HTC One V Review
Introduction:

You didn't think that after reviewing the HTC One X and HTC One S, we will disregard their little brother – the HTC One V, did you? Well, here it is, folks! We have taken this little munchkin for a spin and we cannot wait to share our experience with you.

But before we begin, a little background: the HTC One V comes with a 3.7-inch display, single-core processor clocked at 1GHz, 5-megapixel camera, and Beats Audio enhancements, all of that locked within a metal unibody of under 10 millimeters. And that seems pretty good for a mid-range smartphone that will set you back only about $370 off-contract. Okay, enough talking. Now let us tell you how the HTC One V performs in real life.

HTC One V Review
HTC One V Review
Box contents:

  • Wall charger
  • microUSB cable
  • Wired headset
  • User manual on paper and CD

Design:

If the HTC One V looks familiar, that is because it sports the same curved-chin design that was present on the international version of the HTC Hero. And that does not only add a dose of uniqueness to the smartphone's looks, but it also should make it easier to hold. Sure enough, we like how the One V fits in the palm, but that is mostly due to its compact dimensions. It is nearly 9 millimeters thin and weighs only 115 grams, which is why we can barely feel it while it is resting in our pocket. Two thumbs up for that! Moreover, our thumb can effortlessly reach every corner of its screen, so if you are among the people who like using their smartphone with a single hand, the HTC One V will surely fit your preference.

Due to its compact dimensions, the HTC One V fits comfortably in the palm - HTC One V Review
Due to its compact dimensions, the HTC One V fits comfortably in the palm - HTC One V Review
Due to its compact dimensions, the HTC One V fits comfortably in the palm - HTC One V Review

Due to its compact dimensions, the HTC One V fits comfortably in the palm


HTC One V Review

You can compare the HTC One V with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The HTC One V sports a curved-chin design - HTC One V Review
The HTC One V sports a curved-chin design - HTC One V Review
The HTC One V sports a curved-chin design - HTC One V Review

The HTC One V sports a curved-chin design


The 2-button volume rocker and the lock key, which are located on the device's right and top sides respectively, are not too hard to feel and respond with a nice click when pressed. Underneath the smartphone's display we see a trio of Android buttons: one that takes you back a step, one that takes you to your home screen, and one that brings forth recently opened applications. Thankfully, physical capacitive buttons have been used instead of the virtual ones that Android 4.0 supports, which allows for the pretty limited display real estate to be put to greater use. We cannot complain about their responsiveness and we did not experience any accidental presses during use. Something that HTC is known for adding on its smartphones is a notification light that can glow in green or amber, and in the case with the One V, it is located on its top side. That allows it to be seen even when the handset is lying with its display down, which is a design touch that we surely won't pass on.

HTC One V Review
Android buttons - HTC One V Review

Android buttons

HTC One V Review

microUSB port (left) - The sides of the HTC One V - HTC One V Review

microUSB port (left)

Power key, 3.5mm jack and notification light (top) - The sides of the HTC One V - HTC One V Review

Power key, 3.5mm jack and notification light (top)

Volume rocker (right) - The sides of the HTC One V - HTC One V Review

Volume rocker (right)

The sides of the HTC One V


HTC has decided to go with anodized metal for the One V's unibody: a wise choice, we must say, for it is a feature that we don't get to see very often when mid-range devices are concerned. That is why the smartphone has a distinct, premium feel to it – a feel that most plasticky mid-range devices lack. Also, the handset's surface is extremely resistant to fingerprints, which is more than welcome.

Back - HTC One V Review

Back

Camera - HTC One V Review

Camera

Speaker grill - HTC One V Review

Speaker grill



Display:

Sadly, we cannot say the same about the touchscreen's surface. It collects finger smudge fairly easily, and overall, using it feels a lot like swiping your finger across a piece of plastic. In other words, the display's surface is not quite as smooth as the glass touchscreens on most high-end devices we are so spoiled with nowadays. Nevertheless, we have no complaints whatsoever about its sensitivity as it accurately registers every tap.

HTC One V Review
The HTC One V comes with a 3.7-inch display of the Super-LCD 2 kind. It has a resolution of 480 by 800 pixels, which gives us the respectable pixel density of 252ppi. As a result, we rarely notice any pixelation whatsoever. Graphics look nice and detailed, and small text does not require much effort to be read. Just like we expected, the Super-LCD 2 display treats us to great-looking, saturated (but not overly) colors and very impressive viewing angles. Additionally, we are quite satisfied with its outdoor visibility as it is bright enough to remain easily legible even in broad daylight. In case you are wondering, it may not be as bright as the Super-LCD 2 panel on the HTC One X, but nevertheless, the One V's display is really good considering the smartphone's price point.

HTC One V 360-degrees View:



FEATURED VIDEO

78 Comments

1. moyourBB

Posts: 6; Member since: Apr 05, 2012

wow!! Even One V can beat One X !!! What a joke !!

2. androidsbiggestfan

Posts: 76; Member since: Aug 09, 2011

Yeah, we need to have a non-iFan review the One X because that dude was totally biased.

8. saket.shrivastava

Posts: 55; Member since: Apr 02, 2012

dude this is a mid ranger one x is a high range phone it is competing in it's own category.................

10. Berzerk000

Posts: 4275; Member since: Jun 26, 2011

Sigh. The One X needs to be re-evaluated for a review. It was not given a just score for what it is because of Ray's bias, and people are angry about it.

11. biophone

Posts: 1994; Member since: Jun 15, 2011

Who gives a flying f***. Everything he said in his review was fine just read it and don't play attentiom to the score if your that enamored by it.

27. jackhammeR

Posts: 1548; Member since: Oct 17, 2011

But it's not about category. These reviews are silly because weaker phone scored higher than the better one. And it's obvious that ONE X is better (I don't like htc and ONE is an example how not to make a future proof phone...htc rushed into things like lg did with 2x...not optimised, not polished enough phone...the point ios to be the very first with quad core). Let alone PA doesn't control writers and reviews such like this above are a proof that there is no integrity nor cohesion in scoring phones.

30. Crossblade

Posts: 224; Member since: Apr 21, 2005

http://www.phonearena.com/howdowerate "Class: The class of each cell phone is defined by the targeted customers` preferences regarding the cost, the luxury level, the multimedia features and so on. We rate the phones depending on the class they are in, and that is why e.g. lack of high-tech features is not a problem for luxury or budget phones. You are probably wondering why some entry-level phones have the same excellent score as the latest top shelf smartphone. This means that they both are very good, but only for their class. Could you compare a convertible with an SUV? Not really, because obviously they belong to different classes and are intended for different purposes. It is the same with cell phones."

28. rajendra22

Posts: 2; Member since: Apr 09, 2012

Do not purchase this one,,,,,Blutooth is not working properly also gets heated early ....you cant talk more than 10 min....

67. shayanhussain

Posts: 3; Member since: Jun 17, 2012

but my one v is working.

3. eaxvac

Posts: 328; Member since: Jan 15, 2012

That chin looks ugly.

66. Raymond_htc

Posts: 430; Member since: Apr 06, 2012

it pays homage to the illustrious and great HTC Android Phone- Legend. so i say, ITS NICE!

4. Roomaku

Posts: 278; Member since: Feb 06, 2012

video review?

5. saket.shrivastava

Posts: 55; Member since: Apr 02, 2012

i am buying it can somebody tell from where can i get a cover for it ????????????

6. mercorp

Posts: 1045; Member since: Jan 28, 2012

can we have a review between this phone and ace two?

62. dbparipsa

Posts: 21; Member since: Oct 18, 2011

I also want the detailed comparison review of Ace 2 and One V just like PA did with One X and One S. Which screen is better overall?

7. RamyRamz69

Posts: 390; Member since: Dec 12, 2011

I think the Xperia U is better than the One V.

9. saket.shrivastava

Posts: 55; Member since: Apr 02, 2012

xperia u ships with 4gb non expandable u still want it ?????

12. Aaron_R96 unregistered

8gb actually with 4gb user accessible (for music & multimedia etc) some of the remaining 4gb is saved for apps and sms messages aswell as the rest for the os and overlay, which, on the xperia s anyway, is much nicer than sense ergh. Oh and also Sony offer 50gb free storage through Box when you get a NXT-gen smartphone, its personal preferance at the end of the day

14. saket.shrivastava

Posts: 55; Member since: Apr 02, 2012

well i personally dont prefer cloud storage the data connection speeds in my part of world is usually very slow............ and isn't it like u get free cloud storage for a limited time and otherwise it costs ???????????? ( one v has 25gb clud storage for two years)

25. Bangthering_007

Posts: 36; Member since: Feb 21, 2012

You are absolutely r8. This thing (OneV) for god's sake doesnt have a front facing shooter!!

13. ahonda55

Posts: 11; Member since: Apr 06, 2012

MORE than perfect review, i have been looking for such review for a week! Thanks a lot guys good work, good work phonearena.com

15. Abhilash123

Posts: 4; Member since: Apr 07, 2012

I bought one yesterday. Was having problems with bluetooth(4V) connectivity to my headset(2.1V) . Has anyone faced this issue. Will there be a problem if handset uses V4 bluetooth and the headset im using is 2.1? Specs of bluetooth 4 tells it should be backward compatible. Did anyone face this issue earlier?

17. rossemiel

Posts: 3; Member since: Apr 07, 2012

I am having the same problem. It doesnt work with the car stereo nor with bluetooth handsets i tried. Strangly bluetooth audio (music) is working great. If they dont fix this with an update soon, I will have to return it.

18. Abhilash123

Posts: 4; Member since: Apr 07, 2012

today evening a htc guy is supposed to meet me to explain what is going on. Bluetooth 4 works well in iphone 4s , not with this phone. HTC customer care sucks atleast in india.

21. rossemiel

Posts: 3; Member since: Apr 07, 2012

Would be nice if you keep us updated.

23. Abhilash123

Posts: 4; Member since: Apr 07, 2012

they tell its a known issue with the HTC one V. They promised to replace the set if they are not able to find a resolution in 10 days. Lets wait and see . Do let me know if you find something useful

24. rossemiel

Posts: 3; Member since: Apr 07, 2012

Good to know that its a known issue. At first I thought i had a defective device. I will keep searching for a solution and post it here if I find anything. I could also return it but I really like the phone and its the only phone with this format and android 4.0.

40. hddos

Posts: 5; Member since: Apr 15, 2012

Apart from the bluetooth issue, could you pls confirm how is the phone's performance. Several online reviews have said that the browser of the one v has a significant lag and have given it a thumbs down. Is it preferable to go for a samsungh galaxy s plus which I am getting for Rs 19.5k ?

38. ravkjain

Posts: 4; Member since: Apr 14, 2012

I bought this phone a few days ago. Even I'm facing the same issue with bluetooth. Music works, but not the phone in car. :( And in addition, when disconnected, the phone's mic stops as well. Only resort remains is RESTART! Have reset this phone 3 times since last days. This seriously needs attention.

41. mlommers

Posts: 4; Member since: Apr 16, 2012

I got an software update last friday which solved the bluetooth issues for me :-)
One V
  • Display 3.7" 480 x 800 pixels
  • Camera 5 MP
  • Processor Qualcomm Snapdragon S2, Single core, 1000 MHz
  • Storage 4 GB + microSDHC
  • Battery 1500 mAh

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.