x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG G3 User Reviews

9.5 Based on 12 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera9.6/10
Multimedia9.6/10
Internet9.5/10
Call quality9.5/10
Battery8.8/10
Reception9.5/10
Display9.8/10
Build quality9.4/10
Text input9.9/10
Everyday usage9.8/10
UI speed9.6/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Cha7520
posted on yesterday, 22:56 (Posts: 208; Member since: 31 Oct 2010)

10

Awesome Phone! Best phone of 2014!

Cha7520 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

What an awesome phone!! The 2k display is out of this world! I love the simple design of the phone! The 13 MP camera is really clear and takes sharp pictures. Phone call voices are loud and clear. There is no lag or shutter like the Samsung Galaxy s5! I LOVE this phone!!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bobmcdan
posted on 4 days ago, 12:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Aug 2013)

10

Best Smart Phone I Have Ever Owned! A MUST HAVE!!!!!!!!

bobmcdan has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

LG has outdone themselves with this phone. It likely has the Note 2, Note 3, and a number of other phone trembling in their boots. Easily the best smartphone (Android and iOS) I have ever owned; and I have owned iPhone 3gs, 4, 5, and 5S; Samsung GS3 and GS4; and HTC One M7 and M8; just to name a few. I don't think I would consider going back to any of them. The G3 is standing in the center of the ring with referee holding one of its hands high in the air, clear declaring it the winner.

Build quality 10/10 Phone does not look or feel cheap. Despite the size, it is easily operated with one hand.
Reception 10/10 Even indoors, I get superior reception. Using the Network Signal Strength Widget I am getting -93 indoors in a rural area.
Call quality 10/10 Have not had any dropped calls. Call reception is crystal clear, almost like the caller is in the same room with you.
Internet 10/10 Both the stock browser and chrome access the internet quickly. Text is sharp and easy to read. Images are equally sharp and clear.
Multimedia 10/10 Videos, photos, and music are all great using stock apps. Viedos do not lag and are displayed sharp and clear.
Camera 10/10 Considering that this is a cell phone camera and not a high-end DSLR camera, I am very pleased with the pictures it takes. Color representation, saturation, and brightness are, in most cases, nearly perfect.
UI speed 10/10 This thing is lightning fast. I have owned iPhone 3gs, 4, 5, and 5S; Samsung GS3 and GS4; and HTC One M7 and M8; and the G3 blows them all out of the water. The UI is intuitive and easy to configure to your personal likes and desires.
Everyday usage 10/10 I use the phone for pretty much everything you can think of -- phone calls, calendaring, task management, gaming, GPS navigation, social media, e-mail, etc, and it handles everything I throw at it with ease.
Text input 10/10 Text input is easy. The keyboard is not difficult to use, but because I am lazy, I rely on the speech-to-text dictation and it works like a charm. Very rarely does it misinterpret what I have said.
Display 10/10 What bad thing can you say about a 5.5", 500+ ppi, HD display. It blows me away at how sharp and clear the display is,
Battery 9/10 Battery life isn't awful, but it isn't great either. Because I have a charger handy at my desk at work, at my desk at home, and in the car, I have never run out of "juice." However, because of the fantastic display, if you use the phone heavily, you only get 5 or 6 hours out of it before you will need to switch to low battery management or hook it up to a charger.

Pros

  • Fantastic display, fast processor, easy-to-use UI

Cons

  • Battery life could use improvement; AT&T version doesn't support QI wireless charging

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JMRJosh
posted on 25 Jul 2014, 03:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Jul 2014)

9

Best Phone of the year so far

JMRJosh has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Smart Cleaning should be on every phone plus the 3gb RAM, Selfie Camera is actually amazing. Best phone I have used, smooth fast clean that's all I ask and that's what they delivered. The size is tough to get used to but the videos are amazing on it.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Smart Cleaning
  • Screen
  • Camera
  • keyboard

Cons

  • Slow Charge

JMRJosh alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Terrence9291
posted on 24 Jul 2014, 05:31 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 May 2014)

10

This...... phone.... is... Awesome!!

Terrence9291 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I bought the phone the day is was able to be bought i think it was July 16 for in the Bronx,NY USA( via T-Mobile) and i love this phone! This is how a phone in today standards should be at. Its super fast, responsive UI, great camera, Great memory amount, lovely desgin (mine is in a case) & great features all around.

Note: The alternative phones listed were the phones i had to use so you already know how BIG of a upgrade this is lol.

Build quality 10/10 Mines does have a case on beacuse i do have butterfingers & the ugh ohh it feel curse on me for phones so i can't relay say since the case has been on the phone since it was mine. But i do like the slim build design that LG went for it.
Reception 10/10 Always in 4G reception range.
Call quality 10/10 Nice & clear
Internet 8/10 I don't use the internet often on any phones i have had so don't really take whatever i put as my rating seriously.
Multimedia 10/10 I like the cool pitch & speed setting i can do to music i am playing. If i can save it like that & use it as a rigntone it would be SUPER Cool & funny!! I must check & seee if i can. I hope so!
Camera 10/10 The camera is accurate, the focus is nice, picks up differnt light & adjust quickly and the picture are crisp & clean.
UI speed 10/10 Its super fast. Its never slow, its always super quick with whatever program i open, close, change to etc
Everyday usage 9/10 If you are the type that uses his or her phone literally everyday mourning till late night( not me) then i would say it's good but keep an eye on battery or at least let the screen shut off every so often to keep a good battery level
Text input 10/10 Super resposive. I don't type super fast but it is alsways ready for the next letter i am about to input. Not slow at all
Display 10/10 It is nice
Battery 10/10 For me im not on my phone every second but the phone can last 2 days probablely with out a charge based on how i use.

Pros

  • Big Screen
  • Excellent battery life dependig on how you use your phone
  • Cool Music features
  • Super Fast & Responsive UI
  • Clean Call Qulaity
  • Never slow
  • Excellent Camera

Cons

Terrence9291 alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

chbowlby
posted on 20 Jul 2014, 01:40 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Jul 2014)

10

Apple take the back seat and let LG show you how its done

chbowlby has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

So for the longest time I have been wanting to upgrade my HTC One phone and to be honest LG was at the back of my mind until I did my research and found out that this LG G3 could be the real deal (sure enough it was). This phone didn't disappoint at all, the features and display are a amazing and the the features are endless so you will always learn a new feature. I do want to point out that, I was an avid APPLE freak and when i made the switch to android I realized how really behind they are with their innovation. Do your self the favor and get this phone, I want this phone to smash the new out of date already iPhone6. Get on it, you won't be disappointed!!!! Official iPhone killer and if Samsung didn't spend 300 million on marketing we could destroy them too, but there phones just feel like there are from toys r us hahaha Plasticy.

Build quality 9/10 Just a solid non plasticy base phone
Reception 10/10 no issues with it
Call quality 10/10 loud and clear with voice enhancer
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Pricy but what smart phone isn't. Worth it
  • Its the whole package with some many great and relevant features

Cons

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pslee
posted on 18 Jul 2014, 08:07 (Posts: 37; Member since: 05 Dec 2012)

10

i am seriously concerned about LG. how can they make G4 any better than this? they have their work cut out for them!!!

pslee has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

best phone I ever used. coming from NOTE 2, this is a huge upgrade. even it has a plastic back cover, it really feels like metal. 99 percent of people put cover on, so there is no point to have a metal back cover. get this phone. you will not regret.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

acholmblad
posted on 17 Jul 2014, 16:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Jul 2014)

9

Switched from Iphone just because of this phone

acholmblad has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

"The LG G3 is a great smartphone – like its predecessor, if you're after power and precision, perhaps over design and form, then this is a winner.
The camera and battery combo is sure to win some hearts, and the improved user interface both will attract new users and give relief to those that were put off by the clutter on the G2.
However, I think something was lost in design in making the backplate removable – I feel that unibody designs just feel better in the hand thanks to being more solid, and I miss that from the G2.
The plastic / metal doesn't feel great in the hand either, and the dimensions are very much small phablet than big smartphone, which you'll need to take into consideration if you're thinking of buying the LG G3.
If that doesn't bother you then the G3 is a really impressive, very accomplished smartphone that drops the gimmicks to create one of the most powerful and impressive handsets you can buy right now." (http://www.techradar.com/us/reviews/phones/mobile​-phones/lg-g3-1250581/review/10#articleContent)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Seattletech
posted on 16 Jul 2014, 21:38 (Posts: 29; Member since: 14 May 2014)

8

Is LG G3's new UI the only reason why it's better than the G2?

Seattletech has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Great phone if you are coming from any other phone besides a G2 with G3 rom.
If you are coming from a phone over a year old. You will notice a huge advancement in where phones are now. Makes the iphone 5s tech feel 4 years old

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • SLIM BEZELS
  • 5.5
  • REMOVABLE BATTERY
  • MICRO SD
  • NICE WEIGHT

Cons

  • USB 2.0
  • USB CONNECTION
  • BATTERY LIFE IS WORSE THAN G2
  • SIDE BEZEL IS LARGER THAN THE G2
  • CAMERA VIDEO SOFTWARE NEEDS A FEW MORE SETTINGS
  • SCREEN NOT AS BRIGHT

3 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ack68
posted on 16 Jul 2014, 14:59 (Posts: 1; Member since: 16 Jul 2014)

9

Great Phone

ack68 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

One word - ART. Phone is slick, no lag, screen is great even though it sucks down the battery. Stock launcher is o.k. but you don't have access to LG widgets if you change to a different launcher. Back cover a little difficult to take off, but that's the way it should be.

Build quality 9/10 no creaks or noticeable gaps
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10 The screen duh
Camera 9/10 Needs more options for those who want it.
UI speed 10/10 ART = Awesome
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10 LG just dropped a nuclear bomb on the others
Battery 8/10 Screen sucks the life out quickly if phone is being used a lot and USB 2.0 charges much slower than 3.0

Pros

  • Tiny, tiny bezel
  • Big, but not Note 3 big
  • The screen duh......
  • Speakerphone better than expected
  • Programmable IR Blaster

Cons

  • USB port is not smooth
  • Battery drains fast because of the awesome screen

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

baibhav93
posted on 15 Jul 2014, 11:39 (Posts: 3; Member since: 09 May 2014)

10

a display monster

baibhav93 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

THE WINNER FROM LG...G3 it is...stunning display having a resolution of 2560*1440p....WOW!!! n LASER AUTO FOCUS....DSLR QUALITY IMAGES(ALTHOUGH ITS A SHADE UNDER XPERIA Z2)...EXCEPTIONAL...people,it is a SAMSUNG KILLER...

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • camera
  • screen
  • build
  • battery life

Cons

baibhav93 alternatives:

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tizen007
posted on 14 Jul 2014, 22:43 (Posts: 494; Member since: 07 Jan 2014)

10

More than just a stunning display

Tizen007 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

LG G3 has a stunning QHD display, friendly user interface, classy, elegant but simple design, way better-than-expected battery life, fast processing speed with no lags, smart, and innovative keyboard is amazing and much more. The most notable feature is the camera: It is virtually impossible to take a blurry picture with the G3 thanks to its laser auto focus feature. It was a highly anticipated phone before it came out, and it has lived up to its glory of its predecessor.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Laser auto focus
  • Smart keyboard
  • QHD display
  • battery life

Cons

Tizen007 alternatives:

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CellularNinja
posted on 14 Jul 2014, 11:32 (Posts: 300; Member since: 27 Sep 2011)

9

Extremely solid all-around smartphone

CellularNinja has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

While the beautiful screen is certainly the selling point and maybe the only feature that blows me away, I have very little complaints about the phone, and it is one of the best all around smartphones I have ever used (akin to the Galaxy S3 at its time).

Build quality: This may come as a surprise to some, as it did to me, but the build quality of the G3 is excellent. While the vast majority of the device sans screen is plastic, it does not carry the same feel as the plastic on say, the Galaxy S (disclaimer: I had the S3 for 2 years and absolutely loved it, just using it as an example). The plastic almost feels heavy, but in a good way. I know there is a sheet of metal in the back, but as that's very thin I struggle to pinpoint that as the reason. I think it is just a thicker harder plastic. All this to say that you won't get the premium feel that you may with the M8 (had the M8 for about two months), it is a step above most plastic phones and exceeded my expectations. When I pull off the back it does not feel flimsy, and I trust it to not wear down after a year of my abuse. The buttons on the back are very sturdy and well designed. I love the smooth metallicy power button for some reason.

Sexiness: The look of the phone, while not stunning or inspiring, is quite attractive. I didn't put much stock in the "metal brush look" that I saw in the articles and videos, because every OEM says something like that. But this is no marketing ploy, the back of the dark gray version really...  

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Awe-inspiringly crisp screen
  • Extremely fast
  • Camera is very nice
  • Screen-bezel ratio
  • Custom skin is nice
  • Charges very fast
  • Replaceable Battery
  • IR-blaster for controlling external media

Cons

  • Battery

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories