ZTE Warp Review

ZTE Warp Review
Introduction:

ZTE Warp Review
As the prepaid market continues to gain steam, more manufacturers will be flocking to them bearing some high-end, yet respectable smartphones worth drooling over. Already, ZTE has established itself in the entry-level segment of the market, but with the ZTE Warp for Boost Mobile, they intend on making a splash with something a bit grander to captivate those who don’t want to be tied down with a contract.


Design:

Well, it’s no beauty per se, but the ZTE Warp’s design is credible enough to make it seem like a quality constructed device – as opposed to being a cheap thing like most of ZTE’s offerings. Flaunting an all too conventional design, we take comfort in knowing that it’s extremely lightweight and form fitting in the hand.

The ZTE Warp is extremely lightweight and form fitting in the hand - ZTE Warp Review
The ZTE Warp is extremely lightweight and form fitting in the hand - ZTE Warp Review

The ZTE Warp is extremely lightweight and form fitting in the hand


ZTE Warp Review

You can compare the ZTE Warp with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

ZTE Warp Review
Android buttons - ZTE Warp Review

Android buttons

ZTE Warp Review

Thankfully, its shutter key, volume control, and dedicated power button are all raised to offer enough distinction for our fingers – while exhibiting clicky responses. In addition, we also find other items such as its 3.5mm headset jack, microphone, and microUSB port around its sides.

Volume rocker (left) - The sides of the ZTE Warp - ZTE Warp Review

Volume rocker (left)

3.5mm jack and power key (top) - The sides of the ZTE Warp - ZTE Warp Review

3.5mm jack and power key (top)

microUSB port and camera button - The sides of the ZTE Warp - ZTE Warp Review

microUSB port and camera button

The sides of the ZTE Warp


Flipping it over, it’s donning a 5-megapixel auto-focus camera with LED flash, with the ability to shoot VGA videos. Lastly, removing the soft touch rear cover provides access to its 1,600 mAh battery and microSD card slot, which is preloaded with a 2GB card.

Back - ZTE Warp Review

Back

5MP camera - ZTE Warp Review

5MP camera

Battery compartment - ZTE Warp Review

Battery compartment



Display:

Once regarded as a luxury, 4.3” displays have become commonplace, and with that, we’re not entirely impressed by the one employed by the ZTE Warp. Certainly, its 4.3” WVGA (480 x 800) TFT display is nice to find on a prepaid device, but it’s not particularly alluring because of its low contrast, weak viewing angles, and bland colors. Worse yet, it has a distinct plastic feel, and after spending some time in our pockets, scratches appear making it no longer pristine. Well, we’re accepting of its details, but it’s nearly impossible to view outdoors with the sun beating down upon us – thus, washing it out entirely.

Viewing angles - ZTE Warp Review
Viewing angles - ZTE Warp Review
Viewing angles - ZTE Warp Review

Viewing angles



ZTE Warp 360-degrees View:



FEATURED VIDEO

18 Comments

1. Birds

Posts: 1172; Member since: Nov 21, 2011

Wait PhoneArena? I was looking for the part in the review about Video Codec support because I don't want to get this phone and it can't play 720p high profile bitrate!!!!! Please add that to the review please!!!! P.S. Can you also compare it to the Samsung Exhibit II 4G? Lol it is a tough choice for me.

2. Sudhakar5515

Posts: 1; Member since: Mar 28, 2012

Very nice mobile tell the price

6. anishraj

Posts: 17; Member since: Jun 18, 2012

You can contact nearest service provider for price details

3. truckerdammit

Posts: 1; Member since: May 23, 2012

the ringer on this phone ??? ,my wife farts louder in her sleep louder , i drive truck cant hear calls

5. anishraj

Posts: 17; Member since: Jun 18, 2012

As per the promlem you are facing u can use Vibrator in this phone

4. anishraj

Posts: 17; Member since: Jun 18, 2012

I purchased this mobile about few months ago. . The prices of the phones were reasonable. The phone has full signal and high volume. Overall the phone has good cosmetic features and the price , internet, and sms/mms is very reasonable in comparison to contract phones!!!!!!

7. Trispy

Posts: 2; Member since: Jun 21, 2012

this phone is not a good phone had it for 7 months already and dont like what happend later down the road first off i will like to say about the phone is i noticed that the phone freezes a lot then i got to the point where it also drops calls and it does alot of force closing, as far as that goes i will also like to say that they could have done a better job on this phone there's no front facing camera, the flash light app doesn't work, the power button is in the wrong place, the sound is not as acurate as it should be this is over all embarassing to the ZTE users that use this phone and whos to say that the HTC Evo Design they just came out with wont do the same thing and also how come the HTC Design gets the lates 4.0 ice cream sandwhich and the ZTE dont i just think that ZTE Corporations could do a lot better considering there the new faces in town.

8. Trispy

Posts: 2; Member since: Jun 21, 2012

And Just so you know the phone im talking about is ZTE Warp.

9. itim87

Posts: 3; Member since: Jun 27, 2012

You get what you pay for. If you are looking for a smartphone with all of the high-end features and quality, you will have to pay the price in most cases.

