Google Nexus 9 User Reviews

Overall user rating

8.8

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia
9.4
Internet
9.0
Call quality
8.8
Battery
8.7
Reception
8.8
Display
8.8
Build quality
8.2
Text input
9.2
Everyday usage
9.3
UI speed
8.8
Camera
7.6
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Bertelgeus posted on Dec 26, 2014, 9:54 AM
Posts: 126; Member since: Oct 15, 2014

5.0

Another benchmark cheater

Bertelgeus has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The benchmark scores simply don't translate into real world performance.
I found out after returning that the Denver core is a reincarnation of Transmeta's infamous Crusoe design that requires binary translations at runtime that cause extremely heavy lags from time to time, especially when switching apps.

Avoid it.

Build quality
7.0
It's simply meh
Reception
1.0
Call quality
1.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
5.0
UI speed
5.0
extremely sluggish from time to time
Everyday usage
5.0
Heavy lags
Text input
6.0
Display
8.0
Battery
5.0

Pros

  • Lollipop
  • 4:3 form factor

Cons

  • Expensive
  • Benchmark cheater - bad UX
  • Bad battery life
  • Bad camera

2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Report

shobhit posted on Nov 04, 2014, 2:18 AM
Posts: 13; Member since: Jun 06, 2012

10.0

Awesome Tablet

shobhit has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Very good tablet, Solid Android tablet with little apparent downside. Performance is solid, though a few apps have crashed, most likely due to the nature of Android 5, so hopefully this will improve with time.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Report

Commentator posted on Nov 04, 2014, 2:02 AM
Posts: 3723; Member since: Aug 16, 2011

9.0

Solid Android tablet with little apparent downside

Commentator has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've had this device for just over six hours, so I have to be brief. So far, I've enjoyed the majority of the experience. Colors are solid and vivid, and viewing angles are excellent. My only complaint about the display is that there is some noticeable backlight bleeding, especially when the screen is black. (NB: New users will almost certainly be immediately acquainted with this unfortunate issue, as the Android boot screen is not only predominantly black, but also forces full screen brightness. Don't immediately return the device however, as if you are able to soldier past the loading screen you'll be rewarded with a truly outstanding visual experience.)

The speakers are awesome, probably the best sound I've heard from a tablet.

Battery life seems solid so far.

Build quality is excellent (no noticeable "hollowness" on the back panel of my device.) The matte plastic back handles well, almost identically to last year's Nexus 5 and 7, and the metal rim adds a nice touch. Overall the device carries forward the solid, understated (if even a bit underrated) Nexus design philosophy we've seen evolve over the past couple years: not too flashy, yet certainly not shabby.

Performance is solid, though a few apps have crashed, most likely due to the nature of Android 5, so hopefully this will improve with time.

All in all, the Nexus 9 seems to be a solid Android tablet that won't disappoint if you're looking for an alternative to an iPad. If you've invested heavily into the Google ecosystem...  

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Great screen overall
  • Boomsound speakers
  • Solid construction

Cons

  • Noticeable backlight bleeding on black screen
  • Certain apps have been crashing (most likely Android 5 optimization issue, but we'll see)
  • Camera is mediocre (but whatever, it's a tablet...)

Commentator alternatives:

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

fadyrefaat posted on Jul 22, 2016, 3:05 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 10, 2014

9.0

The best tablet I have seen and used

fadyrefaat has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

A nice and neat tablet that is perfect for the price, it is a reliable one, it always works, always available, with a good battery life, reliable and clean software, fast performance, nice colorful display, two front speakers, and the awesome built quality of htc. What do I need more, I have it for more than two years now and it is still working like new, thanks to Google vanilla Android software.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
10.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

Arjun594654 posted on Jan 19, 2016, 6:28 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 19, 2016

10.0

This device rocks

Arjun594654 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This tablet is a solid Google tablet enough to blow the socks of off any tablet out there.
I love it the day I got it such a good tab even rivals the I pad air 2.
If you are an android fan you've got to get this tab.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • It feels very good in the hands
  • Blazingly fast
  • Latest Android version

Cons

  • No microsdhc slot

Is this review helpful?

Report

Malikai625 posted on Mar 14, 2015, 3:05 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 28, 2013

9.0

My First Tablet

Malikai625 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Google and HTC has created a very solid tablet with the Nexus 9. Everything from the screen to the dual-front facing stereo speakers, dual-core NVIDIA K1 64-bit processor, this tablet screams quality. This is one the Android's best tablets of 2014.

Build quality
9.0
Build quality is exceptional. The only thing that's a little offsetting about it is the back. Mine shipped with very minor imperfections to the back. There are a few uneven spots - dents almost.
Reception
10.0
Seeing as I have the WiFi version, I have absolutely no complaints.
Call quality
10.0
I use Hangouts Dialer as my main calling app on this tablet, and again, I have no complaints. Caller is loud and clear and people have no issues understanding me.
Internet
10.0
It's great. The 4:3 aspect ration is brilliant for browsing the internet.
Multimedia
9.0
Even though I applaud the 4:3, I can't help but feel a little jealous of other 16:9 tablet when watching a movie. However, it's a matter of preference. I still prefer the 4:3 for everything else.
Camera
8.0
Why? Why do you even need to take a picture with your tablet? It just looks strange taking a picture with any slab. Camera is tolerable. Definitely not a deal breaker.
UI speed
10.0
Very little to no UI hitches. I absolutely adore Lollipop. Quite easily the best version of Android yet.
Everyday usage
10.0
I use it everyday - and I love it. Its the perfect balance between conveniently portable, and beautifully large.
Text input
10.0
It's great. I'm not sure what issues you could possibly have in this category. No complaints.
Display
9.0
Big, beautiful bright display. My only complaint is the EXTREMELY subtle light bleeding at the top edge. It's barely even noticeable. Not a deal breaker.
Battery
10.0
This thing works like a champ. Possibly one of the better batteries on any Android tablet I've encountered. Not the best, but definitely among the best.

Pros

  • Speakers are loud and clear
  • UI is fast and mostly smooth

Cons

  • Minor light bleed at top edge of screen
  • No 64GB (or more) storage option

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

pabloxtream9 posted on Mar 09, 2015, 4:05 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 09, 2015

10.0

La mejor tablet

pabloxtream9 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Llevo 2 meses con esta tablet y estoy encantado con ella, para mi es perfecta en todo, para otros no se pero para mi lo es, sobre todo por su sistema operativo android lollypop 5.0 que la hace mas fluida, y encima con un procesador a 64 bits va genial

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Todo, me encanta esta tablet

Cons

  • Nada

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Faxx4840 posted on Jan 04, 2015, 2:39 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 04, 2015

7.0

Good on paper but what a awful build quality !

Faxx4840 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I bought a N9 lunar white 32 GB.
I had a lot of lighbleed, the tablet come so hot after a few use, the backside buttons are so bad that its hard to click on them, and the back of the tablet is convex.
I bought it on google play and I ask them for times to change it. I always receive a tablet with all these problems or with some of them !
The design is beautiful, and for person which like customization the stock android is perfect.
I will wait that google and htc solved all the issues to buy a new one or wait for the new tablet of 2015.

Build quality
1.0
A lot of issues not solved yet (see describe)
Reception
9.0
Good wifi reception
Call quality
9.0
Internet
5.0
Chrome is so bad for the battery !
Multimedia
9.0
Screen is good to watch movie, music sound is good too.
Camera
8.0
Pretty good for a tablet
UI speed
7.0
Android 5.0 needs improvment
Everyday usage
9.0
Good for a daily use
Text input
9.0
Display
5.0
Display is good but so important lightbleed
Battery
5.0
Bad battery life ! 10 hours announced but impossible to achieve this...

Pros

  • Design
  • Stock android
  • 4:3 display

Cons

  • Important lightbleed
  • Very bad build quality

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

CGYCGY posted on Dec 31, 2014, 12:47 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 31, 2014

10.0

Nice tablet ~

CGYCGY has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This tablet has 2 version till now.
Serial Number start with (HT4A...) and (HT4B...)
Serial number start with HT4A is the 1st batch release of Nexus 9.
Some user complained that the 1st batch has heavy backlight bleeding problem and hard button problem ( button hard to press )
I buy mine in Amazon. Mine Nexus 9 serial number start with HT4B.
I found out that my Nexus 9 doesn't has any hard button problem, and doesn't has heavy backlight bleeding issue.

Build quality
10.0
Nice build quality, nice design.
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
Not a very good camera compared to others.
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Good performance
  • Nice battery life
  • Powerful chipset
  • Lag free
  • Light
  • Thin
  • 8.9 inches screen

Cons

  • A little backlight bleeding on the left side of the screen
  • Camera is mediocre
  • Some apps not optimize very well in this tablet (android 5.0 & 64-bit chipset)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

AndroidiOsWindows posted on Nov 29, 2014, 3:52 AM
Posts: 3; Member since: Nov 17, 2014

9.0

Good tablet

AndroidiOsWindows has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The design of the device is very similar to other Nexus devices ,with the soft touch back and on-screen buttons. If you have the black model, the back is a fingerprint magnet, and the metal frame is not as visible as with the other color options. The build quality on the other hand could be better. The back is flexible and at some parts of the edge it feels like the device is not fully even. The power buttons and the volume rocker are not so good, but that's something HTC seems to be fixing. But the design is pretty nice, and the device is pretty nice to hold in hand.

The display is pretty good, but nothing spectacular. It'd have been nice to have the super amoled screen found on the Samsung Galaxy Tab S, but this is ok. Overall the screen is crisp and clear. But many people have had some light bleeding around the edge of the display, or they've found a dead pixel, and when hearing these problems you start to think if it's worth it at 400 dollars (or 490 for the 32 GB model). If you ask me, I would say yes.

The screen has a 4:3 aspect ratio. If you like it or not, comes down to your preferences. If you only watch movies or videos. Maybe if you only play games, you might be better with the Nvidia Shield or the Samsung Galaxy Tab S. On the other hand web browsing is a lot better on this more "squareish" format. Book reading and picture browsing is also better. I think that as an overall tablet this is the better aspect ratio.

Under the hood you get the probably most powerful...  

Build quality
7.0
Flexing back. Otherwise pretty nice especially with the metal frame, but in some ways a little bit disappointing.
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
This is not a phone (especially with the wifi-only model)! But i had to rate it so it's a 9 to match the overall rating.
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Not the best media experience with the 4:3 aspect ratio
Camera
7.0
Tablets are not cameras, but this could be better.
UI speed
9.0
Smooth UI overall, Android has come a long way, but there's some small hickups at some places
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Gets better with the keyboard folio (unfortunately about 130 bucks)
Display
8.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Performance
  • Software

Cons

  • Build quality
  • Camera

AndroidiOsWindows alternatives:

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.