Amazon Kindle Fire User Reviews

Overall user rating

7.0

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed
7.2
Camera
1.0
Multimedia
7.0
Internet
7.0
Call quality
1.0
Battery
6.8
Reception
5.4
Display
7.8
Build quality
7.6
Text input
7.0
Everyday usage
7.6
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

dane723 posted on Mar 17, 2012, 8:30 AM
Posts: 6; Member since: Mar 17, 2012

7.0

good tablet for the price

dane723 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

fast and simple UI, fast processor speed 2x, great display, build quality, rubberish feeling at the back, superb price but few apps to download and that's why all u need to have a c.c. to achieve its maximum potential...

Build quality
10.0
Reception
7.0
Call quality
1.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
1.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
8.0
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • fast and simple UI
  • Dual Core Processor 2x
  • Fast and Smooth performance
  • build quality
  • IPS brilliant display
  • superb price

Cons

  • App Store needs a credit card
  • few apps

Is this review helpful?

Report

asrr62 posted on Feb 03, 2012, 8:50 AM
Posts: 56; Member since: Sep 14, 2011

2.0

Unimpressed

asrr62 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The specs are good on paper its another story when in use. The kindle fire seems like it was rushed out without thought just to make some profit. I have a dual core droid x2 with the same processor clock speed of 1ghz so i should have an idea of how the kindle fire should run. Wrong! The kindle fire is slow. It freezes up frequently and is a hassle to use. The custom amazon ui is a huge annoyance considering how it is so strange and unfamiliar. There is a learning curve compared to other tablets like the iPad or android ones which are almost instinctive to use. Amazon has a filter in the android market which basically filters out all the free apps. Basically there is no good apps to download. The silk browser is slow. I would highly advise anyone that is thinking about buying the kindle fire to rethink.

Build quality
2.0
cheap. missing volume buttons.
Reception
1.0
Call quality
1.0
Internet
2.0
the browser is slow and choppy.
Multimedia
1.0
Camera
1.0
UI speed
2.0
every thing choppy.
Everyday usage
1.0
there is not much use for it
Text input
2.0
Display
2.0
Battery
4.0

Pros

  • cheap price?

Cons

  • the amazon overlay
  • volume buttons
  • slow interface
  • internet connectivity issues

asrr62 alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

thekingofmurica posted on Aug 09, 2015, 10:08 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jul 05, 2015

8.0

Nice tablet

thekingofmurica has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I had the Kindle Fire for just under 3 years before I dropped it on pavement and the screen cracked. It is a nice tablet. It was very reliable. I almost never had problems with it crashing. The browser was nice. It works well as a 1st tablet for young kids.

However, it has such a small app store. It seemed good-sized when I had it (granted for nearly 2 years I owned it, it was the only device that I used that had an app store), but, in hindsight, it is so small. It had no camera, which wasn't a big deal for me when I had it. In hindsight, I must have a camera on a tablet. It has only 8GB of storage (which fills up quickly). I left the Amazon ecosystem after the Kindle Fire broke (went a few months without a tablet, then got the iPad Air 2). Overall, a nice tablet, but not on par with the top Android/iOS tablets.

Ignore the Reception/Call Quality/Camera ratings

Build quality
6.0
It took a few falls before it cracked on the pavement.
Reception
1.0
Wi-Fi only model.
Call quality
1.0
Calls can't be made from a tablet.
Internet
7.0
Silk Browser was competent. Nothing special.
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
1.0
No camera.
UI speed
8.0
Very fluid.
Everyday usage
9.0
It will get the job done well.
Text input
8.0
Display
8.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Cheap
  • Works decently

Cons

  • Small app store
  • Lack of customization (even more than iOS)

Is this review helpful?

Report

webOSlove posted on Jun 30, 2012, 11:55 PM

9.0

Love it

webOSlove has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Its fast and feels incredibly solid. Yes its Android 2.3.5 , but Amazon has gone out of there way to cover that up with an interesting nice UI. The dual core processor gives fluid performance. The display is brilliant Its an EXCELLENT buy, but if u like a camera & a different UI's i think you should wait for the incomjng 200$ tablets

Build quality
10.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
1.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
1.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Incredibly solid
  • Low Price
  • Fast processor and fluid performance
  • simple design?

Cons

  • Lack of camera

webOSlove alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

nwright94 posted on Mar 11, 2012, 12:05 PM

9.0

Great budget device

nwright94 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Great for the price, battery could be better but everything else is great! It is a little annoying to have to adjust volume via software but that's a small gripe. I love the size of it and the screen is gorgeous. You cant go wrong with this at this price.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
1.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
1.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
8.0
Display
10.0
Battery
6.0

Pros

  • Nice display
  • Mostly fast
  • lots of amazon content
  • portable

Cons

  • battery is on the short side
  • no volume buttons
  • front camera would be nice

nwright94 alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.