x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia E6 Review

Posted: , by Basil K.

Tags:

Go to page
Nokia E6 Review
This is a global GSM phone. It can be used with T-Mobile USA and AT&T.

Introduction:


When we open our Nokia E6 package and gaze upon the high grade industrial design, we feel bittersweet. The device looks great, feels great in the hand and seems to check all the boxes, but leaves us with a waning trepidation when it comes to the operating system. We already know that the combination of Symbian Anna and the X7 is lacking, so why should the experience be any better on the E6?

Well, the E6 actually represents a totally different idea. With its QWERTY keyboard, smaller, but sharper screen, as well as classical Nokia business series form-factor, the handset might just provoke some nostalgic feelings amongst its targeted audience, and ultimately, end up in the pockets of a good number of people. The question is, does it offer enough to make us recommend it over the slew of other QWERTYs on the market?


Design:

As far as styling goes, the Nokia E6 is one slick contender. Marrying sharp, clean lines and classic Nokia styling with a distinguished look and feel, Nokia's forte in terms of delivering great hardware comes to light in this phone. With some weight behind it, the Nokia E6 feels solid and durable, but may not be for everyone.

The Nokia E6 feels solid and durable - Nokia E6 Review
The Nokia E6 feels solid and durable - Nokia E6 Review
The Nokia E6 feels solid and durable - Nokia E6 Review
The Nokia E6 feels solid and durable - Nokia E6 Review

The Nokia E6 feels solid and durable


Nokia E6 Review

You can compare the Nokia E6 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The screen is without a doubt a highpoint of the handset. Delivering 2.5 inches of capacitive display with VGA resolution, it's one of the most tightly packed pixel bearers around, making for super sharp viewing. Quality videos looks fantastic on this handset, with great colour and contrast levels, as well as very good viewing angles that only add to the positive impressions.

The screen sports a VGA resolution - Nokia E6 Review

The screen sports a VGA resolution


The QWERTY form factor is a tried and tested format for Nokia and with us generally liking the design of the E5, the E6 builds upon and refines it. Below the gorgeous screen are call and end buttons, a five way d-pad and four shortcuts to home, calendar, messaging and contacts. Venture down further to get to the four tiered QWERTY keyboard, with each key individual and curvaceously raised. The volume buttons are to the right along with the lock slider and the microUSB port sits to the left. At the base is the proprietary charging port while up top is the power button, 3.5mm headphone jack and microSD card slot. On the reverse of the Nokia E6 is the 8MP camera, dual LED flash and loudspeaker.

The sides of the Nokia E6 - Nokia E6 Review
The sides of the Nokia E6 - Nokia E6 Review
The sides of the Nokia E6 - Nokia E6 Review
The sides of the Nokia E6 - Nokia E6 Review

The sides of the Nokia E6


Back - Nokia E6 Review
Back - Nokia E6 Review

Back


As you can probably tell, we really do appreciate the great attention to detail Nokia handsets tend to demonstrate in terms of build and the E6 is no exception.

The QWERTY keyboard is performing very well indeed with easily identifiable keys, good amounts of click feedback and intuitive key placement (despite our unit containing international characters). Despite good overall performance, the E6 is slightly narrow and so is the keyboard, therefore may be a little cramped for larger hands.

The four tiered QWERTY keyboard of Nokia E6 - Nokia E6 Review
The four tiered QWERTY keyboard of Nokia E6 - Nokia E6 Review

The four tiered QWERTY keyboard of Nokia E6



57 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 27 Jun 2011, 06:31 7

1. rain86 (unregistered)


only 5.5/10... is this a joke?

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 06:35

3. Ro (unregistered)


Woow!! I didn't know that the phone was this bad... Even the review did not suggest the points registered.

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 06:43 2

6. Eingild (Posts: 203; Member since: 19 Apr 2011)


As expected. Honestly, I'm about to crack up "What the hell?" statement right there, but maybe PA is right. Maybe this kind of phone is too outdated for today's standards. Anyway, I just wish that N9 comes sooner. I know it's a dead end, but I like taking risks with my phones. Just like with my Samsung Wave. ;)

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 08:10 2

7. Lawrence (unregistered)


phone arena has given 8/10 for an s40 c3 touch and type and given 5/10 for an x7 and 5.5/10 for e6

lol.....crazy.....

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 05:29 1

26. guest89 (unregistered)


no consistency in there reviews if that is what they are lol...i just read hear for fun because pa have just become jokes...no effin professionalism at all.

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 09:47 2

30. Antonio (unregistered)


You’re talking sh*t. GSM Arena is one of the BEST websites for reviews, and it is definitely NOT biased towards any operating systems or anything else for that matter.

If they gave it a 5.5 it is because their view for this phone in its own category, according to price, benefits and defects lead it to this, and thus it is well deserved. Build quality is awesome but software also matters a lot, and even though for people who know how to use Symbian this device will be a true beauty running awesomely great, the average Joe and Jane (who are the majority) will probably not get used to it so fast and be able to take advantage of everything, and will probably not even try to change the out of the box experience, which is good enough for people willing to customize everything, but not good enough to let everyone else comfortable to use the settings.

Do you realize you are bashing basically the only website that actually gives Symbian a fair shot in the competition (as in not being biased)? I'm not talking about Symbian websites that only talk about Symbian devices, but about all round, websites that talk about all OS and companies such as this one.

Yes, it IS very consistent to give a S40 device a higher grade because it simply is in a different class, being evaluated for a different intended public, at a different price point, and absolutely everything is different. What did you think? You thought there was the "good" devices with higher grades, that can ONLY be full expensive smartphones, and the lower end devices could not get any higher ratings just because they are on the lower end? This is ridiculous.

By the way, the S40 touch and type are indeed terrific. I loved them.

I hope the GSM Arena reviewers just ignore these ridiculous and baseless comments just because these people thought the device should get a higher grade. Come on, your opinion is different and you love the device, so go on and purchase it! What are you doing here? I loved it too and I would give it a different grade if this device's intended public was Symbian fans, but I prefer my Nokia N8 so I'm not getting it for myself (maybe for my father, he will definitely love it).

Anyway. Stop the complaints, say something actually useful, and LET IT BE!

I hope this makes all of you who are complaining see how stupid you sound by bashing random reviews on the internet without even trying to prove any points whatsoever.

And don't come here and tell me something stupid such as "go away fanboy". All (100%) my phones have had Symbian in them and as of now, all of them have been Nokia's.

Antonio,
a Symbian fan and Nokia supporter, but not "fanboy", "diehard" or whatever else

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 10:17 2

31. jimjam (Posts: 238; Member since: 28 Jun 2011)


You are missing the point that this phone is in a different class... a business class qwerty messenger. Symbian has long proved itself to be a fantastic OS on this style of device... with the E63, E71,E72, E73 each scoring above 8. This E6 actually builds on those phones and makes them better. So why the sudden drop in score ... well because big touchscreen phones are all the rage. That isn't really a good reason to drop the score because it is in a different class with plenty of people who like the format... exactly the same as what you are saying about your s40.

How can you give 5.5 to a phone with top of the range 5 band 3g connectivity, excellent qwerty keyboard, top of the range battery life, great email connectivity, some of the best call quality around, high resolution screen, pretty decent camera for a business phone. Show me a much better qwerty messenger... the htc chacha? Samsung Pro? blackberry OS? I don't think so.

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 11:36 1

32. Velociround (Posts: 5; Member since: 28 Jun 2011)


Uh, I don't think you really got the point of my comment. I hope you have read the full comment but by the first phrase you have written it doesn't seem like so.

So, you said I "missed the point" because this phone is "in a different class".

Let me quote myself where I talk about this phone being in a different class and thus being scored in its class:
"If they gave it a 5.5 it is because their view for this phone in its own category, according to price, benefits and defects lead it to this, and thus it is well deserved. Build quality is awesome but software also matters a lot, and even though for people who know how to use Symbian this device will be a true beauty running awesomely great, the average Joe and Jane (who are the majority) will probably not get used to it so fast and be able to take advantage of everything, and will probably not even try to change the out of the box experience, which is good enough for people willing to customize everything, but not good enough to let everyone else comfortable to use the settings."

