Motorola Moto X (2014) User Reviews

Overall user rating

9.2

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera
7.8
Multimedia
9.2
Internet
9.6
Call quality
9.5
Battery
8.0
Reception
9.7
Display
9.4
Build quality
9.2
Text input
9.2
Everyday usage
9.3
UI speed
9.6
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

King_bilo posted on Sep 05, 2015, 10:09 AM
Posts: 115; Member since: May 20, 2015

9.0

Approaching everything I ever need in a phine

King_bilo has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Great phone. I staked it out for months before buying.. Did not let me down on most accounts.
The battery is OK. But I wish it lasted longer. Just so I could use the phone more.
The UI is a joy. Always reliable, never lagging. Speaker is crisp and clear. Love watching movies on it.
The camera is disappointing in low and medium light. And it struggles sometimes to focus but when you get the right shot it comes out fine.

I love this phone. But its little drawbacks in certain areas leave me itching for what Motorola will come up with next.

One major note is that although the customisable back is beautiful to look at, I advice anyone shelling out on this phone to buy a case. The screen is pretty exposed and could crack on dropping without a case.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
10.0
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • Beautiful build
  • Fast UI
  • Good speaker

Cons

  • Battery is average
  • Camera is poor in low light
  • Glass is exposed to crack from drops

Is this review helpful?

Report

desgua posted on May 26, 2015, 1:42 PM
Posts: 11; Member since: Sep 12, 2013

9.0

Great Phone

desgua has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It has good built quality.
It is beautiful.
It is responsive.
It has good battery life.
But I miss the Galaxy S4 camera.
Suggestion: use a cover protection because there are people who say the screen is prone do crack on falls.

Build quality
9.0
Almost perfect. It has some space collecting dust at speakers. And I heard that the display can break easily.
Reception
10.0
It works where no other phone works.
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Motorola apps are fast and beautiful.
Camera
6.0
I am very disappointed after having a Galaxy S4. The Moto X photos has much noise, can't take night shots, struggles to focus, and don't recognizes faces.
UI speed
10.0
Almost perfect. Eventually a hiccup.
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
9.0
Google keyboard is good. But I prefer Swiftkeyboard.
Display
7.0
Another deception when compared to Galaxy S4. Looks like it has an increased contrast so you can't see details in dark areas. The good side is you can greatly control the brightness, so: (1) it is good outdoors and (2) indoors.
Battery
9.0
It is so much better then S4, which lasts for about 8 hours of moderate use. Moto X can lasts 15h hours of moderate use.

Pros

  • UI
  • Responsiveness
  • Moto apps

Cons

  • Camera

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

louisd posted on Mar 15, 2015, 8:50 AM
Posts: 9; Member since: Mar 15, 2015

10.0

Love it. Best reception of any phone I've had.

louisd has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I'm so happy with this phone. Reception is plain amazing, getting signal where other phones don't. Battery life is adequate and I'm very happy with the 5.2" screen. It is a good compromise between too small and too big.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
This phone gets signal in more places, and hold it longer, than any phone I've ever owned.
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
I get LTE service (on AT&T) in places that my other phones don't. Speeds are excellent too!
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Beautiful Screen
  • Incredible Reception

Cons

  • Non-replaceable battery
  • No SD Slot

Is this review helpful?

Report

cjslman posted on Mar 07, 2015, 8:56 AM
Posts: 23; Member since: Aug 29, 2012

10.0

An excellent phone for the price range

cjslman has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Very good cell phone for a good price. I have the experience from the previous Moto X (2013) and this is a good improvement. I would have liked the additional SD card slot, but I guess the "perfect" phone isn't out there yet.

Build quality
9.0
Feels solid, built with quality materials. I get complements all the time about how nice it looks
Reception
10.0
No problems with reception, have signal all the time
Call quality
10.0
Voices are clear. No complaints from people receiving my calls
Internet
10.0
Can get internet access at anytime either with wifi or data.
Multimedia
10.0
Good reproduction of music, loud and clear. Videos look great, no complaints.
Camera
9.0
It's improved from the previous Moto X, but still needs some time to focus.
UI speed
9.0
No lagging, nice flow
Everyday usage
10.0
I have found that it is a great companion for taking notes and helping organize my day
Text input
9.0
Text input better than previous vers of Moto X. The big screen helps a lot.
Display
10.0
Excellent, nice colors, easy to read. Still difficult to read in sunlight but it's better than the previous Moto X
Battery
10.0
I have not had any issues with the battery, but then I'm not a power user. For my needs, the bettery lasts more than ehough.

Pros

  • An excellent phone for the price range
  • The Motorola/Google ecosystem is really good and productive

Cons

  • A tad too big. I think 5" it would have better
  • No external/aditional SD card slot

Is this review helpful?

Report

mqmorasch posted on Oct 21, 2014, 4:24 PM
Posts: 12; Member since: Nov 18, 2013

10.0

Finally a worthy flagship device for Motorola

mqmorasch has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Not sure what the noob had issues with predictive text not existing...sounds like the phone is smarter than the user. The build is a TON better than the 2013 edition, while keeping the user favorites like the always listening and an near pure Android experience.

Build quality
10.0
Sturdy, solid, and pleasing to theveye
Reception
10.0
AT&T reception is always aces in Tamp Bay
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
Laking some features for the camera, but a beautiful 4K video
UI speed
10.0
2.5 ghz quad core on a small overlay = super fast
Everyday usage
10.0
Always listening...need I say more?
Text input
10.0
Excellent Google keyboard with spacious key space, as well as a top notch autocorrect and predictive text/
Display
10.0
over 420+ PPI
Battery
10.0
I get a solid day of heavy use

Pros

  • Build, Speed, High Res display, 4K video record

Cons

  • Lack luster photos, no memory expansion.

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Report

PhilippBuerek posted on Aug 14, 2015, 8:25 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 14, 2015

10.0

Really liking this phone

PhilippBuerek has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Using this phone from past one month. Here is my experience:
-Superb build quality
-Great design
-Blazing performance
-Good signal reception
-All features work accurately
-Clear, bright and beautiful display

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

Manleks.x posted on Aug 14, 2015, 1:02 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 04, 2015

9.0

Brilliant phone that would have replacement battery

Manleks.x has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I used this phone for a month and I loved the experience of use, is very beautiful from any angle where you look, the colors are a bit saturated although they look very good. The screen size is enough for high quality videos and processor perfectly fulfills its mission, you hardly will see lag in their management. The camera is very good. The command "I hear you" is good but many things are not well understood, perhaps IPhone Siri is better, but it helps. The only thing that I have to mention of this excellent phone is its poor battery, with difficulty comes alive late in the day and that means you need to disable practically GPS, WiFi and lower the screen brightness to hardly see anything. In short, very good phone, I recommend it.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Display
10.0
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • Very good screen
  • Great processor
  • Good resolution
  • Good camera

Cons

  • Very poor battery

Manleks.x alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

Furor1005 posted on Aug 12, 2015, 9:03 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 12, 2015

10.0

WOW

Furor1005 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Best Phone ever!!!! Has a really good interface i have had no problema with it yet and it is just and incredible phone i hope to have updates un the future but you will really like this phone. I recomend it 10/10

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

vpbizpa posted on Jul 18, 2015, 8:50 PM
Posts: 1; Member since: Mar 26, 2015

9.0

Only a few weeks in but so far it's great!

vpbizpa has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I bought the phone when it was on sale for $299.99. The price is factoring into my review.

Build Quality: There were some pretty scary reviews about the screen being easily damaged but after speaking with several owners they've all confirmed no damage from drops while a case was present. However, all reviews left about a fragile screen fail to mention if the phone was in a case -- so I would assume it was not. Aside from the screen the phone feels well put together. It's nothing that made my jaw drop but it doesn't feel cheap either.

Reception: Just as good reception as my Galaxy Alpha, and that phone seemed to have better reception that most.

Call Quality: Others hear me fine, and I hear them fine. Speaker is nice and loud.

Internet: Fine..

Multimedia: Keep in mind only the bottom speaker is used for music and what not. The top is a receiver for in-calls.

Camera: Was expecting some pretty horrific photos given the camera reviews but they're not bad. They're decent but not superb; wouldn't expect much more from a $300 phone.

UI Speed: Uhh ... fast? No, VERY FAST. Keeping it vanilla has done wonders for the Moto X.

Everyday Usage: I think this phone could hold up as a gaming phone just fine. It doesn't seem to get hot with regular use and it certainly meets all the marks with specs.

Text Input: Seems fine... no reason to rate anything other than 10.

Display: Gets pretty darn bright, and extremely dark! Some complain about a pinkish/purple tint when the screen gets real...  

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

jacobsampaul posted on Jun 05, 2015, 7:58 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jun 05, 2015

4.0

Too costly for a phone with bad build quality

jacobsampaul has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I had a moto x 2, the display broke too soon and the replacement I got for my precustomised phone has the bamboo back peeling off and the inscription all messed up!

Called customer care and they promised me accessories worth 50$.
I dont want any more moto stuff, not even a replacement!

Camera is not good either...

Build quality
1.0
Display broke once, replacement phone had the bamboo back coming off!
Reception
8.0
Call quality
5.0
Internet
5.0
Multimedia
5.0
Camera
3.0
UI speed
4.0
Everyday usage
5.0
Text input
5.0
Display
4.0
Battery
4.0

Pros

  • Cuatomizable

Cons

  • Bad build quality

jacobsampaul alternatives:

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

ck1964 posted on May 13, 2015, 2:45 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 13, 2015

10.0

Best Phone I Ever Owned - Big Screens WIN!

ck1964 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I can't tell you how happy I bought this phone, never a regret. My sister has iPhone 6+, I like my Moto X better. I also use an OTG cable to plug my flash drives, to up my storage to UNLIMITED. After owning this for 5 months, there are features I am still learning about. I love being to ask a question, or make my phone do something while inside my pocket. I will be getting the 3rd Gen Moto X because I enjoy owning the best products. Simply brilliant - not perfect but pretty close.

Build quality
10.0
Have dropped several time, glass survived.
Reception
10.0
I use TMO, and in my area my LTE is faster than my home WIFI. In areas where I previously got no signal, improvement.
Call quality
10.0
Sounds great
Internet
10.0
Super fast load time, beautiful big screen
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
Camera could improve with low light, wish it had OIS.
UI speed
10.0
The best I ever saw
Everyday usage
10.0
It's my personal and work phone
Text input
10.0
Easy
Display
10.0
Awsome
Battery
9.0
I use the hell out of it, but my previous Moto G had the best battery of any phone I ever owned.

Pros

  • OTG cable = Unlimited storage
  • Gorgeous Big Screen
  • Wicked Fast Processor

Cons

No Cons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

galaxynoteuser posted on Mar 12, 2015, 5:25 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 12, 2015

10.0

Moto x 2014 10/10

galaxynoteuser has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

For the price its amazing even if it had the same price as a samsungalaxy s5 or even a htc one m8. I like the moto display and moto voice things that actually help in everyday use i hace has no issues with this phone it is absoulutley the Best brand name phone you can get the processer is blazing quick and the screen is just a sight to see

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Fast cpu
  • Good Gpu
  • big screen
  • Good camera

Cons

  • average battery life 4.5- 5 hours of screen on time

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

godimoo posted on Mar 08, 2015, 10:39 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 08, 2015

10.0

Motorola did it again

godimoo has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Well this phone is a major update con 2013 moto x and i just love how it performs i have had no lag no slow downs no major problem, just maybe the camera but just a little bit and i say that you should get this phone if your looking for a phone worth the money

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Better than other flagship phones

Cons

  • Not as good camera as other flagships

Is this review helpful?

Report

davidspice posted on Feb 28, 2015, 3:05 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 28, 2015

10.0

Moto X 2nd Generation

davidspice has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Useful phone it has everything i need an i like how fast it is and it makes feel that i made the correcta choice on buying this excellent phone i hace to say that this phone is justo a mini version of a nexus 6 justo with Motorola apps con it. This Phone Is A Must Buy!!!!

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • everything is fast,beautiful and useful

Cons

  • non

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

motoxmaxx posted on Feb 15, 2015, 9:01 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 15, 2015

10.0

Best Motorola Device!!!

motoxmaxx has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The Best phone Motorola has made, it is over the competition in speed in almost anything like opening apps and and playing games and personaly i prefer it over any other device ehmm *galaxy s5* and it takes just as good photos as any other flagship today, i recomend it for any Motorola veteran user and even other brand loyalty costumers!

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Everything is well optimized
  • Love the colors on the big 5.2 screen
  • Ultra fast on high demanding games (dead trigger2, asphalt 8, modern combat 5, etc.)
  • Good Battery Life
  • Nice 4k vĂ­deo and 13mp camera

Cons

  • non at all

Is this review helpful?

Report

cmmp991 posted on Feb 15, 2015, 8:29 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 15, 2015

10.0

Best Flagship Device Today

cmmp991 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Was saving up for the moto x for a long time and i wasn't dissapointed! This phone is absolutley fast at everything and is even faster than the galaxy s5 this is a highly recomended phone for anyone with a desire for a near stock android Device!

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Big Beautiful Screen
  • Powerful Phone (really great for games)
  • Fast Internet Browsing
  • Extremely Handy Moto Voice and Moto display
  • Really good speaker
  • Even faster with android 5.0

Cons

  • Not really the camera is only slightly below other high end devices

cmmp991 alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

RoobieeTavarees posted on Jan 08, 2015, 12:09 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jun 25, 2014

9.0

Moto X Review.

RoobieeTavarees has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The Moto X is an incredible device, I use as my dailydriver since 3 weeks, and it's better than other phones, is faster, the screen is very good. The bad of the is the Battery, has 2300 mAh, I guess that 2800 mAh is enough to the Moto X, and the camera, works fine, but isn't like the Note 4 or the Z3. Is a Cheap device, maybe that is the reason for the battery or the camera.

Build quality
9.0
Made of Aluminum, well, have aluminum, feel like a premium device.
Reception
9.0
Good, the LTE works fine.
Call quality
9.0
Good.
Internet
9.0
Fine.
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
7.0
Need more details, and OIS.
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Lollipop, works very well.
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Beautiful, the AMOLED display seems great, it seems like a QHD display.
Battery
7.0
Good, but not enough, I got like 3 or 4 hours with screen on.

Pros

  • Beautiful Colors.
  • Great Design.
  • Powerful Device.
  • Cheap.
  • Size.
  • Great Screen.

Cons

  • Camera.
  • Ring Flash.
  • Battery Life.
  • Back Colors.
  • Leather.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

phoneguru340 posted on Dec 25, 2014, 3:20 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 25, 2014

9.0

Flagship Worthy

phoneguru340 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is a great phone Motorola really stepped their game up on this one. Now let's start with design... Phone feels premium and sturdy. I have the black leather and love it, although my case covers up the leather. There is a dimple on the back under the camera lens that is a perfect anchor for your finger. The phone has a metal frame which acts as an antenna. Phone is well balanced and for a larger than average phone fits well in the hand. Next I want to talk about the screen. This phone has an AMOLED screen at 423 PPI. Looks amazing I was very impressed. .1 larger than the S5. Call quality is superb, voices are clear. This phone does black in the camera department compared to other flagships. Does have a 13 MP camera but low light photos are not the greatest. I personally don't need the best camera on my phone this camera performs better than I need. Takes great quality videos and can even record in 4k. There is one major downside to this phone and that is the battery. Its a 2300 and gets you through the day with light usage but heavy users will need to have a charger handy. now the phone does have quick charge 2.0 so that does help. This phone is fast and I mean fast. Quicker than any phone I have used. Has the 801 chip set with adreno 330 graphics most flagships have right now. The fact that this phone is nearly stock makes it faster than most phones. There is no SD slot and the battery is not removable. Again not a big deal to me. For the price this phone is a flagship killer...  

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
Display
9.0
Battery
7.0

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

graham5571 posted on Dec 13, 2014, 4:36 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 13, 2014

9.0

Great phone so far

graham5571 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Picked the Moto X up during the Cyber monday deal, and I'm very happy with my decision. Coming from a Galaxy S3, this phone is an improvement in almost every way. I'd say my main gripes are the relatively mediocre camera and battery life, but neither of those are too big of a deal (esp. seeing as this phone supports Quickcharge 2.0, and can fully recharge in about an hour). Overall, it's a great device-- on par with everything currently out there but at a bit nicer of a price. The fact that it has near stock android (and a few nice Motorola additions, such as Active Display) with quick updates is also a nice plus for those who want to be on the bleeding edge

Build quality
9.0
I got the leather back off of Moto maker, and so far it's holding up well. My only complaint so far is the vibration motor. It is borderline rattly when I am typing quickly (due to haptic feedback) and when I receive a text, it's pretty loud. Other than that, it's a very premium feeling device that feels good in hand.
Reception
10.0
I live in an area with good reception. Haven't had any problems so far.
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Nice 5.2 inch display and front facing speakers make for a good multimedia device.
Camera
7.0
Not that great in low light conditions, but fits my needs as a casual user.
UI speed
10.0
Butter smooth & already has Android Lollipop.
Everyday usage
10.0
Fits my lifestyle very well. I can browse reddit, text, and watch a few Netflix videos with ease.
Text input
10.0
Comes with the Google keyboard, which I find nice. You can always install swiftkey, swype, etc if you don't like it.
Display
9.0
Although it can't compare with newer AMOLED displays like those on the Note 4, I find the X's screen to be very pleasant to look at. There have been reports of burn-in on the nav buttons, but I haven't had any problems with that yet (only 1 month in).
Battery
7.0
Gets me through the day, but that's about it. I have to keep a charger handy if I know I'm going to be using it a lot.

Pros

  • Good price
  • Lots of customization options (via Moto Maker)
  • Stock android & quick updates
  • Active Display

Cons

  • Camera isn't quite on par with the competition
  • Battery is only enough to get you through the day

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Report

ThePhoneCricket322 posted on Dec 08, 2014, 2:13 PM
Posts: 4; Member since: Jan 03, 2014

10.0

Moto X: A Budget Phone that Beats the Rest

ThePhoneCricket322 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The new flagship phone for Motorola is an unexpected powerhouse with a battery life to enjoy. Ignore all of those negative reviews, because this phone is almost perfect. This phone is almost as close to stock Android as a Nexus, and has an unlockable bootloader for those people who like flashing custom ROMs.

Build quality
10.0
C'mon, a fully customizable phone; build quality is a steal!
Reception
10.0
This phone's aluminum frame also counts as an antenna, making call reception a lot better than the competition
Call quality
10.0
Read the reception section 'cause I'm only going to say Ditto to the above mention reason.
Internet
10.0
Internet is ultra fast
Multimedia
10.0
Runs multimedia like Usain Bolt.
Camera
9.0
A 13MP camera is almost perfect and that dual-ring flash though...
UI speed
10.0
Don't even start with the UI speed. A Qualcomm Snapdragon 801 Chipset ultimately rivals the competition
Everyday usage
10.0
Do I even have to talk?
Text input
10.0
With the addition of Google Keyboard with built in Swype, text input on this phone takes the cake
Display
10.0
A 1080 pixel display rivals the Samsung GS6 and the HTC One M8 so...
Battery
9.0
Battery life is above average for it's battery percentage, but won't usually last you the whole day.

Pros

  • Virtually no lag, AT ALL
  • 1080 pixel display makes it perfect for gaming; trust me
  • Upgrade-able to Android 5.0
  • Really user friendly if you know how to set it yp.
  • Perfectly Compatible with SolRepublic Tracks Air

Cons

  • I got nothing

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Report

AMDredux posted on Nov 14, 2014, 3:41 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 14, 2014

10.0

Great starter for Android newbs

AMDredux has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I'm reviewing this phone based off the price mostly, I picked it up at Costco for a sweet deal of $.01 for a two year contract. I've been pleasantly surprised with it, the applications are very intuitive, it didn't take me very long to configure the settings the way I liked, the camera looks great for a light camera user, I love the gesture feature and I love the ergonomics of this device. If you're on a budget this is a great phone to go for. Best Buy is currently $1 while Costco is $.01 otherwise $99.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
My neck of the woods is hard on reception, the fact it's doing better than my old phone is good enough for me
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Gestures is easy to use
  • Very intuitive

Cons

  • battery life

AMDredux alternatives:

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Report

EdsonBastos23 posted on Oct 31, 2014, 2:16 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 31, 2014

9.0

The almost Nexus

EdsonBastos23 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

There are no competition for Motorola on Brazil, where I life. Like really, with a price tag 40% lass than his competitor, the Moto X (2014) update every aspect of his predecessor, but keep the same great user interface, and pure android experience. The battery it's not great, but can last a day. For anyone how was a Nexus buyer on the pass or how likes the old Moto X its a solid alternative.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
In my country the price tag is really low, so the phone having been really good on sales
Call quality
8.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Nexus Like experience

Cons

  • Battery Life

EdsonBastos23 alternatives:

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

Torben_d posted on Oct 20, 2014, 3:32 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 20, 2014

5.0

Read all the positive reviews closely, because the only two positive things with this phone is design and Screen weak up.

Torben_d has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

If you ever had a Samsung Galaxy don't chose Moto X Gen2, you will be so disappointed.
The Calendar monthly view is useless, not possible to schedule Peak time for mail.
Camera has not been seen this bad for years.
Default the Wifi is always on, and used in the background eating the Battery in no time.

Build quality
9.0
Very nice design and feel
Reception
8.0
OK Signal
Call quality
6.0
Some noise and low sound on calls
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
3.0
Camera
1.0
I don't remember last phone with a camera this bad.
UI speed
9.0
UI is very responsiv
Everyday usage
2.0
The Calendar and mail program is so poorly made, I miss my old Galaxy 3 every time.
Text input
1.0
How is it possible to make a phone in 2014 that can't suggest the next word, but only correct what you are writing.
Display
9.0
Great collors and ok light
Battery
2.0
The low score is because default the wifi will drain your battery in the background.

Pros

  • Design
  • Weakup screen when you move your hand over the screen

Cons

  • Mail & Calendar APPs are less than badly made
  • Almost no configuration possibilities
  • No file Explorer installed to browse the phone
  • Camera is not worth mentioning

Torben_d alternatives:

3 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Report

_dsouza_ posted on Oct 03, 2014, 6:20 AM
Posts: 4; Member since: Oct 03, 2014

9.0

Excellent phone

_dsouza_ has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I upgraded from the Moto X 2013 to the new Moto X 2014. The version I got here in Brazil is the fully unlocked model XT1097. We don't have Motomaker here, we only have three options (black resin, black leather or white bamboo) and it comes with 32GB by default. I upgraded from the old Moto X essentially because of the bigger display and more storage memory. Overall I believe it was a very good upgrade. The only point I am missing my old Moto X is the camera quality of the new Moto X, which is not good. Also, since I use to take pictures using 16:9 format, the new Moto X actually has a *lower* resolution than the old Moto X considering the 16:9 format because the sensors have a different format (16:9 native in the old Moto X and 4:3 in the new Moto X). The battery is OK for my personal usage, at least as good as the old Moto X if not better. I really hope Motorola can improve the camera quality, this is the only thing that bothers me in the new Moto X.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Good price for a high end phone
  • Pure Android, no bloatware (Motorola add-ons do not change the original Android experience)
  • Excellent screen,
  • 32GB by default for the unlocked model sold here in Brazil
  • Active display (this is really a good feature)

Cons

  • Camera could be better

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.