Here's how you can prevent your friends and family from seeing when you were on Instagram last

Here's how you can prevent your friends and family from seeing when you were on Instagram last
This past week, Instagram added a new feature that allows users to find out when their friends or family last signed on to the app. This will allow you to keep tabs on people you follow or have sent messages to in the past. Word to the wise, this new service is activated by default. And this means that all of the Instagram users who follow you are able to keep tabs on how long it has been since you last opened the Instagram app.

If you think that this is giving away too much information, you can decide to disable the feature. All you have to do is follow these directions. Click on your profile tab and tap the gear icon next to the words Edit Profile. Got it so far? Good. Now, scroll to Settings and where it says Show Activity Status, toggle the switch to off. That is all you need to do to stop your friends and family from knowing how often you use Instagram.

Just keep in mind that when you disable Activity Status, not only won't your friends and family be able to track your Instagram usage, you won't be able to track theirs. But that's okay. You're not the spying kind, are you?

source: BGR

FEATURED VIDEO

7 Comments

1. Anonymous.

Posts: 423; Member since: Jun 15, 2016

It was about time Instagram got this feature. Been using this on WhatsApp to remove the "last seen on..." label. Nifty.

2. cmdacos

Posts: 4110; Member since: Nov 01, 2016

Hmmm not sure why I care...

3. maherk

Posts: 6775; Member since: Feb 10, 2012

There is no gear icon next to Edit Profile on Android, I'm on my Note 8 and I can't see that option.

6. Yousefjaber206

Posts: 110; Member since: Jan 09, 2018

Go to your profile then tap on the three dots up on the left then scroll down you will find it

10. maherk

Posts: 6775; Member since: Feb 10, 2012

Thanks for the help :)

7. L0n3n1nja

Posts: 1550; Member since: Jul 12, 2016

Facebook still shows me when people I'm no longer friends with are online, shows when people were last on, and now they bring the creepiness to Instagram.

9. xq10xa

Posts: 808; Member since: Dec 07, 2010

You can just hit uninstall. They'll never see it again

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.