10. QRobinson

Posts: 1; Member since: Jul 26, 2012

I purchased the phone less then thirty days ago and it has been drop calls, gets hot, static during calls, speaker not working. I was told to contact the manufacturer for warranty replacement. When I called i was told I had to pay for and ship my phone to Texas and wait for a repaired phone to return. ZTE. does not stand behind there products!!!!! DO NOT BUY!!!!

11. mommad08

Posts: 1; Member since: Aug 21, 2012

This phone was the biggest waste of $200.00 I ever spent. It's also the biggest piece of crap I've ever owned!!! I would HIGHLY recommend that NOONE get this phone. Within one week it started messing up. The place I bought it wouldn't take it back, Boost wouldn't take it back, and ZTE wouldn't take it back. Nobody would stand behind the product! The ringer isn't very loud, it won't hold the ringtone I put in it, it constantly frezzes, and it constantly reboots itself. It reboots at least 6 to 8 times a day. I can be in the middle of a conversation and it will reboot. It also won't hold the settings I give it. Every time it reboots I have to go in and redo the settings. I would like nothing more than to smash this phone into a million piecies. As soon as I can afford another one I will!!!

12. IHEARTBOOST

Posts: 1; Member since: Dec 18, 2012

I bought the POS phone ZTE Warp and paid $179.00 + Tax... I have used this phone and I am thouroughly tired of the endless freezing. I called boost mobile about the phone and they tried in vain to reset the damn thing. I miss calls text and potential business. I also have a strained relationship with my friends because I DONT GET THE CALLS!!!! Right out of the box this phone was trouble. I read earlier that someone else mentioned the flashlight apps do not work. I can fully attest to this. I am currently looking to upgrade to the totally awesome Samsung Galaxy S2 that hit the boost Shelves in September of this year! (2012) All of the reviews I have read have been stand up and positive. I just wish I could get the phone used from a sprint customer and simply have it flashed over to boost. I am not sure if that is an option even. The current prices I see are around $370.00 but no lower than $299.99.... I have found The Galaxy S2 on Ebay used from Sprint service for around $150.00! Can Someone please advise me on wheather or not I should Purchase the sprint version and have it flashed to boost or just peel the skin off my back chop off an arm and a leg and buy new from the boost store. Thanks in advance!

13. qcliffy

Posts: 1; Member since: Dec 25, 2012

I have a ZTE Warp. I am very disapointed with this phone. The camera is terrible, the network wifi does not work at all. They want me to mail it to them and they will TRY to fix and then mail it back. Should only take 3-4 weeks! I'm looking for a new phone, hate the ZTE Warp!

14. pixelpadre

Posts: 3; Member since: Jan 28, 2013

I had the ZTE Warp and it quit after only 2 months. I was obligated to pay shipping back to zte in Texas. They had it 17 days and returned it unfixed and refused to replace the phone when I demanded one. They wanted me to ship it back again and be without a phone for another 17 days. I burned through $60 in prepaid minutes with a temporary replacement phone at my expense.

15. dominicsav

Posts: 2; Member since: Mar 26, 2013

Ru guys serious i have bought this phone 2 months ago... I have'nt faced any such issues as yet.. It used to freeze on me before but i was asked to perform a Master reset or something like that ... After which i works just fine.

16. leesha69

Posts: 1; Member since: Apr 10, 2013

Hey everyonew I have the zte warp I had a really weird issue. Was listen.to a mp3 wen I heard a pop and the glass of the screen cracked. I'm very upset "cause boost, radio shack, and the company zte will not fix or replace the phone I'm very angry because I only had the phone 13days when this happen someone tell me I'm not the only 1 this happen to.thanks for reading angry customer.

17. fishinhotwater

Posts: 1; Member since: May 08, 2013

I've owned my ZTE Warp for a little over a year and could not be happier with my selection of a reasonably priced smart phone. Boost Mobile is great in Charleston with reception no different than any other carrier including the big names! in fact I get reception in places where the big named carriers do not! overall a great phone at a very good price and $55 a month with shrinkage when the bill is paid on time. My bill is down to $40 a month for unlimited everything! Very happy with my choice!

18. chris031257

Posts: 1; Member since: May 19, 2013

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE (ZTE WARP) I purchase this phone about a year ago. After 8 months it started to freeze up. I have to take the battery out in order to get back working again. When I contacted ZTE all they would tell me is to send them the phone and they would check it out. I asked how long they would have the phone they said 2-4 weeks. I explained that my business id done over the phone and that there's no way I could loose my phone for up to a month. I have met a couple of people who have had this problem so I know the company is a where of the problem. They were inflexible when it came to repairing this problem. I have referred many people to Boost and did not recommend this brand and thank God none of them bought this phone or any other phone from ZTE. You would figure that the way the market is out there the only thing that can make you stand out from the 100's of other brands is your customer service. ZTE fails in this category.
Warp
  • Display 4.3" 480 x 800 pixels
  • Camera 5 MP
  • Processor Qualcomm Snapdragon S2, Single core, 1000 MHz
  • Storage 4 GB
  • Battery 1600 mAh

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.