Amazon Appstore launches in new countries, it's now available in 236 markets

Amazon Appstore launches in new countries, it's now available in 236 markets
Amazon today announced that its Appstore is now available in 41 additional territories across Asia, Africa and Oceania, bringing the total number of markets where the company is offering apps to 236.

While lots of the additional territories may not be that important (revenue-wise) to Amazon, some of them are pretty big mobile markets - like Indonesia, Turkey, and Singapore. The full list also includes the following markets: Algeria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Chad, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Gambia, Guinea, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palestinian Territories, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, UAE (United Arab Emirates), Uzbekistan, and Yemen. 

Depending on local restrictions, users may not be able to see and download all apps.

Now in its fourth year of existence, Amazon Appstore hosts more than 240,000 applications for Android. While that is a high number, it’s still not comparable to the number of apps available in Apple’s App Store and Google’s Play Store, which are offering over 1 million apps each. It’s also a bit lower than the number of applications available in Microsoft’s Windows Phone Store (around 250,000).

source: Amazon


Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless