Google Pixel 4 User Reviews

Overall user rating

8.7

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia
8.8
Internet
9.0
Call quality
9.5
Battery
7.2
Reception
9.5
Display
8.8
Build quality
9.8
Text input
9.7
Everyday usage
8.3
UI speed
9.7
Camera
9.2
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

goulav posted on Feb 01, 2020, 1:11 PM
Posts: 7; Member since: Jan 03, 2012

7.0

Not quite a flagship phone...

goulav has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've been waiting to get a Pixel device and the carrier I have is finally carrying them. I had Android devices exclusively until the iPhone 7 and then to a 10. I was stoked to get a Pixel. A few things that I've noticed in the month or so that I've had it... Battery life is pretty poor. I hate having to worry about battery life. I also had to get new wireless chargers because the two I had aren't working with the Pixel. There isn't a "Bold" option for text like there is on an iPhone, Samsung or LG. I use my phone a lot with it sitting a few feet from me on my desk and that is a helpful option. Not sure the soli is beneficial but I am really liking the 90Hz refresh rate. Pictures are awesome. Active edge is really cool.

Overall, I'd like to be a little happier withe the phone. I don't think it's a bad choice, but I don't think it should be a $799.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
10.0
Display
8.0
Battery
5.0

Pros

  • Camera, 90Hz refresh. USB C

Cons

  • Battery Life, wireless charging issues.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

civicsr2cool posted on Oct 24, 2019, 6:20 AM
Posts: 303; Member since: Oct 19, 2016

8.0

Why did I even buy this phone?

civicsr2cool has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Just picked up from Best Buy and will be returning within my 14 day window. I loved the in hand feel of the Pixel 3 since it was the smallest flaghips out(sadly) and gave the pixel 4 a go as well. The matte glass is a bummer but the matte sides do give great grip and feel awesome in hand. The most glaring bad part about this phone is one I already knew would be a problem- the screen. I hate Oled phones in general compared to IPS LCD due to them not being able to produce whites accurately but this one is pretty bad, like the red tint s8 bad.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
7.0
Bad video stabilization "waves" and large white balance shifts.
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
6.0
Typical of Oled on Android is that is is very off white. Whites are more pink/warm than my S10e and a joke compared to the iPhones.
Battery
7.0
Havent had it long enough to test longevity but I am already feeling the anxiety due to its low mah.

Pros

  • Night mode stills.

Cons

  • everything else.

5 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Report

Cool4902 posted on May 09, 2020, 12:54 AM
Posts: 2; Member since: Apr 09, 2019

10.0

It's a excellent phone at a discounted price

Cool4902 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I got mine at a discounted price so I am going to be a lot less critical on this phone. It's a really good phone as long as you get it on a discount but I recommend the 128gb model. Also make sure you don't use it heavily or else your gonna need a charger but other than that it's a really good phone with a discounted. I recommend it.

Build quality
10.0
Feels great
Reception
10.0
No issues
Call quality
10.0
No issues
Internet
10.0
No issues with browsing around
Multimedia
10.0
No problems here. Does all well
Camera
10.0
Best camera on any phone out there
UI speed
10.0
Really consistent
Everyday usage
10.0
Does everything I need it to no problem. Really consistent phone
Text input
10.0
Never had lag yet on this phone
Display
10.0
Nice colors and detail. Also way brighter than pixel 3 last year
Battery
9.0
Could have been a bit better but for the price it's more than enough

Pros

  • Great build quality
  • Really awesome camera
  • Consistently speedy
  • Stock Android
  • 90 hertz
  • Wireless charging

Cons

  • Battery life could have been a bit better but for the price it's more than enough

Is this review helpful?

Report

cc712052 posted on Mar 19, 2020, 7:11 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 19, 2020

9.0

Using good

cc712052 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Phone body is great especially it' back
Loving it exetremely
Success rate of photo taking is very high
Camera UI is easy to realize and use
It's better if it have more battery mah
3700mah is a little less

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Display
9.0
Battery
8.0

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

metabolic64 posted on Feb 27, 2020, 7:37 PM
Posts: 1; Member since: May 21, 2019

8.0

The best of any security, but with one annoying flaw

metabolic64 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Battery life is what did it for me, couldn't get past having to charge it every single day over lunch or whatever just to make sure it doesn't die at 8 or 9 PM.

The 3D face recognition is TOP notch and totally worth it if you're not a daily user of multiple multiple apps for battery usage. No AX wifi was a bummer. Camera was amazinggg even compared to iPhone 11 Pro

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
6.0
Multimedia
6.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
6.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
6.0
Battery was so impactful to the usage. Stock photos app was annoyingly privacy issue-bound.

Pros

  • Best 3D face security
  • Super convenient size
  • Camera quality

Cons

  • Forced Google Photos app
  • Battery

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

ryan.g.jones posted on Nov 06, 2019, 11:34 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 23, 2019

10.0

Solid Step Up But Not a Leap Forward

ryan.g.jones has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

We have another Pixel phone to look at and it's worth a look! The Pixel 4, like each previous model, features an improved screen, build and camera. The result is a phone that is pleasing to the eye, sturdy in your hand and takes the kind of impressive photos in nearly any lighting condition you expect from a Pixel. There are several negative reviews of this phone, but most of those reviews miss the point: Unlike most phone manufacturers Google is not seeking to revolutionize phone production each year. Rather, their goal is to produce a phone that is better than the model that came before. In an age where the drive to be revolutionary has produced phones that burst into flames the goal of being better is at least solid.

The Pixel 4 face unlock is a feature that impresses and worries at the same time. By removing the fingerprint scanner from the back of the phone and opting for a face bio-metrics for unlock the company neglected to ensure your eyes actually had to be open before the phone would unlock. The security implications are clear. Is this a deal-breaker for me, no. But be careful if you have reasons to keep your phone and the information on it ultra secure. Another new feature is the motion sense technology that allows you to use motion to switch songs or lower the volume on alarms. This is where Google invested in some gimmick tech. While the feature is interesting, it's hardly reliable or intuitive. Though, it's hard to believe that with all the data Google is collecting...  

Build quality
10.0
The phone has a solid, balanced feel.
Reception
10.0
The phone tends to maintain a solid mobile data connection even when displaying low to no bars.
Call quality
10.0
Crystal clear calls.
Internet
10.0
Speedy and smooth.
Multimedia
10.0
No issues.
Camera
9.0
Takes great photos with only a slight issue on the white balance.
UI speed
10.0
The phone is fast as is Google Assistant.
Everyday usage
8.0
Battery life is good for day to day use, but if you plan on going on an all day trip a charger will be necessary.
Text input
10.0
No issues here and the screen is large enough to make it easy.
Display
10.0
It looks beautiful and detailed beyond all reason. The best screen on a Pixel.
Battery
8.0
It simply will not last you all day if you are a "power user" or even a casual user.

Pros

  • Great Screen
  • High Camera Quality
  • Fast Google Assistant

Cons

  • Battery Life is Lackluster at Best
  • Not a Significant Upgrade from the Pixel 3
  • No Unlimited Original Quality Photo Storage

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless