Acer CloudMobile Review
Introduction:

At long last, the Acer CloudMobile has arrived at our office, waiting to be subjected to our thorough review treatment. For those who have forgotten, this smartphone was announced right before MWC 2012 kicked off, or about 7 months ago. Back then, we got the chance to play with it for a while, and we were quite satisfied with what Acer had crafted – a pretty 4.3-incher with a potent processor, stunning display, and a built-in cloud service called AcerCloud. But after all that time, would the smartphone be competitive on the market now that other companies have identical offerings at a similar price point? Let's find out!

Acer CloudMobile Review
Acer CloudMobile Review
The box contains:

  • Wired stereo headset
  • Wall charger
  • Power outlet plug converter (market dependent)
  • microUSB cable
  • Product warranty information and quick start guide

Design:

Good job, Acer! You've managed to deliver a stylish smartphone that does not need to be the lightest, the thinnest, or the blingiest in the world in order to grab one's attention. Glass, metal, and plastic (not the dreadfully cheap kind, thank heavens) have been fused together creating a solid, high-quality device that is a pleasure to both hold and look at. But the good stuff does not end here.

The Acer CloudMobile is a pleasure to both hold and look at - Acer CloudMobile Review
The Acer CloudMobile is a pleasure to both hold and look at - Acer CloudMobile Review
The Acer CloudMobile is a pleasure to both hold and look at - Acer CloudMobile Review

The Acer CloudMobile is a pleasure to both hold and look at


Acer CloudMobile Review

You can compare the Acer CloudMobile with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The Acer CloudMobile has a textured, soft plastic back cover that is very resistant to fingerprints and feels nice to the touch, not to mention that it provides plenty of grip. The metal-made physical keys – the lock key on top and the volume rocker on the right side are well exposed and respond with an excellent click when pressed.

Volume rocker (right) - The sides of the Acer CloudMobile - Acer CloudMobile Review

Volume rocker (right)

microUSB port (left) - The sides of the Acer CloudMobile - Acer CloudMobile Review

microUSB port (left)

3.5mm jack and power key (top) - The sides of the Acer CloudMobile - Acer CloudMobile Review

3.5mm jack and power key (top)

Bottom edge - The sides of the Acer CloudMobile - Acer CloudMobile Review

Bottom edge

The sides of the Acer CloudMobile


With a screen of this caliber, the Acer CloudMobile definitely isn't a handset that would fit in palms of lesser size, but we find its dimensions quite easy to get used to. Overall, it is about as big as a Samsung Galaxy S II or an LG Optimus L7 – chances are that once you get accustomed to its proportions, you won't have much troubles using it with a single thumb most of the time.

Back - Acer CloudMobile Review

Back

Rear camera - Acer CloudMobile Review

Rear camera

Loudspeaker - Acer CloudMobile Review

Loudspeaker

Battery compartment - Acer CloudMobile Review

Battery compartment



Display:

Acer CloudMobile Review
As you would expect from an IPS-LCD panel with HD resolution (720 by 1280 pixels), the screen on the Acer CloudMobile looks simply awesome. So many pixels have been packed across 4.3 inches of display real estate that graphics look incredibly smooth and detailed, while even the smallest of fonts can be read easily. Moreover, we are delighted to see that the screen delivers accurate colors that don't get distorted much when viewed at an angle. What we are a bit underwhelmed by, however, is that the brightness output of the display isn't sufficient to ensure comfortable use under direct sunlight.

FEATURED VIDEO

23 Comments

1. kshell1

Posts: 1143; Member since: Oct 05, 2011

Could been a wonderful phone if it would have been released earlier and had more memory

2. brock8687

Posts: 10; Member since: Oct 03, 2012

a lot of drawbacks for my liking and no real USP .... only plus i find is the design.... yet nothing u can't get at that price.... with the more established sony's and the sammy's and the htc's knocking at the door.....

3. loken

Posts: 462; Member since: May 09, 2012

this gets 7.5.. sony gets 7?? sony haters..

5. dil2abu

Posts: 315; Member since: Nov 09, 2011

I agree with you.. Even in Design wise Xperia T/TX looks awesome than this.. iPhonearena Ratings sucks.. Sony deserves more than they get from iPhonearena.. iPhone 5 got 9.5.. :O

10. kshell1

Posts: 1143; Member since: Oct 05, 2011

ip5 got a 9

15. -box-

Posts: 3991; Member since: Jan 04, 2012

...and deserved an 8-8.5 at best

18. robcar

Posts: 110; Member since: Jan 18, 2011

This site is not in the center of its assessments. Therefore I always will discard this site. GSMarena is much more central in their assessments and fair, and thy can But this phone seems very good.

22. alvanyap

Posts: 3; Member since: Jan 23, 2013

bear in mind that this phone is a lot cheaper compare with xperia T, so why wouldn't it get a better score when it have same performance & lower price tag?

8. toondewachter

Posts: 54; Member since: Jan 24, 2012

May I remind you of the fact that the Sony Xperia T actually got 8? Which is not that bad at all, is it? And secondly: this phone will be for sale for €289.99 here in Belgium, while the Xperia T goes for €519... Now I like Sony, but this is an enormous price difference. So there might be a few drawbacks, but none of them are deal breakers to me. The camera's quality seems to be ok, not wow, but ok. The music player is replaceable: who is going to listen to music from the cloud anyway? Sony's call quality was given very bad reviews by numerous reviewers on the web. I suppose that a loud earpiece and some artificial voices is at least evenly good. Considering the price point, I think this phone is a winner!

12. rusticguy

Posts: 2828; Member since: Aug 11, 2012

If Xperia Arc /Arc S was produced by Apple i am sure Acer cloud would be in trouble for "Tarde Dress" theft. For a fair review of a phone i always look at gsmarena as they are less biased in my opinion.

4. Raymond_htc

Posts: 430; Member since: Apr 06, 2012

And months ago when phonearena came out with a preview news of this phone, a lot said its ugly.. well looky here! its sexy...

6. Nathan_ingx

Posts: 4767; Member since: Mar 07, 2012

Oh man...i was expecting much better. As i went from page 1-4, my interest for the phone went 'Wow-good-ok-ouch'!

7. SleepingOz unregistered

Same for me, I was planning to get this as my secondary phone but not anymore. Still a sexy device though.

9. wolstenbeast

Posts: 25; Member since: Sep 21, 2012

For a new move into phones not bad at all! 7.5 seemed kind of harsh given Acer Cloud is an additional free function, not one you have to use, say like none expandable memory, lemming maps, purple pictures, dents and scratches or none removable battery. Points to the above mentioned 9.5.

11. flexile

Posts: 78; Member since: Jun 03, 2012

Is this phone cheap? If so, a 7.5 is pretty harsh. I'll have to consider this phone for my next buy...it will be either Xperia V or Acer CM. I honestly love the design of this one. I'll never use cloud services and I can download a music player from the Play Store.

23. alvanyap

Posts: 3; Member since: Jan 23, 2013

it is cheap compare to it's competitive like what acer phone used to be :)

13. pankajgupta

Posts: 59; Member since: Aug 09, 2012

looks like Xperia Neo?? an year behind Sony ? :)

17. jbn23

Posts: 1; Member since: Oct 08, 2012

i also noticed that when it was first announced..neo is sexy and acer adapts that design..i guess:)

19. robcar

Posts: 110; Member since: Jan 18, 2011

Looks much much better then Neo...

20. f.begbie

Posts: 2; Member since: Oct 19, 2012

dont be stupid! Look at the acer A1 Liquid with this very same design a lot before even sony started to get interested in android business.

14. Plaisir009

Posts: 4; Member since: Jun 28, 2012

Please tell me there is a YouTube review of this phone?

16. flexile

Posts: 78; Member since: Jun 03, 2012

Yes, it should be on the review or look on their channel.

21. f.begbie

Posts: 2; Member since: Oct 19, 2012

im not sure what is your problem with the phone, but best screen for 4,3 size, best available 2 core chipset on board, nice looking and ergonomic. The camer could have been better but the new sony T with the 13Mpx camera cannot make a real difference. An i really don't understand why should anyone care about the preinstalled apps. And why does it important in a review that the music app is not the best since almost noone use stock apps. Its like reviewin a car by it's color...
CloudMobile
  • Display 4.3" 720 x 1280 pixels
  • Camera 8 MP
  • Processor Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Plus, Dual-core, 1500 MHz
  • Storage 8 GB + microSDHC
  • Battery 1460 mAh(6.5h talk time)

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.