x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Samsung Galaxy S7 User Reviews

8.5 Based on 12 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed8.8/10
Camera9.5/10
Multimedia8.8/10
Internet9.1/10
Call quality9/10
Battery7.6/10
Reception8.7/10
Display8.8/10
Build quality8.2/10
Text input8.4/10
Everyday usage8.3/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

icdvtrvt
posted on 19 Feb 2017, 18:52 (Posts: 35; Member since: 05 May 2014)

9

Pretty good, but could have been better

icdvtrvt has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I really miss the phone with all the Pros, but the Cons were just too much for me to not get rid of it. If you can overlook the Cons of the phone by all means, get it, it's worth it. Or just wait for the S8 next month.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Screen
  • Call quality
  • Camera (phenomenal)
  • Charging speed
  • SD card

Cons

  • Battery could have been better
  • Notification vibrate was very weak (main reason I got rid of it)
  • Afraid the glass would break on the back even with a case, read some Amazon reviews (another reason I got rid of it)

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

kusalanupama
posted on 23 Jul 2016, 22:54 (Posts: 9; Member since: 15 Dec 2012)

9

Highly Satisfied

kusalanupama has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

i'm coming from nexus 5x.
i did not use samsung phones since the GS4, but wanted to give a try as reviews were good this time around.
up to this point i don't have a single thing to complain but very minor things.
the build quality is very good in its own way and very comfortable to hold as i have average sized fingers.
camera is just amazing in every possible way. very satisfied.
display is very colorful and pleasant to view and brightness can go either extreme low or high.
fingerprint sensor is very quick just like on touchID
battery can last a full day without a struggle with normal usage. (i dont play games at all but text, web browsing a lot)
lot of people still complain about user interface as touchwiz bombard us with features. as a person coming from nexus phone which i used for 4 months, that phone is just bland. i had to purchase apps to have functionality on some things which i needed. its like building blocks, we need to do everything by ourselves. people say they like pure/vanilla experience but not for me. if you don't like a feature you always have the option to disable it. this is not apple, u r not compelled to use it.
speaker is just average and its water n dust resistant which is a huge relief and advantage.
no phone is perfect

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • beautiful build
  • gorgeous display
  • capable camera
  • all rounder

Cons

  • battery could be better
  • stereo sounds

kusalanupama alternatives:

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ExSamsungUser
posted on 28 Apr 2017, 14:30 (Posts: 1; Member since: 22 Apr 2017)

4

Fancy trash

ExSamsungUser has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The phone is slippery, and due to the edge to edge display it is hard to hold and easy to drop. All the great specs arent worth a damn if the screen breaks. I own 2 of these and both broke within the first month. One of them has broken twice. It slid out of my front pocket while I sat in a beach chair. Thats about an 8 inch drop.

Build quality 1/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 2/10
Display 1/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Memory card

Cons

  • Too fragile

0 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

walterjonesiii
posted on 23 Mar 2017, 09:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Nov 2015)

10

love this phone

walterjonesiii has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Quality build fit well in hand. Snappy response overall great phone. fantastic camea. The low light feature works well. The memorry card capabilities is a nice bonus Would highly recommend to anyone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KC2FYA
posted on 09 Jun 2017, 15:10 (Posts: 3; Member since: 19 Dec 2013)

9

Good Performer, Boost Variant.

KC2FYA has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone does everything and is a true performer. I really like the speed and display resolution. Calls on either the earpiece or speaker are loud and clear. There is a good amount of memory. 32 GB of ROM and 4 GB of RAM. I opted to add a 32 GB Class 10 UHS-I Micro SD Card for 2160p Video. Make certain that you install Micro SD card properly, snaps in lightly in SIM/SD Tray! I received an update to 7.0 Nougat which seems to run great. The UI is better looking.

The WQHD Screen is excellent, very crisp photos even on Maps. I like that one can select the resolution on HD-FHD-WQHD, I keep mine on WQHD and the battery life is fair with moderate usage. Charging the battery is very fast. I opted to have a curved screen protector and Hard Shell case.

Overall this is a real great device I only lose about 0.50% per hour battery life when it is in "Doze" mode. I like that it is rated as an IP-68 Water and Dust resistant. I am a Ham Radio operator and Weather Spotter and the S7 is an excellent tool in the field for me. This by far is the best phone I owned.

Build quality 10/10 Solid Unit, not cheap feeling or looking. I opted to get a Hard case and a curved screen protector.
Reception 9/10 Good Reception in CNJ on Boost Mobile (Sprint). Has improved recently since May of 2017.
Call quality 10/10 Great Audio in Earpiece and Speakerphone. HD calls are amazing.
Internet 9/10 Very Fast using the Chrome Browser.
Multimedia 9/10 Music is Excellent. Many audio options including an EQ.
Camera 9/10 Great Photos with the Camera. I would advise getting an SD Card with a Class 10 or higher rating to shoot QHD Video.
UI speed 9/10 UI is what I expect of a Samsung. The upgrade to 7.0 Nougat (on Boost) made the UI different. Takes getting used to.
Everyday usage 9/10 Very Good performer. My SD Card issue was, the sales person failed to insert the SD Card correctly! It must lightly snap into place in the tray.
Text input 9/10 Intuitive Keyboard. Lot of options. Lots of Emojis.
Display 9/10 The QHD Display is awesome. The AMOLED handles colors well. Very crisp display. The only thing is one must have a curved screen protector to cover the entire screen. I found one in a local store and it is great, 9H rating.
Battery 9/10 Lasts all day with moderate usage, still have 60% at days end. I keep the Wi-Fi, GPS, and Bluetooth off when not in use. I do keep the screen resolution at WQHD.

Pros

  • 2.2 GHz Snapdragon 820 Quad-Core Processor
  • Water and Dust Resistant, IP-68
  • Android 7.0 Nougat
  • Battery Life
  • Loud & Clear Audio in Earpiece and Speaker
  • Camera Dual Pixel, real sharp photos
  • 3000 Ah Battery, Lasts all day+
  • 4 GB of RAM
  • 32 GB of ROM
  • Fast Wall Charger
  • Edge Display, Get a Curved Screen Protector
  • Selection of HD-FHD-WQHD Display Resolution

Cons

  • Non-Removable Battery
  • SD Card Tray flimsy, SD Card must snap in

KC2FYA alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JonathanRey
posted on 15 Dec 2016, 13:35 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Dec 2016)

10

Samsung Galaxy S7 Review

JonathanRey has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Es el mejor celular del mercado, es el mejor que he probado, su camara, su velocidad, personalmente el mejor, mejor que todos los anteriores de la marca samsung, mejor que el J7 sin ser por la calidad de construcción y el tamaño

Build quality 10/10 Glass..
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 All right
Internet 10/10 Nice internet
Multimedia 10/10 Porque son ip68 se escucha un poco mas bajo pero es de muy buena calidad
Camera 10/10 THE BEST OF THE BEST
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Small
Display 10/10 Best display, but not in angle
Battery 10/10 One day..

Pros

  • Camera
  • UI speed
  • Display
  • Text input
  • Multimedia
  • Call cuality
  • Reception
  • Rapid wall charger
  • NFC
  • Stereo headphones

Cons

  • Build quality
  • Battery so-so

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tom2000
posted on 26 Oct 2016, 12:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Jul 2015)

10

Perfect phone!

tom2000 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The display is extremely sharp, the camera makes beautiful pictures also with less light. When it`s dark I almost see more on a photo than with my own eyes. The battery is enough for a whole day but with some more intens use the battery goes pretty fast. Which I understand because the device uses 2 processor which are stronger than the processor of a PS4 for example. Also the screen processor has much work to of course with a display like that. Also the 4 GB of RAM memory is for me extremely useful because I do much things at a time like multitasking and not quiting apps. The always on display is one of my favorite things it looks very nice when you put your phone down.

