Samsung Exhibit II 4G Review
Introduction:

Wasting no time in bringing the Samsung Exhibit II 4G to market (its predecessor first busted onto the scene this past summer), it's being introduced this time around as both a prepaid and postpaid option. With the former, it's being blessed with an impressive $200 pricing, which goes hand-to-hand with T-Mobile's recently introduced $30 per month unlimited plan. Seemingly considered to be a mid-range offering, dictated by its hardware specs, it'll be interesting to see how this affordable Android smartphone is able to distinguish itself from its rivals.

Samsung Exhibit II 4G Review
The package contains:

  • Samsung Exhibit II 4G
  • microUSB cable
  • Wall Charger
  • User Manual
  • Terms & Conditions

Design:

In the design front, the only thing new about this conventional looking handset is that it omits the optical trackpad from before, and utilizes a plasticy patterned design back cover . Not surprisingly, it feels little bit on the cheap side, but then again, it's a little bit better than your typical prepaid phone. Nonetheless, it's compact and light enough to go unnoticed in the pockets.

The Samsung Exhibit II 4G is compact and light enough to go unnoticed in the pockets - Samsung Exhibit II 4G Review
The Samsung Exhibit II 4G is compact and light enough to go unnoticed in the pockets - Samsung Exhibit II 4G Review

The Samsung Exhibit II 4G is compact and light enough to go unnoticed in the pockets


Samsung Exhibit II 4G Review

You can compare the Samsung Exhibit II 4G with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The Samsung Exhibit II 4G features a larger 3.7" WVGA (480 x 800) display, which produces some sharp and crisp looking details. Furthermore, we dig the deep and distinctive color tones that it's able to muster – pretty good for the price. Howver, its brightest output is on the weak side. Add to that its poor viewing angles, it's rather difficult to see things on-screen properly when using the handset outdoors.

The Samsung Exhibit II 4G features a 3.7
The Samsung Exhibit II 4G features a 3.7

The Samsung Exhibit II 4G features a 3.7" WVGA display


We're still finding ourselves accidentally pressing its set of Android capacitive buttons, since they're positioned very close to the edge. Meanwhile, above the display, we find its earpiece and front facing camera for video chats and self-portraits.

Android capacitive buttons - Samsung Exhibit II 4G Review

Android capacitive buttons

Front facing camera - Samsung Exhibit II 4G Review

Front facing camera


Looking around the phone, we find things like a volume rocker, dedicated power button, microUSB port, and 3.5mm headset jack.

bottom - Samsung Exhibit II 4G Review

bottom

Volume keys (left) - Samsung Exhibit II 4G Review

Volume keys (left)

miccroUSB port and 3.5 mm jack (top) - Samsung Exhibit II 4G Review

miccroUSB port and 3.5 mm jack (top)

Power key (right) - Samsung Exhibit II 4G Review

Power key (right)


Flipping around to the rear, it's packed with an unchanged 3.2-megapixel auto-focus camera with LED flash, with a couple of notches found towards the bottom edge for its speakerphone. Pulling off the rear cover, we're given access to its 1,500 mAh battery, SIM card slot, and unoccupied microSD slot.

The rear packs a 3.2-megapixel auto-focus camera with LED flash - Samsung Exhibit II 4G Review
The rear packs a 3.2-megapixel auto-focus camera with LED flash - Samsung Exhibit II 4G Review
The rear packs a 3.2-megapixel auto-focus camera with LED flash - Samsung Exhibit II 4G Review

The rear packs a 3.2-megapixel auto-focus camera with LED flash



Samsung Exhibit II 4G 360-degrees View:



FEATURED VIDEO

15 Comments

1. mukrenol

Posts: 92; Member since: Sep 03, 2011

anything that is not GLASS is considered cheap feeling for PA -____- it's a mid range/entry device, what do you expect...

3. saiki4116

Posts: 413; Member since: Mar 31, 2011

they don't really understand the practical designs well,metal attenuates signal.

7. alvinspeakstoo

Posts: 11; Member since: Jul 11, 2011

Metal makes it feel premium but if you want something to be affordable. Usable and great signal. go with strenthen plastic or glass and not metal

8. alvinspeakstoo

Posts: 11; Member since: Jul 11, 2011

Mukrenol. PA is an Apple Fan Boy site. ahha. thats why i use phonedog. He said the phone is cramped when he said the iphone was spacious. the width of this phone is 1.9 inches whereas iphone is 1.94 . really now. thats 0.04 doesnt make a difference

10. dskbfoeva

Posts: 2; Member since: Nov 19, 2011

A year ago when phones like the Galaxy S, iphone 4, Droid X, Droid 2/2 Global, HTC myTouch 4G, Evo 4G, etc. were top of the line, this phone would have also been considered high-end despite its camera (which doesn't seem too bad to me).

2. LongIslander

Posts: 1; Member since: Nov 01, 2011

What are the alternatives that will give you an Android smartphone with 4G speeds for $200 and no contract or ongoing equipment charges? If anyone else is offering similiar value I haven't found it.

4. belovedson

Posts: 1060; Member since: Nov 30, 2010

good battery life, good voice, and good data. 200 bucks should sell well. we shall see

5. ardent1

Posts: 2000; Member since: Apr 16, 2011

The data is 5GB of 4G data speeds per month, which is a great deal when the main competitors are offerring 3G data speeds. After you go over 5G, T-mobile will still provided unlimited data per month, but the data speed will be throttle. Most 5GB of 4G data speeds plans cost about $50 a month on a two-year contract, so $30 a month is a really good deal.

6. alvinspeakstoo

Posts: 11; Member since: Jul 11, 2011

I like how he say the keyboard is cramped on this phone but on the iPhone he say its spacious. dude. this phone has a width on 1.9 inches where as iphone has 1.94 inches. you cant really tell the difference between 0.04 inch. this reviewer is bias

13. Birds

Posts: 1172; Member since: Nov 21, 2011

You are right. Then with the different aspect ratio, the landscape option is much more spacious.

11. RORYREVOLUTION

Posts: 3131; Member since: Jan 12, 2010

You can get this phone for 200-250 dollars off contract with T-Mobile's prepaid service. That's right, 200 dollars OFF contract for a very powerful and up to date android cell phone. Best prepaid phone period.

12. kenya31092

Posts: 1; Member since: Dec 01, 2011

best phone i ever got for less than $100 got a gr8 discount from the dealer. he was gr8. with this phone i feel like i have everything i can ever need in life. i love it

14. JunyPro

Posts: 1; Member since: Apr 30, 2012

I HATE IT!!!! Do you know how many times I had to take the battery out BECAUSE IT FREEZES in about 2 weeks of having this phone, ABOUT 20 TIMES; ( AND I LOST THE COUNT) I NEVER HAD A PHONE LIKE THIS ONE, if anyone out there can help ME AND MY WIFE. We both got it with a family plan, and both PHONES ARE EXACTLY THE SAME WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. FREEZE, FREEZE... OH, SORRY, FREEZED AGAIN, HELP!!!!!!!!

15. danviernes

Posts: 1; Member since: Aug 03, 2012

Hello,,,I have been using cell phones for a long time and i came across with many models for which I thought they were pretty good. My experience with this phone is very good,,,awesome customer service, phone is very good on music, internet access, pictures, videos, talking inside the train tunnels and many more good things that I can say I'm very happy to be with T-mobile. Thanks T-mobile!!! you guys rock!!!

16. sbernardelli

Posts: 4; Member since: Aug 25, 2013

I got this phone one year ago for 180 $ (of which 50 $ were for my pre-paid plan): I think this has been one my best deals ever - the phone still works great, I dropped it many times and it is still alive (friend of mine had a more expensive Galaxy and after a few drops the screen broke). Granted... outdoors I have to increase the brightness to top level and sometimes it is still not enough - that this is the only cons in my opinion... everything else compared to the price I got it is an awesome value - screen size is perfect, if I ever will need a new one I will look for something similar to this
Exhibit II 4G
  • Display 3.7" 480 x 800 pixels
  • Camera 3 MP / 0.3 MP VGA front
  • Processor Qualcomm Snapdragon S2, Single core, 1000 MHz
  • Storage 4 GB + microSDHC
  • Battery 1500 mAh(5.50h talk time)

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.