x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Samsung Galaxy S III User Reviews

8.7 Based on 113 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Display8.9/10
Reception8.9/10
Text input8.7/10
Build quality7.7/10
Everyday usage8.7/10
UI speed8.3/10
Camera8.8/10
Multimedia9/10
Internet9/10
Battery8.2/10
Call quality9/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

na7noo7
posted on 27 Jul 2014, 10:53 (Posts: 278; Member since: 29 Mar 2014)

9

Not that bad.

na7noo7 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I have had it for 1 year and a half, I liked the screen but I hate the plastic build, terrible UI Speed, and the battery drains fast. Overall it's a great phone, it's getting a bit outdated so I decided to post a review now.

Build quality 3/10 Made out of Plastic, but great dimensions.
Reception 8/10 No 4G in my country, but great reception
Call quality 9/10 Has a great call quality I heard, but I haven't made a call
Internet 8/10 Great data speed, but the browser is a bit slow, just download chrome.
Multimedia 10/10 Great screen, even though it's not 1080p or Quad HD
Camera 7/10 Not a great camera since it doesn't have fancy features or image stabilization but takes great pictures and is an 8MP one.
UI speed 1/10 Horrible lag
Everyday usage 9/10 I don't like the UI and apps for daily usage, but if I installed a ROM it's a really good phone.
Text input 5/10 Great swipe to type, but I hate the look of the keyboard, just download swiftkey or something.
Display 10/10 Great 720p screen, as I said with Multimedia
Battery 9/10 Drains faster than I thought, but great battery overall.

Pros

  • Great screen for watching movies
  • Android OS
  • 8MP rear camera
  • Quad Core processor

Cons

  • Battery drains fast
  • Laggy UI
  • Terrible plastic build
  • Too much Bloatware

na7noo7 alternatives:

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

deanylev
posted on 11 Mar 2014, 02:57 (Posts: 213; Member since: 11 Mar 2014)

6

Still holds up today

deanylev has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have had this phone for about just over 6 months and it's pretty great. Battery life is absolutely terrible. Display is gorgeous and camera is pretty great. Build quality sucks. Reception and calls is pretty good. 1GB lags a bit.

Build quality 4/10 Horrible glossy plastic, feels kinda solid.
Reception 7/10 Pretty great all round
Call quality 7/10 Calls sound pretty good
Internet 6/10 Browser lags a bit with only 1GB ram
Multimedia 6/10 Speakers not very good. Ok codec support.
Camera 8/10 Great for 8MP
UI speed 6/10 Lags with only 1GB ram
Everyday usage 7/10 Great
Text input 7/10 Great
Display 9/10 GORGEOUS even if only 720p. Blacks are very deep and colours gorgeous and saturated.
Battery 2/10 Probably some of the worst I have ever seen, at least on my one.

Pros

  • Great display
  • Great camera
  • Great CPU

Cons

  • 1GB ram
  • Battery
  • Build quality

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

NationGuettaTR
posted on 21 Jan 2014, 06:48 (Posts: 38; Member since: 28 Dec 2013)

8

Experience of Galaxy S III I9300

NationGuettaTR has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I describe everything that i gave below 10;

build quality : It's not problem for me but not so good at the same time.
Internet : browser has lags and needs exit button.
UI Speed : Very poor. After 4.0.4 it lags too much and phone become unusable
Everyday Usage : Excellent except battery.

Build quality 5/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • 4.8" HD AMOLED Screen
  • 8.6mm thinness
  • 306ppi
  • Corning GG2 Protection
  • Exynos 4412 Quad-Core processor
  • Expandable Storage up to 64 gb
  • Near Field Communication
  • 720x1280P Screen resolution

Cons

  • 1 Gb RAM (It's not enough to work on Jelly bean ROM)
  • Too much laggy UI (TouchWiz Nature UX & UX 2.0)
  • Get updates too late

NationGuettaTR alternatives:

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

josh_dent910
posted on 01 Nov 2013, 22:35 (Posts: 6; Member since: 11 Oct 2013)