Build quality 10/10 It looks beatiful!
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Camera
  • Selfie camera
  • UI
  • Keyboard
  • Battery with normal use
  • Always on display

Cons

  • Battery when gaming and stuff like that

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nasareth2
posted on 07 Oct 2016, 21:24 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 May 2014)

9

S7 is a great phone

nasareth2 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've had this phone since March, and it has proven to be an excellent phone so far.I love the IP68 waterproofing feature. One thing that I believe is lacking is the battery. Although it packs a 3000mAh, the power that this phone takes is immense!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

nasareth2 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

simonmmm
posted on 21 Sep 2016, 04:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Sep 2016)

5

Not worth the cost

simonmmm has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Although I'm about to slate this handset, keep in mind I'm comparing it in my head to the Xperia compact, and the Fairphone, so I'm sure it's still better than many lower end phones in speed and features, However!

The two biggest issues are it's too large to operate in one hand, and is also built in slippery materials that feel nice, but mean you Will drop this phone. Then it will break because it's thin and flimsy. Then it will cost you half the cost of the phone (around £200), and at least a week or some serious effort to fix. Because it can only Really be fixed by Samsung, and they can Only fix with the same Colour parts... which they won't have.

Second, the battery will last you a few hours. Litterally, 3-4 hours, if you're using your phone, and that's not even with half the features turned on. If I left NFC, 4G, and GPS on I could run it down in 2 hours while it overheated, but being conscientious, turning off what you don't need, the screen will still gobble the battery, e.g. browsing the internet for a few hours.
The quick-charge is a nice feature, and helps take the sting out, you really can get to 90% in about half an hour but you're still finding places to plug in twice a day OR keeping your screen turned off... which kind of defeats the purpose of an amazing phone with these capabilities.

Originally I recommended this phone to my Dad as his first smartphone. I think it probably is a good phone for technophobes still, it's pretty simple to operate and even has Extra...  

Build quality 2/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 5/10
Display 5/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • Highest specs
  • Waterproof
  • Quality VR
  • Simple
  • Android
  • Display resolution
  • Great Camera
  • Especially in low light

Cons

  • TOO BIG
  • RUBBISH BATTERY
  • Limitations of VR content
  • Bloatware
  • Lack of options
  • Easily breakable
  • Slippy grip
  • Repair costs & difficulty
  • Edge sensitive

1 out of 42 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Muklee
posted on 10 Aug 2016, 05:35 (Posts: 5; Member since: 16 Oct 2014)

9

Better than expected

Muklee has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Switching from iPhone 6 I started using it 4 months ago. My experience has been overwhelmingly positive so far and with the latest software update the battery life has been improved massively. Amazing screen, consistent user experience, great camera and decent build quality. Room for improvement: S voice could be much better though. Mission the stereo speakers from my HTC. I'm not that impressed by the front camera. Screen brightness adjustment can be hectic as well sometimes (iPhone does that better). Ability to wake up the screen with knocking would be handy too.

I have been reading lot of criticism about earlier versions of touchwizz, but I can't complain at all. Looks nice and has plenty of useful features. Touch ID reliable and fast.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10 Using swiftkey :)
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Screen, screen, screen!!!
  • Camera
  • Speed
  • Battery after software update
  • Build quality & design
  • Touch id

Cons

  • Non stereo speakers
  • S-voice, Galaxy app store

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Eoraptor
posted on 07 Jun 2016, 18:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Jun 2016)

9

Great, but maybe not $700 great.

Eoraptor has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The S7 is definitely a flagship phone. It has all the bells and whistles, (fingerprint reading, biometric sensor next to the camera, every antenna under the sun) and the fit and finish you'd expect of iPhone's nearest competitor physically. It also includes high-level wants such as removable storage and water/dust resistance. the phone also includes Gorilla Glass 4, and while I'm not about to actively TRY and test it, I am reasonably sure it will stand up to a few years of every-day life provided you don't abuse the device by sitting on it or putting it in a pocket with your keys.the fingerprint reader is relatively tolerant and responsive, the flash bright without being a washout affair, and the heart sensor is unique

That said, some of the trade-offs you find with this flagship make one question the price. As a flagship phone, it comes with hooks to Samsung's accessory ecosystem, with in-built apps for the fitness watch and the VR headset. While the fitness Apps can be used with just the phone itself (via the sensor) the Gear VR apps just sit there, and take up storage space and system resources even when disabled (thank you Android Marshmallow for that function to disable!) Likewise are corporate tie-ins like facebook and your carrier's suite of choice (Vcast, Sprint-zone, etc).

