OnePlus 8 Pro User Reviews Back

Overall user rating

9.0

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed
9.5
Camera
8.0
Multimedia
9.0
Internet
8.5
Call quality
8.5
Battery
8.5
Reception
8.8
Display
9.5
Build quality
8.5
Text input
8.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Eggie86 posted on Jun 04, 2020, 5:10 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jun 04, 2020

9.0

OnePlus 8 Pro review

Eggie86 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Overall been using it for a week. Asides from it being my priciest phone so far, and having understood that OnePlus models use to have flagship specs at a more affordable price point - it took me a lot of convincing before I decided to opt for the 8 Pro. In truth, there weren't that many options, but they were certainly cheaper ones which I was shortlisting, such as the Realme X2Pro. Oh, and not forgetting the Oppo Find X2 Pro... Impressive specs indeed with mind boggling prices. I guess the 120Hz refresh rate and insane speeds plus rave reviews on Oxygen OS pretty much made me opt for it after 2-3 years of using Huawei's flagships. So far it's been quite a good experience so far.

Build quality
9.0
Ultramarine Blue looks very stunning in real life. Also, slider to mute/vibrate/ring has such a satisfying click to it when used.
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
So far calls sound good.
Internet
8.0
Haven't managed to test out on 5G speeds yet but so far surfing websites and Youtube videos have been quite a smooth affair.
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
7.0
Camera is pretty decent and nifty. Will try out more functions and filters too before coming to a final rating on the camera.
UI speed
10.0
It's an incredibly fast phone with hardly any lag.
Everyday usage
9.0
The curved edges might take some getting used to especially when trying to concentrate or pin the cursor in text boxes on Whatsapp/WeChat etc.
Text input
7.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0
Warp Charge works as advertised.

Pros

  • Speed,
  • 120Hz Screen
  • Better camera than previous OnePlus models
  • Oxygen OS looks clean and minimalistic

Cons

  • Hope for more font customisation options instead of changing the launcher thru Google Play apps

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

peterskimo posted on May 31, 2020, 8:14 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 22, 2019

9.0

Excellent phone!

peterskimo has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone is my 5th OnePlus smartphone and i love. Display is bright and camera are awesome. I feel that color filter sensor is little bit useless maybe, im not sure.
I have used Samsung and pure Android phones and i must say that Oxygen OS gives the best Android experience!

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Display
  • Oxygen OS
  • Battery Life

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

RVCos posted on May 13, 2020, 3:38 PM
Posts: 4; Member since: Apr 18, 2020

10.0

My Opinion vs the 7T PRO

RVCos has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I had the 7T Pro McLaren edition before the 8 Pro. Sold that phone to upgrade and have not regreted it. The other reviewer points out that there is not a major differences, I have to ask, if they actually have the device. The differences are numerous. 1) Brighter, better screen with one of displaymates highest ratings. It gets much brighter than its predecessor with more accurate color and higher refresh rate, which is noticeable. 2) 5G supports the same Midband, but if you are a T-Mobile customer, their merger with Sprint will greatly enhance 5G performance. I am now getting 200Gb/s. While not quite mmWaves fast, it more than fits the bill for my needs. It does support VoLTE and VoWiFi on T-Mobile. I am not sure for Verizon, but considering they moved away from CDMA to VoLTE and this phone is certified on their network, I would say chances are good. 3) Wireless charging, the 7T Pro doesn't have it, and the 8 Pro has it on Steriods! Downside, only does super charging with their wireless charger, but it is fast enough not to rely on the wall wart. 4) Better Camera, while not the best in its category, it definitely holds it's own now and leads in some areas vs the competition. 5) Battery, even with 120hz, its battery life is significantly better than the 7T Pro., just google it. Bottom line it was a significant enough upgrade for me that I pulled the trigger, and the wireless charging feature along with the other items I outlined here made it worth the investment.  

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
8.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Screen, Wireless Charging, Improved Camera, Call Quality, Features

Cons

  • Camera sticks out in the back (Not an issue with a case on it) Only the verizon version supports mmWave 5G

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Report

kalekter posted on Apr 26, 2020, 1:38 PM
Posts: 1; Member since: Apr 17, 2020

8.0

VS 7T pro

kalekter has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I don't feel a major difference VS 7T pro that I had in the past. 5G option was no longer in the menu and limited vowifi support is a deal breaker for me. I thought that with 5G they will, at least, have wider support for volte and vowifi.

Build quality
7.0
Reception
7.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
8.0
Display
8.0
Battery
8.0

2 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless