk time

Latest stories