Another big issue I've personally had with this beast is the OS. The core system is Android 6.0 marshmallow, which is still somewhat new to the market. (android N is still in public beta as of June...  

Build quality 10/10 Very tightly molded and machined parts
Reception 9/10 in periphery signal areas it frequently drops and attempts to reacquire towers, draining battery life.
Call quality 9/10 calls can be glitchy as the phone attempts to jump between HD and standard modes, or cell and wifi calling.
Internet 9/10 compatibility with third party browsers (firefox and opera) leaves performance laggy
Multimedia 8/10 Onboard speaker is good, but not fabulous, and there is only one, chromecasting support is still buggy. no HDMI-out option
Camera 10/10 Camera color and performance is excellent for a mobile phone. device. Front camera even has HDR for better color balance.
UI speed 9/10 Touchwiz overlay is snappy and effective, and has numerous themes available, but seems to cause lag on third party programs (IE non-samsung and non-google)
Everyday usage 9/10 Touchwiz has been toned down from early iterations, but there are still instances of duplicated functionality, or functions where Baic Android is a beter choice than Samsung's alternative. Loaded with bloatware such as facebook and plugins for Samsung peripherals you may not (probably don't) own such as Gear VR and Watch.
Text input 9/10 Samsung's keyboard is very good... but still not on par with either Google's or SwiftKey's pure designs in terms of accuracy, prediction, or flexibility.
Display 10/10 the display is crystal clear, high definition (4k) and good but not overly-saturated color.
Battery 7/10 The battery is not bad by 2016 standards... but obviously it could always be better, particularly when coupled with power-sucking bloat-ware and an antenna that aggressively tries to reacquire signal in marginal areas.

Pros

  • Build Quality
  • SDXC Card
  • Bio-sensor
  • Fingerprint Reader
  • Great Camera
  • 4k Screen
  • Water/Dust tight

Cons

  • Touchwiz bugs
  • Middling battery
  • Bloatware
  • Doesn't live up to performace specs

Eoraptor alternatives:

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

GordonInc
posted on 26 May 2016, 05:14 (Posts: 1; Member since: 09 Aug 2012)

9

Good phone, but little bit unsatisfied considering it's price

GordonInc has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I hoped that so high generation of Samsung phone will be close to perfection. I got little bit disappointed.
For such high end phone, internal storage should be bigger. Just to make sure that people don't run out of it too quickly.

It has it's advantages as well.
One is that there are quite a few software tweaks that are very welcome. For example there is a bubble in Smart View which quickly switches signal on and off to the receiver.
Another would be Always On Display which promises to use just a little energy and provide most significant information on the screen all the time. It's just a shame that it doesn't work with third party apps.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10 My biggest concern here is that Smart View (wireless video; most probably Miracast) does not perform perfectly, even though this function was available already in SGS4. Audio gets delayed over time. It is already delayed the moment I connect, and becomes only worse.
Camera 10/10 I diversity of available options. Especially Pro mode.
UI speed 9/10 Samsung always was behind in that matter. I am mostly irritated by issues in accessing notification area.
Everyday usage 9/10 - One great thing about it is that it has fingerprint reader. - It's glass all over. If you drop it, there is really high chance to break it. - Sides of the screen are rounded! That makes it much more difficult to use protective screens. Especially those out of glass. They don't cover whole screen. - Because battery is not replaceable, you have to remember to have it charged at all times.
Text input 8/10 Personally, I struggle. I push wrong buttons all the time. However, problem lies partially in settings, as I had to make the keyboard little bit smaller, because my protective glass does not cover the whole screen what makes it very difficult to push 'p' when in full size.
Display 10/10 It's very well readable even in direct sun.
Battery 9/10 Seems to be quite fine. However it is a huge shame that it's not easily replaceable.

Pros

  • fingerprint reader
  • bright screen
  • build-in wireless charging
  • NFC
  • performance

Cons

  • Knoxx
  • no root by producer
  • low internal storage
  • glass back
  • no MHL

GordonInc alternatives:

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

New and Refurbished

Show more deals

Latest stories