Verizon Wireless Casio G’zOne Ravine User Reviews Back

Overall user rating

8.7

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality
9.3
Text input
6.8
Everyday usage
9.2
UI speed
8.2
Camera
8.4
Multimedia
7.9
Internet
6.7
Call quality
8.7
Battery
9.1
Reception
9.3
Display
8.9
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

vnamdoc posted on Feb 10, 2012, 6:05 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 10, 2012

6.0

What I need.

vnamdoc has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Just what the doctor ordered. Great phone in the basic term of communication. Excellent budget phone for general use. Simple and straight forward operation. Tex input is a labored chore. Speakerphone works nice.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
3.0
Multimedia
3.0
Camera
5.0
UI speed
3.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
3.0
Display
5.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • easy to use

Cons

  • texting

Is this review helpful?

Report

barvelt89 posted on Jul 07, 2011, 10:00 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jul 07, 2011

8.0

RAVINE IS THE WORST GzONE PHONE

barvelt89 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I previously owned the Boulder for almost 2 years and in comparison this phone is HORRIBLE. Casio makes great cellular products, but the Ravine is a huge disappointment. The texting software has multiple problems. When typing, letters sometimes appear invisible and there is always lag. Also menus skip around and it's very unpredictable.

I returned my first Ravine and explained the problems. My new phone has the same problems and I realized they are just programming issues. I would advise anyone against buying this phone if you plan on using it for texting. Other than that, it's a decent phone.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
8.0
sometimes you sound distant to the person at the other end
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
7.0
Text input
3.0
texing lags and often the letters appear invisible
Display
9.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • durable and sturdy construction

Cons

  • texting lags
  • texting software has many glitches

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Hooper999 posted on Jan 14, 2011, 6:15 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 14, 2011

7.0

Not so rugged with a boggy text interface

Hooper999 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought this phone in late November and managed to break the hinge within 3 weeks.
Verizon refused to replace it, which is understandable as I didn't opt for the insurance.
I simply expected a bit more durability from the phone.
I had the G'Zone Boulder for two years without any issues other than software.

The speaker and microphone are of lesser quality than the Boulder.
I often am forced to repeat myself and ask others repeat themselves.

This phone is already exhibiting major software issues involving the text message interface. It assigns random capital letters and the predictive texting is predictably poor when forming common words.

Reception is very good in my area.

Web access is a bit more challenging than the Boulder.

The G'zgear features are fun and I use the pedometer daily.

Though the resolution is higher on this phone than the Boulder I prefer the Boulder for photos.


Build quality
6.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
6.0
Internet
6.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
6.0
Everyday usage
6.0
Text input
5.0
Display
8.0
Battery
8.0

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

Sperry posted on Jun 21, 2011, 12:15 PM

9.0

Sweet

Sperry has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Awesome phone that's built to take a beating.
The rubbery outer shell feels nice in your hand.
Not it's not a smart phone or a phone for a lot of texting, but if you want a phone that does what it's supposed to do without all the additional crap this is it.
It's durable and does it's job without a ton of frills.
Great battery life and the Bluetooth works awesome.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
7.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

jersey89 posted on Apr 12, 2011, 12:03 PM

8.0

review

jersey89 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I got the ravine and loved it until the software started to act up, invisible letters when texting or it'll hop half way up the inbox or into a different in-box. lag happens sometimes too,other then messaging the phone is great haven't had a problem with it, great phone.

Build quality
8.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
6.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
3.0
Display
8.0
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • durable
  • small

Cons

  • software needs improvement

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

DT3 posted on Feb 06, 2011, 2:50 PM

10.0

Amazing

DT3 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have had this phone a few months and it is an amazing phone. It has held up better than any phone I've ever had. I even left it on the porch by mistake one night and it was frozen to the porch with almost a quarter inch of ice covering the entire thing, threw it in some warm water and it started up like nothing. First G'zOne I've ever had, but definitely not the last I will be getting.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
5.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Just about everything

Cons

  • Call quality could be better

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

ffisher265 posted on Jan 14, 2011, 8:37 AM

9.0

Master Sgt. Retired

ffisher265 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is my 3rd GzOne and i love them. I bass fish on the tournament trail and this phone is the best so far. My Rock i dropped in the water at the boat landing and did not find it for 15 minutes. Had some one call me and we heard it in the water. No problem still working i have it still. Just wanted to upgrade to the ravine. I will never buy a different phone again.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
5.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Love the phone completely

Cons

  • Internet not the best

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

jdgreen posted on Oct 28, 2010, 3:49 PM

10.0

great phone

jdgreen has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i love this phone!!!! i have had alot of phones and as a construction company owner, this phone has been the best one i have ever had i will never get a different phone!!!

Battery
10.0
Display
10.0
Text input
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Camera
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Internet
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Build quality
10.0

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

shay posted on Oct 27, 2010, 11:36 PM

10.0

Love this phone

shay has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I got this phone last week and i just love it!!!
it's loud, rugged, glove friendly and much much more!
the battery last me for 3 days with no charge.
it is simply the best phone for work,
however for internet use this is not the phone.
completely water proof (tested myself)
i put this phone in a glass of iced water for 15 minutes and the phone didn't even sweat it (:

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
this is not your smartphone internet,
Multimedia
10.0
LOUD
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Best phone for work and outdoor activity

Cons

  • internet

shay alternatives:

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

dirtyjharry posted on Oct 18, 2010, 8:33 PM

10.0

Ravine

Had the phone for several weeks with no problems. Key pad is a inprovement over the rock also the 3.2 camera is also a imrrovement  I have to say Casio got it right and Verizon got it right I am very impressed very nice phone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros

  • keypad is a improvement over the rock

Cons

  • NONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless