Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 Review

Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 Review
Introduction:

Love Android smartphones, but don’t care for the cellular connectivity that normally accompanies them? Well, you’re in luck, because the Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 aims to provide the wealth of functionality found with Android, without costing a whole lot of money out of your pockets. Priced at $149.99, this portable media player is Samsung’s answer to comparable devices such as Apple’s iPod Touch.


Design:

Without a doubt, the design of the Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 follows in the same premise as most other Samsung made devices – meaning, it’s comprised out of lightweight plastic. However, it lacks any sort of appeal with its appearance, and ultimately, it comes off as something forgettable.

The Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 is comprised out of lightweight plastic - Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 Review
The Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 is comprised out of lightweight plastic - Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 Review

The Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 is comprised out of lightweight plastic


Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 Review
Android buttons - Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 Review

Android buttons

Front-facing camera - Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 Review

Front-facing camera


Around the sides of the Galaxy Player 3.6, we find a 3.5mm headset jack, microphone, microUSB port, volume control, power button, and a spot for a lanyard. Furthermore, much like its smartphone counterparts, it features a front-facing VGA camera and a trio of Android capacitive buttons.

Left edge - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 - Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 Review

Left edge

microUSB port and 3.5mm jack (top) - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 - Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 Review

microUSB port and 3.5mm jack (top)

Power and volume keys (right) - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 - Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 Review

Power and volume keys (right)

The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6


Flip it over, we find a 2-megapixel camera and two notches for its speaker grill in the rear of the device. Meanwhile, prying off the rear cover grants us access to its 1,500 mAh battery and microSD card slot.

Back - Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 Review

Back

Rear camera - Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 Review

Rear camera

Battery compartment - Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 Review

Battery compartment




Display:

Many of Samsung’s smartphones are outfitted with some high-tech displays, but sadly, the Galaxy Player 3.6 settles with the leftovers. Specifically, it’s donning a 3.65” HVGA (320 x 480) LCD display that’s one of the poorest quality we’ve seen in a while – mainly because we’re repulsed by its bland colors, poor viewing angles, and its near invisible appearance outdoors.



Viewing angles - Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 Review
Viewing angles - Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 Review

Viewing angles



Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 360-degrees View:



FEATURED VIDEO

16 Comments

1. mercorp

Posts: 1045; Member since: Jan 28, 2012

Dont get it,please.

2. kshell1

Posts: 1143; Member since: Oct 05, 2011

Agreed, this device is just horrible, good for a very very budget minded person, but you could probably get a decent tablet like the kindle fire or something ANYTHING for a little bit more.

12. ThePhoneCricket322

Posts: 4; Member since: Jan 03, 2014

Definitely. It is just terrible. Got it for christmas and instantly regretted it.

16. ThePhoneCricket322

Posts: 4; Member since: Jan 03, 2014

Sound quality is amazing compareed to the Nexus 5 though

3. -box-

Posts: 3991; Member since: Jan 04, 2012

So good for kids that want to play games with their friends, and good for those parents who don't want their kids to spend their time on the phone or texting when they should be doing homework or something, and with the added benefit of affordability. Granted a used phone with a dead SIM would work in the same capacity, but that adds added bulk and more complications for replacement if something happened to it

4. mercorp

Posts: 1045; Member since: Jan 28, 2012

Even the ipod touch can do better than this.

5. kshell1

Posts: 1143; Member since: Oct 05, 2011

^^^^lol

7. solidsnakeduds013

Posts: 219; Member since: Oct 20, 2010

Thats the new S3!! OHHHH

11. Raymond_htc

Posts: 430; Member since: Apr 06, 2012

But can it call?

13. ThePhoneCricket322

Posts: 4; Member since: Jan 03, 2014

The S3 can call (only in cellular versions)

8. LordBonztie

Posts: 52; Member since: Nov 14, 2011

iphone vs sgs ipod touch vs sgs player

9. BattleBrat

Posts: 1476; Member since: Oct 26, 2011

At least with the Walkman Z series they put some EFFORT into it!

10. Chadl

Posts: 1; Member since: May 09, 2012

How come every time I see a review on a galaxy player they start talking about phones. However they don't say it about the iPod touch. I own both and I don't use the iPod anymore. Why, the camera is better, It has GPS, ever once in while I just want to hear the radio and I can use it in place of my smart phone to save the battery when I'm in a wifi area. I don't have the 3.6 but I have the 4.0. I see them compare the phone to a smart phone and they suggest I buy a smart phone. Ok, if I want a smart phone plan yes that's what I will do but just suppose you have a smart phone and you wanted a device like this do you think that even is a partly wise suggestion? There are no smart phones I know of new for $150 that won't cause a few issues because it is designed to have phone service. Just stick to the point. It is a MP3 media player that has a camera and will allow you to use it in place of your phone. Also, why not mention the GPS, Radio, that you can tether it via Bluetooth to a not so smart phone and answer and make calls. I would like to see a review using the iPod touch as the bench mark and go from there not a cell phone a consumer buying this type of product wants to know to get this or a iPod not a phone.

14. waterbear

Posts: 1; Member since: Feb 20, 2014

GPS is not working on the Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6! Google: galaxy player 3.6 GPS issues. That is a shame!

15. ThePhoneCricket322

Posts: 4; Member since: Jan 03, 2014

I know right

* Some comments have been hidden, because they don't meet the discussions rules.

Galaxy Player 3.6
  • Display 3.6" 320 x 480 pixels
  • Camera 2 MP / 0.3 MP VGA front
  • Storage 8 GB + microSDHC
  • Battery 1200 mAh

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.