Now I guess I'd better put a disclaimer on top of this new comment:
- I love my Nokia N8 and I would absolutely love to have an E6, and even though it is not my type of phone and N8 fits me a lot better, I hope I can purchase one for my father so he will have a great phone (and so I can get my hands in it too!). I still wish Symbian gets plenty of updates and new features until 2016, preferably asap.

Now let's move on:
Yeah, the E6 it has all these things you have just mentioned, but at this point in time, things have changed a lot. It has not gotten a lower rating because "big touchscreen phones are all the rage". It has gotten a lower score because it does not do its job as beautifully out of the box as you would expect it to do nowadays. The browser is still very bad even if you compare it to other Nokia browsers (look at the N9!). Thankfully we have Opera Mobile, because I truly believe Nokia has actually given up on their software. It's easy to think that when you look at the N9's apps and think "omg that's perfect and gorgeous and amazing and I WANT ONE!", then you look at another Nokia product (Symbian) and think "how dare they release something in this state? The user has to change so many things to make it a pleasant experience".

The only way I could think of the Symbian browser as a good thing (either the old or the new one) was if I had coded it myself as college homework to create a browser. I would be so much happy to have programmed something like that all by myself! But not if you tell me "here's your product as coded by professional teams in a huge company"

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 12:12

34. jimjam (Posts: 238; Member since: 28 Jun 2011)


If you were treating it as a device in a different class you wouldn't be comparing it to n8 and n9s but to other qwerty messengers. This device is certainly up there with the best qwerty messengers. Show me a qwerty that is 3.5 points better than this since the best qwerty should be around 9/10 and then feel free to write such comments. So yes you totally missed the point.

You are implying symbian is one and the same on a 4" device and on a 2.5" qwerty. Well it isn't. The bad things about symbian on a 4" just do not matter on a 2.5" qwerty device. Things like call quality, keyboard, ease of emailing, battery life etc do. The browser works pretty well for 2.5". What are you expecting on a 2.5" screen?

Oh and yes if you can add software to make it better then that isn't a negative but a positive. Who uses safari over a tabbed browser like atomic or the stock android over something like dolphin browser.

If it was all about out of the box experience well then android phones would score 2! So your line of argument is just irrelevant.

If Joe and Jane can't use a symbian device out of the box then they can't use a cell phone and should just stick to a landline.

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 14:03

38. Velociround (Posts: 5; Member since: 28 Jun 2011)


Reiterating what I had already said before, there is no other "qwerty messenger" as you like to say that is better than the E6, and I can't mention any specially because myself I don't think there is one. But, again, that still doesn't mean the E6 is perfect or could not have been greatly improved.

In fact, I did NOT even compare it to the N8 as you said! I have no idea where you read that. I am not comparing the E6 to the N9 either. When I mentioned the N9, I was not talking about the phone or form factor: I was comparing the browser only, and you I believe you actually can compare the performance of browsers across any types of phones regardless of form factor. Besides, the E6 has a touch screen too so it makes even more sense to compare its browser performance to another touchscreen phone if you go by your standards, regardless of size of the screen. I am not really into any trendy things people usually go (such as "4 inches screen ftw", or "I want moar apps").

No, the browser does not work "pretty well for 2,5"" and the screen size is not the problem here. The problem is the actual browser performance, not the screen size which is just perfect. Moving on to browser performance: pinch to zoom has been implemented with workaround programming, and if you don't wait until the pages are fully loaded you will get angry at the phone while trying to view anything. Also take note that the browser will randomly go back to the top of the page if the website requires it to load anything more than previously expected, so you could be reading something down the page and all of a sudden you are on the top of the page. None of these are related to the screen size or form factor at all. It is down to the software.

But browser performance is the worst thing someone could compare on Symbian, and I usually just dismiss this provided we have Opera Mobile which is just a wonderful experience on all Symbian phones. So, here is my point in a very good example: the browser. The built-in is very tricky to use and still a bad experience, but if you know how to replace it with Opera Mobile you will have a so much better browsing experience on Symbian.

The same can be said about other things too. The S60v3 version of QuickOffice was really, really great, and I loved it. I could create from scratch all of my presentations and documents on the phone, and all of the documents I edited on my PC would open just fine on the phone. And this very same version also worked on Symbian^3! I thought it was just terrific.

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 14:06

39. Velociround (Posts: 5; Member since: 28 Jun 2011)


But now, with some "updates" to QuickOffice which include some workaround to pinch to zoom (which I found to be worse than the browser), I found myself unable to open most of the documents I could earlier, editing options became scarcer, and I was forced to stop using it because I didn't find a way to downgrade.

But if you are a power user and know you can get other Office suites (such as SmartOffice) you will really enjoy the office experience on Symbian.

Did you see what my point was? The built-in experience is not the greatest, but if you know how to use it, you can make a world of difference. The Average Joe will usually not even think about that, though. Either it works when you turn on, or it doesn't.

And I know plenty of people (most people!) like that. I had to explain to a friend of mine how to add shortcuts to his home screen on his Nokia N8. My cousin had no idea his Nokia N95 even had GPS, a integrated GPU with very good games or even the ability to install apps. He asked me for a device that did all of these things because he wanted to change his phone, and I had to tell him his current (N95) phone already did everything he wanted to, and explain how to use it.

I did not say the ability to add software to make it better was a negative either. I have no idea where you took that from.

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 11:36 1

33. Velociround (Posts: 5; Member since: 28 Jun 2011)


By the way, I think you got me wrong: I have never had any S40 phones, but I have used one of these for quite a long time when I had the opportunity (at operator store) and they're brilliant for the "Average Joe and Jane".
But in fact I loved my N95-3 and I love my Nokia N8, and I use both of them as my primary computers, not just as smartphones.

Sorry I had to put this paragraph on a new comment, but there is a 3000 characters limit for posting.

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 12:17

35. jimjam (Posts: 238; Member since: 28 Jun 2011)


PS Have you even used a qwerty nokia device??

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 13:44 1

37. Velociround (Posts: 5; Member since: 28 Jun 2011)


Sure! I absolutely loved the Nokia E71. It is really great and the E6 has improved on it really a lot! The E63 is very common in my country too because a lot of people like it, and it was a good experience trying it out.

posted on 01 Sep 2011, 12:57

57. khurram87 (Posts: 13; Member since: 01 Sep 2011)


sorry i actually wanted to LIKE your comment but mistakenly clicked on the opposite button. I agree with you - but at the same time, i wanted to see a 1Ghz processor on this one - E71, E72 released in 2008/2009 has the same processor speed. In this aspect Nokia hasnt made any change (even with the Nokia E7). All in all, its a fantastic piece of hardware. All that is worrying me at the moment is, will it get the Symbian Belle update (like the other Symbian^3 phones). Hope Nokia doesnt ditch us and say "Sorry E6 has a relatively smaller screen and the Belle experience might go unnoticed on this device, so we plan not to go ahead with the update".....Cheers!

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 08:50

8. nuadar (unregistered)


Calm down and be rational...specs of this phone are horrible, OS is horrible too...its well deserved 5,5 and I would even go with BB than with this...and i really hate BB

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 21:12 3

20. JB82 (unregistered)


why are the specs horrible? You don't need a dual core 1.5mhz to run what this phone is designed to do.

What is horrible about a great qwerty keyboard, great battery life, excellent connectivity (how many android handsets can boast being able to be used on every 3g frequency including t-mobile AND AT&T?), works great as a phone (take that iphone 4) etc etc ....

Plus it actually looks good unlike the samsung pro, droid pro, htc chacha etc.

