How and when to watch the Sony Xperia 1 III 5G announcement live stream

Sony is preparing to announce its newest Xperia smartphones, including the high-end Xperia 1 III 5G. The ongoing pandemic means that a live event can’t be held, but Sony will still be going all-out with a pre-recorded announcement.

When to watch the Sony Xperia 1 III announcement live stream


  • April 14, 2021, at 0:30am PDT / 3:30am EDT / 8:30am BST / 9:30am CEST

The event is being streamed across the world and you can watch it all on PhoneArena when the time comes via the embedded video above. The broadcast can also be watched through the official YouTube app on supported platforms. 

What to expect at Sony’s April 14 Xperia event


  • Sony Xperia 1 III 5G
  • Sony Xperia 10 III

As mentioned above, Sony will be announcing its latest Xperia models. The center of attention looks set to be the flagship Xperia 1 III 5G, which has been teased in a trailer video and should be one of the best Android phones in 2021. 

Reports suggest the phone will offer Qualcomm’s Snapdragon 888 and 256GB of storage as standard. An upgraded rear camera system complete with a 5x periscope zoom lens is on the way too, apparently.

Like past Xperia flagships, the Xperia 1 III 5G won’t be adopting a notch or punch-hole. Instead, Sony has reportedly chosen uniform top and bottom bezels, in addition to a 120Hz 6.5-inch 4K 21:9 display.


When will the Sony Xperia 1 III 5G be released?


Sony has a habit of announcing its flagships in February and releasing them in late May or June. This year, the introduction is happening a bit later than usual but the release date is unlikely to be any sooner.

Expect the Xperia 1 III 5G to be released in late May at the earliest, although a later launch date can’t be ruled out due to the ongoing chipset shortages. The Xperia 10 III, on the other hand, could be on sale soon after the announcement. History suggests a release in early May might be planned.

  • Late May or June release date for Sony Xperia 1 III 5G
  • Early May release date for Sony Xperia 10 III

Related phones

Xperia 1 III
  • Display 6.5 inches 3840 x 1644 pixels
  • Camera 12 MP (Quad camera) 8 MP front
  • Hardware Qualcomm Snapdragon 888 12GB RAM
  • Storage 256GB, microSDXC
  • OS Android 11
Xperia 10 III
  • Display 6.0 inches 2520 x 1080 pixels
  • Camera 12 MP (Triple camera) 8 MP front
  • Hardware Qualcomm Snapdragon 690 6GB RAM
  • Storage 128GB, microSDXC
  • Battery 4500 mAh
  • OS Android 11

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless