Asus Eee Pad Transformer Review
Introduction:


Is it a tablet? Is it a netbook? No, it's an Asus Eee Pad Transformer! Somewhere in between the two, this smart new device from ASUS operates as a standalone tablet with Honeycomb, a 10” IPS screen and a 1GHz dual-core NVIDIA Tegra 2 processor. Take things one step further and you can get a full sized keyboard attachment bundled in, turning the tablet into an Android netbook. If past experience is anything to go by, devices that try and do too many things tend to be jacks of all traits and masters of none, so lets see if the ASUS Eee Pad Transformer breaks the mold and scores highly across the board.


Design:


The Asus Eee Pad Transformer comes with similar front panel aesthetics to the Motorola XOOM, with the same screen aspect ratio and a distinct lack of physical buttons. Despite not being as lithe as the iPad 2 and upcoming Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1, at 12.9 mm thick it doesn't feel as cumbersome as some other tablets due to a curved ergonomic backing which has a bronze textured finish. With the same finish on the underside of the keyboard, the whole package feels very unified indeed.



Question: What do you get if you cross an Apple iPad 2 and a Motorola XOOM display? Answer: An Asus Eee Pad Transformer screen, of course. With the best of both, it combines the IPS technology found in the iPad 2 with the Motorola XOOM's higher resolution. What this practically means is better viewing angles and a sharper image. While the XOOM's picture also has a tendency to look washed out and under-saturated, the Asus Eee Pad Transformer raises the bar with bright, vivid colors and good contrast levels, though the screen doesn't feel quite as responsive as the one on Apple's tab and loves finger-prints.


The fascia is where you'll find both the front facing 1.3MP camera and light sensor directly above the display when in landscape. Along the left side are the only physical buttons, in the form of power and volume rocker, while on the right side, a mini HDMI slot, audio jack and microSD card slot are housed. On the underside is a proprietary power connector while on the back, the main 5MP snapper. The bronze textured backing looks good, but feels a touch hollow despite the tab feeling durable on the whole.



In addition to providing a full sized keyboard, the transforming dock also add 2 USB ports, a full sized SD card slot and an additional proprietary charging port. The keyboard keys are individual chiclets and deliver fantastic typing speeds, being well spaced out and offering a good amount of feedback when pressed. The keys are a modified layout to accommodate Google's Honeycomb, offering a home button and a row of function keys as well. Below the keyboard is a wide aspect-ratio track pad and left/right click buttons, while above is the hinge element.


Upon connecting the tablet and dock, there really is very little to suggest they are not a single netbook-esque package. The mechanics are secure, the design - strikingly unified, and the interaction in terms of functionality - extremely cohesive. When we used the Asus Eee Pad Transformer out and about, people were shocked at the detachability of the two, with the only downside of using it out and about relating to the hinge. When disconnected, the hinge protrudes out at an angle and makes the keyboard element an awkward shape to stow away.



With a pretty attractive look and feel, a Motorola XOOM beating price tag and a gorgeous display, the Asus Eee Pad Transformer is definitely good. The dock component however makes the device's design border on greatness. Asus have honed their netbook expertise to deliver a cohesive, considered accessory that works seamlessly and doesn't come with a Motorola ATRIX dock price-point. Some areas could be more refined, namely the hinge when the two elements aren't one, but at $693 (£429) for the tablet and dock combination, it's by no means a deal breaker.

FEATURED VIDEO

20 Comments

1. TDroid21

Posts: 70; Member since: Apr 04, 2011

Don't give a damn if rear camera sucks so long as front cam is onew of teh best! Besides, i don't see any use of rear camera for a tablet. It's plain awkward shooting with an overasized pad esp in public. Also it just makes tablet more costly.

18. Christopher C. Mitchell unregistered

After much research and reading reviews i decided to purchase the Transformer tablet due to the new Honeycomb operating system, its ability to dock the keyboard and the price. The tablet is very light and thin so perfect for my frequent travel and the ASUS custom apps work well too. The ASUS MyNet app allows you to stream music from your WiFi DLNA source so great or all my music. This app currently does not support XVID format streaming but hoping this will change in a future update. You can get round this by using an app such as MoboPlayer which will run XVID's directly from the MicroSD slot on the side of the tablet. Battery life is great and i've only had to charge it twice in the past week on the back of a several of hours use each evening. This is by far the best Honeycomb tablet out on the market today, easily beating the ACER and XOOM in terms of flexibility and price. Overall an excellent tablet and highly recommended! ( I suggest you have to compare for best price before you buy it at Amz4deals.info/EeePad-Transformer ) Enjoy!

2. AndroidTroll

Posts: 359; Member since: Mar 05, 2011

Wait, so how is iPad 2 a better tablet?!? LMAO PA is so biased!

3. Droid_X_Doug

Posts: 5993; Member since: Dec 22, 2010

ASUS needs to get their production capacity ramped up. At the moment, they seem to have the best tablet that can't be produced.

4. protozeloz

Posts: 5396; Member since: Sep 16, 2010

Its on sale on best buy....... wait is gone again T-T

5. Nuadar unregistered

Under developed platform? its far more advanced than your boring iOS, its having some isuess but that will be fixed soon... Awkward shape of hinge when dock isn’t connected? who the hell will carry and show this dock without tablet? im planning to either always carry it connected or putting it into bag...another think is how the hell you you want to cower something like removable tablet?? screen loves fingerprints? :O really?REALLY?? every possible touch screen loves fingerprints...EVERY ONE OF THEM...there are no differences i would deffinately gave this device 9 or 9,5 just because its first really competetive android 3.0 tablet on the market...only bad thing about it is really low production capacity

6. bossmt_2

Posts: 459; Member since: Oct 13, 2009

I think a huge pro as well is pricing point. 16 Gig core 2 tablet for 399, 100 bucks cheaper than it's biggest competition. Cheaper than the playbook, Galaxy Tab, iPad, Xoom, etc. If they keep coming in 100 bucks cheaper but with a good product how can you complain? I'm thinking about picking this bad boy up, and I'll probably never use the keyboard. But here's the key to the keyboard, if you're using the tablet for E-Reader, or if you like me want to use a tablet for online tablature, this is a built in that you can use for hands off access. And that is a nice add on. Even if you throw away the keyboard it's a nice deal. Only thing I'm gonna wait on is seeing how long it takes to get updates. But then again as long as they don't lock the bootloader I can just get the updates on my own.

7. qbeezy unregistered

"If however, keyboarding isn't your idea of a tab-ulous time, check out the iPad 2" Really? It's an optional dock. Last time I checked it was still a tablet. This is just biased. Flat out bias. And fngerprint magnet? My ipad had a hellacious time with it. Not just any tab. And awkard shape of henge when dock isn't connected? Bitching cause if you're not using the dock why does it matter!

8. Dan Fox unregistered

So, at the end of this glowing review we are told to buy an iPad because it's thinner. That's not a reason to buy an iPad. If you had said that we should buy an iPad because it comes in white, then you wouldn't have come across so biased. But white clashes with my ginger cat, and therefore I have ordered the Asus Transformer from Amazon. It just will have to do, I'm 'fraid.

9. Alan2balls unregistered

I think Apple paid iPhoneArena to point the video to the sun to test the 720p video quality lol

10. waspbloke unregistered

I really wanted this from reading reviews and the product specs. But then I saw the promotional video and now I don't think I want it anymore - I *really* don't want to be one of those w**kers!

11. Nick unregistered

Hi.. I've got this baby a week ago. It work like silk! The keyboard docking definately is a plus point. When I reply my email, when i edit my excel/doc.. just feel like using notebook but Android system. Enjoy the best of two world!! I've ipad 2 but I gave it to my wife and I'm using this transformer whenever I go! It has the feature of Mac book Air (open to turn on).. So no waiting time to start up! Loving it..!! The price is attractive!!

12. BarryLlewellynpersonalbacete

Posts: 2; Member since: May 16, 2011

I have it, and am using it right now! Its very good. I was one of those lucky people to get it before stocks ran out and I can say that I understand why!! Its excellent and definitly worth getting!!!! Unfortunatly the keyboard as out of stock!!! Grrr I was told it will be in on Saturday, hopefully!! And if your wondering where I got mine, I got it in PC World over in Ireland. There isn't much of a demand to get it because most of us Irish are drunk and cannot by a good tablet and end up getting the I pad!!!

14. aob unregistered

Under developed software.... When you can multi-task better, have real-time widgets, more free apps, make your own apps, customize anything from live wallpaper to adjusting your look and feel of the screen... You pretty much just screamed, "I am an apple fan boy"... And how is the dock having an "awkward shape of hinge when NOT connected" be a con? IT'S NOT CONNECTED!!!! DOES IT EVEN MATTER?? IS IT EVEN AWKWARD? The answer is probably not. Fingerprints. Funny how the fingerprint "con" isn't noticed on the iPad review. It seems that most websites now-a-days that are reviewing tablets (or, plainly bowing down to Steve waiting for him to tell them to jump) are just trying to find reasons to give other tablets that are clearly better a bad rating. I'm starting a search for a real review website. I will post on these fake ones quite often the websites that I find, so no one has to listen to little apple fan boys who are pretty much just like sheep on a farm when it comes to having their own voice.

15. Sankarakrishnan unregistered

Refer to techradar.com for a just review, in which ASUS EPT topped the benchmark test. A review every tab lover must not miss. Pros and cons are genuine in that reveiw, not like PA.

16. chezzitstealer

Posts: 17; Member since: Aug 03, 2011

i will stop watching and watching your guys reviews if you dont stop saying ipad! ipad ipad ipad ipad ipad its f**king annoying! thank you for your time.

17. Trololo unregistered

WTF? iPad, better? No way.

19. quesoesgrande

Posts: 217; Member since: Aug 03, 2011

love the tablet but i can't say i love the price also, the keyboard should come free or cheap with the device but instead its really expensive!!!!! Hopefully I can make it happen for Christmas but who knows...

20. papdoc

Posts: 1; Member since: Jan 21, 2012

Who Would Spend 499$ ON IPAD 2 its an oversized ipod touch..... where android tablets are a bit cheaper in price ... but are awesome like the galaxy tab eeepad transformer and even the motorola xoom ipad is total rubbish waste of money

21. lollipoplorna

Posts: 1; Member since: Oct 11, 2012

I have just bought a prime tablet and im having problems with email storage. It just does not save my email messages. After reading them, the next time i turn on my machine the messages have disappeared. Can anyone help me with this, or send me a link to a page that will tell me how to solve the problem. I have lost some valuable messages....
Eee Pad Transformer
  • Display 10.1" 1280 x 800 pixels
  • Camera 5 MP / 1.3 MP front
  • Processor NVIDIA Tegra 2, Dual-core, 1000 MHz
  • Storage 32 GB + microSDHC

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.