9

Greats Cellphone!

josh_dent910 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is great for everyday use! Really awesome to customize however the TouchWiz Nature UX lags nearly every time I go to the home screen however I'm used to the cellphone and I love it! I really do enjoy the vivid colours of the screen. It makes the photos look even better!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Customizability

Cons

  • TouchWiz Nature UX sometimes lags

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jehovah
posted on 10 Jul 2013, 00:04 (Posts: 69; Member since: 25 Jun 2013)

9

Excelent Phone, no more no less

Jehovah has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The Galaxy S III deserves all the sucess it had over more than a year of its release. If only I hadn't the impression that it would break in pieces after the first fall, but then again I am a declared Nokia fan.

Build quality 6/10 Being a Nokia heavy user, I got this phone from my birthday and the only thing that really troubles me is the fear that it would not the same beating as my Nokias
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10 Expected more from such impressive specs, but still puts a good performance
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 Strong point
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Excelente display size, quality and resolution
  • Android is a dominant and shall be for the forseable future
  • Respectable specs

Cons

  • Plastic construction
  • Fragile feel

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Malki
posted on 29 Apr 2013, 06:18 (Posts: 68; Member since: 20 Feb 2013)

10

My first Samsung Galaxy phone :)

Malki has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is my first Samsung Galaxy phone. Before this, I had Lg gt540 Optimus. The s3 is incredible fast, ui is not lagging, all games are running on it without lags. Some peoples thinks, its design is ugly, but I think, the s3 is looking very good :)

Build quality 10/10 Very good build quality.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 The voice is very clear during the calls.
Internet 10/10 The browser is not lagging, its very smooth at the flash sites too :)
Multimedia 10/10 The display is very good, video playback is fantastik
Camera 9/10 The camera is very good, but sometimes it makes a little bit bad pictures.
UI speed 10/10 The UI is not lagging, it's very smooth :)
Everyday usage 9/10 Can't use with one hand, when you are walkig on the street.
Text input 10/10 The keyboard is very responsive :)
Display 10/10 The Amoled display is very good, i thing it's better than LCD dispays.
Battery 10/10 It can hold with one charge for one or two days.

Pros

  • Very fast
  • The gorilla glass is not scratching :)
  • The phone is looking very good
  • It's very smart

Cons

  • Hard to use with one hand

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

baraheemo
posted on 02 Apr 2013, 19:43 (Posts: 15; Member since: 21 Nov 2011)

10

It is Very good but not enough

baraheemo has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Android 4.0 must be 4.2 very soon , however it is one of best smart phones that samsung has made them and i wish in the future to upgrade the Build quality to alaminium material
that was everything i would like to talk here in phonearena .com

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Very fast
  • Unique
  • Fluid

Cons

  • Battery must be better than the previous devices
  • All its body is a plastic
  • The camera is not good enough

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

night_elf
posted on 02 Apr 2013, 07:47 (Posts: 45; Member since: 02 Apr 2013)

10

It is good to be the King.

night_elf has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The (by far) best Smartphone i had! Trust me I'm an engineer! Smartphones i had so far are: iPhone 3G, 3Gs, 4s, 5, HTC One X, i9000 and i9100 and i was never so amazed by a Phone like with the Galaxy S3. Its worth every $ or € you spend on it!

Build quality 10/10 I know everyone says Build Quality is bad, Cheap plastic and so on. But thats not true! The plastic feels pleasant in your hand. It doesnt slip of your hand.
Reception 10/10 The phone with the best reception i had so far.
Call quality 10/10 It's fantastic!!!
Internet 10/10 The big display makes it a wonderful device to browse the internet.
Multimedia 10/10 Its comes with lots of codec support! And you can simply copy paste media into your device, what do you want more? (Not to mention the Wonderful Colors of the AMOLED Display when watching films).
Camera 10/10 One of the best Cellphone cams on market. Burst Shot is amazing!
UI speed 10/10 Well the quad-core processor does its job. A small tip for all android users, get Startupmanager to speed your phone up.
Everyday usage 10/10 You can do anything you want! No limitations!
Text input 10/10 Swype is the best Text Input i know so far, so nothing to say more.
Display 10/10 Two words: Super AMOLED! And is really super!!!
Battery 10/10 Well it got me 2 Work days, best achievement since i9000 for me.

Pros

  • MicroSD (+64 GB)
  • Amoled Display
  • Replaceble Battery, Battery Life
  • Very fast CPU (Quad Core)
  • Multiwindow (or as i call it Real Multitasking)
  • NFC, WiFi-Direct
  • Notification LED
  • Feels light in your hand
  • Customizable, Motions, Smart Reations
  • I could go on with Pros, but there is no more space left :)

Cons

  • The design could be better

night_elf alternatives:

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

abdane
posted on 26 Mar 2013, 13:42 (Posts: 494; Member since: 07 Oct 2011)

10

Best... Phone... EVER !

abdane has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

i had it for about 10 months... and it is the best device i ever had, i had the GS2, then got iP4S, then got back to GS2, and now have the almighty GS3, absolutely amazing ! Gonna buy the GS4 next ^_^

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

Cons

  • a bit weird shape.

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RohanM
posted on 06 Feb 2013, 08:30 (Posts: 140; Member since: 15 Jan 2013)

10

King Of Smartphones :)

RohanM has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The best smartphone. this is my 2nd android after entry level LG optimus Net. Impressed with GS3. The Display is Gorgeous, Gorrila glass 2 for protection. Speed of the phone is Gr8. All games works well. Like the smart stay function. Excellent Smartphone :)

Build quality 9/10 Plastic back
Reception 10/10 superb
Call quality 10/10 best
Internet 10/10 Ek no.
Multimedia 10/10 Best
Camera 9/10 9 because night shots are not that impressive, day photographs is good.
UI speed 10/10 Project Butter
Everyday usage 10/10 Mast
Text input 10/10 Good
Display 10/10 Excellent
Battery 10/10 Impressed.

Pros

  • Superb Display
  • Quad core & speed
  • Camera
  • All games work

Cons

  • Gets warm pretty quick.
  • Plastic Back

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

decent4u
posted on 01 Feb 2013, 01:50 (Posts: 75; Member since: 26 Apr 2012)

10

International Samsung Galaxy S3

decent4u has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Best phone I have used till now. Everything is superb. Rooted at first but now Unrooted because it started lagging with most ROMS. After unrooting its fast and responsive with no problems at all.
It's Battery last with more than one day with me with Playing some games Using Camera 1 or 2 times a day Reading Some News And Some little calls throughout the day.

Build quality 9/10 Not the Best Build Quality Out there, But Not Bad Either.
Reception 10/10 Best! No signal problem.I have more signals even when most phones nearby have 1 or none
Call quality 10/10 Nice call Quality, Nice Clear Sound Not only on my end but the other end(whom I'am talking to) also gets clear sound without the noise from background
Internet 10/10 Fast Browsing Experience With Nice large Screen. Perfect!
Multimedia 10/10 No Problem EveryThing Plays Nicely With Great Quality
Camera 10/10 Best Used till Now. Compared the Camera With My friends Mobile Phones guess What I WON :)
UI speed 10/10 As told Earlier Nice speed and responsiveness with project butter but without rooting I had better Results Overall
Everyday usage 9/10 Nice phone but using it with One hand is not the easiest thing in the world And it becomes worse when u are sweating in the summer
Text input 9/10 Nice, Easy And Fast text Input when when using in portrait mode but shifting to Landscape not the best typing Experience
Display 9/10 There are Better Displays Out There in the Market but this one's not bad just not the best
Battery 10/10 Better then my previous mobile phone which were the HTC and iPhone

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

recond9
posted on 11 Jan 2013, 10:54 (Posts: 50; Member since: 11 Jan 2013)

9

A relatively good phone.

recond9 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The biggest fault of this phone is the fact that you can't install apps on the external SD card,witch is a shame if you have a 64 GB card.
Except that ,the phone is very good and I highly recommend it.

Build quality 8/10 Good quality plastic ,but easy to scratch.
Reception 8/10 Maybe is just mine but i am always getting only half of signal,when phones around me get full bars.But overall that doesn't affect call quality.
Call quality 10/10 Very loud and clear sound.
Internet 10/10 Good,but not all the times.
Multimedia 10/10 You have every multimedia thing you need in this phone.
Camera 8/10 Compared to other phones at this price,camera quality is not that good especially indoor( for photos).Video recording is superb,the only complain i have is that the clips are very big in 1080p. For example 15 minutes of video has around 3.7 GB.
UI speed 9/10 It gets a little laggy after you install more apps. (Skype and the Voice Assistant are quite harmful for the UI Speed, at least in my case)
Everyday usage 9/10 it's quite wide and a bit hard to hold in one hand, especially at night in bed when the back of the phone gets all slippery.
Text input 10/10 Great keyboard,through the landscape one is quite hard to get used to.
Display 9/10 The display has amazing black tones and vivid colors,but is not that bright as iPhone's display for example.
Battery 9/10 Well,i choose this phone over the One X for the great battery life,and so far it's ok. With 1 hour of 3G browsing,2-3 hours of music listing,a couple of text messages and 30 minutes of talking,I can easily get one day of battery life (12-16 hours)

Pros

  • Good battery
  • Large display
  • Great support from developers(Xda)
  • Touch Wiz has one of the best interfaces on android
  • Snappy camera
  • Notification LED is very hady
  • Fast internet connection
  • Good speaker quality

Cons

  • You can't install apps on the external Micro SD card
  • Scratches easy
  • It's wide

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

StrumerJohn
posted on 08 Jan 2013, 06:39 (Posts: 66; Member since: 18 May 2011)

10

Awesome

StrumerJohn has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It is good. Very fast phone and has a ton of cool features. It has great battery and a really nice screen. The camera on it is also amazing.If you want a good phone, GET THIS PHONE. Samsung Galaxy S III rules!

Build quality 10/10 Although it's plastic, it feels great and I don't have to worry about it breaking!
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

DomSanity
posted on 20 Dec 2012, 12:55 (Posts: 28; Member since: 13 Dec 2012)

10

One great phone!

DomSanity has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The Best phone I ever had,I must say all it need is better software optimization and software updates must come to my country earlier. If you're a new android user, your money is worth it whit this device.. Goodluck

Build quality 9/10 Though it's made entirely of plastic, It's sturdy and feels solid!
Reception 9/10 Maybe it's my network's fault why I sometimes receive low reception but overall its good
Call quality 9/10 Great! I Very clear voice!
Internet 10/10 It's fast but our my network sucks
Multimedia 10/10 One of the best Multimedia experience! Great screen and loud speakers = Damn
Camera 10/10 Very snappy! Though I have a hard time using Macro shots, can't focus on my subject that much
UI speed 9/10 Touchwiz UX crashes more often after upgrading to 4.1.1
Everyday usage 10/10 Gives everything I need
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 I'm loving the AMOLED, but sometimes I used the Natural Mode
Battery 9/10 battery hog, need to charge it 2-3x a day because I always play a game using WI-FI, but with normal use,I usually achieved 2 days of batt life

Pros

  • Everything

Cons

  • Touchwiz crashes after JB update
  • Lags when net connection is on and you open too many apps

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

chack_fu
posted on 15 Oct 2012, 15:03 (Posts: 46; Member since: 19 Jan 2009)

9

Best phone I've carried

chack_fu has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I've carried a lot of phones each phone has had its ups and downs. The S3's downs can be easily corrected! Cant wait for Jelly Bean, the S-Voice functions dont work that well. Very Customizable UI. Multi task home button functions very well to switch between apps!

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 6/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Awesome display
  • Battery is great for display size/quality

Cons

  • stock swipe keyboard is horrible
  • plastic feels a little cheap without a case
  • S-Voice featurespretty much worthless

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ckingt4
posted on 27 Sep 2012, 15:41 (Posts: 26; Member since: 15 May 2012)

10

So Smooth

ckingt4 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I've been so impressed with the camera and the speed of this monster. The screen is huge but it really fits well in the pocket. I Hate skins on android phones but touchwiz is ok, havent loaded roms because the allshare, buddy shot, pop out video are too important to use since my friends and wife have the gs3 also.

Build quality 9/10 Would have preferred a metalic more rigid design.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 pop out video is suprisingly useful
Camera 10/10 coming from an iPhone 4 and a Razr its hands down the best I've used thus far on a phone.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Keyboard is sooo spacious.
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10 would have loved to see a bit larger battery, 2500 plus.

Pros

  • Everything else.

Cons

  • Plastic

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

doejon
posted on 27 Sep 2012, 12:37 (Posts: 398; Member since: 31 Jul 2012)

10

international

doejon has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

one of the best smartphones on the market perhaps the most complete handset
at the moment and with jelly bean it will be even better. u have a microsdcardslot, removable big battery. the connectivity with other hardware is just awsome for example u can connect ur external harddrive to ur phone or a gamepad (xbox360, playsation 3 etc). also samsung has tried to put useful features in. for example popup-play or smart stay.. and i think in the feauture even svoice will get better.. and thats way i think the s3 is the most enjoyable phone out there

Build quality 10/10 the build quality is top
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 is top a tons of features
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

doejon alternatives:

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

x88yunkw
posted on 24 Sep 2012, 08:16 (Posts: 123; Member since: 20 Aug 2012)

10

feedback on my s3

x88yunkw has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Very nice smartphone. No complaint ,just the battery not last for long. Tried many ways to make my phone battery last longer but failed. Today downloaded the "power setting", allow me to on off data and screen easily.

Build quality 10/10 Totally new design, sleek and simple.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 Very clear image
Battery 10/10 For the size you get, it is reasonable good.

Pros

  • perfect

Cons

x88yunkw alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

whysoserious
posted on 07 Sep 2012, 04:27 (Posts: 318; Member since: 20 Jul 2012)

9

Great Smartphone!

whysoserious has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Totally satisfied with this phone! At first, I was doubtful about the huge size, but in the long run, I quickly got used to it. Same thing with the design which is a personal preference. It didn't work for most people, but it did for me as time went by. features, specs and battery life are amazing as well. The camera is so-so. It takes great outdoor shot with perfect color and superb brightness, but sometimes indoor shot turns out to have a lot of noise even if the room is well-lit. Overall, it's a great phone.

Build quality 9/10 Even with the plastic build, I like the brush finish and the extra plastic coating makes it more resistant to scratches.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 Very clear
Internet 9/10 Size of the screen is perfect for browsing. Fast and very responsive, too.
Multimedia 10/10 Music player is perfect!!! One of the things I loved about s3.
Camera 8/10 Good enough, but I wish it could have been better.
UI speed 10/10 No lags, really fast.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10 Good display quality. Plus extra fuctions to choose the type of display makes it more versatile.
Battery 9/10 Last more or a little less than a day with slight heavy use.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

TediT
posted on 13 Oct 2012, 05:53 (Posts: 41; Member since: 03 Sep 2012)

9

Best phone out there

TediT has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Samsung galaxy S3 GT-I9300 Unlocked, Stock Room, NO Root!

This phone is great. Very fast and good looking. The only thing is that it comes with a lot of preloaded APPs that I never use. I've heard non-Stock Rooms don't have these APPs that's why they are faster. Other than that, everything works flowless :)

Build quality 7/10 Really Sammy? Plastic?
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10 Could have been much better!
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10 Better than the one on the SGS2 but still...might have been a bit better

Pros

  • fast processor
  • great camera

Cons

  • cheap build materials
  • not so good batery

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

xtremesv
posted on 01 Sep 2012, 03:37 (Posts: 297; Member since: 21 Oct 2011)

9

The best Android phone I have owned so far

xtremesv has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The biggest letdown I had, when SGS3 was shown to the world, was its curvy glossy plastic design which in my opinion didn't match the hype surrounding the device. Then I got the chance to sell my SGS2 for a good price and my carrier contract was due so I went for the Galaxy S III International Version. The design is so-so but being the last Samsung flagship, it always catches people's attention. The build quality is average and far from superb. But the features that really make this smartphone a leader in its class are: an outstanding 4.8" display, not for everyone though because it may be too big for tiny hands. This device exudes multimedia performance, name it: music and video quality, photo viewing, internet speediness, gaming. The camera is a mixed bag though, taking photos is extremely fast but quality is just OK for a high-end smartphone, on the other hand, video recording quality is very good. UI responsiveness and smoothness are certainly better than SGS2 but there are times when minimal lag is felt, of course this is just me being perfectionist. Smart Stay and new gestures like the one to take screenshots are great. I tried S Voice like twice and concluded it is as gimmicky as Siri, useless in my case. Battery life is superior to any other Android smartphone I owned before (Captivate, Infuse and SGS2), I consider myself a heavy user and I manage to squeeze 12 hours from that 2100mAh battery, that is more than my previous phones which delivered 8-10 hours at most. Overall...  

Build quality 7/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Great display
  • Superb multimedia capabilities
  • Above average battery life
  • Smart Stay and new gestures

Cons

  • So-so design and build quality
  • Limited RAM for the international version
  • Minimal lag is still present

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

fwinst
posted on 29 Aug 2012, 13:19 (Posts: 64; Member since: 08 May 2010)

10

Great phone!!

fwinst has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I can't complain. I find the phone easy and fun to use. I have absolutely NO issues with build quality, and haven't had any issues with the glossy coating peeling. The phone travels in my pocket quite nicely. The one software issue I'd like updated is storage. I'd like to be able to have apps load to the SD card. However, with 32 gb of internal storage, and a 32 gb SD card, I haven't even come close to filling the phone.

Build quality 10/10 I don't want a glass body as it is too fragile. I keep my phone in my pocket, so I don't want a metal case that will get dented. I think the plastic is more durable. The glossy coating makes it look and feel top-notch.
Reception 9/10 I gave this a nine because of my carrier (Sprint). While I get great reception in and around Minneapolis, I traveled to L.A. this summer and the reception was spotty, at best. This isn't the phone's issue, it's Sprint.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 While I can't get LTE yet, I've noticed a significant improvement in internet over my HTC EVO 4G
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 LOVE the camera. Great pictures, no lag.
UI speed 10/10 No lag...GREAT
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Big screen = bigger keys = less mistakes for those with bigger fingers!!
Display 10/10 Gorgeous
Battery 10/10 I make it through the day with moderate usage. Here's the key...I CAN CHANGE MY OWN BATTERY!!! I always carry a spare

Pros

  • Big display
  • FAST!!
  • Decent battery life AND i can change my own battery
  • LOTS of storage
  • Fun software
  • MicroSD storage up to 64GB

Cons

  • Sprint's spotty reception in some areas

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

yajia1
posted on 23 Aug 2012, 05:57 (Posts: 151; Member since: 22 Aug 2012)

7

International version.

yajia1 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Upon seeing it in the internet, i told myself i must have it. I must have never been more wrong in my life. After 3 days of use, that cheap glossy finish of the back cover started peeling off big time! Very disgusting! I payed a fortune for this and that's what i would get?! It's an abomination! And the cheap gray lining on the sides? Started having scratches after 10 days of use. argghh! I bought a new back cover (which costed me some dollars once m
ore!) and when i receive it, i would definitely sell this cheap slab of a plastic toy. The screen seems to be gorgeous at first but as time went by, you started getting tired having all colors turned dark and over saturated. Not a good buy at all. Uber cheap plastic glossy build and dark screen. Frustrating much!

Build quality 1/10 After 3 days of use, that cheap glossy finish of the back cover started peeling off big time! Very disgusting! I payed a fortune for this and that's what i would get?! It's an abomination!
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 5/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Smooth and Great Multitasking.

Cons

  • Cheap glossy finish that peels off
  • So-so battery.
  • Screen turns colors dark, especially green.
  • Touchwiz reloads when away from homescreen for a while.

3 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CellularNinja
posted on 11 Aug 2012, 14:06 (Posts: 306; Member since: 27 Sep 2011)

10

Best Phone I have ever owned.

CellularNinja has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I love this phone so much. I have owned an iPhone and Windows Phone, and this one easily tops both. It tops Windows because of customization and app selection. And it destroys iPhone in customization. Honestly, I can do so much with this phone. I just love it. The screen size makes it so nice to watch videos on and playing games is also really nice on it.

Unlike most, I actually like the design alot! The plastic isn't my fave but that actual look of the device is very nice in my opinion. The camera is also excellent! Just as good as the iPhone (which is a very good camera).

The software is incredibly smooth (very strange for an android phone) probably due to the beefed up hardware specs like 2 gigs of ram and dual-core processor. This phone also has soooo many little but nice features.

Just to name a few: Swipe over screen to take screenshot
Face unlock
Calling by putting phone up to ear while in messages
4 apps at lock screen that you can go straight to


Build quality 9/10 It may be plastic, but it is extremely well built and sturdy. It also feels solid in the hand.
Reception 10/10 I get extremely good reception! We were in a friends basement and we both had AT&T, and my phone had service but my friends LG Nitro did not have service.
Call quality 10/10 Nothing to complain about. I hear them well, they hear me well... nuff said
Internet 10/10 Very fast internet. Plus the screen size makes it so much nicer to browse
Multimedia 10/10 I use Pandora for music mostly, but for watching movies this phone just rocks.
Camera 10/10 Excellent camera with good sharpness and color reproduction.
UI speed 10/10 With the beefy specs and Ice Cream Sandwich, this phone can breeze through the UI without any hiccups.
Everyday usage 10/10 It makes me happy.
Text input 10/10 The screen size once again adds to the awesomeness of other features. No problems here.
Display 10/10 I could spend a day talking about the screen on this baby. Movies looks super awesome, texting is so easy, and browsing the web is a joy with this screen. LOVE IT! Best part of the phone.
Battery 8/10 I usually have to charge it sometime during the day. But it does well considering the screen it has to power combined with LTE.

Pros

  • Screen (size, ppi, color)
  • Physical Home Button
  • Camera
  • Form Factor
  • Ice Cream Sandwich
  • Amazing Features
  • Android
  • Google Play Store

Cons

  • Battery life could be better

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

TMach
posted on 03 Aug 2012, 19:02 (Posts: 454; Member since: 29 Dec 2011)

1

Samsung Galaxy S3

TMach has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It is a bit pointless reviewing this phone as it has a major and insurmountable flaw which over rides any perceived qualitative aspects of the handset. The build quality is shocking to say the least! I have the blue variant and it developed a crack near the USB port. I have NEVER dropped or damaged the phone in anyway and the crack is a straight line stress fracture, there are several examples on the net - see androidauthority/knowyour mobile webs sites - upon contacting Samsung, I was told it is not covered by warranty and I need to take it to a samsung repair centre. This is going to cost £135 to repair! The Service Centre stated that they need to charge as until the fault is acknowledged by Samsung, they risk not getting recompensed by Samsung. The centre has had approximately 30 with a similar problem and has reported the issue to Samsung. Samsung is refusing to take ownership of this issue which leaves this customer, sorry, ex-customer out of pocket. Shoody customer care and build quality makes this a no brainer for me......

Build quality 2/10 See review
Reception 5/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 1/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • None

Cons

  • Build Quality detracts completely from any positives

4 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy Accessories

Latest stories