Just because you like big touchscreen phones doesn't mean this is rubbish ... just means you are meant for a different phone.

posted on 01 Sep 2011, 08:28

55. abcz (unregistered)


The Blackberry Bold costs 50% to 100% more, depending on which version. The older version only has 5MP camera. The latest BB Bold 9900 is double the price of E6 in my country.
E6 has great resolution,640X480 , great for watching videos.
Excellent built quality, with a physical keypad, the phone needs to be. The touchscreen makes for easier scrolling, instead of pressing the keypad all the time.
Of course, not to mention better battery life than Android(for those Nokia critics)

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 12:24 2

11. seylan (unregistered)


ANOTHER bias review of a Nokia. Seriously, the E6 deserves a solid 8/10.
If this got 5.5 then why the hell did you give the N8 and E7 ,8.5, when those 2 both have basically the same hardware but more outdated software?
PA, I am VERY dissapointed. But I dont need your silly Android/Iphone fan-boyishness opinions to make me reconsider the E6. This Nokia is excellent. I don't care about this site anymore. GO "AllaboutSymbian" MyNokiaBlog, Slashgear and some others!

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 13:17 1

13. nuadar (unregistered)


Oh yeah and those sites are totally objective right? Even their names speaks that they arent....this phone is horrible, just get over it...another fail from nokia...but this time I like its name...Anna

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 12:53 2

12. orielwindow (Posts: 92; Member since: 23 Sep 2010)


Maybe the low reviews of new Nokia products that can be found on most tech sites are due to the outdated products themselves. I used Nokia for YEARS before I finally gave up and switched to Android phones. The newer phones from HTC were just so amazingly faster. I do miss Nokia however. But I think that there are too many consistent low scores from too many review sources to always blame low reviews on bias. Best of luck though Nokia!

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 14:57

14. John (unregistered)


Ok. Again a very biased review. The article seems moderately positive; the verdict doesn't match. Dissapointing! Verdict for this article: 5/10

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 16:00 2

15. monstermash123 (unregistered)


Build quality of this phone is second to none, however, Phonearena hit the nail on the head with the outdated software. The OS is really frustrating to use because it's not efficient and frequently lags. You notice this much more so when you go back to using Symbian after using Android or BB OS, as I have for the past year or so. I had to go back to Symbian, twice, and was let down so much. I had a lot of hope after dropping $550 on a brand new n900, but, alas, Nokia didn't give much attention to Maemo, which has now evolved into MeeGo and is looking like a kick ass OS. I'm excited about the n950. Symbian should just be relegated to cheap, pay as you go phones. Putting Symbian on a device as amazingly built as the E6 is like giving a lamborghini to some spoiled, idiotic 16 year old who is obsesses with Fast and Furious films for his birthday. It's just plain wrong. I'm not saying that Symbian doesn't have a lot of features, it does, but every modern OS can match the features Symbian has AND it does it much more efficiently and reliably. Damn it, Nokia. I really wanted to love this phone.

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 19:17 1

17. jb82 (unregistered)


this is symbian on a qwerty messenger ... it has zero to do with symbian on a full touchscreen device.

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 19:15 6

16. jb82 (unregistered)


It is sad to see the reviewer has no idea what he is talking about. He writes this as if he is comparing it to a 4" touchscreen android device. The reviewer is just following the symbian is dead bandwagon with no real thought.

Symbian is outdated in terms of a full touchscreen phone OS and needed to go. But for a qwerty phone it provides a wonderful experience. I still own my E63 and will continue to do so for many more years if I don't upgrade to this.

Recommending a samsung pro over this is ludicrous. The screen is awful and the OS is not really built to work on the screen size of a qwerty messenger. The chacha is also underpowered in every way compared to this ... lower battery life, less 3g bands, lower screen resolution, flash doesn't work properly in the browser, OS isn't great for the screen size etc etc.

Give this phone justice and redo the review. The only real issue is the price.

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 20:27 4

19. moise (Posts: 5; Member since: 27 Jun 2011)


RIGHT...the inferior E72 was given a 8.5. LOL the reviewer is a HACK

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 20:25 3

18. moise (Posts: 5; Member since: 27 Jun 2011)


Hold up....all you people that are justifying this terrible review because of SOFTWARE. The Nokia E72 was given an 8.5 and that was a YEAR AGO. For me it wasn't even better than the E71...the one main feature was FP2. Now you have the E6 which has outdone even the E71 in build quality and the hack reviewer states that while Anna may not be up tyo snuff with other OS's is is a vast improvement. So explain how A YEAR AGO the E72 gets a 8.5 and the SUPERIOR IN EVERY WAY E6 gets a 5.5 This website is a JOKE, the reveiwers are even a BIGGER JOKE. they have no credibility.

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 21:18 3

21. JB82 (unregistered)


Even more of a joke is saying this os is inferior and out of date when really the qwerty messenger scene has pretty much no other competitors other than blackberry. Symbian is more up to date than blackberry OS!

Android OS on a qwerty is very new and isn't up to scratch yet. So how can an OS that has been proved to work well with the E63, E71, E72 and E73 be so out of date and yet android is supposed to be up to date when it has basically released its first half decent qwerty with the HTC chacha a month or so ago?

posted on 01 Sep 2011, 13:09

58. khurram87 (Posts: 13; Member since: 01 Sep 2011)


Dear this is because when E72 was released, there was no iPhone 4 or Galaxy S or Desire or Sensation or Chacha....time has changed :)

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 01:27 3

22. Antonio (unregistered)


What a dumb score, the only negative on this is the auto focus camera, but even that, the reviewer hasn't used a EDOF camera, the reason of the EDOF is that it takes pics faster just point and shoot and move on to whatever you needed to do.

Who said that 1GHz CPU was the standard? Android has done that! the stupid OS requires a higher cpu to even run a simple task.

So this phone it's not up to standards? LOL try getting a month worth of battery life on stand by with a charge using iOS or Android, while everyone is trying to charge their phone at the end of the day, this one just keeps going.

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 04:12 3

23. Sales guy (unregistered)


I must say that LOL. 5.5 points. :):)

Try to keep talking whole day with mega super nice candy bars with 4.3" display like Android phones and when US government is knowing all the time where you are and what you have in
your phone.

This is the best piece of working tool in phones what market can give you.

But these guys are only playing with phones like many other teenagers.

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 04:48 3

24. Croco (unregistered)


I have used some days the E6. It is much better than any BlackBerry and without comparison to other competitors. The OS is very much improved in speed and the screen is absolutely gorgeous. This is a true successor of E71 and for business purposes is one of the best on the market.

I suggest you try it first than believe the reviews. I read a lot of reviews and I decided not to form a strong opinion on what some bloggers are saying. As long as I get my money out of my pocket I want to try for myself before buying anything no matter what the reviews are telling

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 05:08 3

25. diogorva (unregistered)


I think there's only one major problem:
PhoneArena missed the fact the E6 is a business phone. Yeah, Eseries means Business.
No business man will use a HTC ChaCha and mostly will not use any Samsung phone even if it calls itself a "business phone". Both "alternatives" are unreliable and looks like a kid phone.
Nokia E6 is more expensive, but it's also offer much better hardware (I'm not talking about the 120Ghz less of CPU power), just look at the camera specs, USB On-the-go, screen, build quality, even the pentaband 3G, you know what I mean.
Also, saying that Android is a much better OS was a big mistake in that case. Android isn't made for this kind of phones, look at the Galaxy Pro for example, to make a call you need to go to the homescreen and press the call button on the screen, on the E6 you just need to start typing the number. On Galaxy Pro it's just a workaround.
Also, PhoneArena should remember that most business man are used to BlackBerry and Nokia Eseries phones, and mostly, they are not dumb. They know how to use their phone and they know how to make is offer good usability. They don't need Android useless eye candy widgets or stuff like that.

All in all, it was a pretty biased review.

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 06:15 3

27. Wim (unregistered)


First off, I completely agree with diogorva and croco.

I recently bought the E6 and have been playing with it for a while now. What a great phone! Now fully customized to my own needs it is really a charm to work with. I really admire the screen (and the performance in direct sunlight) and the overall usefulness of the phone. Just 1 quick look at the display and you know what you're up to.

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 06:52 4

28. Nrde (unregistered)


Ehm, ChaCha 7.5, Nokia E6 5.5 What is wrong with you people?

E6, Symbian is not perfect but come on.

It seems like the reviewer did not know E6 is meant for business, not pleasure (even though it handles pleasure as well as any Symbian 3 phone)

So the question remains after this review, what is superb keyboard, superb screen, superb battery life, superb styling and business oriented software suite worth, when all that seems to matter is some stutter of the UI?

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 08:54 2

29. jimjam (Posts: 238; Member since: 28 Jun 2011)


They even thought the UI of the chacha wasn't smooth all the time!

"UI runs smoothly for the most part. Admittedly, it force stopped a couple of times and generally feels less stable than we're used to Sense feeling"

posted on 28 Jun 2011, 13:32 2

36. Vlad (unregistered)


Reviewer also forgot to mention the 3.5mm jack also serves as a TV out. If you've been traveling as much as I have, being able to put a whole xvid movie on to your phone, no conversion necessary, and play it on any TV(true, only in SD, but if you want 720p go for HDMI packin' E7). And you can do it with a generic 3.5mm to composite video RCA cable. No need for expensive stuff.

Neither ChaCha nor Samsung can play XviD.

BlackBerry can, most of the time. But does not have TV-out.

Also, it can tether with USB and Bluetooth, and it comes with WiFi tethering app. I prefer Bluetooth as it consumes an order of magnitude less power to WiFi, and you're still cable free.

Price is a bit steep, but it is built well. And for crying out loud, it has free, lifetime nav software that can be used offline, including turn-by-turn voice guided car navigation! I will never use Google maps while traveling because I do not want to pay data roaming charges.

This phone review is not really that good.

posted on 29 Jun 2011, 10:54

40. weirdfisher (Posts: 51; Member since: 31 Mar 2011)


this phone should get at least a 6.5

But yes the specs are quite low end, even with the gpu
Also anna is still laggy in terms of web browser. Opera mobile helps but no flash support
I have an N8 and a Nexus S.
I feel the huge difference of horse power.
But the camera of Nexus S is really s**tty, even the symbian edof phones outperform

posted on 30 Jun 2011, 05:42

41. m3 (unregistered)


If you read the text you would expect a minimum rating of 7.5/10 when the only actual flaw is the browser (but you can easily replace it with Opera). As a business device the E6 seems to be by far the best at the momen,t at least in this form factor. I have the excellent E71 and this seems to be the first worthy successor (E72 and E5 were not big improvements over E71).

posted on 01 Jul 2011, 23:16 2

42. Sampan (unregistered)


Looks like this review came from a retarded iPhone user

posted on 04 Jul 2011, 01:31 2

44. jk (unregistered)


To the reviewer:

Funny how the Galaxy Pro seemed to have "outperformed" the E6 by 1 point just because of the OS. ROFLMAO.

And comparing a business-oriented phone to SNS phones is just ludicrous. If you are going to compare the E-series handsets of Nokia, try targeting Blackberry or the E6's predecessors.

Try giving a businessman an HTC Cha Cha or a Samsung Galaxy Pro and let's see if they won't pull their hairs out from sheer frustration (lack of business productivity tools; and don't tell me you can get these via the AM when phones like BB and the E-series have them on the get-go).

Seriously, it's like you're trying to sell a business phone to kids. Or maybe that's what you're really aiming at? In that case, better read real reviews, at the very least they know who the target audience is of what they're reviewing.

I'll give this review a 2/10.

posted on 05 Jul 2011, 10:41 1

45. FoneAddict (Posts: 197; Member since: 05 Jul 2011)


This review must be some bad Aprils fools joke?! A score of 5.5 for a phone that checks all these boxes:

Quality "Retina" screen - Check
Supreme Build Quality - Check
Excellent battery life - Check
Life time Nokia Maps - Check
Gorilla glass display - Check
Full spectrum Network support - Check
Superior RF Reception - Check
Legendary E-Series Reliability - Check

And they end up giving a pathetic 5.5 for the simple reason it runs Symbian. I expected more from Phone Arena, not this mindless Symbian bashing which seems to be in fashion like on Engadget.

PA must understand not everyone wants a 4.5" screen monster that needs charging every 8 hours.

posted on 01 Sep 2011, 08:37

56. abcz (unregistered)


You forgot this poinst :
- the maps can be viewed offline, good when going areas with poor internet service. If using Blackberry, by the time we can get internet line, already overshot the destination, lol.
- USB on the go

And....it can be upgraded to Symbian Belle end of year

Android & Iphone arent really its competitors anyway since they mostly produce full touchsreen. It's between Nokia & BB for the qwerty

posted on 06 Jul 2011, 04:24

46. ME (unregistered)


" 1500 mAh battery providing you with an above average talk time of up to 14.8 hours of talk time "
What you you mean by an above Average talk time.?
How much talk time does your mobile provide you.?
Name a mobile(other than Nokia) that gives you a talk time of 15+ hours.?
Don't be so stupid in mentioning the specs........

posted on 10 Jul 2011, 06:47

49. KingK (unregistered)


sounds like there's some angry europeans in here. lol

Just let Nokia and symbian die, it's best for everyone.

Phone was great 5 years ago.

posted on 01 Aug 2011, 02:17

53. nokiafans (unregistered)


Or Indians...

posted on 15 Jul 2011, 13:52 2

50. wap (unregistered)


From the standpoint of communications(voice, text, data), the newest Nokia phones are in class by themselves -- no matter how one holds them. *:-) The E6 will literally work in every country on the planet the currently has mobile service(I verified against ITU data); Nokia is the only company that can make that claim, with not just one, but at least half-a-dozen Shipping models.

posted on 17 Jul 2011, 18:09 2

51. Roberto (unregistered)


I have the E6-00. I am a business man
Two days i litterally throw away my crappy iphone4 , tired to have in the hands a phone that DOESN'T MAKE THE PHONE.
the e6 is what I need. Run well,also with symbyan Anna .
Who cares about 1,5 ghz in my ear, only a monster of stupidity like Android need that power.
Sorry for you all, but I go back to Nokia.
They make the best phones, you have just to accept this.

posted on 25 Aug 2011, 03:37

54. kin (unregistered)


I've only played around it for 30 mins trying to configure this phone for someone, but my current impression of this phone is quite bad.

I've save you the details, but just try out the phone for a while before any of you choose to buy it.

I would very much prefer the Nokia E5 to this. Solid phone that one.

posted on 09 Sep 2011, 05:27 1

59. Camdat (unregistered)


Thanks all.
I am upgrading from my e71 later this year and I did not know where to go, but now its a clear path. Its gotta be an E6. All the comments positive and negative worked brilliantly to help me decide.
Cheers.
Simon (Australia)

posted on 29 Sep 2011, 12:57

60. xyz (unregistered)


I have nokia 2690 currently. I Want to buy a high end phone. Should I buy Nokia E5 or Nokia E6 or Blackberry 9300 or Samsung Galaxy fit??? Pls do reply

posted on 08 Oct 2011, 08:15

61. dcmaxim (unregistered)


defective phone, poor nokia care repair. my phone has been sent to company for 7 days. fourth visit to nokia after its purchase.

posted on 13 Jan 2012, 14:28 1

63. sgtchill (Posts: 1; Member since: 13 Jan 2012)


From nokia c3-01 to Iphone 4s and landed to Nokia E6.
I love this phone, this phone meets my needs. I use this phone for bussiness use. Built quality is solid. I usually receive massive txt messege and calls everyday, Great battery life!!! nice QWERTY keyboard. I do not use this phone for browsing internet and playing games i'd rather use my ipad, Bigger screen is better.

On my iphone 4s i experience low battery, i gave it to my wife.
Both phones are Excellent depends to your requirements =)

for me Nokia E6 10/10

* Some comments have been hidden, because they don't meet the discussions rules.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Nokia E6

Nokia E6

OS: Symbian Belle Anna
view full specs
Display2.5 inches, 640 x 480 pixels (325 ppi) TFT
Camera8 megapixels
Hardware
Single core, 680 MHz, ARM11 processor
256 MB RAM
Size4.55 x 2.32 x 0.41 inches
(115.5 x 59 x 10.5 mm)
4.69 oz  (133 g)
Battery1500 mAh, 14.8 hours talk time

Latest stories